??!
1 photo
Petcover
2.5 from 31 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

2.5

31 reviews
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (15)
  • Transparency
    3.6 (14)
  • Customer Service
    3.7 (15)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (7)
    • 1-2 weeks (3)
    • 2-4 weeks (1)
    • 1-2 months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (12) · No (0)
Previous
Next

Happy to take your money but won’t provide the cover when needed.

published

When I signed up I had my horse vet checked and all paperwork required completed. When I made my first claim, the company won’t pay out accordingly for the vet costs relating to his injury- turns out they misleadingly indicated I had this cover each time I spoke to them, but turns out I didn’t have this cover- I only had death cover. When I queried this on two separate occasions having discussed my initial vet check paperwork with each of the staff, I was assured they would call me back after reviewing each call, and after two months I’m still waiting (whilst they are happy to keep taking my money). Would not recommend!!!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredHorse
See all answers

Paper based???

published

We took up this policy as it was recommended by friends. Certainly I think they have great policies, however to make claims their system is paper forms only. This makes it really cumbersome and slow in the digital age. It took us 2 months to have a very expensive claim finalised because of a tiny error on a paper form we submitted. With an up to date digital system I doubt it would have been a problem..

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Don

DonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

I wouldn’t own a dog without Petcover Insurance!

published

Very happy with my policy so far. The claim process is a little bit old-school but once verified I was paid immediately. It’s very reassuring knowing your pet is covered.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Pet Insurance

Find out how Petcover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Clunky but prompt Process

published

Are found Petcover to be very helpful and prompt. The process for claiming was a bit clunky but we had no issues once our claim was submitted. Payment was processed within the week.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Jodie S.

Jodie S.South East Queensland, QLD

Fast, reasonable and professional

published

Claims were made paid within days of receiving the full history etc. very easy to deal with. Clear and concise. I would highly recommend for important and valuable sport horses as well as your pleasure horses.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredHorse
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Stephanie Wood

Stephanie Wood Sydney, NSW

Great cover for exotic pets

published

Our rabbit is insured with Petcover as the only provider for small mammals and exotic pets. So far we have had a great experience with Petcover and our policy - it has been easy to get in contact them and they have been quick to respond to claims. I would highly recommend them.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Fully supported fast response

published

I have been with Petcover for only 8 weeks. My puppy has been sick twice during this time. My claims have been paid in 7-8 days. Over $8,000 to date.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Nicola Hepenstall

Nicola HepenstallGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great product and wonderful service. Peace of mind!

published

Our new puppy is covered and we have had such a wonderful experience. We’ve had to make a claim after the puppy had an accident. The team are excellent! Quick to respond and our claim was paid with in a week.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Alina D

Alina DSydney, NSW

Will try to exclude your pet unfairly and unethically

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
3 comments
Petcover
SupportPetcover
Alina D
Alina D

You guys are a bunch of scammers!! I have gone with Trupanion who cover my pup fully and didn’t try slap ridiculous exclusions on her for normal worming treatment and prebiotics. Pathetic!

Petcover
SupportPetcover
Pet Insurance

Find out how Petcover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Total peace of mind

published

We recently insured our 8 year old Labrador and our new Labrador puppy with PetCover. The consultants were friendly and very clear about the policy inclusions and cost. When our 6 month old puppy required shoulder surgery PetCover paid the full claim (minus excess) within 2 days. They are professional, reliable and ethical.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Ellen B.

Ellen B.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for money, but beware of excess!

published

This policy is easy to set up and claims are processed quickly. The policy is worth investing in, and covers a large range of issues and emergencies, but beware of excess fees on claims.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Great service!

published

Policy was easy to set up. We have had to make a claim recently, I did it online. Form was a little difficult to find at first but the claim was settled in less than a week. Very easy process.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Quite expensive, but having the 3rd party cover gives me such peace of mind

published

Having to complete paper forms to claim is a bit of a hassle, and my cover went up by around 30% after the 1st year. That said, it is comprehensive and given my puppy has a clotting disorder I'll need it for the rest of his life and I am guaranteed cover.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

Review collected in partnership with Petcover

Kayla

KaylaPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing Customer Service and Fast Claims

published

Pet cover are not the cheapest insurer on the market but they actually pay out your claims to your bank account and for me it’s always within 24 hours of lodging the claim.
The girls in the claims department are located in Australia and are understanding and actually lovely . I highly recommend pet plan /pet cover and have been with them from when my breeder registered my Rottweiler boy when I picked him up . I suppose you pay for what you get with insurance and paying more gives me 100% of my bills back and also knowing they will pay out my claims when I lodge them.
Thanks Pet Plan :)
Kayla & (Vinnie- the Rottweiler )

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover

No Incentives to Pay Upfront & Not Provided Best Policy Advice

published

Call for advice, not told of percentage share plan until I specifically asked, ie, 75% reimbursement as opposed to 100%. Dont offer reduction in premium for paying lump sum upfront as opposed to monthly installments. Should provide incentives for our business!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
Petcover
SupportPetcover
Pet Insurance

Find out how Petcover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Totally let me and my dog down

published

My dog has been insured with PetCover since she was 8 weeks old - EIGHT WEEKS - and now I am told that she has never had life cover so she can only be covered for new illnesses. She's 12. Go figure. Do not use them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets-2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
gmgm

gmgm

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rude and useless

published

They took over two weeks to send me quotes after my 4 week free cover. Then said they would have to start a new policy at another price because i hadn't renewed in time, despite my ten phone calls. Useless and rude

Insurance claim madeNo
Lisa

LisaSydney

Terrible

published
Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Lisa
Lisa
Dot VB

Dot VBCanberra

So Disappointed

published
Insurance claim madeYes
Jodie dale

Jodie dale

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Rude and incompetent - bye bye from long term customer

published
Insurance claim madeNo
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members and Petcover representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Petcover
Petcover - Economy

Petcover - Economy

No reviews yet
CategoryPet InsurancePet InsurancePet InsurancePet Insurance
UnderwriterLloyd'sLloyd'sLloyd'sLloyd's
Annual Benefit Limit$20,000$15,000$10,000$7,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%Up to 80%Up to 80%Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover IncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverNot IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Tick ParalysisNot IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Emergency Boarding Fees$1000 (Dogs) or $500 (Cats) if you are hospitalised for more than 5 consecutive days$1,000 (Dogs) or $500 (Cats) if you are hospitalised for more than 5 consecutive days$1,000 (Dogs) or $500 (Cats) if you are hospitalised for more than 5 consecutive days$1,000 if you are hospitalised for more than 5 consecutive days
Lifetime Cover IncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Cooling Off Period21 Days21 Days21 Days21 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300$300Not Included
Cruciate Ligament ConditionsUp to $4,000Up to $2,000Up to $2,000Not Included
Waiting Period for Illness 21 Days21 Days21 Days21 Days
Compare all 4 Petcover

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.