??!
1 photo
Petplan
2.3 from 766 reviews

First time claiming

We had our first incident with our doggo and made our first ever claim - the response from Petplan was prompt, informative and easy! We highly recommend this plan for pet insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

This is perfect and allows me to save my puppies life and help him live longer

A little expensive so it would be good to see a cheaper price. However the service is always spot on and extremely helpful, I’ve been with the company for 5yrs.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

I am very happy with Petpan

I have been with the Petplan now for over 5 years. It was suggested to me by my vet and I am very thankful to their recommendation. I have also suggested Petplan to other friends whom have new pets added to their families.
Overall I have been very happy with the service and the claims department.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJune 2019
1 comment
Hi Jane, We are glad to hear you are happy with the service of our claims department. Thank you for your positive recommendation and for being with us for over 5 years! Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Never had a problem with claims, which are easy to claim on line. The policy is good value..

Never had a problem with multiple claims having been made at this stage to this stage. The policy is good value and I have been with Petplan for over four years, during which time I have recommended them to friends a number of times.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi George, Thank you for your positive recommendation. We are happy to hear that there has been no issues with your claims and that you believe in the value of our policy. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Worth its weight in gold

After having to claim for an injury during the 6 week free trial with no hassles whatsoever, I decided to continue with the paid version. I’m glad I did. Paying and renewing is hassle free and I have had to make further claims which too have been quick and easy. Thankfully the cat is in full health now.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Eve, We are glad to hear that you have had zero hassles with us and your claims are processed quickly. I am happy to hear that your cat has made a full recovery. Thank you for your positive review. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Disappointing claims process

I've had to chase up my claim multiple times - always by phone, with a 30min wait because emails go unread and the answering machine service never gets a callback. There really needs to be a prior approval process for claims. I have just been rejected for my only claim because PetPlan believes my dog had a pre-existing condition from birth... that I was never notified of prior to taking out a policy. Now I am $5000 out of pocket, having gone ahead with surgery at a time when I cannot afford it because after reading through all the paperwork I believed there was no reason it would be rejected.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Lauren I am sorry to hear of your recent experience with us. I have been advised that your matter is now sitting with the Internal Dispute (IDR) team. The IDR team will provide their official response to your complaint in writing within the time frame given in their acknowledgement email. I have been further advised the IDR Team has sent an acknowledgment email of your complaint yesterday (please let me know if you have not received the same). Should you have any further information or document to provide in support of your complaint on the declined claim, please do not hesitate to contact the IDR team at idr@petplan.com.au Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Slow, terrible admin and accounts system.

Petplan had been happily debiting $109 per month for my one dog for over a year. I lost my credit card this March -got a dishonour notice, I called them to update my details in late March, they took the payment. They then used the old credit card details for April and May and then cancelled my insurance without a phone call. I had to call them! Thanks for nothing petplan, not one claim on your overpriced insuranced and you've since lost my business. Be warned, stay away folks!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Hi Petplan no more, We are sad to hear of your recent experience. If you would like me to look into your issue please provide your policy number and I will do my best to assist you. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Beyond Hopeless Claims support

I have to chase up the majority of my claims. Nightmare as you cannot get through to claims - Always the we are experiencing an overload at this time message. I wait 20+mins and then leave a VMM requesting return call. Its rare they return your call and ignore emails too. Getting service is beyond terrible. contacted their internal disputes once - they investigated and apologised but no improvements have been made. would leave however pet has pre-existing conditions now. Clearly understaffed and inefficient.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
1 comment
Hi Penzen, I apologise for the service you have received so far. I will be following up to ensure that you receive a call. Management are aware of your issue. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Expensive and slow, but get the job done

Been with Petplan for 5years. Initial policy and first 3years were okay, but had 3 very hefty policy price increases in the last 2 years which make it more expensive for 1 pet than health insurance for 1 human being!
Had a few claims, and they are difficult to lodge a claim, and then repay with a cheque. It's 2019, I am sure with the amount I pay each month they can afford better technology.
Difficult to get in contact. Their call service are always busy, and i have not had a call returned after leaving a message.
All in all, it works as insurance. But too expensive for what you get. Look elsewhere!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Ben, We are sad to hear that you feel that way, if you’d like to discuss your policy increases and options please let me know your policy number and I will get a representative to contact you. To ensure payment of claim via Bank transfer, please ensure your account details are present on the claim form. We are in the process of improving of claims contact centre and we appreciate your patience. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Peace of mind that my dog can always receive the valuable treatment he needs, when he needs it.

I am very happy with the service Petplan gives me. Claims are paid fast and for everything my pet has needed. He could not have had the wonderful care and attention he has had at the vets without the help of Petplan. The only thing I would like improved is being informed when my premiums are going up as I began at around $40 a month and now I'm paying over $60 a month, which I understand , I just wasn't aware it would happen and when.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
4 comments
Hi Kim, We are glad to hear that your claim was paid promptly and hoping your dog is on the mend. You should have been notified of your premium increase in your renewal documents, and received them no later than 2 weeks before your renewal date. If you didn’t receive them please let me know I will help you out. Thank you for your positive review Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social TeamHi Thomas :) Thank you for your reply. I may have overlooked the renewal documents. Would you mind emailing them again please. I'm very grateful to receive your service and so is Finnigan YAY!! KimmyHi Kim, I've been advised these documents were just sent, you should receive them soon Kind Regards, Thomas

Highly recommend

We have been with Petplan for over 3 years. They are responsive, helpful and very professional. Claims are processed quickly and any communication with them is well handled. I highly recommend them as a pet insurer

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
1 comment
Hi Andrea, Thank you for your positive recommendation. We are glad to hear that you have always had a positive claims experience. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Terrible

