??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband

Optus Broadband

ADSL, NBN, Cable, Mobile Broadband
1.6 from 2,954 reviews

Reviews

(152)
(195)
(209)
(223)
(2,175)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (437)
  • Transparency
    1.6 (422)
  • Customer Service
    1.5 (438)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (33%) · No (67%)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Charles M.

Charles M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Extremely poor service...

published

Website states open till 8PM, but try ring after 6.45PM, but after doing alll the prompt etc... call gets cancelled..... Poor service optus, thank god I'm cancelling. BYE BYE BYE

Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Simon M.

Simon M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Pathetic performance and Useless Customer Service

published

My apartment isn't due to receive NBN for many months and the ADSL coverage was poor, so I hoped Optus 4G would do the job as I live right on the fringe of the city with a tower 1km away. Wow was I wrong. Every now and again the speeds jump but on average download speeds are 1-3 Mbps, and Optus Tech support just keep telling me to power cycle the modem and offer no other help.

I've bought antennas and placed them outside in the hope that they'd improve the situation, but the improvement has been marginal.

I strongly recommend you avoid my mistake of joining up to Optus Mobile Broadband.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateNovember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers

DO NOT GET IT. PROBABLY DESERVE 0 RATING

published

Very poor coverage. Internet drops all the time. Their excuse was working on towers. but if they work 5 days in a week on tower then why do they charge customer.
And customer service is just worse.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
aaaaaaaaa

aaaaaaaaaGreat Southern, WA

Have literally been hanged up on by customer support twice

published

No internet for the last 36hours. On hold for 2hours than hang up on. Called them again to stay this is unacceptable and was told to p*ss off and back in the 2hr queue. If you're with optus, this is the companmy you are with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
vicman

vicmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Never again

published

Terrible connection, dropouts occur everyday, difficult to contact them, rude staff. I can't say any positive things about this company... I was with Optus for nearly 20 years finally I'm moving on.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2001
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Terry

TerrySouth East Queensland, QLD

All I want to do is disconnect a service how hard can it be!

published

Rang twice, was on hold for 55 minutes but then phone inexplicably hung up???? 3rd time I rang I decided to use the link for messages, I got connected the next day. Everything seemed great, do you want to disconnect this service he asks via message, yes please I reply. Ring this number he says......the same number I had rung 3 times already, which is what I tell him. Then ring this number he says, OMG I now have 4 different numbers and none of them could help me in any way! I know they are busy, but a simple disconnection that is all I am asking for!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
alexfm.au

alexfm.auSydney, NSW

Terrible, cuts out often and has major lag spikes, customer service is terrible

published

Multiple times a month we will have hours, sometimes days where there is no internet, no matter what we try to do, and asking friends who live in the area who also have Optus they have the same issues at the same time. Customer service is terrible. Old router had issues so we got a replacement, when they sent it it only had one of the components so it did not work. Every 2-5 minutes there will be a high lag spike while playing an online game where the ping will sometimes reach 1000, this lasts for about 10-30 seconds. Very disappointing, would never recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMay 2007
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Pete

PeteAU

  • 2 reviews

Possible solution for conection issues

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateDecember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
boofs

boofsSydney

  • 11 reviews

Bad Internet

published

It’s a joke, so much for 2020 technology. Always dropping out and when it does work very slow. I can’t wait to get off Optus. Have been looking at Aussie broadband.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJanuary 2011
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awful, near-unusable

published

Download speeds are fine - surprisingly fast, actually. But uploads regularly drop out. On a nominal 2Mbps upload, I regularly see below 0.5Mbps, which is unusable. As a result, uploads of any size are impossible, and page requests regularly time out as well. The web portal has been broken for years and the whole experience is unpleasant.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Matt

MattBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

How broad?

published

It's always good to get fast internet speeds. when Ivisit the interwebs, you know, turn on the interwebs, or Google, I like it to be quick. Usually it is. They're good.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Michael Scholtz

Michael ScholtzSydney, NSW

Biggest pile of crap

published

Can not maintain consistent internet or even internet at all. Product doesn’t match marketing and fails on customer service at every level. Now they are blaming Covid 19 for the poor delivery even though they have been useless for years.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
parsons58

parsons58AU

  • 28 reviews

Corona virus iiNet able to keep messaging alive - not Optus

published
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Lilly

LillySydney

  • 7 reviews

A one star rating is too high.....Optus Service Outage...or Outrage!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Evie

EvieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Optus Mobile Broadband 500gb

published

Worst Internet service I have ever had. My Vodafone Dongle wifi is better but unfortunately too expensive to run for a home service.

Optus Home Wifi works well at times but often lags and buffers at busy times.

No I would not recommend this product. We brought the modem outright so an cancel at any time and no further charges.

Anyone want to buy a cheap Wifi Modem

Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't trust in store sales person.. LIARS

published

When signing a new plan, I was advised I could change plans (up or down) with NO fee, only time I would be charged is if I cancel my contract and would have to pay the difference on the modem. Tried to change down 1 plan today and advised I would be charged for the remainder of current plan. So was an outright lie in the shop that got me to sign to a higher plan originally other wise would have started lower and then gone up if needed.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Kim Liong W.

Kim Liong W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Forget it

published

I wonder why I signed up for this. Speed has been crawling and suffered from intermittent breaks. Around 9pm today I was so frustrated I took three speedcheck readings - Download (0.38, 1.63 and 0.83), Upload (0.52, 0.75 and 0.67). Really shameful!

Connor M.

Connor M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Optus - worst customer service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJanuary 2008
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Excellent alternative to satellite and ADSL.

published
  • +1
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Frank 3

Frank 3Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 27 reviews
  • 1 like

shocking service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateOctober 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Page 1 of 148

Questions & Answers

Dante L.

Dante L.asked

This is worst Broadband igive to optus less than cero star worst custumer services i been 2 days without internet then can help me know igonna change provider

No answers
Kim M.

Kim M.asked

Mobile Broadband

Will my 500gig role over on to the next lot if I don't use it all that month

No answers
BobB

BobBasked

NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)

Anyone out there with INDEPENDENT advice about 4G Home Broadband as compared with NBN?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Optus representatives

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(329)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(216)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(1,993)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(905)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(64)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(55)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(343)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.