?
? !
11 photos
Nissan Qashqai J11

Nissan Qashqai J11 (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Nissan Qashqai J11 2020 and Nissan Qashqai J11 2022. ST-L, TL, TS, etc...
3.8 from 106 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (29)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (26)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (27)
  • Braking
    4.2 (29)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (28)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (21)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (25)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (27)
  • Handling
    4.3 (27)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (28)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (28)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (29)
  • Features
    3.6 (27)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Paul L.

Paul L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Cracked Sunroof

published

Four year old Qashqai with a crack from an edge then right up the middle of the inner sheet of laminated glass. No damage on the external sheet of laminated glass, so my assumption is that it is a manufacture fault. Nissan have rejected my claim as there is a clause in the warranty about glass and the car is 12 months out of warranty. A significant cost to replace (almost $3000), so I am very disillusioned with Nissan Australia.

Purchased in May 2017 at Northern Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joe Smith

Joe SmithGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not too bad, except...

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michaela c

Michaela cWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Absolutely love this car.

published

Runs amazing. Have had for 3 years and not a single problem. I do find it hard when needing to purchase a tyre if you get a flat while travelling as it's not a common one that most tyre shops stock. Great sound system. Great to drive and park. No problems doing long road trips or just around town. This car is also excellent on fuel.

Purchased in February 2018 at Nissan Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Nissan Qashqai J11 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ebi

EbiHunter Region, NSW

Not high quality as I expected, had a brake failure

published

My 2018 Qashqai only 43,000 km on it got a brake failure in the middle of the road! The brake got stuck for no reason. Told the company and dealership could not figure it out, they didnt even repair the damge to the car caused by the stuck brake.

Purchased in October 2020 for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nettie G

Nettie GHunter Region, NSW

Faulty Radiator Fan

published

The Radiator cooling fan has gone in my 2015 Nissan Qashqai ST. Took it to my mechanic, he was shocked to see this part needing replacing in his eyes prematurely in a car that has done 108,000k's. He phoned Nissan and couldn't believe the cost for a genuine Nissan part is $1,580.00, just the part this doesn't include installation. Thankfully he has been able to obtain an after-market part for $500 and his cost to install is around $100. How lucky that I have a great mechanic. I recently have been informed that it is very common for this part to be faulty in Qashqai's that has around the 100,000k's on the clock. Interesting what you find out.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tracey

TraceyAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 20 likes

Faulty Head Unit In My Brand New Qashqai And Nissan Refuses To Honour Their Warranty

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Armstrong Nissan Toowoomba.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Tracey
Tracey
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nick

NickSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Safety not important for Nissan

published

I bought my Nissan Qashqai a year ago. I was happy with the car till I had a flat tyre and had to change it. The car jack broke as the car went up. Luckily the tyre was still in the wheel and I had a hydraulic jack in the car. I contacted Nissan and they refused to replace the jack. They wrote in an email that from the picture they can see that it was used incorrectly. They don’t even want to see the jack. Not very safe ....

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nissan qashqai 2015

published

I drive every day and have found the qashqai to be great on fuel and have no mechanicalproblems in the 4 years I've owned it it's a dream to drive the only draw back is the stereo system interface with blue tooth works perfectly but very limited to other brands

Purchased in September 2016 for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

DONT BUY NISSAN EVER

DONT BUY NISSAN EVERSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Nissan qashqai ti is all looks and no performance. Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020 at Byrne Ford Kedron, Brisbane for $20,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Nissan Qashqai J11 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

A dinosaur of a car

published

I bought a 2015 Nissan qashqai a couple of years ago and as a car it's not bad at all when you look at its entertainment system/Bluetooth system it's antiquated and decades behind its rivals this makes it unsafe as you can't voice dial or answer everything has to be done manually Nissan connect is so bad even Nissan gave up on it and introduced apple car play in its newer models but left the rest of us hanging in the wind

Purchased in August 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nathan

Nathan

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

A thoroughly adequate car with out being special. Great packaging (though not a "family" car). Good ride and handling.

published
Build Quality
Noise Level
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
anil

anilSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

This is perfect car

published

use to go to work and driver around for shopping . i use the car every day . there so may feature and i never gone through all. like the seat adjustment.

Purchased in June 2020 at blacktown for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Aha

AhaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

A great A-B car

published

I purchased this car in 2017 and use it daily. I've only had one issue - a friction sound from the steering column which, when investigated by Nissan, resulted in the steering column being replaced (free of charge, as the car was still under warranty).

There's no Apple CarPlay or Android Auto in this car, but I don't give two hoots about that.

Overall, this has been a comfortable, reliable car, with a decent amount of space given it's a compact SUV.

The only negative I've found is that it's a bit of a thirsty car - not as economical as some others in its class.

Purchased in August 2017 at Nissan Dealers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dibs87

Dibs87South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the blue

published

Have purchased my second nissian qausqaui
Had a 2015 Ti , great car sold it after 3 yrs and brought the new stl 2019 model good upgrades, less road noise with this later model

Purchased in August 2019 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gee

GeeSydney, NSW

Total Lemon

published

Purchased in May 2015 at Nissan Dealers for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Nissan Qashqai J11 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dani

DaniGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect choice

published

Great car for small family. Has Isofix for baby seat. Nice and sleek interior and exterior. Spacious boot. Great value for money. Good safety features and driving aids. Highly recommend this suv.

