??!

Reviews

1.5

42 reviews
5
(2)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(36)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (35)
  • Transparency
    1.4 (34)
  • Customer Service
    1.5 (37)
Previous
Next
Vincent D.

Vincent D.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

BUYER BEWARE

published

Used NIB via Qantas. They use a technicality (Government restrictions not covered) to weasel out of COVID claims. My entire company is now banning the use of NIB for all travel going forward, as NIB have refused claims for a number of staff across a number of situations in the last 12 months. Your business is at risk of you depend on NIB to keep your staff travel risks manageable.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
4 comments
nib
nibnib
Vincent D.
Vincent D.
nib
nibnib

Thanks for clarifying, Vincent. In the letters provided by Customer Relations, they provide additional steps for escalation. You are welcome to follow these for additional reviews of the decisions made on your claim.

All the best,
Brenden

Traveller

Traveller

  • 2 reviews

Great outcome after overseas travel cancelled

published

We had purchased a Qantas/NIB annual travel policy which we would no longer need as everything began to be cancelled. We were offered a few options which weren’t really suitable as we do not know when we will be able to travel again. This week we achieved the best possible outcome and were very happy with the customer service provided. Thank you NIB

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Rick C.

Rick C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Just make excuses not to pay

published

Took out comprehensive insurance and when events were cancelled they just blame everything on Covid. Why have insurances if they don’t pay when you lose your money?????
When something goes wrong they just deny your claim. I will never insure with NIB again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
nib
nibnib
Rick C.
Rick C.

I don’t agree with their decision and indeed I have requested a review already. Easy to sit there and blame everything on Covid and Government shutdown but that was a false (bull dust) conclusion. All just excuses. I will fight this all the way.

Travel Insurance

Find out how nib Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Will

WillMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

DISGRACEFUL

published

Have used NIB before many times for domestic travel in Australia, sent them an email in April 2020 and received an Auto email response on 30/04/2020 that some one would respond to my query. STILL WAITING and today is the 8th September 2020 Only are small $ amount but were is the manners and politeness to reply. Lack a very serious attitude of responsibility.

Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
JEG

JEGSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Never use again

published

After paying $600 for a annual insurance certificate taken out last Sept certificate and numerous phone calls, emails asking for a refund. Offered a extension until Mar 2021 but no flights! - I was finally notified this week I will receive $301.00 back.
1. Why this amount and not $600 for used policy
2. After 25 years with the Health Insurance - this is how you are treated!!! Customer loyalty does mean a thing.
3. Lack of courtesy to my travel agency, lack of follow up.
4. Companies that look after there customers during Covid will be rewarded once this is all over.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib

Do not use

published

Bad value for money, deny any claims whether correct or not, they don't answer phones, they don't care about you, they only want your money. Do not use under any circumstances.
Still, no answers and they are just shoving this under the carpet, terrible service, they just deny everything and hang up, after waiting hours to talk to anyone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
6 comments
nib
nibnib
Greg
Greg
nib
nibnib

Thank you for confirming. I'll request they attempt calling you today.

Disappointed

DisappointedGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

No wonder the reviews

published

Mel Darwin flight insurance not payed due to COVID-19 restrictions..That were put on there site jan 31 … Insurance was purchased 22 feb .. really..COVID 19 in Australia end of jan .. me and my family will never use NIB for anything..

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
nib
nibnib
Disappointed
Disappointed

Local flight had nothing to do with China’s COVID-19.. there was no covid in Australia at time of insurance purchase..

nib
nibnib

Thank you for replying. Feedback, such as this, can be taken into account by the team upon request of a review of your claims decision. Please advise if you would like assistance in requesting a review.

