??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband

Optus Broadband

ADSL, NBN, Cable, etc...
1.6 from 3,107 reviews

Reviews

1.6

3,107 reviews
5
(167)
4
(203)
3
(215)
2
(232)
1
(2,290)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (574)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (553)
  • Customer Service
    1.6 (575)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (33%) · No (67%)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Do not go with Optus

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

Terrible Service - Don’t Waste Your Time

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds No
See all answers
TAMC

TAMCGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Optus make a lot of mistakes at the customer's expense

published

Examples:
* Offering to refund fees and then not refunding them
* Not providing details of options the customer has signed up for. In our case we signed up for Phone Everyday 10 and not WorldSaver Ultimate, but were charged $10 per month for WorldSaver Ultimate and had to pay an additional $40 to cover local phone calls
* Received a SIM card for a new Ultra WiFi Modem with 4G Backup, but not the modem

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateFebruary 2000
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Will

WillGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Go Elsewhere

published

I've been on the phone with Optus for 3 weeks now. Dozens of phone calls and no resolution. The speed is extremely patchy with drop outs... speeds as slow is 0.5mbps and on average 6-7mpbs. Customer service always says service working as expected, no fault.

I've wasted hours and hours on the phone so I'm going elsewhere now.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateDecember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
JC

JCMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

terrible customer service hung up on me

published

I wanted to go with Optus NBN plan, when the service guy was told that I will not change to Optus mobile plan at the same time, he said will charge me NBN connection fee whereas the day before he said no connection fee coz I am an Optus customer already, I pointed out the confusion, he immediately hung up on me. What kind of service is that? Does any company need those people to represent and get rid of the customers so they can get paid? I have been with Optus for over 1.5 decades, obviously it means nothing to big companies like Optus

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateDecember 2005
See all answers

Waisting money

published

I'm with optus NBn since October 2019. The connection is very poor. Allways droping off. I had this issue 6 times within 4 months. Again i have the same issue today. When i talk to coustomers service the are passing the issue with each other. No solution since 3 days.
Don't get any connection with Optus. Very very poor coustomer service and company. Don't waist your time and money with Optus.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateOctober 2019
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Liar optus service center

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateApril 2020
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

majorbluey

majorbluey

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic NBN deal for heavy use, including heavy gaming.

published

I have been with Optus for 2 and a half years. I am on nbn 50 speed pack 3 unlimited data. I have FTTP and have no trouble whatsoever. I am a very heavy gamer. NO drop outs!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Cynthia

CynthiaHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Horrendously terrible rip of merchants

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nate

NateSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Better service and price available

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateAugust 2020
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Chris

ChrisPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Horrible customer service with ''live'' chat

published

Spent multiple days trying to have my service cancelled via their Chat service as you cannot call the billing department. Was the most painful experience I've ever had. Avoid at all cost.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
N.Smith

N.SmithPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Getting good speeds and customer service was excellent recently

published

Checked my NBN speed recently and my 100Mbps NBN service was getting 110Mbps. Other checks showing 105Mbps. I also had an issue with my Fetch box and Optus very promptly sent me a replacement unit. My old Fetch box got deactivated a bit prematurely but that was because the courier only delivered one part of the new Fetch box package and marked the delivery of new Fetch box as complete so Optus deactivated the old Fetch box expecting me to connect up new Fetch box. Cannot blame Optus. I have been overall pleasantly surprised with the positive experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Dead NBN

published

First day connected to NBN, it died. Lucky modem came with 4G backup, but not a good start with NBN. Terrible system.
Internet speed....not as advertised. Called Optus and now will have to wait a few days for another technician to come. Disappointing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateAugust 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Billy

BillyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Hopeless all round. Avoid

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateJanuary 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Maggie

MaggieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

bad customer service! Privacy explosion

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Optus NBN is a joke.

published

Imagine paying for unlimited data and living in a first-world country and still have an internet connection of a 5th world country. The biggest clown award goes to Optus Broadband. Good job.

Connection TypeI don't know
Ray

RayVictoria

  • 4 reviews

Loving the Services

published

the speed and Services are really good so far I'm enjoying my services with the 5g Home broadband. the only thing I would need to improve on is the location of the 5g tower or how the modern finds it. it sometimes drops out or just come to a complete stop

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
George

GeorgeMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

To my fellow Australians do not use Optus

published
Connection TypeI don't know
Greg

Greg

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Optus broadband

published

I have been and Optus broadband for only 1 month I was give 160 gb per month this lasted for about 1 week. I contacted customer service and they gave me another 85 gb since then I have received a barrage of TXT and email messages with varying percentage warning most of these supposed usage for are when I have been sleeping or watching tv they could not tell me where this data is going as I have no apps on my phone ( I retained my bigpond account for practical reasons) At this point I would recommend Optus to my worst enemy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
See all answers

Customer service non existant

published

have called them many times to report no email. Passed from one to another and then strangely get cut off. At least they acknowledged i have a problem with it. No email now for 2 mths. I cancelled my phone service due to really bad customer service and now the nbn too. Never again will i use optus.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Page 1 of 156

Questions & Answers

Craig

Craigasked

Mobile Broadband

Huawei B818 modem and mobile broadband is extremely unreliable, sometimes it works perfectly at 40M/p/s some times 0.2m/p/s. When you plug in ethernet cable Huawei B818-completely stops working. I want to understand how to fix?

No answers
Ananta N.

Ananta N.asked

ADSL

I am trying to cancel Optus service and calling them. But it is really hard to connect with them . I how can I cancel their service without making phone call to them?

1 answer
Mike P
Mike P

Hi Ananta. None that I know of. I tried using messaging - but then the message app says you need to call 1300343302. So - looks like a long wait on hold ahead of you...
Thanks,
Mike

ralph.dixon.3990

ralph.dixon.3990asked

Mobile Broadband

How much to buy the B818 4G WiFi Modem outright

1 answer
zachwright
zachwright

Hi Ralph,

Optus list the B818 modem as part of a month to month plan with the price being $281 for the first month ($216 for the modem and $65 for the 200GB plan). Due to this, I would believe that $216 would be the RRP for this modem.

You might be better off calling your closest Optus store (if they're still open at all with this pandemic happening) as I have had to go to one of their stores to purchase a modem outright in the past (or in my case, a replacement modem due to dropping my old one and breaking it). I can't remember if I had to prove that I had an existing plan with them already so if you're trying to buy a modem without having a plan be sure to check that you can buy one in that situation first.

Also, if you're currently on one of the Wireless Broadband plans, there is a clause in the Critical Information Summary which says that you can't remove the SIM from your existing device so if you are looking to replace your current device with this modem be sure to check that you can do so.

Sorry for the long winded answer.

Thanks,
Zach.

Get an answer from our members

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(435)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(407)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,311)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,107)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(360)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.