??!
2 photos
Pope True Blue

Pope True Blue

1.2 from 35 reviews

Reviews

1.2

35 reviews
5
(0)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(32)
Previous
Next

Problems with kinking

published

The hose in a reel and kinks continuously on rewind and bring out. The hose also flattens when not under pressure making kinking worse. Exactly the opposite of the advertising.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Anthony

AnthonySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

True Blue Rubbish

published

Bought 2 of these from Bunnings warehouse. I thought being on the dearer side they would at least last for a while.

The non break fitting broke off the first hose within a couple of months.

The second hose split open while using it with a trigger nozzle for the 3rd time today. I had to cut the fitted end off it to be able to use it. It keeps getting shorter every time I use it now.

I kept the backing card but with no receipt Bunnings won't accept the return for warranty.

There should be a recall on these. Very un-Australian to call a dodgy product "True blue"

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
AndysFarm

AndysFarmHobart, TAS

  • 27 reviews
  • 8 likes

Made to Kink

published

Despite this as advertised as having a low kink rating, no matter how careful I am, this hose tries its best to kink, and once kinked it is impossible to remove. I feel this is a poorly made hose and a waste of money. Do yourself a favour and spend some more dollars on a premium Gardenia hose.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Garden Hoses

Find out how Pope True Blue compares to other Garden Hoses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Heart Broken Husband

Heart Broken Husband

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Handles High Pressure with Few Kinks

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$40.00.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope

Thank you for your review. It is always nice to get positive stories from Pope customers.

Regards,
The Pope Team

Jeremy Parsons

Jeremy ParsonsSouth East Queensland, QLD

I doubt there are worse hoses out there!

published

We bought two of these hoses from Bunning two weeks ago. They are absolute rubbish. Both have splits occurring in the outer casing and they are frustrating to use as they perpetually kink as you try to use them. We'll see what happens when we try to return them.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$37.00.

stan

stanPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is rubbish and I can certainly live without it

published

I think the 8 years warranty actually means we don't expect it to last 8 years. Kinks without any effort on my part and splits regularly. I would love to find my receipt and return it to Bunnings for a refund but unfortunately it has disappeared. I think Pope should re-evaluate their testing procedures and improve them. All i can say is " what a load of rubbish" The earth's resources should not be wasted making these inferior products. One star is too good for this product

Purchased in November 2016 at bunnings.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Rob

RobMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent, Flexible, Durable.

published

Purchased in January 2016 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Cliff Beale

Cliff BealeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Concerns about strong chemical smell.

published

I bought this hose in good faith that it would be much better than my much cheaper hose, but it kinks just as much. However, I am very concerned about the strong chemical smell when watering! I refuse to use it to fill the pond, bird bath and dog water bowls as I don't know if it is toxic.
Has this product been chemically tested for toxicity? If not it should be!
My concern is if it like other products, it is made in China where there are many reports of use of banned chemicals, such as formaldehyde! PLEASE get this tested!

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$45.00.

2 comments
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Cliff Beale
Cliff Beale
Donna

DonnaSydney, NSW

NEVER buy this product

published

Purchased 2 about 6 months ago. Multiple leaks n splits in both. They perish in the sun. I don't know where you get an 8 year guarantee from. They don't even last 8 months.

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

1 comment
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Garden Hoses

Find out how Pope True Blue compares to other Garden Hoses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Latrina Tovas

Latrina Tovas

  • 3 reviews

Is this a hose, or a does it smell like toes?

published

This product is a disgrace. As soon as I opened it, the smell hit me. Ants came crawling out, and possum poo stuck to the insides. Even after two weeks I haven't gotten rid of the smell! Went straight in the bin and I paid $80 for it!! The worst purchase I have ever made. I am a mother of 3 and I would never recommend this product if my life depended on it.

Purchased in February 2019 at Weight Losers for A$80.00.

3 comments
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Latrina Tovas
Latrina Tovas

I'm sorry I don't remember clicking Weight Losers, I did get it from bunnings and they did charge me $80.

Pope
Vivienne S.Pope
Sam

SamPerth

  • Verified purchase

More Kinks than Water

published

I purchased this 4 out of 10 kink rated hose, which had a primium price, because my old hose kinked. I used this hose twice, and it kinked at several locations each time. It was intolerable. I took it back to Bunnings and got my old hose out of the bin.

This was the worst hose I have ever used. As I explained to the return counter; it embarrasses me to return an item, but it should embarrass Bunnings more, having sold such an inferior product.

I asked the lady at returns to convey my concerns to Management (hope she did !).

