??!
1 photo
Pepper Money Home Loans

Pepper Money Home Loans

4.2 from 746 reviews

Reviews

(515)
(101)
(12)
(12)
(106)
  • Timeliness
    3.7 (92)
  • Loan used for:
    • Refinancing (34)
    • First Home (19)
    • Second Home (12)
    • Investment Property (10)
    • Renovation (4)
    • Home Construction (3)
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate (75) · Fixed Rate (17) · Split (3) · Line of Credit (1)
  • Online Tools
    3.7 (35)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (33%) · No (67%)
  • Transparency
    3.6 (99)
  • Customer Service
    3.6 (101)
  • Application Process
    3.9 (94)
  • Loan Term27.462 years

Tabascolord

TabascolordGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Lifesavers!

published

On the back of a dubious decision from Commbank's credit team rejecting what seemed a reasonably straight forward refinance, I turned to Pepper given they have a more lateral approach to criteria. I dealt with John Carey- straight up guy who knew his stuff, replied to emails in good time and guided me through the process with aplomb. Went like clockwork with no dramas, an outcome that made a big difference to my family and my huge appreciation goes to Pepper for thinking outside the box a little. Now indeed I expect I might get an interest rate bump a few months down the track, but truth be told it will be well worth it to raise a big finger at Commbank whilst having an extra 20k in my pocket a year. Well done Pepper ...

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Matthew

MatthewSydney Surrounds, NSW

Above and beyond

published

From the initial phone call till settlement the team looking after me where very professional. They were very prompt and fast acting helping and guiding me there every step of the process.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Fantastic Matthew! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Welcome to Pepper Money.
Kind regards,
Natalie

Nathan

NathanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

5 star +plus

published

From start to finish, its been a smooth transaction.
Considering my experience with all major banks over the last 25 years, Pepper Finance delivered a financial product and service that accommodates my needs and made it happen.
Sincere credit to the well trained staff and team that combine discipline with outstanding customer service. Thank you to Katie and Raymond for keeping the finger on the pulse throughout the whole loan application process....KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateDecember 2019
See all answers
2 comments
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper
Nathan
Nathan

Cheers.

Quick amd easy

published

Quick and easy did everything in a couple of weeks couldnt be happier i would recommend them to anyone looking for a loan. Everything was done online and over the phone

1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Hi Joe, thanks for your review and also for your recommendation. It's fantastic to hear how happy you are with the application process for the new loan!
Regards,
Eric


Jason c.

Jason c.North Queensland, QLD

Can not recommend enough for diffucult home loans

published

Cameron Langton was our guy from start to finish and any small problems we had during the process were very quickly sorted out . will gladly use Pepper again in the future when i decide to venture into the property the overall rate is higher then "prime " lenders but that was to be expected as our loan overall would not be touched by any mainstream lender's solely do source of Income and credit score meant nothing Peppers choice of solicitors is only reason i took away a star If only they were as organized as Pepper themselves But overall cannot recommend Pepper Home loans themselves enough !!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Wow, that's great to hear Jason! Cameron is a valuable member of our team and we'll be sure to pass on this feedback to him. Congratulations on your loan and welcome to the Pepper family.
With thanks,
Rachael


Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Useless

published

Spoke to them about a construction loan and they will allow this in the postcode that I want to build but not in the main town with the major suburb but rather in places out in the sticks, make no sense at all.
waste of time.

Loan used for:Home Construction
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Hi Dan, we're disappointed to hear that we were unable to assist you with a construction loan and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.
Kind regards,
Stacey


Simple and Easy!

published

From the start to the end, Pepper was very easy to deal with. The team answered every question and made the process painless. Their loan process was a lot better than my experiences with the Big 4. I am rarely on hold for long whenever I call and the online portal makes it very easy for me to log in so I can keep an eye on my account. Everything was transparent, all explained in simple easy to understand terms. Their communication skills were second to none. I would not hesitate to recommend Pepper to anyone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:Renovation
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

userreqts

userreqtsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Great Service

published

After many years with one of the big 4 banks, I recently refinanced my home loan with Pepper and consolidated debt. The people I dealt with at Pepper were great. Very easy to contact both by phone and email and always responded very promptly to email questions. Very happy all round.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Hi and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you have received such great service and we trust this will continue during your time with us!
Regards,
Eric

Nicole K

Nicole KSydney, NSW

When the banks say NO Pepper says YES!!

published

I have been banking with ANZ for over 30 years and have not once received the level of service I have received from Pepper Money!!

Thank you so much to Katie and Ray at Pepper Money for making a dream come true. You both went above and beyond to get my loan to settlement!

I have already recommended Pepper Money to a 5 of my friends and my loan only settled last week! If you are looking for a lender that does not treat you like a number and thinks outside of the box then Pepper Money is for you!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2019
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper
gorking

gorkingGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I wouldn't recommend pepper to know one

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Diane

DianeSydney, NSW

Excellent!!

published

What a great bunch of people at Pepper Money!
Thanks to all for making this experience smooth & unforgettable.. most of all a big thank you to Katie for making this possible!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Their mistake now on my credit record!!

published

Pepper loaded my debit order date incorrectly, now I have a missed payment on my credit file. I called and provided evidence, they would call back with no response. Pepper promised a rate review and never did. Save yourself the heartache. Dont use them!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2019
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

gypsyrose

gypsyroseMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Foreign Workers Dont do what they say they're doing

published

Any foreign workers I delt with always promised me one thing and when nothing had been done, they had no explination. I had to call through and ask to deal with the head supivisor (which one of the foreigners prentended to be at one stage) everytime I had to deal with this company. My advice, go through somebody else.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Jules

