??!
Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP

Mitsubishi Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

4.2 from 63 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
33
4 star
18
3 star
4
2 star
6
1 star
2

wazza22

wazza22South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

excellent family 4wd

published

i have owned 5 np 3,2 diesel pajeros ease of driving..great comfort seat..excellent on fuel ... cheaper to repair service then a prado..5 speed autos are excellent for towing would recommend to anyone

Purchased in August 2018 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Owen

OwenSydney, NSW

Compass configuration error with

published

Hi, I was looking for any blown fuses as air con is not working. Now I have an configuring error and closing in 7secs. where the compass is in the dash and low power in the ignition lights in dash and getting dimmer, also the compass isn't lighting up now at all. Any ideas?????????

BadgeGLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2006
Sylvia H

Sylvia HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Our latest Car

published

We recently purchased a 2004 Pajero due to having an accident in our previous vehicle. We are really pleased with the way it drives and the comfort it gives us. We use the vehicle daily and being a diesel seems to have heaps of power and no sluggishness that is normally associated with other diesels.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Wayne

WayneBEERWAH

Supreme engineering value

published
BadgeGLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2004

Malkie

MalkieSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

second Mitsi

published

retired my 1990 3ltr manual Pajero with over 500k on it to farm firewood duties. Bought a second hand 2000 Exceed(nm-np) although automatic, 3.5ltr and weighing more it has better fuel consumption. I run on synthetic oil and NulonE30 friction proofing. I believe that this and excellent design and construction give longer life and better performance. This one tows a car trailer with a vehicle on it like its hardley there , i can't imagine how good the newer ones are with all the modern additions and power.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Will miss it

published

Has never let me down even at 408,000klms. Horse float towing is a breeze. Fuel economy has been great although not much city driving. Lots of grunt. Upgrading to another late model Pajero. Feel sad to let mine go as brought new. Dual mass flywheel replaced with solid last year.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2005

Kristie

KristieWa, 6104

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my 4by

published

Driving my 4by is like driving a car but up higher and you can see everything. I love the cream interior, I love the boot seats sit under the floor rather then in the windows, more room and you can see out the back I'd need be. The only downfall is its not cheap on fuel

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

GSW

GSWGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for long trips

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Tomasz

Tomasz

  • 5 reviews

Perfect for Australia

published

This car is just amazing. I mean I bought it just a month ago, and yes it is 16yo already but damn it is solid. good for light offroad and some serious with good tyres. Independent suspension makes is handling really nice and there is plenty of space inside thanks to that. It is a powerful car but at more than 2t it is not fast :) It consumes 14l/100km when I drive it.

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Cosi

CosiKeilor East (Melbourne)

ABS braking problem

published

I have just had fitted a new ABS module to my 2000 NM Pajero (256,000kms) This was carried out by a Mitsubishi dealership with a 2 year warranty. Upon cold start there is a distinct buzzing noise coming from the ABS module which now lasts for 24-26 seconds. Initially this noise lasted 15 seconds. After 3 brake activations the noise again commences and lasts 3-4 seconds,. The dealership and the mechanic stated "this is normal" and it will go away"
As I have just paid almost $4,000 for this "noise" and if this is "normal" I am left to wonder how many new vehicles would be sold if all new vehicles had this noisy brake system.

Regards. Griffo

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2000

Silverback

SilverbackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

unstoppable and reliable 4WD

published

Love this car. I have a 2002 NM Pajero 3.2 litre turbo diesel. It has been a very reliable and economical car with seven seats. It is great off road and rides very well. Would recommend a suspension upgrade especially in the rear as it does sag. The timing chain is an added extra bonus and adds to vehicles reliability. The old girl has now done 280000klms and still going strong. Averages 10 litres per 100klms. Very capable off road and has a great VCU four wheel drive system. Great value for money.

BadgeGL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2008

bad experince

published

i have 2003 3.2 diesel pajero,in pakistan there is very bad service given by mitsubishi,my car always turn off engine while shiffting the gear{auto},when i shitf to parking to drive its engine becomes off,several times i visited dealers they said change this thing that thing,increase the rpm,but it still gives problem,i have spend almost 4000 dollars on this car but it gives no comfort.

BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

kim lockwood

kim lockwoodadelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

nm pajero 3.5 auto petrol

published

awsome 4wd getting 12litres per hundred averaged over 15 full tanks.Has extractors and ran slick 50 in motor .Think these assisted good economy for 2100kg car.Drives awsome family love its well thought out features .fold down seat is brilliant ,,will upgrade to nt diesel later ..Had 4 gq patrols and 80 series petrol hiluxes etc ..pajero best one by far for allrounder

BadgeGLS
TransmissionAutomatic

No complaints at all

published

2005 NP Pajero with 345000 kms, bought ex government at 90K. do regular engine oil and filter changes(does not burn oil), no electrical issues, no other maint on motor,serviced the auto once, flushed and changed radiator coolant once, original radiator hoses, changed fan and air con belts once, only mechanical failure was loose bolts on the intake and made noise, last set of tyres 110K with only 2 wheel alignments(not a lot of off road and then only sand) seats are now getting uncomfortable and springs are sagging. time for a new Pajero i think.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

Great beach car

published

Pajero io great little car low range and centre diff locks goes anywhere.

Good points awesome 4x4 ability . Easy to park great visibility can take a beating day in day out and never broke down. Top speed 170km great lsd diff.

Bad points - seat wears out not made for 100kg person could do with a 2 litre fuel economy lucky to get 12 l per 100 km fuel tank is to small only like 50 litre and fuel gauge is not accurate. Also can't put bigger tyres on as they hit the front strut also car to get parts for quite a rare car .

Great for learners drivers as it is easy to drive .

BadgePajero io
TransmissionManual
S P

S P

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Amazingly well designed and competent vehicle.

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

Lynne

LynneWarrnambool

Reliable family car

published

2003 model 2.2 liter diesel. 220,000 km. Great car to drive has been reliable for 12 years. tows well. Great mileage (diesel 2.2 di) usually do 9/10 liter per 100 round town or on highway. Major problems are dual flywheel collapsed at 160,000 which we replaced with a solid flywheel. Fuel gauge circuit board problems needed to re-solder the circuit board) and since about 200,000 sticky 2nd gear when cold but apparently castrol oil fixes that.

BadgeGLX
TransmissionManual

love my mitzy,2000 .paj,exl.

published

i have had my pajero for about 9 going on 10 yrs and except for fixing lots of stuff do to a doggy mechanic i have found it great, i have driven everywhere in her towed my camper trailer off road,she handles well and if kept service is good for her size and weight on fuel ,comfortable and roomy, took very back seats out and don't use them, could n]be a bit longer if your going to sleep in back as you have to take back bench seat all way out as it folds down and up not back is its only fault. i like my 4x4 and will when the time comes buy another newer model and if i could get a deisel in auto that would be it .

BadgeGLX
TransmissionAutomatic

Rakesh Sharma

Rakesh SharmaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Converted to A JTG Gas coversion Kit

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Rakesh Sharma
Rakesh Sharma

Rod G

Rod Gcanberra

After 260,000km towing a 2500kg 23' caravan around Australia-tailgate opening fix-NP 2005 Turbo Dies

published
BadgeExceed
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 4

See all Mitsubishi Pajero reviews

Questions & Answers

kristopher85

kristopher85asked

2002 pajero exceed,
Wondering if the hazard button has a light behind it.

No answers

Wade C

Wade Casked

I have an 06 VRX turbo diesel Pajero that will just shut off randomly.
You could be driving at 80km down the highway and it shuts off, you could be sitting at the lights, or driving slowly...there is no signal that it is about to shut off!, There is no warning... it just dies!
However, As soon as you pull over and put the car back in park and turn key off and back on the car will start again and run. That being said you could get 5m and it shuts off again. So far my record is 21 times shutting off in a 8km distance!
We have put a brand new battery in it, replaced the fuel filter and given it a full service but it won’t ‘fault’ for our mechanic so we are out of options...
Does anyone have any suggestions as to what it could be? Or has anyone else experienced this?

No answers

Raymond P.

Raymond P.asked

Icant locate the relay unit or the fuse for the petrol pump looked every where.Sorry its a 2002 Pajero v6 NM.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

Details

CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Doors5
Fuel Tank Capacity 90 L
Country of ManufactureJapan
Release dateJan 2000
Discontinuation dateDec 2006
Replaced byMitsubishi Pajero NS
Compare all Mitsubishi Pajero

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.