??!
Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP

Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

4.2 from 68 reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

4.2

68 reviews
5
(35)
4
(21)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (6)
  • Handling
    4.7 (6)
  • Braking
    4.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.8 (6)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (6)
  • Features
    4.5 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (6)
Previous
Next

It grows on me!

published

Purchased in August 2017 for A$14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Matt

MattSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stacey G.

Stacey G.

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic 4WD

published

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barry

BarryPerth, WA

Experience with a petrol Pajero

published

Purchased in November 2018 at John Hughes Car Sales for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

great touring 4x4

published

i spend alot of time touring in the mountains , i have owned a gq patrol and an 80 series cruiser both of which are great 4x4s but not super comfy on the road , the pajero is the best of both worlds good in the bush great on the road .have travelled 190,000ks in it now trouble free .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
wazza22

wazza22South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

excellent family 4wd

published

i have owned 5 np 3,2 diesel pajeros ease of driving..great comfort seat..excellent on fuel ... cheaper to repair service then a prado..5 speed autos are excellent for towing would recommend to anyone

Purchased in August 2018 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Owen

OwenSydney, NSW

Compass configuration error with

published

Hi, I was looking for any blown fuses as air con is not working. Now I have an configuring error and closing in 7secs. where the compass is in the dash and low power in the ignition lights in dash and getting dimmer, also the compass isn't lighting up now at all. Any ideas?????????

BadgeGLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2006
Sylvia H

Sylvia HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Our latest Car

published

We recently purchased a 2004 Pajero due to having an accident in our previous vehicle. We are really pleased with the way it drives and the comfort it gives us. We use the vehicle daily and being a diesel seems to have heaps of power and no sluggishness that is normally associated with other diesels.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Wayne

WayneBEERWAH

Supreme engineering value

published
BadgeGLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2004
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Malkie

MalkieSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

second Mitsi

published

retired my 1990 3ltr manual Pajero with over 500k on it to farm firewood duties. Bought a second hand 2000 Exceed(nm-np) although automatic, 3.5ltr and weighing more it has better fuel consumption. I run on synthetic oil and NulonE30 friction proofing. I believe that this and excellent design and construction give longer life and better performance. This one tows a car trailer with a vehicle on it like its hardley there , i can't imagine how good the newer ones are with all the modern additions and power.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Will miss it

published

Has never let me down even at 408,000klms. Horse float towing is a breeze. Fuel economy has been great although not much city driving. Lots of grunt. Upgrading to another late model Pajero. Feel sad to let mine go as brought new. Dual mass flywheel replaced with solid last year.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2005
Kristie

KristieWa, 6104

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my 4by

published

Driving my 4by is like driving a car but up higher and you can see everything. I love the cream interior, I love the boot seats sit under the floor rather then in the windows, more room and you can see out the back I'd need be. The only downfall is its not cheap on fuel

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
GSW

GSWGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great for long trips

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Tomasz

Tomasz

  • 5 reviews

Perfect for Australia

published

This car is just amazing. I mean I bought it just a month ago, and yes it is 16yo already but damn it is solid. good for light offroad and some serious with good tyres. Independent suspension makes is handling really nice and there is plenty of space inside thanks to that. It is a powerful car but at more than 2t it is not fast :) It consumes 14l/100km when I drive it.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Cosi

CosiKeilor East (Melbourne)

ABS braking problem

published

I have just had fitted a new ABS module to my 2000 NM Pajero (256,000kms) This was carried out by a Mitsubishi dealership with a 2 year warranty. Upon cold start there is a distinct buzzing noise coming from the ABS module which now lasts for 24-26 seconds. Initially this noise lasted 15 seconds. After 3 brake activations the noise again commences and lasts 3-4 seconds,. The dealership and the mechanic stated "this is normal" and it will go away"
As I have just paid almost $4,000 for this "noise" and if this is "normal" I am left to wonder how many new vehicles would be sold if all new vehicles had this noisy brake system.

Regards. Griffo

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2000
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Silverback

SilverbackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

unstoppable and reliable 4WD

published

Love this car. I have a 2002 NM Pajero 3.2 litre turbo diesel. It has been a very reliable and economical car with seven seats. It is great off road and rides very well. Would recommend a suspension upgrade especially in the rear as it does sag. The timing chain is an added extra bonus and adds to vehicles reliability. The old girl has now done 280000klms and still going strong. Averages 10 litres per 100klms. Very capable off road and has a great VCU four wheel drive system. Great value for money.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2008

bad experince

published

i have 2003 3.2 diesel pajero,in pakistan there is very bad service given by mitsubishi,my car always turn off engine while shiffting the gear{auto},when i shitf to parking to drive its engine becomes off,several times i visited dealers they said change this thing that thing,increase the rpm,but it still gives problem,i have spend almost 4000 dollars on this car but it gives no comfort.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
kim lockwood

kim lockwoodadelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

nm pajero 3.5 auto petrol

published

awsome 4wd getting 12litres per hundred averaged over 15 full tanks.Has extractors and ran slick 50 in motor .Think these assisted good economy for 2100kg car.Drives awsome family love its well thought out features .fold down seat is brilliant ,,will upgrade to nt diesel later ..Had 4 gq patrols and 80 series petrol hiluxes etc ..pajero best one by far for allrounder