The porocess of Submitting a claim is too complicated. Premium went up a lot in a short period.Benefits turns to be only per a year per a condition which was not clear in terms and condition when signed into your plan. Terrible service.
If I could now I will definitely move to a different pet insurance company.
But because if pre conditions with my dog, we can't.
The amount we pay does not worth what we get back. But it's too late top change.
Vert disappointed

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
1 comment
Hi Lilach, We are sad to hear that you feel that way, I will be passing this feedback on. You should have been notified of your premium increase in your renewal documents, and received them no later than 2 weeks before your renewal date. If you didn’t receive them please let me know. In addition, benefits, excesses and terms of the policy are set out in the PDS, an excess must be paid per unrelated condition per policy year, this is stated in our PDS. If you would like to discuss your policy and the options available to you please let me know and I will get one of our team to contact you. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Outstanding service

My puppy ate some of our rubber door mat and got ill the next day, of course it was a Public Holiday. We took him to the Vet who worked him up carefully and sent him home on our careful watch until he either, obstructed or passed the rubber..which he thankfully did.
I lodged my claim and Petplan had honoured it within a few days. Very impressive.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
Hi Anne, We’re hoping that your puppy is feeling better and that we took some of the stress away from you. We are happy to hear that your claim was processed quickly. Thank you for your positive review. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social TeamYou are most welcome, I am extremely happy with your service and support. You literally make the difference between life and death decisions for many pets whose owners, including us, could not otherwise afford their treatments. Thank YOU.

Fantastic service

I have been with the company three years and have had to claim several times. Each time claims have been dealt with in a very efficient and timely manner excellent

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Glenda, We are glad to hear that all your claims have been processed promptly. Thank you for your positive review. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Very happy with prompt payout.

We have been with Petplan for seven years and have had to claim twice. Both were paid out in full, with the last claim being paid into our account within 48 hours.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Karri, We are happy to hear of your fast claims experience, and that you have been with us for seven years! Thank you for your positive review. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Shocked and very upset.

Terrible customer service. Terrible systems. Terrible service. Premiums doubled <6 months after joining, couldn't/ can't leave as pet would have pre-existing conditions. Would leave in a heartbeat but cant. Trapped. Very upsetting. New policies no better.

Claim MadeYes
3 comments
Hi Peter, We are sad to hear that you have received poor service from us. Let me know which department you would like to speak and I will get them to contact you. Premiums are only adjusted at the renewal of your policy period which occurs once a year. Many different factors and variables contribute to calculate insurance premiums. For pet insurance these include breed, age, location, veterinary costs and medical costs. Advancements in technology and science have allowed pets to live longer and healthier. While these advancements are welcome they do not come without significant costs. Premiums are adjusted to compensate for these costs. In addition, even though you may not have personally have made a claim, animals of the same breed making claims is an important consideration. The severity, frequency and costs of claims specific to the individual breed create a risk profile. This ensures that owners with low risk breeds do not bear the cost of high risk breeds. If you are on a Covered For Life plan remember that Petplan will be assisting you with veterinary treatment for on-going and chronic conditions. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social TeamUpper managementHi Peter, I will pass on your request. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Simply the best around!

Had some very big claims in the six years - especially last two and so so glad I had pet insurance as
in two years well over $14,000 claimed. My vet recommended I take out insurance due the breed being a pug and potential problems for this breed - she was spot on.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Georgina, We are proud to support you and your pug! Happy to hear that your are satisfied with our policy. Thank you for your positive review. Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Essential to my life with 3 dogs

I found the staff at Petplan extremely helpful and made it easy to set up.
With 3 dogs who are generally healthy I have nevertheless had occasions to make claims on my insurance and the replies are prompt and accurate.i have been with Petplan for about 14 years.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Judi50, We are proud to hear that you have been with us for 14 years and to support you and your dogs over this time. We are glad to hear that your claims are paid quickly. Thank you for the glowing recommendation! Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Very happy with my pet insurance. My kitten broke his paw due to an accident and petplan covered him All the way!

Policy is of good value and easy to convert. It took approx 7 days to get my claim back. Petplan is my insurance of choice and will stick with them!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Odine, Thank you for the photo! It is good to see your kitten on the mend. We are happy to hear that your claim was processed and paid within a week. Thank you for your positive recommendation! Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Great cover but very expensive

Been with the company nearly 8 years. Cost has more than doubled in that time. Now very expensive and due to existing conditions unable to change. Good cover, quick to pay out on claims.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Hollie, You may have policy options available to you, if you’d like I can get a representative to get in touch with you. We are proud to insure you and your dog and thank you for your positive feedback! Kind Regards, Thomas Petplan Social Team

Page 1 of 39

Questions & Answers

Why wont u give me an answer here with my complaint re PETPLAN Debra G
1 answer
Hi Debra, is this question directed at me or Petplan?

Why does petplan not return phone calls &emails i have been with petplan for 9yrs my dog unfortunately been a very sick dog in that time know she is. Older & sicker they r not paying her claims quickley like they used to she is my life they dont care about my out of pocket expenses they keep saying they will get back to me but never with phone calls nearly every day it was confirmed to me in an email she had alife time policy with petplan or a total claimable amount for her being of ,,$36-000-00 which she has used $21.000.00. Which leaves her $15-000-00 of cover why are they doing this to my dearly luved dog please its not her fault or mine she has had alife time health issues if petplan dosent get it together ASAP i will be following up every LEGAL avenue avaible to me totally unfair PETPLAN Debra Green
1 answer
Hi Debra, I am advised the claims department are aware of your issues. Unfortunately, I am unable to assist you online in this forum. Kind Regards, The Petplan Social Team

My daughters dog had heat stroke and had to stay at vet overnight costing 1500, she is with petplan pays 105 a month will she get it all back please
1 answer
Petplan will pay the lot

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.