??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband

Optus Broadband

ADSL, NBN, Cable, etc...
1.6 from 3,174 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.8 (639)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (617)
  • Customer Service
    1.6 (638)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (191) · No (366)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Gary

GaryWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Don't

published

I agree with other reviewers. Started great and then had 12 months of random problems. Chat online is slow and technical staff tell lies. Treat you like an idiot and give you the run around. I believe they have an issue with overloaded systems but refuse to admit it. They will tell you anything to make you go away

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Bobneil

Bobneil

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Smoking speed, I thought it was hype

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2021
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Display Name

Display NameBrisbane

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Terrible speeds

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2021
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
hen

henMid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Can't be with optus any more

published

Services is very poor and the technical services fix the issues and in 24 hours later back with the same problem. Uploading is bad, time says no internet connection. This is been going since November till now.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateNovember 2020
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
NOTHAPPY

NOTHAPPYPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Absolutely shocking - hopeless

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Samantha

SamanthaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Can’t communicate with customers

published

I have spent months and hours trying to fix their problem. I’m not being billed for nbn broadband which I am clearly on. They tel me my device was cancelled which it is not. You can only message or spend hours on a call. They have sent me confirmation emails numerous times to tel me it is fixed but it never is. Pathetic one star is too much

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateJanuary 2020
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Bren D.

Bren D.

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Only if you really want Optus Sport

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2021
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
partridgedc

partridgedcSydney, NSW

Product ok service appalling

published

The service is ok but when something goes wrong you will start by finding it very difficult to speak to anyone knowledgeable. You will likely get passed from person to person with each one requiring a replay of the problem and the same switch it off and on again type advice. Lots of platitudes but no, zero , ownership. I don’t want to know your tech hasn’t updated my case notes, that’s YOUR problem!
Actively checking out the alternatives.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJanuary 2001
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Awful. Regular connection drop outs in a relatively (<5 y.o.) building

published

Frequently experienced dropouts with this service. Thought is was router aging so bought a new router and nope! Service still drops out (drops internet connection to router before even getting a wifi signal). The inconsistency of service does my head in. Finally had enough after buying a new wifi router which hasn't fixed the internet supply issue. No more optus for me or my family EVER again.

My personal experience leads me to say.... Stay away from Optus!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJune 2013
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LB29

LB29Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • NBN
  • Verified customer

Woeful, arduous, doesn’t deliver what’s promised.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateAugust 2016
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Terrible customer service

published

Have used optus for a few years. In a new apartment, frequent drop outs of service. The internet speed is good when working. However, optus were incapable of resolving the issue despite it being a software issue on their end. NBN technician came and confirmed the NBN lines were fine, optus sent a new modem. Neither of these fixed the frequent drop outs. Optus then just stopped trying, wouldn't call us back after the NBN tech came, every time we call they just ask us to turn it on and off. Has been like this for at least 3 months. Service department have no training and do not understand how to solve issues. Would strongly encourage avoiding them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJune 2017
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Worked well for first few months, now not working at all!

published

I switched to 5g as my NBN was too slow to work from home. It worked really well and fast for a few months. It has been inconsistent and slow recently and for past two days has not worked at all. Optus wasted hours of my time on the phone and in store claiming to have no idea what’s wrong. All my neighbours have TPG NBN working fine. I’ll be switching ASAP. So angry. Apparently 3-5 days is a reasonable time to investigate and no guarantee of any resolution!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Francis Huang

Francis Huang

  • 3 reviews

Transfer more than 100 times.

published

I thought the review rating was under rated. But I was wrong. How can a big company like optus receive such bad review? After experiencing it for the first time, now I understand.

Trying to get nbn through them. Every time we call or online chat we have to get transferred multiple times. At least 3 times over phone and at least 10 times over online chat every time.

