??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband ADSL

Optus Broadband ADSL

1.5 from 920 reviews

Reviews

(27)
(57)
(58)
(67)
(711)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (55)
  • Transparency
    1.5 (54)
  • Customer Service
    1.4 (54)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (12%) · No (88%)
Lilly

LillySydney

  • 7 reviews

A one star rating is too high.....Optus Service Outage...or Outrage!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Isabel

IsabelSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

The worst 2 years of my life

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Huang S.

Huang S.

  • 2 reviews

Optus has the worst service ever.

published

Optus has the worst service ever. As a business in Sydney CBD Optus paying the bills on time, we has been cut off all the internet and telephone from Mid Nov 2019 until now the mid Feb 2020.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2015
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Optus has the worst service ever.

published

Optus has the worst service ever. As a business in Sydney CBD Optus paying the bills on time, we has been cut off all the internet and telephone from Mid Nov 2019 until now the mid Feb 2020.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2015
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Terrible Customer Service

published

Good luck getting anyone to actually help you if something goes wrong with your service. They did everything possible to avoid sending a technician out for a broadband service that was dodgy for months. They are also condescending and treat their customers with contempt.

Thankfully, my contract is over with them and I've moved to a different broadband that has already provided much better customer service.

Avoid Optus at all costs.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Two weeks without Internet. Optus support is clueless and helpless

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateFebruary 2020
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

This company is a joke

published

I have tried for 14 days have access to internet at home. First a modem arrived and it was supposed to be activated remotely. I called the company because it was not then they assure that would be activate in 24 hours. 2 hours later I received a message on my phone saying my order was cancelled. I called them again, they said they do not know what happened but I had to finalize a new order. After 4 hours in the phone I did what needed to be done. 48 hours I called them again and no order was processed in my name, no modem was coming. I spend more 4 hours and now they said I should do the process again. Even the company team suggested me to find a new company. No respect at all. I would not recommend this company even to my enemies.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2020
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

terrible service

published

This service is ridiculous your life will be easier if you DO NOT go with this provider. I had no internet over Christmas because there modem was faulty and this was the 3rd faulty modem!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Not Stable, Low Speeds

published

The connection is totally unreliable.
Slow downs and dropouts are continual.
They have arranged a technician, but I believe they have no interest in providing decent service.
I do not recommend Optus

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Unhappy R
Unhappy R

Have had two technicians visit, no change to speeds, obviously Optus just cant be bothered to provide any decent service or speeds

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amanda

Amanda

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

The worst

published

The worst provider by far nothing but technical issues drop outs and worst customer service :( never again total boycott.

Since day one the service was never a solid connection, struggled weekly to keep devices connected just Netflix was unbearable

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
caprice

capricesydney

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Customer service getting worse.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
VCJ

VCJSydney, NSW

Ridiculous customer service (actually, no service)

published
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Amy H.

Amy H.Sydney, NSW

Never again!

published

Was given 6 appointments for the technician to come, would call before the appointment, i would go home and no one would show up.
I was told they need to cancel and re-order the service, followed them up a week later and nothing had been done. Called to cancel the service, was given the run around. They need to call me back later to cancel..

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Eduardo S.

Eduardo S.Sydney, NSW

The worst! Don’t waste your money

published

I had optus for 2 years and I don’t recommend this provider for anyone. The connection is often very slow at peak hours, which is usually when I’m home. It’s not cheap compared to other providers and their customer service is really bad. It always take too long until someone pick up the phone, unless you’re contracting a service, in this very moment they are so fast. At this moment while I’m writing I’m calling to cancel my service but guess what? 23min on line and I still couldn’t talk to their special cancellation team.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateDecember 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Stay away from this customer, go with mates Australia

published

Seriously just stay away from this company. Your dealing with Indians across the ocean and takes 1.5hrs each time trying to get thru. Reason why I signed up coz optus gives 24/7 business service which is the biggest lie ever. Go with mates Australia, takes 2min to talk to someone with clear English and fast service. Optus can’t solve anything.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Extremely Slow. Very poor service. Frequent errors/problems.

published

Hmm. Where to start. Well, I had ADSL2+ for ages with optus. Typical speed somewhere around 4 Mbit/s in Sydney. Took a month to get working and 4 hours back and forth before optus decided to fix the lines. The my account service is horrendous. The internet frequently stops to a crawl (so slow the test your internet speed page just does not work, despite no-one else in the household being online). The direct debit option is a joke, requires a mailed form to signup. Just don't get optus, full stop.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
S Myers

S MyersMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Terrible Service

published

Speed of internet is a joke hovering between 2 and 3mps. Can’t even watch Netflix. Indian call centres are not helpful as they are just reading from a script. They sent out at technician 2 weeks ago who advised the Optus modem was faulty and Optus would replace it. Still waiting!!! Have been a customer for 14 years. Over it and going to move providers

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2005
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Lola D.

Lola D.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best Provider I had to far

published

We switched to Optus from telstra which is much cheaper and we never have any problems in our area, the only improvement could be when you call them they should take your number and call back as it can take to long but most provider are the same. Connection is pretty good

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2019
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
June

JuneWeetangera 2614, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified customer

Optus is the worst internet provider. No service and they are still billing me

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
JD666

JD666

  • 2 reviews

Would give 0 stars if possible

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Page 1 of 46

See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Optus Broadband ADSL but you can read 32 questions about Optus Broadband.

Get an answer from our members and Optus representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(326)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(209)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(1,986)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(898)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(64)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(55)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(340)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.