??!
1 photo
PetSecure
4.1 from 427 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now

Reviews

4.1

427 reviews
5
(247)
4
(87)
3
(31)
2
(22)
1
(40)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (113)
  • Transparency
    4.4 (99)
  • Customer Service
    4.6 (112)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (51), 1-2 weeks (48), 2-4 weeks (25), 1-2 months (3) and 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (117) · No (2)
Previous
Next

Best pet insurance cover.

published

Over the last 8 years I have never had a problem with a claim. Petsecure have been polite and helpful when I have rung them, and they have recently been able to pay out claims quite quickly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Smooth transaction

published

Can't complain for the nth time. Good experience with my claims. It was quick and easy. I have nothing to worry about with my pet's health. Great product! Thank you

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Blythe

BlytheSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Super easy to claim and fast service!

published

Premiums are reasonably priced and we has no issues with my recent claim that was an easy to process online and was paid super fast!! Really pleased with the service

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Glad we have it

published

I have had my 2 cavaliers with Petsecure since 2009. During this time petsecure have quickly paid claims, even ones that I had missed putting in and were 18months old. I have received value for money. I have had one dog with Syringomyelia and all tests including MRI scan, and flights to Sydney covered for diagnosis and treatment. both have with MVD and again no issues with claiming. Have also had one with a broken hip and one who choked on a chicken bone needing emergency surgery to remove,These aren't the only claims over the years, but the most expensive. Note: 1 dog now deceased
Policy from what I remember was extremely easy to set up and has been easy to claim from. No arguments or refusal to pay.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

The process was slow and frustrating.

published

We've been with Petsecure for a couple of years. Will stay with them even though there was a few little problems lodging our claim. Hopefully they'll improve with the process. We were happy with setting up the policy over the phone.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

James Kelly

James KellyPerth, WA

Highly recommended company.

published

User friendly website to submit claims which is awesome and it takes 7 days to receive your claims provided all documents are submitted properly.Helpful team as well so all good so far.I have been with Pet secure for the past 10 years never had any issues with them so thank you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Thanks very much James for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are so happy with our service! And thank you for your loyalty over the past 10 years. We hope you and your pet are staying safe!

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

kathie

kathieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Would not be without it.

published

With two loved Golden Retrievers I am rarely out of pocket. Great value and annual premiums paid for after one or two claims! Wish human private insurance was as good!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Kathie, thank you so much for your review. So good to hear that you are happy with your policy. I hope you and your two dogs are safe and well.

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Nicole Miethke

Nicole MiethkeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fast and easy claim process

published

Fast and easy claim process and payment which helps a lot when your pet has an accident. I have been with them for over 3 years. Good value for money

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Nicole - thank you very much for your review. So pleased to hear you are happy with the cover and service. Thank you also for your loyalty over the past 3 years.

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Yasinta

Yasinta

  • 3 reviews

Fast and hassle free

published

Very great company. Easy to.claim when we needed the most. We got the claim approved and money received within 48 hours
Greatly appreciated.

Nearly 6 years with company and Infins it has a very good value

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Yasinta - thanks for your review. We are so pleased to hear you are happy with your policy. Hope you and your pet are safe and well. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ROSLYN

ROSLYNSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Very happy!

published

I lodged my claim online through the PetSecure portal which was easy. Reimbursement was made direct into my account very quickly after providing the required documents so I'm very happy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Thanks very much for your great review Roslyn!

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Jennifer Williamson

Jennifer WilliamsonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The Insurance has saved the lives of 2 of my dogs I wouldn't be without it

published

When you are faced with your buddy being put to sleep or paying a lot of money to keep it alive it is a God send to have pet insurance. It has saved me the horrible choice on a number of occasions. I have been with Pet Secure now for a over a decade and have never had a bad experience.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Jennifer, thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to hear that Petsecure has been able to "come to the rescue". Thank you for your loyalty over the past 10 years. Stay safe!

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Robyn Felman

Robyn FelmanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Fantastic .. great service

published

I felt with three dogs , the policy is quite expensive and I feel there should be a discount for each additional dog that you include. This way people with more than one dog will be more likely to be able to afford pet insurance

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

SM1974

SM1974Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Super easy & Super quick

published

Lodging a claim online is super easy and then the turnaround time to receive my rebate has been maximum of 3 days. Being with PetSecure has definitely given me peace of mind knowing that if something goes wrong I can afford to do it and more importantly keep my pet healthy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

HI! Thanks so much for your review - great to hear that having Petsecure Pet Insurance in place has given you some peace of mind! Warm regards, Liz

Princess Li

Princess LiPerth, WA

I am SO happy we took out insurance with PetSecure!!

published

We have a rescue Shar Pei Cross. We decided to take insurance, so we never have to worry about $$ if he is ever sick. So far we have made a few claims, all were made easily, no issues, no problems. Paid in a very reasonable time.
No hassle insurance for peace of mind is what we pay for, and it is exactly what we got. Super happy and 100% recommending!
Thank you PetSecure!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Princess Li - thank you so much for your lovely review. Hope you and your Shar Pei Cross are happy, healthy and safe!

