??!
2 photos
Pope True Blue

Pope True Blue

1.2 from 32 reviews

Reviews

(0)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(29)


Handles High Pressure with Few Kinks

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $40.00.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope

Thank you for your review. It is always nice to get positive stories from Pope customers.

Regards,
The Pope Team


Jeremy Parsons

Jeremy ParsonsSouth East Queensland, QLD

I doubt there are worse hoses out there!

published

We bought two of these hoses from Bunning two weeks ago. They are absolute rubbish. Both have splits occurring in the outer casing and they are frustrating to use as they perpetually kink as you try to use them. We'll see what happens when we try to return them.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $37.00.

stan

stanPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

This is rubbish and I can certainly live without it

published

I think the 8 years warranty actually means we don't expect it to last 8 years. Kinks without any effort on my part and splits regularly. I would love to find my receipt and return it to Bunnings for a refund but unfortunately it has disappeared. I think Pope should re-evaluate their testing procedures and improve them. All i can say is " what a load of rubbish" The earth's resources should not be wasted making these inferior products. One star is too good for this product

Purchased in November 2016 at bunnings.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Rob

RobMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Excellent, Flexible, Durable.

published

Purchased in January 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse.


Cliff Beale

Cliff BealeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Concerns about strong chemical smell.

published

I bought this hose in good faith that it would be much better than my much cheaper hose, but it kinks just as much. However, I am very concerned about the strong chemical smell when watering! I refuse to use it to fill the pond, bird bath and dog water bowls as I don't know if it is toxic.
Has this product been chemically tested for toxicity? If not it should be!
My concern is if it like other products, it is made in China where there are many reports of use of banned chemicals, such as formaldehyde! PLEASE get this tested!

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $45.00.

2 comments
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Cliff Beale
Cliff Beale

Donna

DonnaSydney, NSW

NEVER buy this product

published

Purchased 2 about 6 months ago. Multiple leaks n splits in both. They perish in the sun. I don't know where you get an 8 year guarantee from. They don't even last 8 months.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope

Latrina Tovas

Latrina Tovas

  • 3 reviews

Is this a hose, or a does it smell like toes?

published

This product is a disgrace. As soon as I opened it, the smell hit me. Ants came crawling out, and possum poo stuck to the insides. Even after two weeks I haven't gotten rid of the smell! Went straight in the bin and I paid $80 for it!! The worst purchase I have ever made. I am a mother of 3 and I would never recommend this product if my life depended on it.

Purchased in February 2019 at Weight Losers for $80.00.

3 comments
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Latrina Tovas
Latrina Tovas

I'm sorry I don't remember clicking Weight Losers, I did get it from bunnings and they did charge me $80.

Pope
Vivienne S.Pope

Sam

SamPerth

  • Verified purchase

More Kinks than Water

published

I purchased this 4 out of 10 kink rated hose, which had a primium price, because my old hose kinked. I used this hose twice, and it kinked at several locations each time. It was intolerable. I took it back to Bunnings and got my old hose out of the bin.

This was the worst hose I have ever used. As I explained to the return counter; it embarrasses me to return an item, but it should embarrass Bunnings more, having sold such an inferior product.

I asked the lady at returns to convey my concerns to Management (hope she did !).

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Rick

RickWodonga

Kinks and stinks

published

Payed a bit more for a hose that supposedly doesn't kink easily. Yep, I got sucked in by the spiel on the packaging. The worst hose for kinking i have ever used, as others have written, leaving it out in the sun does nothing to improve it. Also very disturbing is the smell emitted from the hose, I am not game to drink out of it and i even fill the dogs water from another source.
Wish I had my receipt as it would be going back to Bunnings if I did.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
None

None

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

This hose kinks and is toxic

published

The kink rating on this hose is totally misleading as it kinks ever minute and it produces the most terrrible chemical smell and taste and I cant help but think I am poisoning everything when i use it. I am reluctant to use ot to fill up my ponds. I have never experienced such a horrendous smell that just wont go away. So the the per performance regarding kinking and the toxic smell make me want to return this hose to bunnings.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Terrible hose links everywhere

published

I agree I spent extra hoping I was buying a good quality hose it kinks everywhere. I will be taking this one back to Bunnings. Really not good quality. Very disappointed I thought I was buying a good brand but I was wrong. Would not recommend this product to anyone.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Dont buy Pope

Dont buy Pope

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish

published

complete waste of money. Cannot roll this hose up without it twisting into a complete mess, every time, guaranteed !, and no leaving it in the sun doesnt help and neither does giving it a tirade of expletives while my blood pressure goes through the roof.
As for the kink rating, the marketers must have quite a laugh, when we part with extra cash in the hope of purchasing a superior product, what a joke!
PS. dont go near there hose reels either, purchased five for two new houses, they have had minimal use and roughly 2 out of 5 are still functioning correctly, but maybe in todays climate of shops full of cheap junk that's considered acceptable.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

True Blue Kinky Hose

published

This hose continually kinks and restricts flow at least 3 places when you move it. I have straightened it out many times and carefully coiled it up loosely to minimize kink but it just wants to kink up. The only solution is to leave it stretched out and don’t move it too much when using it (hardly a good option). The bin for this one! It should be marketed as the "Kink-O-Matic" or "sure Kink"

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Possum16
Possum16

And they still continue to make and sell this rubbish.


