??!

Reviews

(205)
(80)
(30)
(21)
(39)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (65)
  • Transparency
    4.3 (53)
  • Customer Service
    4.5 (65)


Annette Petrenko

Annette PetrenkoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Love petsecure

published

Persecure has been the best insurance I have ever paid for. Unfortunately my dog has had issues but claiming is easy and quick, everytime. Claiming online is so easy and now my vet surgery lodge my claim so even easier.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Annette - thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your dog has had some issues - unfortunately we can’t know that when we get a pet - but I am very pleased to hear that you have been happy with the service. Kind regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Really great service

published

I have had accident cover for 3 of my Alaskan Malamutes and have made a few claims over the years. The most resent claim was for my 6 year old Alaskan Malamute ‘Maddie’ as she was bitten by a tiger snake, fortunately she totally recovered from the bite.
The claim for the Vet expenses was processed on petsecure’s website and within a week I received the 80% of the expenses.
Really great service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Goodness that sounds like a lucky escape for Maddie, Stuart! I am so pleased to hear she has recovered, and that having pet insurance was helpful. Thank you for your review! Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Great service

published

We’ve been with Pet Secure for 9 years - covering two cats and two dogs. We have always had great service and prompt payment of claims. When our older dog needed a complicated and expensive procedure they were really helpful.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Julie - thank you for your review and your long term loyalty. We are very pleased to hear you’re happy with the cover and the service. Kind regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Janet

JanetSydney Surrounds, NSW

Very positive experience

published

Very impressed with Petsecure. You hear lots of negatives about pet insurance, so I was very pleasantly surprised when I had to make a claim. The process was easy, my vet put the claims through and the money was in my account within 7 days. I would definitely recommend Petsecure

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Janet, thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the service, and we are very happy that we have been able to help with your vet's bills. Warm regards, Liz


Never again!

published

Claim process too lengthy and generally have issues with uploading documents for claims. When I cancelled my policy, they continued to charges me an additional 2 months and stated it a was in their Terms and Conditions.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
7 comments
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hello Anonymous, I am sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience, and I am sorry to hear you have cancelled your policy. If there is anything that I can do to assist, please let me know. Liz

Anonymous
Anonymous

Hi Liz, it would be appreciated if you could refund the premiums taken off my bank account after I cancelled the pet insurance. Thanks.

PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Anonymous- can you send me your policy details and I will look into it? Thanks Liz


Kirk

KirkHobart, TAS

I sincerely wish that Human Health Insurance were even half as good as PetSecure

published

I have had a great experience with PetSecure. I have two dogs, and my previous dog was with PetSecure too. When my girl got sick a month ago, and she needed to be go overnight to the emergency after hours clinic, it was a real comfort to know that we had the solidity of PetSecure behind us. I have never dealt with a more straightforward and hassle-free insurer in any other domain (health, car, home ...).

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Kirk, thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that your girl got so sick - but thankfully you had insurance in place, so had help with the costs. All the best to you and your dog in 2020. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Great coverage

published

Quick and efficient claims process through multiple vet hospitals. The coverage has really helped financially during the first year of our puppy’s life. Ingesting the wrong things is customary with puppy’s and the claims have been paid out in full with respect to our coverage.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Jarrad - thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that the cover has helped you financially during your first year of “puppyhood”! It’s amazing how they find things to eat everywhere! Warm regards for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Reiner

ReinerGreat Southern, WA

Need to review upfront cost per claims.

published

All pet insurance was given Shonky awards 2019 by choice. The problem is they are blanketed by common exclusions which limits there ability to meet consumer demands. In addition to this the upfront cost on each claim can be thousands which can be difficult for most.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Glenice Ives

Glenice IvesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

This is a good service but it is very expensive. A $300 (25%) increase in one year is unacceptable.

published

I have been with PetSecure for 10 years and now have 2 dogs with PetSecure. I have found them very good in relation to claims provided the vet has given sufficient information. However they are very expensive. A $300 (25%) increase in one year is unacceptable. I also have problem with the $300 limit on consultations in one year. Recently one of my dogs had one problem that required 3 consults at local vet and one specialist consult and the $300 was gone with one problem.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Shane W.

Shane W.Perth, WA

Made many claims. Always pay and very prompt and professional. Couldn't have done without it!

published

Been with this company for years. Made many claims and never had a problem. Even with a sausage dog and 3 back ops :(. Recommend this company, we would of been lost without it!