Regards,
Brenden

Sue G

Sue GVictoria

Excellent Outcome

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
nate

nateGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Will never purchase this dud product again

published

I purchased nib travel insurance, made a claim in April for COVID-19 related travel cancellations and was rejected in Aug (yes, no joke) because I wasn't covered for government imposed restrictions. Useless annual policy, useless when it was actually needed. Don't buy this product from nib, they'll take your money and give you nothing for it.

nib, you've lost a customer for life. I couldn't care less what your exclusions are, if your product after purchase covers me for nothing and is useless for the rest of the policy period, it was a waste of money that I regret purchasing and I want to warn other consumers not to make the mistake I did. I'll also take this to the ombudsman because I believe I am due a partial refund on the policy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
5 comments
nate
nate
nib
nibnib
nate
nate
Travel Insurance

Find out how nib Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael M.

Michael M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

What a waste of money

published

Wow what a waste of travel insurance. Travel claim denied as they don't pay out due to government travel restrictions... (Took them nearly a month to tell me that). Booked hotel back in October for stay in June ... nope not covered.
Oh and as we can't travel (and they don't pay out), asked about getting a refund on policy for remainder of term... (4 months) nope sorry not in cooling off period - nothing we can do.

Whats the point NIB? Times like this go to show who actually care for their customers. Much better insurance providers out there.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Nazzareno Demaio

Nazzareno Demaio

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Disgraceful reasons for not obtaining a refund

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and Europe
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Anthony L.

Anthony L.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Disgraceful - Can't even get response on claim, or have them answer the phone, after 4 months!!!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult, Child and Teenager
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Luke C

Luke CSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Avoid NIB Travel

published

I purchased an annual policy in December 2019. Since COVID19 came around and all my travel was cancelled and the policy was useless due to it being a pandemic. Despite this, NIB Travel refused to refund or partially refund my policy. Many other providers have refunded their customers and this is poor form. I am paying for a policy that is useless and that I could never make a claim on. Very poor form and I will never be using this company again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib

Hi Luke,
Thanks for reaching out. I'd like to look into this for you but I just need a few more details. I'll send you a private message now.
Regards,
Brenden - Customer Experience

Elby

ElbySouth East Queensland, QLD

Thank You NIB

published

I purchased my Travel insurance in Nov 19 direct from Nib for our World cruise in May 2020 which never sailed due to the Corona Virus, I was offered a credit which was of no use to us due to the limitations and I communicated further and Nib cancelled my policy and has paid me a full refund for which I am eternally thankful

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica, Australia, East Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea), Europe, Middle East, North America (inc. Hawaii) and South America
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib

Hi Elby! So glad we were able to assist. Hopefully you'll be planning for that cruise again soon.

David

DavidSydney, NSW

Never use NIB travel insurance

published

Purchased travel insurance through Qantas, but ended up with NIB. Due to the Covid 19 we could not travel. Asked for date changes and have not got a response. Recommend you use another travel insurance company

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Travel Insurance

Find out how nib Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick

NickSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Took over two months, ignored documents, refused to pay due to COVID-19 even though case had nothing to do with it.

published

Horrible service. Ignored a lot of documents, took over two months, sloppy and unprofessional.

Even though our cancellation was not related to COVID-19, NIB still refused claim because of COVID-19. It is their blanket excuse not to pay.

Do not use this dishonest service!

Cancelling health insurance all together.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Dave

DaveMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Do not use NIB - cannot believe they are affiliated with Qantas

published
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
outlook

outlookWestern Australia

  • 2 reviews

Full refund at last. Thank you NIB Qantas

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Derek Krause

Derek KrauseMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Please improve your options regarding self service and info.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Brianc

BriancGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Bitterly Disappointed with Insurance booked through Qantas for NIB

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

kula

kulaasked

Travel Insurance

I have lodged a claim in last march and received a refund settlement in month ago still money not in my a/c can not contact on phone neither email ,so far no response this is the most terrible ,pathetic way doing a business, never again with you either QBE or NIB

1 answer
JEG
JEG

I totally understand your frustration and I’m never doing business either. I’ve made numerous phone calls and emails and no one is answering. Great service from all other companies during COVID but NIB is APPALLING. Hope you sort it all out....

Get an answer from our members and nib representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.