??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband

Optus Broadband

ADSL, Cable, NBN and Mobile Broadband
1.6 from 2,848 reviews

See the Best Internet Service Providers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
142
4 star
191
3 star
202
2 star
221
1 star
2,092

Lach

LachCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Too many issues to list.

published

Don't go with Optus, it's just not worth it.

The amount of issues we have had with Optus is obscene that I don't have the energy to list it all. The main points are having constantly been overcharged, disconnection of phone line for no reason, constant drop outs and countless hours spent dealing with their "customer service". Just don't do it.

We ended up having to go to the TIO.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers

burnt hand

burnt handSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews

Perfect. Why doesnt everyone use it instead of clumsy cable

published

Christine of Australian Fair Southport Qld, set it up for us. It is so much better than previous cable. Very reliable, simple and easy. $65 for 200 gb and 50% discount on mobile. Works as far away as rooms downstairs and we can take the modem to Melbourne when we go there and have instant internet. Cant praise Optus and Christine enough and I am a Telstra shareholder praying for their shares to increase.

Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

How is this company operating when it is a complete sham?

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers
Seriously

Seriously

  • 3 reviews

would give minus stars if possible

published

Have had numerous issues over the last 6 months, without being rectified. You get passed from one to the other consultant, each equally incompetent.Of all the telcos they would have to be the worst. Only if you mention there ombudsman do they seem to take note
Have finally given up and cancelled the service. Good riddance

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateFebruary 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
See all answers

johnson

johnson

  • 6 reviews

2xcalls before changing providers, confirmed $0 owing - 2mnths later still continued to be billed

published

Called and confirmed TWICE that there's nothing owing and I was ready to sign a new NBN plan with a different provider. 5 weeks later I get a bill for $125? Called the operator, he has told me three things that directly contradict what I have been sent. 25mins into a call I didn't need to make and no resolution. They "are not allowed' to send me an email confirming that I have nothing owing?!?
0/10 absolutely abysmal service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateOctober 2012
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

caprice

capricesydney

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Customer service getting worse.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Sabre

SabreGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Slow speeds most of the time!

published

Lots of issues when we were forced to switch over to NBN.
NBN techs have been here twice to try and fix.
Sometimes Optus techs call u back other times they dont.
We've had a couple of good techs try to help but we are not getting anywhere.
Waste so much time on the phone trying to get answers to why our connection is so slow!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
See all answers

Gurto

GurtoMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute crap service!

published

This is the worst service I've ever had. I get sent promo deals that I can't even access, rude customer service that just talk over the top of you, they DO NOT LISTEN to you, your simply treating like a number, nothing given for loyalty. Not interested in helping you out of treating you like a person, I haven't got one nice word to say about any products from Optus! Can't wait to leave Optus & I WILL NEVER BUY ANY OF THEIR PRODUCTS AGAIN!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Absolute dog sh!t speeds and poor reception inside coverage map

published

Slow download during the day... ok upload during the day... then come 4pm onwards and it's slower then dial up was back in 1995... it just doesn't even work after about 4pm and we just use our mobile data on our phones.. do not use Optus 4G mobile broadband if you need to use the internet from the afternoon onwards

Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
ConsumerMan

ConsumerMan

  • 30 reviews
  • 20 likes

Best Internet Service

published

At last I have a fast internet service. Tired of slow ADSL speeds so discovered Optus wireless broadband. No wires, no cables, just plug and play on the Optus 4G network. Had the service for about six months now and so far no drop outs, and download speeds of 50Mbps. May reduce to 25Mbps during peak evening times. Best part is I can take the modem all over Australia in my caravan and I have fast internet wherever there is an Optus 4G signal


JJ Hwang

JJ Hwang

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Unreliable as hell and horrible cancellation process

published

Wifi keeps dropping off.
Spoke to the various staff more than five times within a week and got inconsistent responses every time.
Customer support agents who keep repeating what websites say makes it feel like i am talking to a recording tape or unsmart machine - Absolutely no flexibility.
Wasted time & effort to fix this was significant.
Sales agents in store seem very nice but they turn quite different when you ask for help to cancel it - i find it pretty deceptive. Simply do not bother.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service

Khash

KhashSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible terrible terrible

published

Very slow connection. Dont get more than 10mb. When i purchased it they said if you arent happy with the speed they will cancel it for free but when i called them and asked them to cancel it they said speed below 1mb is considered slow and 10mb is acceptable speed for them! Horrible experience.
Stay away from Optus

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

DDP

DDPGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Dont ever USE them

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeWireless
See all answers

Paul.