JulesMid North Coast, NSW

Great customer service and easy application

published

From the first phone call to the last everyone has been very helpful and FAST. I was keen for a quick settlement on my new house, between pepper, their solicitor and mine we got it done in 2 weeks. I would definitely recommend them

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2019
Loan used for:Second Home
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Hi Jules, that's fantastic to hear! We trust that our efficient and helpful customer service will continue during your time with us. Welcome to Pepper!
With thanks,
Natalie

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

UnhappyJan

UnhappyJan

  • 2 reviews

Helpful with application But my variable rate only seems to go up even with offical rates falling fast

published

The application process and approval was easy and they were quite helpful. The only bump we hit was with their solicitor mucking around our solicitor with paperwork they had already received. BUT I would not recommend them to anyone. Not long into our mortgage the rate went up (no official rate rise), and while the official RBA rate continues to fall, my variable rate only seems to go up. I think I will have to switch to another lender as Im paying too much interest with them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateNovember 2018
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
3 comments
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper
UnhappyJan
UnhappyJan

I contacted you before I submitted this review. Still havent heard back.

Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

I am so sorry we haven't called you. If you are yet to speak with us, please provide your details via private message and we will reach out to regarding your rate.
With thanks,
Natalie

Kathryn Powell

Kathryn PowellSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Life is so much better with Pepper!

published

From the moment I heard about Pepper Money my home loan dream quickly became a reality. Their customer service team were extremely helpful and polite and took time to answer all my questions. Who needs one of the big 4 when you have Pepper Money?

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateSeptember 2019
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Hi Kathryn, thank you for reaching out to us. Congratulations on your home loan and thank you for considering us as an alternative to the big banks. Welcome to Pepper Money!
Kind regards,
Natalie

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Mary

Mary

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent, Pepper Finance really help.

published

Staff extremely, helpful, thoughtful and cared about my finances sincerely, I did not receive any additional costs that I wasn't expecting. For me Pepper Finance get a five star rating.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2019
Loan used for:Second Home
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

That's great to hear Mary and thank you for the 5 star rating! We're thrilled to have you on board.
Kind regards,
Natalie


Webb

WebbGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Cant wait to get out of My Homeloan with pepper

published

PEPPER HOMELOANS took over Wizard homeloans loans, now i am stuck with a fixed interest rate close to 10%(no choice) and it is impossible to change. I have rung 3 times and every time they say there is nothing they can do.

Company advertises homeloans at close to 3%.

People stay clear of this thieving company, i am forced to now put my house on the market as it is eating to much of my hard earned money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used for:First Home
See all answers

Excellent Customer Service

published

Pepper Money were very helpful in refinancing our home loan. You are given the name and phone number of a contact person who was very easy to get in touch with and talk to. Much better service than the big banks.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used for:Refinancing
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

That's great to hear Trace, thank you for letting us know. Welcome to Pepper Money!
Kind regards,
Rachael.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


ivan

ivanPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

deceptive - my credit rating perfect no defaults and offered 24.99% on car loan after it already went on credit report

published

what an awful company. i made a loan application for a vehicle with a savings account of 30,000 perfect credit history. after i click submit and a hard credit report check is done im told sorry we can offer we you 24.99% on a car loan. i said no thank thanks and the box closes. i try to contact someone no reply. i check my credit report again after applying and my credit is perfect. no defaults. its a scam to make you apply then after you apply they give a higher rate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
See all answers
1 comment
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Page 1 of 38

Questions & Answers

Home loan

Home loanasked

How much can I borrow for home loan

1 answer
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Hi, thanks for your enquiry. You will need to reach out to your broker, or give us a call on 13 73 77. Hope this helps.
Kind regards,
Natalie


Melissa

Melissaasked

Hi. Can you change your loan repayments to interest only for a certain period anytime or do you need to do a whole new refinance application?

1 answer
Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Hi Melissa, thank you for your enquiry. Yes, you can convert to interest only repayments however this is for investment properties only. For further information, please contact us on 1300 650 931.
Kind regards,
Natalie


Kate

Kateasked

Will Pepper be passing the latest Oct 2019 rate cut onto their existing customers? Most lenders have passed 0.15% with some even up to 0.30 for investor interest only loans. Pepper has so far only announced some discounts for the NEW customers but what about your existing customers?

6 answers
Mary
Mary

Yes I am sure Pepper will cut onto their existing customers, They are a very fair company and I hold them in the utmost respect.

Kate
Kate

It doesn't appear so because they have only announced a rate cut for new customers. See https://www.savings.com.au/home-loans/rba-rate-cut-october/#pepper

Up to 24 basis points (0.24% points) applies to some loans for new customers
Announcement date: 01 October 2019 (for new customers), Effective date: 01 October 2019 (for new customers)

I also want to point out that with the July 2019 rate cut, Pepper only passed 20 basis points (0.20% points) of 25 basis points. Some other lenders eg St George Variable residential investment property loan IO offered even more than the RBA announcement (30 points), Westpac Variable residential investment property loan IO (30 points), Resimac 25 basis points (0.25% points).

No confirmation of cuts for existing customers yet

So if Pepper does not pass on this cut (0.25%) and along with only passing on some of the July cut (0.20% of the 0.25%, as a IO loan, that is a total 0.30% since July that Pepper are taking away from me as a customer. I find this extremely disappointing especially when you look at other lenders who has been proactive and prompt in their response to the recent cut. Every day Pepper delays an announcement and delay the effective date a cut comes into effect is more dollars in their pockets.

Pepper
Pepper Money A.Pepper

Hi Kate. Yes, Pepper has reduced its rates for existing customers by 0.15%. The effective date for this change is 18 October 2019. Please contact us on 130 650 931 if you have any questions.
With thanks,
Natalie


Get an answer from our members and Pepper representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.