??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband ADSL

Optus Broadband ADSL

1.5 from 912 reviews

See the Best Internet Service Providers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
27
4 star
57
3 star
58
2 star
67
1 star
703

Not Stable, Low Speeds

published

The connection is totally unreliable.
Slow downs and dropouts are continual.
They have arranged a technician, but I believe they have no interest in providing decent service.
I do not recommend Optus

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Amanda

Amanda

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

The worst

published

The worst provider by far nothing but technical issues drop outs and worst customer service :( never again total boycott.

Since day one the service was never a solid connection, struggled weekly to keep devices connected just Netflix was unbearable

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
caprice

capricesydney

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Customer service getting worse.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
VCJ

VCJSydney, NSW

Ridiculous customer service (actually, no service)

published
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data

Amy H.

Amy H.Sydney, NSW

Never again!

published

Was given 6 appointments for the technician to come, would call before the appointment, i would go home and no one would show up.
I was told they need to cancel and re-order the service, followed them up a week later and nothing had been done. Called to cancel the service, was given the run around. They need to call me back later to cancel..

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Eduardo S.

Eduardo S.Sydney, NSW

The worst! Don’t waste your money

published

I had optus for 2 years and I don’t recommend this provider for anyone. The connection is often very slow at peak hours, which is usually when I’m home. It’s not cheap compared to other providers and their customer service is really bad. It always take too long until someone pick up the phone, unless you’re contracting a service, in this very moment they are so fast. At this moment while I’m writing I’m calling to cancel my service but guess what? 23min on line and I still couldn’t talk to their special cancellation team.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Start DateDecember 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Stay away from this customer, go with mates Australia

published

Seriously just stay away from this company. Your dealing with Indians across the ocean and takes 1.5hrs each time trying to get thru. Reason why I signed up coz optus gives 24/7 business service which is the biggest lie ever. Go with mates Australia, takes 2min to talk to someone with clear English and fast service. Optus can’t solve anything.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Extremely Slow. Very poor service. Frequent errors/problems.

published

Hmm. Where to start. Well, I had ADSL2+ for ages with optus. Typical speed somewhere around 4 Mbit/s in Sydney. Took a month to get working and 4 hours back and forth before optus decided to fix the lines. The my account service is horrendous. The internet frequently stops to a crawl (so slow the test your internet speed page just does not work, despite no-one else in the household being online). The direct debit option is a joke, requires a mailed form to signup. Just don't get optus, full stop.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
S Myers

S MyersMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Terrible Service

published

Speed of internet is a joke hovering between 2 and 3mps. Can’t even watch Netflix. Indian call centres are not helpful as they are just reading from a script. They sent out at technician 2 weeks ago who advised the Optus modem was faulty and Optus would replace it. Still waiting!!! Have been a customer for 14 years. Over it and going to move providers

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2005
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Lola D.

Lola D.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best Provider I had to far

published

We switched to Optus from telstra which is much cheaper and we never have any problems in our area, the only improvement could be when you call them they should take your number and call back as it can take to long but most provider are the same. Connection is pretty good

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateAugust 2019
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

June

JuneWeetangera 2614, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified customer

Optus is the worst internet provider. No service and they are still billing me

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

JD666

JD666

  • 2 reviews

Would give 0 stars if possible

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Dawnb

Dawnb

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Unlawful Direct Debit

published

Direct debited $743 illegally a week ago from account. Optus have admitted they direct debited in error and said they will refund money but no sign of it after a week. Customer Service appear to be overseas and said I would get refund in 1-2 days. They still illegally have money :(

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Gigi

Gigi

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Poor internet

published

Ongoing Poor internet home and mobile especially peak times and weekends. But charge a late fee for half delivered service. And when you call the technical team same recording.. Internet issues in your area... 3rd world internet

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Sushil

SushilSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor throughput

published

My download speed drops to KBs at times. On calling support, I am asked to go through troubleshooting steps every time and that yields nothing. Momentary throughout test may show better throughout but average throughput remains bad. At once my modem was replaced but that doesn’t help. Earnest request to Optus to resolve my issue. Must mention that the support people are always cordial.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Nate

NateGold Coast, -Choose a state-

  • 12 reviews

Terrible, stressful a company to avoid at all cost.

published

I'm adding this new comment in addition to comment I made 4 years ago. I am still getting stressed over this incompetent company 4 year later. They sent my account to baycorp for debt collection services without contacting me first although I had paid it only now I find out because of a letter from Baycorp debt collectors. What’s wrong with Optus, the debt collection services can contact me but optus can’t go figure. I had paid all bills too. Avoid optus at all costs.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateAugust 2014
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Terrible customer service

published

Still waiting for ADSL connection after 8weeks. Phone calls for update bounced from department to department, 1hr20min later I was informed there was an issue with order. Wait another 2weeks.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
See all answers

Jon T

Jon T

  • 2 reviews

horrible speed, dropping connection, worst customer service

published

Why is Australia a 3rd world country - thanks to its "broadband" - worse than anywhere else I have seen.

Optus takes the cake - horrible speed, dropping connection, customer service just awful. Was passed over to 3 teams about to pass over the 4th one, before I had to hang Up. Aaaaargh!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJuly 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Atman O.

Atman O.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst Online and Customer Service Ever

published

Website doesn’t work at all. Online services don’t work at all. You can’t pay online payment. I wasted 3-4 hours each month to pay monthly bill. Customer service sucks as well. Waste of time.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Susan M

Susan MGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

No internet nor home phone for 10 weeks - try to contact Optus every week - no one replies

published

Optus mistakenly disconnected phone and internet. No internet for 10 weeks! Our email address will probably never work again. Home phone number is lost forever? All contact with Optus failed.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
See all answers

Page 1 of 46

See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Optus Broadband ADSL but you can read 30 questions about Optus Broadband.


Get an answer from our members and Optus representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.