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Rick

RickWodonga

Kinks and stinks

published

Payed a bit more for a hose that supposedly doesn't kink easily. Yep, I got sucked in by the spiel on the packaging. The worst hose for kinking i have ever used, as others have written, leaving it out in the sun does nothing to improve it. Also very disturbing is the smell emitted from the hose, I am not game to drink out of it and i even fill the dogs water from another source.
Wish I had my receipt as it would be going back to Bunnings if I did.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
None

None

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

This hose kinks and is toxic

published

The kink rating on this hose is totally misleading as it kinks ever minute and it produces the most terrrible chemical smell and taste and I cant help but think I am poisoning everything when i use it. I am reluctant to use ot to fill up my ponds. I have never experienced such a horrendous smell that just wont go away. So the the per performance regarding kinking and the toxic smell make me want to return this hose to bunnings.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Terrible hose links everywhere

published

I agree I spent extra hoping I was buying a good quality hose it kinks everywhere. I will be taking this one back to Bunnings. Really not good quality. Very disappointed I thought I was buying a good brand but I was wrong. Would not recommend this product to anyone.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Dont buy Pope

Dont buy Pope

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish

published

complete waste of money. Cannot roll this hose up without it twisting into a complete mess, every time, guaranteed !, and no leaving it in the sun doesnt help and neither does giving it a tirade of expletives while my blood pressure goes through the roof.
As for the kink rating, the marketers must have quite a laugh, when we part with extra cash in the hope of purchasing a superior product, what a joke!
PS. dont go near there hose reels either, purchased five for two new houses, they have had minimal use and roughly 2 out of 5 are still functioning correctly, but maybe in todays climate of shops full of cheap junk that's considered acceptable.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Garden Hoses

Find out how Pope True Blue compares to other Garden Hoses

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

True Blue Kinky Hose

published

This hose continually kinks and restricts flow at least 3 places when you move it. I have straightened it out many times and carefully coiled it up loosely to minimize kink but it just wants to kink up. The only solution is to leave it stretched out and don’t move it too much when using it (hardly a good option). The bin for this one! It should be marketed as the "Kink-O-Matic" or "sure Kink"

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Possum16
Possum16

And they still continue to make and sell this rubbish.

Sam

SamVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Designed to kink

published

Worse hose in the world turned me off all Pope products. They should try them at their homes before selling. It's truly amazing how it manages to kink under any condition. Now I'm worried about what chemicals it may be leaching as they seem to have put no thought into the product.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
1 comment
Pope
Ben H.Pope
  • Verified purchase

What a piece of rubbish

published

Do not buy this hose. Complete false advertising by Pope. I can't believe Bunnings sells this garbage. Its meant to be kink free. I unravelled it and low behold there was so many kinks to begin with. Nothing is worst than trying to water your garden and all you get is kinks.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Pope
Ben H.Pope
Peter Saunders

Peter SaundersHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bunnings True Blue Pope Hoses

published

I have a large garden and purchased two of these hoses. The first one started springing leaks around 9 months after purchase and the second one started to split 20 months after purchase. In addition, they are the worst hoses for kinking that I have used, being particularly kink prone after lying in the sun for a short period. I would rate them as poor at half the price. I consider Pope build to a price, not quality..

Date PurchasedJan 2016
2 comments
Pope
Ben H.Pope
Peter Saunders
Peter Saunders

worst hose

published

purchase 2 pope hose from bunnings; if your thinking of doing so i advice not to they kink up on first use and do not unkink.the crease that gets made does not come out..useless is probably the best description, do not be sucked into this product you will be annoyed and very disappointed

Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Pope
Ben H.Pope
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

BM

BMasked

One day people will wake up and find Bunnings sells absolute rubbish. Any company that sinks their whole business in Bunnings is set for doom as Bunnings is getting a bad name for inferior quality. I was trying to purchase a Pope Hand Held Brass Gun Product number 1010779, and although Pope say I can get it from Bunnings, no store has it. Plastic crap in the garden does NOT work well in a subtropical or tropical area. It has to be brass.
If I don't locate this particular one or can purchase it direct from Pope, I will send overseas for a decent one in Brass. I am just about done with Bunnings rubbish. Buying a water pipe from them had it split when we went away, but fortunately out neighbour two doors down had a visit from his son and he saw the water aiming skyward and jumped the 6 ft fence and shut down the system. As we were going away for 2 weeks, our Well would have been emptied by the time we returned.
So if anyone or a Pope rep can send me one, good for you, count me in.

4 answers
Pope
Vivienne S.Pope

Hi BM,

Thank you for your question. Where in Australia are you living? I've just checked my local Bunnings here in Adelaide and the Brass Gun is available there: https://bit.ly/2syfQtD

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards,
The Pope Team

BM
BM

Thank you, I live in Bundaberg Qld. I tried most of all Qld from Brisbane northward, without success. I can try Adelaide Bunnings but not going to hold my breath as they don't sell to those Interstate. Been there and done that with a bench seat I wanted in Melbourne and Bundaberg Bunnings would NOT transfer it to here.
FAIL...just said "This item is not available from this store for online purchasing".
Bunnings are a waste of time and space!

Pope
Vivienne S.Pope

Hi BM,

Thank you for getting back to me. I've checked the Bunnings in Bundaberg and it is available there for Click and Collect. I wonder if you phone them and ask if they still have it in stock? Their number is (07) 4130 8000. Also, the details of this item are below, which I got straight from the Bunnings website Bundaberg, should you need to reference them:

Pope Brass Gun I/N: 3130681
$29.99
Find in-store Bundaberg
In stock
Click & Collect
Order by 4pm to collect after 9am tomorrow from a store near you

Best of luck,
The Pope Team

Get an answer from our members and Pope representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.