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Best decision I made!

published

Fantastic company! Always paid out claims even a huge 5k one when my girl was in emergency overnight. Fantastic and prompt customer service! Look no further! They have even waived my fees out of goodwill twice for me (for 2-3 months) because of financial difficulty due to the coronavirus. Could not fault them honestly the best pet insurance company.
I am forever grateful. Thank you

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Ashlee - we very much appreciate your positive review and we’re pleased to hear you’re happy with our service. Sorry to hear your girl had an emergency event. Very stressful. Hope all is well now. Warm regards, Liz

Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Therese S.

Therese S.Illawarra, NSW

Very easy process

published

I have 2 policies for my dogs. I haven’t had any issues claiming and have had a continuous update about my claims. It’s a very easy process and relatively fast. Only problem has been getting in contact to change details etc,during this Covid time. I chose to email the company and it was a very quick response with thorough help.
Thankyou. It is great to know I have cover when needed.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure
Douglas Spiers

Douglas SpiersGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

A good product

published

Rapid response and payment of claim. A straight forward process with the assistance of the Vet. The Policy has been in place for around 5 Years without any problems. While claims have been rare, it was fortunate that we were covered on this occasion considering the procedure that was required for our dog.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

colleenq

colleenq

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

pet insurance

published

It was very quick and easy Thankyou we were pleased with the rebate . Found them easy to deal with . The policy was easy to set up.I have been with the company 15months

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi colleenq - t hank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your rebate and that we have been easy to deal with. I hope you and your dog are keeping safe. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Baxter14

Baxter14

  • 2 reviews

Reliable and there when needed

published

We have been with Petsecure since our Golden Retriever was 12 weeks old. Baxter had been blessed with good health and we had only made the old claim for small things like skin irritations and ear infections - each of these claims went smoothly and were handled in a timely manor. Unfortunate at the beginning of this year Baxter started to have issues with his hind legs and in April we found out he needed bilateral ACL repairs. Persecute were very helpful during this time and gave us pre approval for the claim. This was very reassuring during a financially stressful time and meant that we knew we could do the best for our boy.
Petsecure are timely in their communications and very compassionate to deal with. Highly recommended!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

I caint imagine being without pet insurance, it’s fantastic.

published

This time 8yrs, but we have had petsecure for another of our pets quite a few years ago. They have always been prompt with their refunds,. Over the years I have have found no fault with them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Merrilyn - thank you so much for your positive review. We very much appreciate your loyalty - and are pleased to hear you are happy with the service. We hope you and your dog are keeping safe. Warm regards, LIz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Page 1 of 22

Questions & Answers

Edna H.

Edna H.asked

PetSecure

what is the cost for full coverage for 2 chiwawahs?

3 answers
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Edna, thank you for your question! The best thing to do is to go online and get your personal quote for your 2 dogs. There are a few variables, like the age of the pet and the cover you choose, which will affect the premium. visit www.petsecure.com.au to get a quick quote. You can also call 1300 855 160 and we can give you a quote over the phone.

Masniah W.
Masniah W.

I am not happy at all because i pay 5k for surgery and not cover and i was told it pre existing condition. but i was on insurance when she first start having the incontinent and i have not yet claim until this big surgery happened. so to me no point having insurance if it not even cover for int medicine. so if i have to pay 10K i won't get some back. so what the point paying 37 a month that just waste of money.

PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Masniah - thank you for your feed back - the underwriter would have reviewed the vet history of your pet to come to the decision - but if you private message me your policy details I will look into your claim. However it is correct that pre-existing conditions are excluded - this is because insurance is intended to cover unexpected events, and if the condition already exists then it would not be an unexpected event. You can also email me the details at liz@petsecure.com.au Regards, Liz

Pippin

Pippinasked

PetSecure

My dog ( Papillion) has very early stage spinal degeneration......7 years old No slipped discs etc and no need for surgery.
Would he be covered

1 answer
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Pippin, this sounds like this is a pre- existing condition which means it would not be covered. He can only be covered for illnesses that are not pre- existing. Kind regards Liz

sammy

sammyasked

PetSecure

Why is the phone no cutting out every time I ring and hold for a long time? I am wanting to get pet insurance.

1 answer
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hello Sammy - thank you for your feedback- we are not aware of a problem with the phone but will check it on Monday to make sure it’s working - if you would like to email me your phone number we can call you on Monday. My email is liz@petsecure.com.au - kind regards Liz

Get an answer from our members and PetSecure representatives

Details

Compare all 2 PetSecure
CategoryPet InsurancePet Insurance
UnderwriterHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$8,000$12,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 85%Up to 85%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury CoverIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverNot IncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Tick ParalysisNot Included$500
Emergency Boarding Fees$500 if you are hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days$500 if you are hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days
Lifetime Cover IncludedIncluded
Cooling Off Period21 Days21 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days30 Days
Compare all 2 PetSecure

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.