??!

Reviews

(388)
(125)
(48)
(77)
(473)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (463)
  • Transparency
    4.1 (429)
  • Customer Service
    3.9 (463)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Feliss

FelissGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

I submitted a one star review. Then wow, three five star reviews pop up. All posters have written only one review. Avoid

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Don’t be fooled

published

Petplan was great for the first few years but all of a sudden decided to increase monthly payments by 60% . Our dog is only 3 years old with no health conditions! if we knew this we would have gone elsewhere in the first place. I’ll be going back to my vet who recommended them and tell them to stop recommending them. Looks like we’re cancelling as well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Lore

LorePerth, WA

Should be awarded a SHONKY and put into the hall of shame

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2017
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Pet Insurance

Find out how Petplan compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rae

RaeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Happy fur babies and mum

published

Great company !! Have been with Petplan for 8 years and they have always honoured their word, and been punctual in answering any questions and refunds . Would highly recommend Petplan. Always send text and email when claim is in and when funds are in your account .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Double dipping

published

On joining they tell you at a certain age cover will be reduce to 80% payout as an example. They don’t say they’ll ALSO increase the premium astronomically. What was $80pm is now $180pm. For 1 animal and I have 2. It’s now more expensive than my own private health cover, life, disability and income protection combined. Not to mention now if I want to shift I am stuck because any pre existing conditions are carved out by a new insurer. So basically you have to cancel. Don’t be fooled by their “caring” ads.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
6 comments
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Ryan C.
Ryan C.

CALI-0005-DC2N-00000002 - $173.95 (8yrs old)
CALI-0005-DC2N-00000001 - $120.37 (4yrs old)

Petplan
SupportPetplan
Mark E

Mark E

  • 2 reviews

Very good except for one small annoying matter...

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Rachelle Hogan

Rachelle HoganPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great Service and prompt payment of claims

published

I first insured my little dog (Buddy) in 2012 and up until his passing on 30th December 2019 the service that I received from Petplan was excellent. After Buddy's passing, at my request the policy was cancelled and a refund for the outstanding premium was paid into my account within two days. I now have another fur baby (Millie) and had no hesitation in insuring her with Petplan due to my previous experiences with Buddy's insurance.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Nicole

NicoleSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Improving!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Review collected in partnership with Petplan

Marina

MarinaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Petplan you are our hero

published

We have been with Petplan for over 15 years - over the life of a few furbabies and we couldn't be happier. Not the cheapest but they cover GSD breed issues

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Pet Insurance

Find out how Petplan compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Westie owner

Westie ownerPerth, WA

Premium more than doubled on renewal!!!

published

My dog's renewal notice just came through at twice the cost of last year (now nudging $2000 pa).
The explanation of the staff was that the risk is priced for individual breeds - but surely they would have known when I took out the policy that I had a higher risk breed? Hugely disappointing...

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan
NOT

NOTSydney, NSW

So Impressive

published

I have needed to claim twice, this time a significant amount for my 2 year old Cavoodles gastroenteritis which resulted in a 3 night stay at the vet and a rather hefty bill. Both times, my claim has been dealt with in a speedy and efficient fashion and I am so relieved to have received everything back apart from my $150 excess. I am just so impressed with Petplan, well done and thank you!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Debbie Lancaster

Debbie LancasterMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic cover for our four legged family member

published

The policy is good value for providing medical for our dog. It was easy to set up and our lodged claims are usually processed within a month of payment. At times the delay in resolving our claim (close to 4weeks) can be a little frustrating, however notification of payment and amount paid is good. We have been with Petplan for 3years. I advise friends and family to look into insurance for their new pet with Petplan as we are happy with the coverage and service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Review collected in partnership with Petplan

kidd R.

kidd R.South East Queensland, QLD

Crap don't waste your money.

published

Was with petplan for 3 years never claimed as there was an excuse for everything not being included. Price increased from $51 a month to $85 a month over night. Customer service is non existent couldn't get through to speak to anyone, wouldn't call back. All about the money they don't care.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
3 comments
Petplan
SupportPetplan
kidd R.
kidd R.
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Tiarne

TiarneSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible

published

We were with pet plan for 3 years and everytime our policy was up for renewal the monthly premium rose from between $30-$50 a month! The latest rise meant we were paying more for our dog then our own health insurance. When I approached petplan they simple responded with generic emails. Terrible service!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2017
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
2 comments
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Tiarne
Tiarne

Your staff only ever respond with genetic emails, we have already canceled our policy.