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic

No complaints at all

published

2005 NP Pajero with 345000 kms, bought ex government at 90K. do regular engine oil and filter changes(does not burn oil), no electrical issues, no other maint on motor,serviced the auto once, flushed and changed radiator coolant once, original radiator hoses, changed fan and air con belts once, only mechanical failure was loose bolts on the intake and made noise, last set of tyres 110K with only 2 wheel alignments(not a lot of off road and then only sand) seats are now getting uncomfortable and springs are sagging. time for a new Pajero i think.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

Great beach car

published

Pajero io great little car low range and centre diff locks goes anywhere.

Good points awesome 4x4 ability . Easy to park great visibility can take a beating day in day out and never broke down. Top speed 170km great lsd diff.

Bad points - seat wears out not made for 100kg person could do with a 2 litre fuel economy lucky to get 12 l per 100 km fuel tank is to small only like 50 litre and fuel gauge is not accurate. Also can't put bigger tyres on as they hit the front strut also car to get parts for quite a rare car .

Great for learners drivers as it is easy to drive .

BadgePajero io
TransmissionManual
Page 1 of 4
See all Mitsubishi Pajero reviews

Questions & Answers

Trev H

Trev Hasked

Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

Please can anyone help with some advice!, I have a 2005 Pagero 3.2 litre Diesel. It was going well then all of a sudden it wouldn’t start. The car would turn over but I could tell it was a fuel issue. After checking a few things I noticed fuel leaking under the water sensor located under fuel filter. I found the thread on the water sensor had been stripped and someone had used a bit of Teflon tape in an attempt to stop fuel leaking. Well anyway I fixed this and put a new filter on. Cut a long story short I am confident that I have fuel getting to the pump however absolutely no fuel getting up to the injectors. A scanner didn’t really pick up any errors. A mobile mechanic thinks it could be a fuel flow solenoid on the fuel pump or the pump itself. The Pajero has 430,000km. I was wondering if anyone else has had a similar experience.

1 answer
Ross W
Ross W

Not sure I can assist, however if the injector pump was starved of diesel, ie run out it may need purging or bleeding of air at the injector pump itself, i've never had to do this on my Pajero but have done so on my tractors and earlier Landcruisers, and Patrols trucks, etc.but its common on many pumps to have a small screw or hex bolt head threaded screw on a pump that can be removed to allow air to be purged allowing the diesel to flow up to the injectors,.
On older engines, tractors etc is was always neccessary to crack the lines ie back off the hold down nut over the injector pipe about 3/4 turn onto the injector, crank the engine until no air and solid dribble of fuel came out then tightening the nuts having purged air, but I assume your mechanic would have done somthing along thse lines. If you are not getting fuel to the injector I'm unsure if there is a selenoid between the pump and the injector but you need to find out if the pump is actually sending diesel up the lines to the injector first.
I am aware that running the pumps out of diesel and or dirty contaminated, sediment, water is a problem for injector pumps and Mitsibishi Pajero pumps in the earlier engine, (direct injection) were found by some to have a life span of 250k or so before requiring an o'haul, however some get much better life dependent on good fuel and regular fuel filter changes. Pumps do not like water!
Best to stop in at your local Mitsibishi dealer service dept and ask if the pump and injectors require purging after running out of fuel,
Sometimes just refuelling and cranking will not suffice and air purging is neccessary!
Beat I can do I'm afraid Trev>

moore Norm M.

moore Norm M.asked

Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

Fuse diagram 2000 NM petrol

No answers
Nick L.

Nick L.asked

Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

Hi guys and girls.
I’ve a 2005 Pajero. My accessories won’t turn off.
Is there an accessories relay anywhere in these vehicles

3 answers
Ross W
Ross W

Has tthis always been the case or has it started since you've owned the vehicle which accessories, ., jus wondering if it has had the accessories bypass the key switch for some reason in the past due to a wiring problem.
I just went to my workshop and checked, On my late model 2005 NP I can hear a very small click under the left of dash
(Australian Right hand drive model) when i put the ignition into accessory position, don't notice anything under hood however.
It would make sense for an accessory relay, its just as to its location.,
Sorry can't help more.
Ross.

Nick L.
Nick L.

Thanks Ross.
No it’s just started doing it. I’ve replaced the electric switch at the back of the ignition barrel. No luck.
An auto sparky suggested on the fly to look for an accessories relay so the quest begins. Thanks buddy. I’ll have a snoop around that area.

Nick L.
Nick L.

It’s the compass and radio as well as every thing else that electrically operates off the accessories. So seems a main relay or similar

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.