??!
1 photo
Mortein Fast Knockdown Multi Insect Killer

Mortein Fast Knockdown Multi Insect Killer

1.3 from 77 reviews

Reviews

1.3

77 reviews
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(69)
Previous
Next
peter

peterSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Waste of money

published

I thought if I spend more, it would work better than the no name brand, it doesn’t. A couple of times I’ve sprayed cockroaches before I went to bed, the cockroach will run and I will find it in the morning on its back but still kicking. Once I left one till lunch time and it was gaining strength. This stuff does not kill cockroaches, and forget flies or spiders. Worst product ever

Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerNo

Waste of money

published

I would have been better off spraying water and attempting to drown the fly. The spray had zero effect at all and resorted swatting to kill it. Will not buy again.

Purchased in March 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers

Works on other insects, but not bushflies.

published

Moths, cockroaches, small spiders - no problem, it kills them quickly. But bushflies? Those rotten little pests that hang around all the time? Nope. They’re as indifferent to this as they are to insect repellent.

Purchased in November 2019 for A$6.35.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Pest Control Products

Find out how Mortein Fast Knockdown Multi Insect Killer compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darren

DarrenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Doesn't kill flies

published

Even spraying the same fly several times had no effect. I shook the can really well and gave the fly a generous spray. The fly just kept flying around. Mortein used to work well. They must have changed the formula. Won't waste money on this stuff again.

Purchased in March 2020 at Woolworths.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Shahram K.

Shahram K.South East Queensland, QLD

Does notwork on flies

published

You need at least 3-4 sprays from a very close distance to kill a fly. It is like trying to shoot a flying duck! Literally it seems that you have to catch the fly first, make it open its mouth and then spray straight into its mouth to be hundred percent sure.

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
David

David

  • 2 reviews

This product doesn't work

published

I bought this product in a two pack special from my local supermarket. In common with the other reviews it simply doesn't work on flies and fruit flies in the household environment as claimed. About the only thing it does is temporarily chase the flies away with it 's objectionable cloying smell. I am a scientist (chemist) by training so have tried enough variances to the application method to be confident that this product does NOT work as advertised. About the only way it might kill a fly is by drowning in a pool of the product following a direct spray. I haven't tried it on cockroaches. In summary, this is a useless product that doesn't work as claimed

Purchased in December 2019 at IGA.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom and Kitchen
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
phong cam

phong camSydney, NSW

Mortein fast knockdown Fly & Mossquito doesn't work on fly. It is very disappointing. Never buy this one again.

published

It just doesn't work. I have to use it again and again to kill one fly. I admit that it make the fly slow down a bit and that is all.

Purchased in October 2018.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Val

ValPerth

  • 2 reviews

Completely useless product, louie houl be mortified

published

The fly sitting on the spray can sums it up, shops shouldn't be selling this product. We sprayed the fly multiple times and I'm sure it came back for more.

Purchased in January 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Marian

MarianPerth, WA

It’s a useless product. Does not work. False advertising.

published

Flies directly sprayed with a burst from a well shaken pressure pack simply don’t die. They are still flying around literally hours later. It’s time this company was investigated for false advertising.

Purchased in January 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Pest Control Products

Find out how Mortein Fast Knockdown Multi Insect Killer compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

False advertising

published

Over a 30 minute period I sprayed the same fly (direct hit) 5 times. It only died when I whacked it. Very misleading name and branding which should not be allowed.

Purchased in December 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Roger B.

Roger B.Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Fast Knockdown? No Knockdown More Like It.

published

Never had so many flies since I started using this product. Flies take forever to die if they die at all. I should have invested in a fly swatter. Maybe even toilet spray would be more effective.

Scott R.

Scott R.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

This is crap

published

I just sprayed a small fly three times and was still walking around 15 min later.it stinks badly and has zero effect what a rip off!they obviously have made it weaker so people use more so they sell more.i will never buy another can

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles.

Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes

Works very fast.

published

I use Mortein fast knockdown in the home regularly. Only a very short single burst is needed for moths and flies. Moths drop straight away and flies take a bit longer. The smell is the only thin I dont like but at least I can avoid the spray in the air that way.

Purchased in June 2018 at Costco ACT, Canberra.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Peter F.

Peter F.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Black and Gold is the best

published

Mortein just doesn't work like it used to. The one that definately works is Black and Gold fly and insect killer. It is available in low irritant but I'm not sure if it's much different. Honestly though, who cares whether it smells so long as it works. It's like the sprays of old days where one spray makes them drop. It's cheaper for two reasons. 1, because it's the IGA brand and 2, you don't have to use half a can to kill a fly.

Purchased in April 2018 at Woolworths for A$6.35.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Sheryl

SherylMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Doesn't work

published

Useless. Does not kill insects. I am really disappointed as I have used Mortien brand for over 30 years but this year it seems I will have to go to another brand of fly spray

Purchased in March 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Pest Control Products

Find out how Mortein Fast Knockdown Multi Insect Killer compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett S.

Brett S.

  • 2 reviews

It was as if the flies were prescribed xanax.

published

The smell is very pleasant, but I can't help feel I bought a can of air. It only killed the fly when I dumped half the can on one of them. Other than that it just slowed them down. Similar to being prescribed antidepressants

Purchased in May 2019 at OTR BP servo for A$7.50.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
POB2468

POB2468Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Useless product, it's not even listed on the mortein website in their products list, not even listed in a search.

published

Did not work at all. I've sprayed and sprayed, yet I still have the same issue. No dead Flies! Going to lodge a complaint with the ACCC. The product has been discontinued it seems, yet shops etc are still selling for the FULL retail price.

Purchased in March 2019 for A$6.99.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Munday

MundayMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Zero stars

published

I have sprayed the same 2 flys over and over again for 2 days now. Both flys are still quite happily flying around my kitchen. Maybe I'm doing it wrong, perhaps I'm ment to throw the can at the flys

Purchased in February 2019 at Woolworths for A$6.90.

Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerYes

Terrible product

published

Doesn’t work at all rubbish product should be removed off shelves. False advertising waste of money. Won’t buy again. Disappointed

Dave M.

Dave M.Sydney, NSW

Absolute rubbish

published

I have flies queing up outside my screen doors waiting to get in to inhale this Mortein NO KNOCKDOWN they love it the only way I could get it to work is to use the can like a baseball bat and hit them as they fly past.
Will not buy your products again.

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Bernice W.

Bernice W.asked

Does your insecticide kill Nairobi flies?

No answers
Jim N.

Jim N.asked

Speaking with Mortein Customer Service today - Adam. He has no knowledge of any issues with killing house flies and believes it may be a batch issue which is being forwarded to 'quality control'. He is sticking to the company line and essentially demonstrates no general understanding of the issue or any willingness to address the real issue. Effective on cockroaches, mason bees, ants and blow flies. House flies - no action.

3 answers
Dave M.
Dave M.

This product is absolute rubbish I still have the half full can and did not find a batch number. As I said before the only way this works is to squash the flies with the can. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Jim N.
Jim N.

Batch number is on the base of the can - turn it up-side down. I am not confident that I will ever hear from them.

POB2468
POB2468

I just checked Mortein's website. The "alleged" fast knockdown spray (Red Can) has been deleted from their product list and website. Yet hundreds (if not thousands) of supermarkets, service stations, local "deli/shop", hardware stores, etc are still selling this absolutely useless product, at full cost.
I think it's time to lodge a complaint with the ACCC.
If Mortein has discontinued this product for whatever reason (useless, doesn't work etc); then surely this product needs to be recalled, removed from the shelves of said stores/shops (or, sold at a "discontinued product" reduced price; although this won't make the product suddenly work or increase from zero to ? efficacy).

Brian C.

Brian C.asked

Why are you marketing a useless product? Mortein fly spray is now a fraudulent product

1 answer
Dave M.
Dave M.

Do not buy this product you are only wasting your money as it does not work.

Get an answer from our members and Mortein representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.