3 photos
Nurofen

Nurofen

Tablets, Caplets, Liquid Capsules (See All)
4.2 from 35 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Muscle & Pain Relief Products in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Nurofen

Pros

Treats wide range of pain areas
Fast acting
Gentle on the stomach

Reviews

4.2
35 reviews
Previous
Next
Bron S
Bron SMurray Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Black label on tablets

published

Why is black stuff in dissolved tablets attracted to magnet accidentally near glass?
Please tell me why there are little bits of black stuff in my glass when I dissolve my tablets so I don't have to swallow them

Purchased in February 2022 at Coles Supermarkets.

Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
My Thoughts.
My Thoughts.
  • 103 reviews
  • 60 likes

Works For Me.

published

I always buy Nurofen in the tablet form because I found the caplet a little difficult to swallow.
Like a lot of other people I have arthritic knees.
I find two Nurofen in the morning combined with stretching exercises gives me significant improvement,we all know there is no ‘miracle’ cure for arthritis.
I always take them with food…never take them on an empty stomach…
They are a good price and easily obtainable.

Purchased in June 2021 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Impossible to swallow - almost choked me

published

I bought the Nurofen Express 512mg tablets in Cyprus when I was there on holiday. When I wanted to use this tablet (solid material, almost like a sphere) it was really hard to swallow it, I stuck in my throat. Then when I came home, I tried to use it again, it stuck in my throat again, it has a surface that gets sticky when it gets wet. I tried to drink more water on it but the water jammed, too (blocked by the tablet in my throat), so I vomited it. Its still on my kitchen wall, I will have to repaint it someday. I tried it a third time in the bathroom, and failed to swallow it again. After that I throw the rest into the trash, and searched on google where share my experience about this poison, ... I mean product.

Purchased in May 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mallymuff
mallymuffGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 63 reviews
  • 30 likes

OK for arthritis pain - over packaged

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $14.99.

Ease of Use
3/5
Incentivised Review No
mallymuff
mallymuff

SEPT 2020: coz I need to take something for OA pain I've been taking these now for over a year and they now give very little relief and the price goes up n up, so I'd change the 4 stars above to 2. nothing much helps :(

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Muscle & Pain Relief Products

Find out how Nurofen compares to other Muscle & Pain Relief Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shontelle
ShontelleBrisbane
  • 8 reviews

Trash

published

I started getting a headache yesterday, took some nurofen ... didnt do anything. Went to bed and woke up the next day. About midday to late afternoon, i started getting another headache so I took more. My headache turned into a migraine. Had to take 3 tablets to get any sort of a result. Did nothing. Took another 2 1 hr later, also did nothing. Had to get the hubby to go & buy me a box of panadol. All the nurofens in the supermarkets are complete garbage. Why the hell did they have to take away the nurofen+ & make you go to a dr to get it? So stupid. What would of been dealt with yesterday is still occurring the next day at night. Your product is crap.

Nurofen
Komal K.NurofenSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

This is perfect! Can't keep without it.

published

Nurofen is a great painkiller. I found ibuprofen to be far more effective than paracetamol, and Nurofen is readily available just about everywhere. I generally use it for headaches, period pain and back pain, but I've also used it after dental surgery and when I twisted my ankle. It offers great pain relief, I always make sure there's some in my medicine cabinet.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Putting yourselves out of business ?

published

So, the Australian government has changed it's legislation, I cannot get nurofen+ over the counter anymore & now requiring everyone to go to a doctor & get a prescription.
I have bought a box a week for years for chronic pain associated with MS, now though I can only get 1 box of 30 tablets every 15 days.
Further more, nurofen have upped the price. Was $13aud per box of 30, now it's $20.85.

