??!
2 photos
Netcomm AC1600 NF18ACV

Netcomm AC1600 NF18ACV

MPN: NF18ACV
3.5 from 66 reviews

Reviews

3.5

66 reviews
5
(20)
4
(20)
3
(10)
2
(6)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (24)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (24)
  • Number of Connected Devices 7.45 devices (20)
  • Ease of Setup
    3.8 (26)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.1 (27)
  • Reliability
    3.4 (27)
Previous
Next
SeanYC

SeanYCHOBART

  • 19 reviews

Buggy router

published

This router has a major bug in the DNS settings. It will cause slow internet.
I speet ages to do the research myself and fix the issue. Their customer support is a joke.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Anil P.

Anil P.Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great speed

published

I bought this modem through tangerine nbn provider. They call it upgraded modem. This modem is working great so far. The speed is good and reliable. The price is okay

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
JoeW

JoeWSouth Australia

  • 3 reviews

Very stable router.

published

Previously used Ubiquiti router and a unifi link about 400 metres to our network. It would dropout and lose the connection very often. I thought that dropping down to a budget router would make it worse. I was setup to expect failure and to have to find another solution. I have been shocked that this router has been working for about 3 months and to date the dropouts have only been when the ISP has had a problem and emailed an outage notice. I am unable to explain why this budget modem performs better than the premium product did.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$149.00.

Number of Connected Devices 1 devices
ISPAustralia Online Fixed Wireless NBN 25 (Speed Boost)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Modems

Find out how Netcomm AC1600 NF18ACV compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anna H.

Anna H.

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Easy setup

published

Bought this modem as we were changing internet providers.
Easy to use. Easy to configure and so far no drop outs or connectivity problems. Works perfectly with NBN. Happy with purchase. We don't need to boost the internet in our house - great coverage. We usually watch lots of youtube and netflix and a bit of gaming.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPAussie Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Brett

BrettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Very frustrated with this product

published

Bought this when my old faithful Netgear modem died as it was the nominally "supported" option for my planned eventual NBN provider Aussie Broadband. Big mistake. Couldn't even get past the first step of logging into the web interface set up and spent frustrating hours trying to troubleshoot the issue without success in what should been a very simple process. Only online tech support is offered which is pretty difficult to access when you have no internet! I plan to return this unit and ask for a refund. Will never buy a Netcomm modem again after this experience.

Purchased in November 2019 at Amazon for A$149.00.

Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 60 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Better than expected!

published

Purchased in September 2019 for A$126.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 35 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 50 (Standard Plus)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Andrew M.

Andrew M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It just works

published

Easy setup.
Intuituve.
Netcomm reliability.
2 year warranty.
A brand that has stood the test of time (from the days of the dial-up modems).
Web interface easy to navigate.
Parental controls.
Don't waste your time buying anything else to save a buck.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Sue

SueTasmania

  • 28 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

No problem - easy to set up & works great!

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 25 (Standard, Seniors)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Brett M.

Brett M.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

worst crappy router

published

dropouts dropouts dropouts!
i can't even keep a constant connection!!!! absolute garbage DO NOT BUY!!!
cheap garbage sitting in the garbage right now!!!!
NBN stands for national botched network!!!
got to love the LNP!

Purchased in September 2019 for A$169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 10 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Modems

Find out how Netcomm AC1600 NF18ACV compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andy

AndyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Useless router with a bug that prevents it routing for anything but its local subnet

published

Purchased in October 2018 for A$175.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Winter M.

Winter M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

worst modem

published

i brought for my NBN last year, and wait whole year for connction, finally got connect last month, when I start use this one, it keep drop out the connectinon, everytime I turn on my PC, all lights are green from modem but i can not get any internet. call the customer service and they tell me there is two years warranty, when i return the item, they tell me only one year (13 month after warranty) and refuse the exchange! i just waste 150 dollars and purchase another one.....

Purchased in April 2018 at CPL - Computer & Parts Land for A$146.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 2 devices
ISPMore Telecom NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Kennoath

KennoathSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Low wifi strength & a bit annoying

published

This router's wifi strength is below average.
Compared with an older, also cheap router (from Telstra 3 years ago), the NetComm has much lower wifi power. Even inside my small-ish house, in some areas I get mid-strength connection on devices. The old router was full strength everywhere in the house.
Overall this router looks and feels cheap.
It has extremely bright green flashing LED lights. In your house at night, this router shines and flashes like a cheap party light. Not cool.
I bought this router from Aussie Broadband. It is the router they sell and promote with NBN plans. Also not cool.