Wendy1036

Wendy1036Perth

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

So glad I went with Pet Plan.

published

When I purchased my puppy in February I did lots of research. I was a bit skeptical about Petplan due to some negative reviews and comments re delays in processing claims. Thank god I trusted my gut and went with them. At 10 months of age my puppy needed major surgery. They were so helpful, kind and understanding. I submitted my claims (there were many!) and all were processed within 3 working days. Brilliant customer service. They maybe a bit more expensive than others but as the saying goes you pay peanuts and get monkeys

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Pet Insurance

Find out how Petplan compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Teetee Ades

Teetee AdesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Thank you

published

PetPlan have been amazing. Been with them for 4 years. Only had one claim and it was processed through super quick and was informed via sms and email. Highly recommend.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Review collected in partnership with Petplan

Carole Haase

Carole HaaseSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

So happy

published

I am so happy I have Petplan insurance . Unfortunately I have had many problems with my current dog but they have all been covered by Petplan . The deal with claims quickly . I really wont hesitate to recommend them and match all the research I did when looking for an insurer.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Review collected in partnership with Petplan

Nadine

NadineSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

On point

published

It came free from our Labrador breeder so great value.
Lodged claim and took a couple of days for the money to come through.
Have been with company for 3 weeks now.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Review collected in partnership with Petplan

  • Verified customer

Feedback re service

published

Submitted a claim and had to continually follow up and provide documents over and over again even though information was provided correctly in the first instance. It was very frustrating.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
4 comments
Petplan
SupportPetplan
Barney H
Barney H

HARA-0006-DC1N-00000001

Petplan
SupportPetplan

Review collected in partnership with Petplan

  • Verified customer

Useful policy

published

Initially I had some trouble with Petplan and payment was slow. The last few months, though, there has been a great improvement with very speedy payments and easy application submission.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Review collected in partnership with Petplan

Page 1 of 56

Questions & Answers

Debbie

Debbieasked

Stamp duty why is it included

1 answer
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Hi Debbie,

Stamp Duty is a government duty payable on insurance products. Stamp Duty is not set by Petplan.

Kind Regards,
Mireia
Petplan Social Team

Ros

Rosasked

Pet Insurance - Covered For Life Classic 1

Does Petplan cover Cruciate Ligament Conditions ? On this current webpage https://www.productreview.com.au/listings/petplan-pet-insurance-covered-for-life-classic-1 - it says, "Not Included" and the Pet Insurance Policy Booklet does not explicitly mention this.

1 answer
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Hi Ros,

We are proud to have helped many policyholders whose dogs have had Cruciate Ligament issues. However the coverage depends on pre-existing conditions, waiting periods, exclusions and a range of other factors as claims are individually assessed.

Please call us on 1300 738 225 so we can explain this in greater detail.

Kind Regards,

Thomas
Petplan Social Team

Charlotte P.

Charlotte P.asked

I have been asked by Murdock veterinary surgery to fill out a pre approval form prior to surgery so i can assess what Petplan will cover... i can't find a form, please can you assist me?

1 answer
Petplan
SupportPetplan

Hi Charlotte,

I’m sorry to hear that your pet needs surgery.

Petplan do not offer a pre-approval service. If you would like to consult a team member please provide your policy number and they will be in contact.

Kind Regards,

Thomas
Petplan Social Team

Get an answer from our members and Petplan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.