Sam

SamVictoria

  • 3 reviews

Designed to kink

published

Worse hose in the world turned me off all Pope products. They should try them at their homes before selling. It's truly amazing how it manages to kink under any condition. Now I'm worried about what chemicals it may be leaching as they seem to have put no thought into the product.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
1 comment
Pope
Ben H.Pope
  • Verified purchase

What a piece of rubbish

published

Do not buy this hose. Complete false advertising by Pope. I can't believe Bunnings sells this garbage. Its meant to be kink free. I unravelled it and low behold there was so many kinks to begin with. Nothing is worst than trying to water your garden and all you get is kinks.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Pope
Ben H.Pope
Peter Saunders

Peter SaundersHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Bunnings True Blue Pope Hoses

published

I have a large garden and purchased two of these hoses. The first one started springing leaks around 9 months after purchase and the second one started to split 20 months after purchase. In addition, they are the worst hoses for kinking that I have used, being particularly kink prone after lying in the sun for a short period. I would rate them as poor at half the price. I consider Pope build to a price, not quality..

Date PurchasedJan 2016
2 comments
Pope
Ben H.Pope
Peter Saunders
Peter Saunders

worst hose

published

purchase 2 pope hose from bunnings; if your thinking of doing so i advice not to they kink up on first use and do not unkink.the crease that gets made does not come out..useless is probably the best description, do not be sucked into this product you will be annoyed and very disappointed

Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Pope
Ben H.Pope

Tina

TinaWestern District, VIC

  • 6 reviews

True Blue NOT!

published

This was highly recommended by staff at Bunnings. It is awful, it kinks regardless of careful winding etc. I connected it to my Karcher and it leaked everywhere. It supposedly has an 8-year guarantee, good luck with getting a refund! I even laid it out in the warm sun so I could wind it up carefully, that didn't work. I tried everything I could think of to help with the kinking, nothing worked. Don't waste your money!

Date PurchasedMar 2016
2 comments
Pope
Ben H.Pope
Tina
Tina

I did try taking it back to place of purchase without the receipt as I had lost it to no avail. It has since been put in the bin.


MT

MTLaunceston, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pope True Blue

published

I think the blue refers to the language one uses everytime one has to un-kink this so-called kink proof hose.
Every time I use it it kinks in the same four places which means that over an hour's watering I grapple with it dozens of times.
I am amazed no has taken the company to court over what is basically a fraud

Date PurchasedJan 2016
2 comments
Pope
Ben H.Pope
MT
MT

Pope has subsequently replaced this disaster with another, this time from its Billabong range - a completely different product: -no kinks and no problems! Thank you


A terrible product.

published

The worst hose I've ever bought. Left it on all day and the pressure blew holes in the plastic in about 6 different places, with water squirting everywhere. Pope have an eight year warranty on the hose - this should be against the law. An absolutely appalling product, Bunnings should recall them all - but unfortunately they were still selling them when I returned mine.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

BM

BMasked

One day people will wake up and find Bunnings sells absolute rubbish. Any company that sinks their whole business in Bunnings is set for doom as Bunnings is getting a bad name for inferior quality. I was trying to purchase a Pope Hand Held Brass Gun Product number 1010779, and although Pope say I can get it from Bunnings, no store has it. Plastic crap in the garden does NOT work well in a subtropical or tropical area. It has to be brass.
If I don't locate this particular one or can purchase it direct from Pope, I will send overseas for a decent one in Brass. I am just about done with Bunnings rubbish. Buying a water pipe from them had it split when we went away, but fortunately out neighbour two doors down had a visit from his son and he saw the water aiming skyward and jumped the 6 ft fence and shut down the system. As we were going away for 2 weeks, our Well would have been emptied by the time we returned.
So if anyone or a Pope rep can send me one, good for you, count me in.

4 answers
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope

Hi BM,

Thank you for your question. Where in Australia are you living? I've just checked my local Bunnings here in Adelaide and the Brass Gun is available there: https://bit.ly/2syfQtD

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards,
The Pope Team

BM
BM

Thank you, I live in Bundaberg Qld. I tried most of all Qld from Brisbane northward, without success. I can try Adelaide Bunnings but not going to hold my breath as they don't sell to those Interstate. Been there and done that with a bench seat I wanted in Melbourne and Bundaberg Bunnings would NOT transfer it to here.
FAIL...just said "This item is not available from this store for online purchasing".
Bunnings are a waste of time and space!

Pope
Vivienne S.Pope

Hi BM,

Thank you for getting back to me. I've checked the Bunnings in Bundaberg and it is available there for Click and Collect. I wonder if you phone them and ask if they still have it in stock? Their number is (07) 4130 8000. Also, the details of this item are below, which I got straight from the Bunnings website Bundaberg, should you need to reference them:

Pope Brass Gun I/N: 3130681
$29.99
Find in-store Bundaberg
In stock
Click & Collect
Order by 4pm to collect after 9am tomorrow from a store near you

Best of luck,
The Pope Team


Get an answer from our members and Pope representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.