They can't even get a nbn technician over to activate the service. Every booking you'll receive at least 4 email/sms confirmations, and yet no notification when the booking is cancalled.. twice.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateDecember 2020
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Awful optus 4g modem internet

published

I can connect my laptop to the modem but I have hard time connecting my mobile to it. Seems like it is too much to handle. Almost every time I am forced to use my mobile data instead of connecting to the modem.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateJanuary 2021
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

OK internet but bad customer service

published

Mostly the broadband worked OK. But when issues arose, I found the company very difficult to deal with. Often the representatives' English wasn't good enough to understand my queries. I would end up getting passed along to different departments without my question being understood or resolved. This happened on several occasions both by phone and online chat. Eventually I left.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMarch 2018
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

No customer service - get RSI typing to looping bots

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateJanuary 2017
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

UTTERLY HOPELESS.

published

Wireless is useless- everything in the house has to be connected with ethernet cables. Service has broken down 3 times in the last month. Paid to have it repaired myself the 3rd time as they were going to take 5 days to get someone out to fix it- not good when you are running a business. Don't get me started on the robotic call centre service they provide either. Am trying to get out of my contract, however they want $700 to let me go. Am contacting the telecommunication Ombudsman to see if they can help. I have been with Optus for over 20 years, and this is how they treat their customers- STAY AWAY !!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMay 1998
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Mottra

Mottra

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Was fast but now S L O W.

published

After initial connection got some good speed above 50 Mbps.
A few days later and for the last few weeks it is a disaster.
2 to 30 Mbps. Average around 12 Mbps.
No resolution, just more case escalation!
My NBN was totally unreliable but always around 45 Mbps.
Now I have a reliable internet but speeds like my ADSL from 10 years ago.
Australia's internet is a world wide joke.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateDecember 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
optimist

optimistSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Unbelievable service

published

I have had an Optus mobile phone service for years (works fine) and they spam me with offers so I applied for a mobile 4G internet service that was 1/2 price. Then the problems started. 1. You must use the Optus app, so if you are a Microsoft person they can't help you. 2. They can't even bill you, well they can but you can't pay because you need the Optus app to pay your bill! 3. They promised to post bills to me but couldn't enter my address in their computer!!. How can a business be so inflexible? Unbelievably the service is still active.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Mrs M.

Mrs M.Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Slow as a wet week

published

Very slow i turned the computer off last night because it was so slow i wish i had shopped around there are two computers in this house if one is being used the other is slow

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateDecember 2020
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Page 1 of 159

Questions & Answers

Aslam

Aslamasked

Broadband

How would you rate Optus nbn in Parramatta and Baulkham hills area

1 answer
Kel
Kel

Aslam. No idea. I am in Canberra .... where I still have no signal, despite being told that I should have an excellent signal at my address.

dave

daveasked

NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)

iam with telstra NBN HFC 50 mbps i pay $80.00 a mouth with land line phone and Binge streaming service and all works well. but would like to go to optus i like the EPL etc
as any one had any isues

1 answer
partridgedc
partridgedc

It’s great until you need support then you become a ping pong ball

Craig

Craigasked

Mobile Broadband

Huawei B818 modem and mobile broadband is extremely unreliable, sometimes it works perfectly at 40M/p/s some times 0.2m/p/s. When you plug in ethernet cable Huawei B818-completely stops working. I want to understand how to fix?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 8 Optus Broadband
CategoryInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service Providers
Standard Monthly Price A$80.00A$90.00A$85.00A$115.00
Service TypeNBNNBNNBNNBN
Packages AvailableBundle and StandaloneBundle and StandaloneBundle and StandaloneBundle and Standalone
ContractMonthly and Set PeriodMonthly and Set PeriodMonthly and Set PeriodMonthly and Set Period
Data AllowanceUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
NBN Speed Tier 12/125/550/20100/40
Max Download Speed 12 Mbps25 Mbps50 Mbps150 Mbps
Max Upload Speed 1 Mbps5 Mbps20 Mbps40 Mbps
Compare all 8 Optus Broadband

Visit official website

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(543)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(430)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,512)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,257)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(66)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(59)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(385)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.