??!
2 photos
Netcomm AC1600 NF18ACV

Netcomm AC1600 NF18ACV

MPN: NF18ACV
3.5 from 62 reviews

See the Best Modems in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
18
3 star
10
2 star
5
1 star
10

Brett

BrettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Very frustrated with this product

published

Bought this when my old faithful Netgear modem died as it was the nominally "supported" option for my planned eventual NBN provider Aussie Broadband. Big mistake. Couldn't even get past the first step of logging into the web interface set up and spent frustrating hours trying to troubleshoot the issue without success in what should been a very simple process. Only online tech support is offered which is pretty difficult to access when you have no internet! I plan to return this unit and ask for a refund. Will never buy a Netcomm modem again after this experience.

Purchased in November 2019 at Amazon for $149.00.

Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup

Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 54 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Better than expected!

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $126.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 35 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 50 (Standard Plus)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Andrew M.

Andrew M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

It just works

published

Easy setup.
Intuituve.
Netcomm reliability.
2 year warranty.
A brand that has stood the test of time (from the days of the dial-up modems).
Web interface easy to navigate.
Parental controls.
Don't waste your time buying anything else to save a buck.

Purchased in October 2019 for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Sue

SueTasmania

  • 26 reviews
  • Verified purchase

No problem - easy to set up & works great!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 25 (Standard, Seniors)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Brett M.

Brett M.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

worst crappy router

published

dropouts dropouts dropouts!
i can't even keep a constant connection!!!! absolute garbage DO NOT BUY!!!
cheap garbage sitting in the garbage right now!!!!
NBN stands for national botched network!!!
got to love the LNP!

Purchased in September 2019 for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Andy

AndyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Useless router with a bug that prevents it routing for anything but its local subnet

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $175.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Winter M.

Winter M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

worst modem

published

i brought for my NBN last year, and wait whole year for connction, finally got connect last month, when I start use this one, it keep drop out the connectinon, everytime I turn on my PC, all lights are green from modem but i can not get any internet. call the customer service and they tell me there is two years warranty, when i return the item, they tell me only one year (13 month after warranty) and refuse the exchange! i just waste 150 dollars and purchase another one.....

Purchased in April 2018 at CPL - Computer & Parts Land for $146.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPMore Telecom NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Kennoath

KennoathSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Low wifi strength & a bit annoying

published

This router's wifi strength is below average.
Compared with an older, also cheap router (from Telstra 3 years ago), the NetComm has much lower wifi power. Even inside my small-ish house, in some areas I get mid-strength connection on devices. The old router was full strength everywhere in the house.
Overall this router looks and feels cheap.
It has extremely bright green flashing LED lights. In your house at night, this router shines and flashes like a cheap party light. Not cool.
I bought this router from Aussie Broadband. It is the router they sell and promote with NBN plans. Also not cool.

Purchased in May 2019 at Aussie Broadband for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 50 (Standard Plus)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
LarryP

LarryPSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect modem so far

published

It’s the fastest modem I’ve used so far DVD the internet is never dropping out.
I’ve been watching on so many devices at the same time and not a problem.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
JB

JB

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Adequate

published

Like most routers, this performs pretty well over 5GHz, but if you need to use 2.4GHz band due to its superior range, performance is a bit lacklustre. As with all Netcomm routers I've used, the software is not at all user-friendly.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 25 (Standard, Seniors)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Alan M

Alan MMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Unfinished and flakey wifi

published

New firmware is missing so much.
No ability to enable/disable VOIP. No ability to enable/disable or change priority of VOIP codecs.
2,4 wifi is very low range and drops out on some devices. Extremely bad with dell laptops and samsung phones.
USB storage option is a joke. Very slow and cannot be accessed from the web. Netcomm confirmed it is insecure and they block it from the internet.
LEDs are too bright and no way to dim them.

Purchased in February 2019 at Amazon for $142.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

YeeJoon

YeeJoonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Really fast connection

published

Love the fact that it has dual bands, the 2.4 GHz and 5 ghz, really needed a good router and tangerine offer this router for only $100, lowest price tbh

Purchased in July 2018 at Tangerine for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPTangerine Telecom NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Tom A.