Purchased in May 2019 at Nissan Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love the car hate the GPS ALMOST USELESS

published

Bought Qashqui STL in Dec 2019 from Total Nissan in Perth. Excellent service delivered to my door on time with full tank of fuel. Have since driven from Perth to Cairns no problems at all, EXCEPT the GPS is a real low end Bosch product and is very annoying as it call the exits too late, doesn’t always direct the quickest way when compared to using Google maps at the same time! Have spoken to Nissan who upgraded the GPS with latest version software but still same problems. Great car but the GPS is very so so in my opinion. I’ve driven and owned a few cars with GPS and this is disappointing as I specially wanted the GPS so went for the STL model. Just wanted to share my experience with others.

Purchased in December 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $32,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Started off well, but problems starting to show

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
xtnath

xtnathFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing Car

published

Purchased in July 2015 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lorro

LorroSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Great surprise!

published

We have recently purchased a 2016 TI Qashqai after driving a Toyota Aurion for the past 3years and are thrilled with our new vehicle.The Aurion has been a great drive but being of the older generation we needed a more practical vehicle.Nissan Aspley were really good to deal with, the Qashqai is quiet,easy to drive,powerful enough,well appointed and economical so it has been a great choice so far.

Purchased in October 2019 for $23,010.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 6
See all Nissan Dualis / Qashqai reviews

Questions & Answers

Di Aitchison

Di Aitchisonasked

Qashqai J11 (2014-2021)

I have a 5 year old Qashqi with ongoing aircon problems. I have asked to have it solved 4 to 5 times but because it is a "rare" incidence ie Mostly ok, but occasionally starts to blow coolish air..but no cold air. It can then just start working again. I am almost out of my extended warranty at the end of this month, so I'm getting desperate as I am a pensioner. It is in for 2 days at present and they say they will try to drive it around to see if it happens again. That is a long shot with no guarantees it will happen when they have it. At one stage they wondered if it might be associated with the battery, so I bought a new one..and the aircon was working for months after I'd replaced it. However it has happened again. I get their frustration..but it's nothing compared to mine. Alex

2 answers
alan
alan

typical nissan air conditioners they all had problems, qashqai & xtrails have the same units Nissan knows about it they pretend they dont know. so they dont have to repair them Leaking seals, faulty compressors pipes freezing up are some of the issues

Di Aitchison
Di Aitchison

Thankyou Alan...time will tell.

Brad

Bradasked

Qashqai J11 (2014-2021)

I have a 2017 qushqai and it has 60,000km when you turn on the aircon the fan has a big tapping noise. All fin are on the fan!! Any help will be good

3 answers
Amit
Amit

Sounds like when it started in my NQ diesel. At Nissan, they dismissed our complaint. Independent mechanic reveals fan is dead and engine is overheating on turning on AC. . Paying $ 275 fan + 140 fitting cost. Car is out of warranty after 3 years :(

alan
alan

all quashqai had the exact same problem, nissan pretends they dont know of any issues with the fans

Brad
Brad

And they want $1500 for a new one. Got one after market luckily. It’s been a great little car other then that. But after them wanting that much for a fan I don’t want to take the risk something major might break. No more Nissan’s for me unfortunately

Donna C.

Donna C.asked

Qashqai J11 (2014-2021)

Hi there. I have 2015 Qashqai TI bought Jan 2016. Only done mainly urban driving on Gold Coast and RACQ told me i need a new fan that made a vibration clacking sound when aircon on.
Now i don’t know if better to trade for Subaru Forrester or Rav4 Hybrid as new fan costs under $300 to buy but over $1800 to install, then only has 12mth Warranty. Was told it’s a manufacturing problem so Nissan should recall the damn things and fix it!!
I found Nissan so unhelpful and unwilling to accept responsibility in clearly a fault that was in the car.
Only done the $13k what do you think? i’m not wealthy to keep forking out parts. Would i be better off in a Hybrid for economy and reliability? Can anyone suggest which are best but around Qasqai price?
Also what should i accept as Trade In? It’s got all the bells & whistles of TI model.
I’m upset as love the car but not the fact parts are from China or Mexican and i thought was British assembled but lol Chinese parts? Wtf??
Beautiful car inside but sadly i can’t trust it if will develop probs and yes the warranty is now finished...
Please reply as only got till 20th to decide.

4 answers
bill bayley
bill bayley

How does the RACQ know its the fan making the noise Nissan Qashqai and

xtrails had a big problem with air cond units leaking seals & noisy compressors vibrating both easy fixed who told you it was $1800 to install a new fan Get another quote but NOT from Nissan they havent got a clue. Dont trade the car take it a local auto electrician or some one who does car air conditioning and get another quote Nissan will tell you anything just to make money

Donna C.
Donna C.

Thankyou so much. I am taking it on Friday who wants to check it’s the fan. Nissan ( omg- lol) quoted $1840 so no way. The mechanic i found said if it’s that then $800 part and labour tho at least he said he wants to make sure as might be something cheaper... I hope only something small. Gorgeous car but i’m unsure to trade for Mazda CX-5 2021 model...... if the Qashqai doesn’t have any major expensive “ problems” then i’d like to keep it.... Tho CVT makes me wonder...

ben dover
ben dover

. Get the mechanic to check the air conditioner compressor there was a lot of problems with Nissan air con units this is where the problem could be....keep the Qashqai 100% better then Mazdas, you think you have problems now Mazdas are worse. As for the CVT there is a lot of rumors about nissan CVT they only fail because they arnt serviced properly Get the transmission serviced new filters oil etc every 20,000kms & you shouldnt have any problems. DO NOT TAKE IT TO NISSAN FOR SERVICING they never do it properly mark it off in the log book that its been done & charge for it.

See all Nissan Qashqai J11 (2014-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Nissan Qashqai J11 (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 11 Nissan Dualis / Qashqai
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Release dateJuly 2014July 2014July 2014July 2014
Compare all 11 Nissan Dualis / Qashqai

Visit official website

Other Small / Compact SUVs


See all Small / Compact SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.