??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband NBN 12 (Speed Pack 1)

Optus Broadband NBN 12 (Speed Pack 1)

1.3 from 19 reviews

Reviews

1.3

19 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(16)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (15)
  • Transparency
    1.2 (17)
  • Customer Service
    1.2 (18)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (36%) · No (64%)
Previous
Next

Inconsistent messaging ...What a waste of time!

published

We had logged a request to relocate on the 10/7 and in moving change from ADSL to NBN. We have been given so much mixed information and are no closer to being set up.
We have been lied to and transferred from department to department. I have spent over hour each day for the last week trying to get it sorted. I have finally given up and requested to cancel the service. Once I told the operator they couldn't talk me out of cancelling they became nasty and didn't want to give me the time of day.

Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeI don't know
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Mel

MelGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst internet provider ever

published

Absolutely horrible, keeps cutting out multiple times throughout 2 years, they can never figure out what is wrong with it then all of a sudden it works. Absolutely crap! Don’t go to them, bad customer service, bad reception, keeps cutting out! Sick of having to call them all the time. Worst provider ever

Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateNovember 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
aaaaaaaaa

aaaaaaaaaGreat Southern, WA

Have literally been hanged up on by customer support twice

published

No internet for the last 36hours. On hold for 2hours than hang up on. Called them again to stay this is unacceptable and was told to p*ss off and back in the 2hr queue. If you're with optus, this is the companmy you are with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband NBN 12 (Speed Pack 1) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tran D.

Tran D.Sydney, NSW

Customer Service

published

I just had the most unpleasant customer service with Optus. I was trying to make a deal with the agent and said what my friend got offered and she accused me of lying. She then disconnected me in the middle on conversation whilst I was still considering the offer. Well! That made up my mind to switch to another provider then after so many years with them. The internet speed was slow and often got disconnected anyway. It's time for a fresh start. Bye bye Optus.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJune 2013
See all answers
souledtshirts

souledtshirtsFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

I hope you get sued and go bankrupt

published

So when we bought our NBN, it didn't work for 8 weeks. The customer service was absolutely awful, same thing said 20 times and then 'we will send someone in a week'. After the 8 weeks, it finally worked with absolutely slow speeds, huge traffic and dropouts every month. My dad refuses to change our provider so we are stuck sending you 60 dollars for the most disgusting internet ever. I hope you know im never going to use your service in the future.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Adequate Speeds No
See all answers
hos10

hos10AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Poor customer service - hidden fee ripoff

published

Optus charges $2 for processing fees, $2 for paper fee, $2 for non direct debit fees. Constantly a problem with account resets - spend hour long for change to electronic invoicing, suddenly they revert you back to paper invoice, hit you with fees, and when you ask for correction they say you need to go to store as this are not a service help they can give you. Badly accented representatives who you need to repeat and scream details into the phone due to poor sound reception. With elderly parents who have been loyal to them, and as authorised user, they make it miserable to even try to help your parents out. Cannot recommend Optus at all.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateJanuary 2008
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Amanweil

AmanweilSouth East Queensland, QLD

Freaking useless idiots

published

No internet connection from the get go. Called them multiple times explaining the same crap over and over again. Received a free wifi dongle that doesnt even wanna connect. Shambolic!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
See all answers

NBN - confusion

published

NBN installation delayed by Optus not informing me of the appointment. I was given an appointment 6 weeks later. NBN technician attended and did the technical installation with black box, modem, and plug in wall. After much communication with Optus regarding intermittent landline phone access I have now been told by Optus that I don’t have NBN access but have been using ADSL. I have been paying my bill all during this 9 month period and last week OPTUS disabled my ADSL connection so now I have no access. They have made an appointment next week for NBN to install my connection again. OPTUS customer service is dysfunctional and totally inadequate. I have made a report to the communication ombudsman

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

I had a call with Indian guy at 10:05 morning today and way he spoke was terrible. Can’t wait to get out of service

published

Excellent connection but customer service always sucks. Every time I call, I get a moody response. I always get grumpy after talking to them . So not even a star to customer service. You want at least a humble talk right when u r fined without notice on direct debit. Just waiting to end the contract or I will pay termination fee and get out.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband NBN 12 (Speed Pack 1) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Antiša

AntišaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Its been 7 months and still nothing works

published

I've waited 7 months for Nbn.
I've Spoken with well over 50 people.
I've been promised: Service. calls, repairs, deliveries all of which were untrue.
I've been with Optus for a long time. Over now. I'm Absolutely disgusted.

Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Horrible service!

published

Horrible service!!! I talk to optus many times but they are very very very slow. The always say yes to everything but they are not solve the problem. Instead of that, they are create more problem!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers
Whiterabbit

WhiterabbitSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Absolutely dreadful customer service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateFebruary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
See all answers

OPTUS NEEDS TO GET A NEW CALL CENTRE/SYSTEM

published

Worst customer service as you get shunted to different teams and then they hang up, cant access your account or call you back. Unable to fully understand your issue and then use scripted answers that dont relate to the issue. Always having to call back up to fix billing issues and can spend up to 2hours on phone since they dont have enough staff and force you to use their app which half the time the team dont have access and need you to call the customer support team.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateSeptember 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Quickpig

QuickpigSoldiers Point

  • 30 reviews
  • 22 likes

You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave.

published

The NBN provided a great service for the two years whilst I was with Optus. I didn't need to contact customer services, so cannot comment on the efficiency of Optus. My contract ended, the price went through the roof, I decided to leave. Cancelling the service was like escaping a maze. There is no cancellation section or information and you cannot cancel the service at an Optus shop! After an extensive search I discovered the online chat was the only way to go. They eventually transfer you to another elusive department where you spend an hour before they give you a cancellation reference number. Not good enough.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMay 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Zuwei C

Zuwei CGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

it's okay

published

Australian internet in general is not very good. In saying that, optus is one of the best out there. Im using the nbn speed 1 pack with 6 people using it at the same time and it runs smoothly when gaming. Their tech support is useless though.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2015
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband NBN 12 (Speed Pack 1) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sylvia

Sylvia

  • 15 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pretty Fast Yet Not Stable

published

The internet is generally good, but the signal breaks up from time to time (only for a short period of time). The plan is not bad value but the service needs to step up a little.

Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateMarch 2015
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Mel.

Mel.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Don’t go with Optus.

published

We haven’t had any wifi connection for almost a month which resulted in me struggling to do studies. We’ve been on the phone for 2 hours and no one has picked no up. This is ridiculous. I will tell EVDRYONE to go with Telstra, because at least they get back with me and are easy to contact.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateOctober 2014
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Horrible. Disgusting service and lies

published

Spoke to optus about nbn connections. February 22nd Live chat spoke to a person and made a contract. Told was to get a call and contract in two days. Week later called and found out no contract was written up. Spoke to a person, they supposedly sent info and contract but had to wait for nbn to contact us. Week later no contact no anything. Got a letter in mail asking us to contact them as we havent set up anything for nbn.
Looking at new providers right now.
Also thinking of switching mobile providers atm.

Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Adequate Speeds No
See all answers

No show

published

Organised a date with Optus to upgrade from ADSL to NBN. No one showed up to connect. No one contacted me to explain why. Called Optus to find out what happened the person on the phone couldn’t even find my order then told me to wait 2 days and someone will call me back.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2015
See all answers
See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Linda Molloy

Linda Molloyasked

NBN 12 (Speed Pack 1)

Why am I still receiving bills for wifi and not receiving bill for new nbn?

3 answers
Techie
Techie

Only Optus could advise on this. If they are unable to resolve it put a report in the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman (TIO) as is your right.

Mark D.
Mark D.

Call them right away as you'll probably be getting charged for both. Leave Optus while you can. Good luck wasting time talking to a service team based in India

Linda Molloy
Linda Molloy

I’ve called numerous times. They even tell me my mobile phone is not listed with them. They send the bills though! And I pay them. Am yet to receive a bill for my NBN.

Get an answer from our members

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(402)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(384)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,275)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,071)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(349)
DCSI

DCSI

4.6
(50)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.