Purchased in May 2019 at Aussie Broadband for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 50 (Standard Plus)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
LarryP

LarryPSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Perfect modem so far

published

It’s the fastest modem I’ve used so far DVD the internet is never dropping out.
I’ve been watching on so many devices at the same time and not a problem.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
JB

JB

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Adequate

published

Like most routers, this performs pretty well over 5GHz, but if you need to use 2.4GHz band due to its superior range, performance is a bit lacklustre. As with all Netcomm routers I've used, the software is not at all user-friendly.

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPAussie Broadband NBN 25 (Standard, Seniors)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Alan M

Alan MMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Unfinished and flakey wifi

published

New firmware is missing so much.
No ability to enable/disable VOIP. No ability to enable/disable or change priority of VOIP codecs.
2,4 wifi is very low range and drops out on some devices. Extremely bad with dell laptops and samsung phones.
USB storage option is a joke. Very slow and cannot be accessed from the web. Netcomm confirmed it is insecure and they block it from the internet.
LEDs are too bright and no way to dim them.

Purchased in February 2019 at Amazon for A$142.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Modems

Find out how Netcomm AC1600 NF18ACV compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
YeeJoon

YeeJoonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Really fast connection

published

Love the fact that it has dual bands, the 2.4 GHz and 5 ghz, really needed a good router and tangerine offer this router for only $100, lowest price tbh

Purchased in July 2018 at Tangerine for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPTangerine Telecom NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Tom A.

Tom A.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Does the job - no complaints

published

This modem was provided by our ISP. Since plugging it in, I haven't has to think about it much at all. Being dual band helps with managing older and newer devices. The browser-based settings page is easy to navigate.

Compared to our previous ADSL router, this device has a slight small signal range - but really we have it on a low stand behind the TV, yet it reaches most parts of our medium sized house/yard fine.

The VOIP is a nice feature to have, although in practice it rarely gets used.

Purchased in July 2018 at Exetel.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 7 devices
ISPExetel NBN 50 (Standard Plus)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Mid C

Mid CHobart, TAS

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Wifi not very strong for 2 story house

published

This modem might be ok for people in a ground floor house, but in a two story townhouse the wifi is lacking. I'll probably need to get a Powerline adapter to try to increase the range to upstairs. The setup was easy and we haven't had many dropouts, but even downstairs the wifi isn't the best.

Purchased in April 2019 at Tangerine for A$119.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPTangerine Telecom NBN 100 (XXL Speed Boost)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

I brought with NBN Mate package.

published

I always blamed it on Mate for poor speed and the gov for bad NBN. But I did speed tests today.. yes right next to the router it goes extremely fast.

But as soon as you go to the next room or step 6 metres away the speed decreases dramatically.

After a year I am over it and going to replace it with a Modem...that has antennas!

I am not talking bad. If you are working closely to the modem then this may be the one for you!

But definitely consider your RANGE before purchasing.

Purchased in January 2018 at Mobile Mate.

Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN 25 (Essential)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Abezza

AbezzaFlorey 2615, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Good quality budget modem

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 9 devices
ISPAussie Broadband
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Murray

Murrayasked

What would be the best WIFI extender for this unit please ?

No answers
Robin.

Robin.asked

How many devise's will this run

2 answers
Anil P.
Anil P.

I normally use 10 devices. But it should be okay for more

JoeW
JoeW

Agree more than 10 but I don't use its built-in wifi preferring a mesh home wifi system.

Lyn

Lynasked

There is a Calix FSL-213710 with 2 phone & 4 LAN points, and lights to indicate Alarm, PON, phones & Lan. Is this Calix a 5GHz Ac router?

1 answer
JoeW
JoeW

As far as I know, CASA systems purchased Netcomm. The Netcomm name still appears on the product - I received a new one this last week. You can find it listed on CASA systems website but it's still a Netcomm on the photo. Don't know if the CASA / NetComm is rebranded could not find a photo...

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.