Paul.Sydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 24 likes

A woeful product with zero support.

published

I signed up with Optus NBN as my cable service was ending. Was warned against it by others in my area, but did not listen. NBN failed after 4 days. It's been 2 months now and still no service, just a bunch of emails and texts saying my service is ready to use. Unable to use it as they stopped my order, and nobody within Optus knows what's going on. Had to go to the Ombudsman, was told Optus would contact me to resolve within 10 days, but still waiting. Still sending me bills though!! Stay clear of Optus, they have no support when you need it. Promised me Fetch TV too, but did not receive it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
See all answers

Terrible service, even worse customer handling

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Terrible product

published

Signed up for this product and was told that I would have great coverage in my area, but since day 1 of using the 4g Wi-Fi I've had terrible speeds. In our household we'd get better connections hotspotting our phones, and it didn't make sense as the coverage was also 4g. Made numerous reports or low speeds and was told to reboot the modem, replaced the sim once. Finally after about 4 months of constantly reporting the issues they have waived cancellation fees for me. If I could give this product a zero I would. 0/10 recommend, save your money.

Start DateJune 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

Sonni

SonniMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

No stars

published

Have been a loyal customer for over 25yrs.. mobiles, landline and internet. Recently we have been forced to change to NBN.. waited a month for NBN tech, he was great hooked it all up and tested, everything was fine. Told us Optus will activate in around 24 hrs. Rang 24hrs later to be told there was an error in activation and will have to start again, another 48hrs.. waited 72 hrs and rang Optus again who tried to activate it remotely, no go. Have spent 3 hrs on the phone in 2 phone calls. Now we have to wait another 8 days for NBN to return, what a joke. Guessing they will arrive and fob it back to Optus, talk about being on the merry go round.. Wish I had read reviews before we started on this debacle :(

Connection TypeHFC (Cable)

Useless and they don't care

published

Optus locked us in for a 2 year contract. Boy were we suckers. Signed up to a fetch tv deal, that they sent to the wrong address... Twice. Whoever received it activated it and Optus has tried to charge us ever since. It's been going on for 10 months and I make a call at lease once a month that results in promises of rectifying what should be an easy issue to resolve... The last call I made they cancelled the fetch tv box I am using and left the one at the wrong address activated. After I stated 'do not cancel serial number XXXX' several times. Still an ongoing issue. Couple that with the useless modem we got and it's safe to say we will never use Optus again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
See all answers

vlceptor

vlceptorMelb, Victoria

  • 31 reviews
  • 33 likes

Service stinks, constantly slow, looking for another provider

published

Constant drop outs, upgraded to 50mb speed pack usually get close to 30mbs DL. Use a lot at night/early morning. It's 2am and my speed is usually at 2-8mbs DL + 15mb UP. Concentrate on DL speed, I rather have DL @ 40-45mb and 5mb UP.

Currently looking to change ISP, as I've been dealing with this crap since I've had NBN. I've been a Optus customer for over 20 years. I think it's time to change.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

Bernd

BerndSydney

  • 4 reviews

Customer Support Disaster

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMay 2019
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
See all answers

Page 1 of 143

Questions & Answers

BobB

BobBasked

NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)

Anyone out there with INDEPENDENT advice about 4G Home Broadband as compared with NBN?

No answers

BobB

BobBasked

NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)

Is it not true to say that nearly all the terrible reviews about NBN are the fault of NBN Co., not so much of the Service Providers (in this case Optus) ? In reading most reviews, it seems that the rollout of the NBN is just another example of a Labor Government's disasters, such as the "pink batts" debacle and the enormously wasteful "Building Education Revolution" (BER).

No answers

Belinda K.

Belinda K.asked

Cable

I have switched from Optus to iinet for Internet/Fetch, but the installation has not yet happened. Despite this, my Fetch has been cut off. Can you also cut off WIFI before the new one is installed?
I feel like I've been treated badly - it may give me cause to move my mobile phones as well. please advise what your policy is around this.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Optus representatives

Details

Optus Broadband NBN 12 (Speed Pack 1)

Optus Broadband NBN 12 (Speed Pack 1)

1.5
(13)
Optus Broadband NBN 25 (Speed Pack 2)

Optus Broadband NBN 25 (Speed Pack 2)

1.3
(13)
Optus Broadband NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)

Optus Broadband NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)

1.4
(87)
Optus Broadband NBN 100 (Speed Pack 4)

Optus Broadband NBN 100 (Speed Pack 4)

1.7
(24)
Optus Broadband ADSL

Optus Broadband ADSL

1.5
(910)
Optus Mobile Broadband

Optus Mobile Broadband

2.0
(309)
Optus Broadband Cable

Optus Broadband Cable

1.8
(421)
CategoryInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service Providers
Standard Monthly Price $80.00$90.00$85.00$115.00
Service TypeNBNNBNNBNNBNADSLMobile Broadband
Packages AvailableBundle and StandaloneBundle and StandaloneBundle and StandaloneBundle and Standalone
ContractMonthly and Set PeriodMonthly and Set PeriodMonthly and Set PeriodMonthly and Set Period
Data AllowanceUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
NBN Speed Tier 12/125/550/20100/40
Max Download Speed 12 Mbps25 Mbps50 Mbps150 Mbps
Max Upload Speed 1 Mbps5 Mbps20 Mbps40 Mbps

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.