Tom A.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Does the job - no complaints

published

This modem was provided by our ISP. Since plugging it in, I haven't has to think about it much at all. Being dual band helps with managing older and newer devices. The browser-based settings page is easy to navigate.

Compared to our previous ADSL router, this device has a slight small signal range - but really we have it on a low stand behind the TV, yet it reaches most parts of our medium sized house/yard fine.

The VOIP is a nice feature to have, although in practice it rarely gets used.

Purchased in July 2018 at Exetel.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 7 devices
ISPExetel NBN 50 (Standard Plus)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Mid C

Mid CHobart, TAS

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Wifi not very strong for 2 story house

published

This modem might be ok for people in a ground floor house, but in a two story townhouse the wifi is lacking. I'll probably need to get a Powerline adapter to try to increase the range to upstairs. The setup was easy and we haven't had many dropouts, but even downstairs the wifi isn't the best.

Purchased in April 2019 at Tangerine for $119.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPTangerine Telecom NBN 100 (XXL Speed Boost)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

I brought with NBN Mate package.

published

I always blamed it on Mate for poor speed and the gov for bad NBN. But I did speed tests today.. yes right next to the router it goes extremely fast.

But as soon as you go to the next room or step 6 metres away the speed decreases dramatically.

After a year I am over it and going to replace it with a Modem...that has antennas!

I am not talking bad. If you are working closely to the modem then this may be the one for you!

But definitely consider your RANGE before purchasing.

Purchased in January 2018 at Mobile Mate.

Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN 25 (Essential)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Abezza

AbezzaFlorey 2615, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Good quality budget modem

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 9 devices
ISPAussie Broadband
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The Guy

The Guy

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It’s rubbish.

published

This modem is made of lemon. The 2.4ghz keeps dropping down to 1 mbits. Reboot it and it backs up 50mbts till after hour or so then it goes down again. I’m sending it back to netcomm for a refund.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Reece

Reece

  • 5 reviews

Extremely not useful.

published

Extremely unstable every 10 minutes it lost connection. I had to restart it about 14 times a week( 2 times a day). And after all that is still was horrible. Strongly do not reccomend.

Purchased in January 2019 at not sure for $20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPnot sure
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Phil K

Phil KGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great Modem

published

Netcomm AC1600 NF18ACV is a fantastic modem with no complaints. I recently switched over to NBN with Aussie broadband and this is the preferred modem they recommended.
The modem syncs up perfectly and the voip phone function has perfect clear audio.
The Wireless features are fantastic with no real major difference when connected via Ethernet cable.

I highly recommend this modem for NBN connection.

Purchased in February 2019 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 50 (Standard Plus)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

David Mc

David McIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Netcomm Modem Regret

published

Probably the worst modem I have had the displeasure of owning. Very slow, drops out and requires resetting on a regular basis. Extremely poor support from Netcomm who are not interested in locked to ISP modems. ....Beware if your ISP provides the modem inclusive on plan. It is locked to them and they do not give you the unlock procedure should you wish to change providers @!.... Buy your own modem and Don't buy a Netcomm !....Don't say you weren't warned

Purchased in July 2017 at Spintel for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPSpinTel
Functionality
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Rudi P.

Rudi P.asked

How many wireless connections can this modem handle?

2 answers
Alan M
Alan M

Don't know the max, but the defaults are 16 for each band. I've had 11 working. 8 on 2.4 and 3 on 5.

Rudi P.
Rudi P.

Thanks!


barry

barryasked

has anyone used vpn with this we use voip so we have to use our servers router or thy wont support voip thank u barry

No answers

Jodi S.

Jodi S.asked

How many connected devices for smart home will the Netcomm allow me to use via Wi-Fi?

1 answer
Tim Cowley
Tim Cowley

Some poster above said he had 30


Get an answer from our members and NetComm representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.