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Hayley Patterson

Hayley PattersonCentral Queensland, QLD

Very poor customer service

published

Informed we would wait 5 to 7 working days for reimbursement after claim was assessed. Gave all requested documents immediately. With each call they said they had all the necessary requested documentation until a month later when they needed more. Finally after 7 weeks, many phone calls, lots of anxiety and resorting to threats of litigation reimbursement was put into our account . Won't be renewing with petsecure.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Satisfied customer

published

Took separate Policies for 2 cats. good value for money and claims process quite fast with payment going straight into account. I have recommended this type of PetSecure policy to family and friends.

Transparency
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Mother of Bengals - thank you very much for your review. Pleased to hear you’re happy with your policy, and thank you also for recommending PetSecure! Warm wishes for the year ahead. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


An absolute life saver

published

I took out my Petsecure Insurance when my Labrador was 8 weeks old.
When she was one she started having Epileptic Seizures, after lots of tests, she was to be medicated for her life. This medication is super expensive in animals, my pet insurance has always covered 85% of her medication & associated tests.
She is now a 7 year old happy Lab, never have I had an issue with Petsecure in those 7 years, it has been a great support to know they have me covered. It has been an awesome investment.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Julie - thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear your Lab is able to lead a happy life, in spite of having a medical condition! All the best to both of you for 2020! Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


No headaches, peace of mind!

published

We have PetSecure ever since we bought our 1st dog Jose (he is 10now) after 1 year we bought Flor and she completed our family. We opted for the 85% plan and never had problem with the eventual claim. Its very peace of mind

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Isabel, thank you for your review! We are pleased that this cover gives you peace of mind - and we appreciate your loyalty. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Extortionists

published

Policy states 85% coverage. Common ailments like teeth are not covered at all. Other common ailments like cruciate ligaments, cover is reduced significantly. Claims drag on for months, trying to find references to preexistance.

Transparency
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets5 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Blakey48

Blakey48Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Good cover a prompt service.

published

The policy was easy to set up and I think it is reasonable good value. With the exception of a little hiccup early on in the policy my claims have been accepted and paid promptly. My dog will be 4 on January 9 and he has been covered in all of that time.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Blakey - thank you for your review and feedback. I hope all your future interactions will run smoothly! Warm regards for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Paul Terrett

Paul TerrettCentral, TAS

  • 3 reviews

Good unless you need assistance

published

The policy was good initially but back of house customer service is non existent. They never return calls and understanding them is very difficult. To be more effective they need a call centre in Australia where they do not rely on scripts for customer service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets7 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Paul - thank you for your review and feedback. I will ensure this is passed on to our administrators - and I hope we’ll do better next time. Warm regards for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Roslyn Parker

Roslyn ParkerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Quick Service

published

We have been with you a few years and are happy with your good service. We are handled in a professional manner. Also we receive payment within a reasonable time.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Roslyn, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the service and you’ve received payments in good time. We believe that’s very important. Warm regards and all the best for 2021. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


good to have as backup for when your dog needs vet assistance.

published

Have been with petsecure ever since I bought my dog - he is now 10. Claiming took a couple of weeks but it was easy. Would be great if insurance companies covered preventative dental surgery though - that would help ease the cost and burden a little. All in all though we have found petsecure to be good value.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Diamond Girl

Diamond GirlSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

So glad I took the Cover out for my Darling Sheltie 10yrs ago

published

Have only claimed two times in about 10yrs. - both claims very promptly settled and money in account within about 7-10 days. No problems whatsoever. Excellent service from PetSecure, would certainly recommend it for pet lovers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Diamond Girl! Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you are happy with the service - and thank you too for recommending Petsecure! Warm wishes for the festive season! Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Page 1 of 19

Questions & Answers

Edna H.

Edna H.asked

what is the cost for full coverage for 2 chiwawahs?

1 answer
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Edna, thank you for your question! The best thing to do is to go online and get your personal quote for your 2 dogs. There are a few variables, like the age of the pet and the cover you choose, which will affect the premium. visit www.petsecure.com.au to get a quick quote. You can also call 1300 855 160 and we can give you a quote over the phone.


Pippin

Pippinasked

My dog ( Papillion) has very early stage spinal degeneration......7 years old No slipped discs etc and no need for surgery.
Would he be covered

1 answer
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Pippin, this sounds like this is a pre- existing condition which means it would not be covered. He can only be covered for illnesses that are not pre- existing. Kind regards Liz


sammy

sammyasked

Why is the phone no cutting out every time I ring and hold for a long time? I am wanting to get pet insurance.

1 answer
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hello Sammy - thank you for your feedback- we are not aware of a problem with the phone but will check it on Monday to make sure it’s working - if you would like to email me your phone number we can call you on Monday. My email is liz@petsecure.com.au - kind regards Liz


Get an answer from our members and PetSecure representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.