So after getting 5 repeat prescriptions today, off to the pharmacy I go & after being given the information on the legislation changes, I told them to tear up the scripts & bin them!
Never buying nurofen again!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
brian
brian
  • 273 reviews
  • 76 likes

Not bad at all

published

I bought some nurofen capsules years ago from the local gold cross chemist and started using them when I had a sore throat due to the flu - it got so bad that I could hardly talk so I had to alternate so I could sleep however, the capsules were small so had no choice but, to take 2 capsules at a time in order for nurofen to work alright

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lorraine
LorraineNSW
  • 51 reviews
  • 12 likes

More effective than paracetamol

published

Nurofen is a great painkiller. I find ibuprofen to be far more effective than paracetomol, and Nurofen is readily available just about everywhere. I generally use it for headaches, period pain and back pain, but I've also used it after dental surgery and when I twisted my ankle. It offers great pain relief, I always make sure there's some in my medicine cabinet.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Muscle & Pain Relief Products

Find out how Nurofen compares to other Muscle & Pain Relief Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
runneraust
runneraustBrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

My go to for bad pain

published

Always works for me. My go to for bad pain in my back or headaches. Easy to find in tons of shops.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Madison
MadisonCanberra
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

love nurofen for a head ache

published

I seemed to notice that nurofen works really well when I have a head ache or pain. Panadol never works I feel as if it makes it worse. Nurofen is great for pain definitely recommend.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
t00dles
t00dlesQLD, 4000
  • 63 reviews
  • 44 likes

Regular Pain Reliever!

published

I have tried lots of other brands, but Nurofen is one I always go back to. My kids use it, I use it and I've got my Dad using it as well! I find it works much quicker than other brands and doesn't upset my stomach. The caplets are perfect size for me as I can't swallow larger pills without gagging - I can swallow two of these at a time - go me! :)
Fast acting, gentle on stomach, great for kids

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Muscle & Pain Relief Products

Find out how Nurofen compares to other Muscle & Pain Relief Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
cherubbabies
cherubbabiesIllawarra, NSW
  • 94 reviews
  • 41 likes

Excellent

published

We use nurofen a lot, any pain we use it.
It's been a big fan in our family for years and you can buy from pretty much anywhere now.
It helps us get on with our lives and really tackles pain on hand.
I like that nurofen has different pain tablets, for different areas even cold and flu.
Works fast
-

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tilly91
Tilly91Melb
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Pain relief

published

For instant pain relief try nurfofen. It works wonders for headaches and tooth aches. I have used other pain killers and nothing comes close to nurofen. It is expensive compared to other brands, but l must say well worth it, as it actually works not like some others on the market.
Instant pain relief
Expensive

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
shelbyward
shelbywardGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Nurofen is the best painkiller

published

When I have a headache, or more recently, toothaches, I turn to Nurofen for relief. I've tried the others but it is really only Nurofen that works for me. Its the rapid pain relief that makes it my painkiller of choice. Easy to take and totally effective so it ticks all the boxes.
Quick pain relief

Amanda75
Amanda75

Not many people realise but your no name brand of ibuprofen (Active ingredient of Nurofen) is exactlly the same as Nurofen, but only $2 at Coles or Woolworths for a pack of 20.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members and Nurofen representatives

Nurofen

Details

Features:

  • Nurofen contains ibuprofen, a general painkiller that can help ease general pain, making it a go-to for any pain or discomfort you’re experiencing.
  • It provides fast, effective pain relief for different types of pain, including headaches, migraines, back pain, period pain, dental pain, cold and flu symptoms, sinus pain, muscular pain, and pain associated with arthritis.
  • 2 tablets can give you up to 8 hours of pain relief.
  • You can buy Nurofen tablets or caplets, so you can choose whichever makes it easier to swallow.
  • It doesn’t require a prescription to obtain, so you can pop to the shop when you feel your pain coming on.
  • A pack of 24 tablets will set you back $5.99.

Points of praise:

  • Reviewers said that Nurofen eased pain in a lot of problem areas, including headaches, period pain, back pain, dental pain, and joint pain.
  • Many reviewers found that Nurofen worked well for pain that wasn’t eased by paracetamol.
  • Nurofen is fast acting and gentle on the stomach, according to reviewers.
Compare all 3 Nurofen
Nurofen Liquid Capsules
  • Discontinued

Nurofen Liquid Capsules

4.3
(3)
CategoryMuscle & Pain Relief ProductsMuscle & Pain Relief ProductsMuscle & Pain Relief Products
Prescription NeededNoNoNo
Product TypeTablet/PillTablet/PillTablet/Pill
Targeted AreaGeneral Pain and InflammationGeneral Pain and InflammationGeneral Pain and Inflammation
Release dateJan 2007Jan 2007
Compare all 3 Nurofen
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.