??!

Reviews

(25)
(9)
(2)
(9)
(75)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (22)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (18)
  • Customer Service
    2.3 (23)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Rick

RickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Couldn't Care Less

published

Brand new car. Then after 12 months offered to insure for 40% less than purchased Price.
Reduced premium by $2.00.
Contacted RAA and said cancel Policy.
CS said you will lose your lifetime replacement? Please, what a joke.
Does not replace old for new.
Goodbye

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMini 5-Door Hatch F55 Cooper S
See all answers
Monkey man

Monkey manSouth Australia

15% increase in one year

published

Insurance renewal arrived and had risen by 15% with no circumstances having changed since last renewal. Phoned raa and was told that they would only lower the renewal fee if I increased the excess. Another vehicle renewal due the day before had only risen by 1.8% year to year. Operator was not interested in trying to review the insurance or lower the amount. I've been with raa for 22 years and have a multi policy discount. Prior to calling had received quotes from five other insurance companies. All had similar or better benefits, with all being cheaper. Very disappointed, with raa. I have no choice, other than moving my insurance elsewhere.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelAudi A3
See all answers
zaheed h.

zaheed h.

  • 2 reviews

Rude customer service, Website & the App doesn't show renewal period

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniel Grace

Daniel GraceMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

High class customer service

published

I am dealing with a stressful situationin relation to my car recently been hit.
Chloe Berry the customer rep for RAA is outstanding. She made my day by takin g care of my issue in organising a loan car she took that extra step and ensured the car hire place called me back. Chloe was so understanding only if more people were that professional. Great experience

Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
See all answers
Paul R.

Paul R.South Australia

Reasonably happy with cover.

published

Car stolen and recieved settlement very quickly after 21 day cooling off period, awesome!
However if you claim for loss of personal items which was partbof my claim, please make sure you have 'Proof of Ownership'.
I lost a highly collectable vintage surfboard but its only word of mouth without sufficient proof, of ownership.
Happy to now have another car, but painful lesson learned.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Dana

DanaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

RAA insurance is crap

published

A drunk driver hit me, car was a write off. Police attended, reported the drunk driver 100% at fault. The drunk drivers insurance company RAA dragged on the investigation for 3 months. Then told drunk driver to withdraw his claim as police charged him and he can’t plead not guilty if he has a claim pending. I’ve got no car and RAA are low life scum.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
davinder k.

davinder k.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Don't get deceived by their being local advertiment

published

When my brother in law bought his first car after arriving in Australia. I have recommended RAA insurance to my brother in law. I thought it will be easy for him to deal with the local company. After couple of months he had an accident. Both the drivers are with RAA. Now raa is trying to find excuses for not to pay the compensation. After month they still can't determine who is at fault and want both drivers to pay excess . They treat the policy holder as thieves and refuse to acknowledge their duty. We will be lodging a complaint with office of business and consumer affairs soon.
To me this company has third world mentality. Stay away from them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
See all answers
Ali T.

Ali T.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

RAA refused my claim and cancelled my Comprehensive Policy after an accident

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
kerbarb

kerbarbAdelaide, South Australia

  • 7 reviews

Very happy with service

published

I had a claim on my vehicle which was caused by fire as a result of an auto electrician working on it. Very happy with service and prompt payout. They could not have been more pleasant to deal with. There was only 1 person who created some stress through either a lack of understanding about the claim process or their product.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gordy

GordyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Unfair Insurance Provider

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Sukie

SukieSouth Australia

Could not imagine better service

published

After a family member suffering a vehicle write-off from an uninsured driver, far away from home, RAA did the ground-work ... didn't say it was too hard, phoned the tow-truck company, analysed photos in lieu of assessment being an option, top job RAA!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelHonda Accord 7th Gen
See all answers
aasya i.

aasya i.

  • 2 reviews

Extremely difficult to get your claim processed.

published

I have been with insurance company for nearly 5 years. Its pretty smooth if its a one way traffic- they charging us money, it becomes very difficult when we lodge a claim. Definitely changing all my cars to a different insurer

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelHonda Civic 10th Gen (Hatchback) VTi-S
See all answers
Bevzy

BevzyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Worst customer service in terms of claims... Rear ended by someone and flee and still want me to pay the excess!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelKia Sportage QL AO Edition 2WD, 2.0L Petrol, Automatic
See all answers

Awful, stressful experience that's still going after a month

published

I was stopped in traffic and got hit by another car. My car is written off. I have new for old replacement. RAA still haven't paid out after a month. Every time you phone you get someone else. No care about the customer without a car and struggling with costs. 11 years a member. No care or consideration.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Mel

MelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

I feel let down by this company after being a loyal member for 16 years

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how RAA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roger

RogerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Worst service ever from an insurance company

published

3 recent claims, 2 declined and 1 no result even though I was not even present when an uber driver drove into my parked car and drove off.
Latest claim, RAA changed my battery and destroyed the roc which cost over 2kand refuse to fix it!?

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelBMW 1 Series E88
See all answers

No help in my situation

published

My car broke down on the side of the road and I had to leave it there as there was no phone service. I have now learnt if you are not physically at the vehicle and unable to get to it then RAA can not help you out. I will now have to pay a towing service.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
andrew

andrewadelaide

  • 4 reviews

Cost compared to RAC WA and RACV - RAA equivalent in WA and Vic

published

Despite 29 year "Gold" membership and 5 insurance policies for many years now I got a quote from RAA Car insurance for $2500 compared to $800 if I went to WA (RAC WA) or $1200 in Vic (RACV). Same car but different pricing interstate.. Aparently car is expensive to fix.....hmm but WA/Vic would have same issues but they're cheap. I thought RAA was there to provide service/support to Automobile users? Oh well RAA a loyal customer lost

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Heather W.

Heather W.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Disappointed customer!

published

My daughter recently had her car stolen which in itself is traumatic she has a 3 month old baby and needs her car. Lucky a friend loaned her one otherwise she would of been stuck. Told to wait 21 days but also charged $500 excess and had to pay out remainder of 12 month policy due to paying monthly!! Never heard of such ridiculous charges! So basically being charged for cover for a car she does not have anymore! It might be in their small print but still does not make it right! I actually pay her insurances for her inc house and contents as well as my own ...for peace of mind that she is covered but will not be going through them again for her new car.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelHolden Cruze JH (Hatchback) SRi-V
See all answers
Marelle S.

Marelle S.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Long winded and a huge inconvenience

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Trev Smith

Trev Smithasked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

What is third party property insurance policy

No answers
adila704

adila704asked

I have comprehensive car insurance ! Recently had accident! my car will be non - repairable. My car is used when we bought but it’s a 2017 Honda and was only done 10,000 and around 40,000 on the clock right before the crash !, my question is , I read it in the PDS that car can be replaced with same model , year and condition ! We have loan with the car , and we only need a replacement car as we need a car anyways as we have 4 children ! Dose it possible to get replacement car instead the insurer pay out our loan and stuff ? This is my first claim ever! Hopefully will be hassle free as I already experienced a very unpleasant costumer services and stressing ! Praying for a good result ! Thank you !

No answers
Marelle S.

Marelle S.asked

What is the average wait time for a pay out figure on a vehicle that has been written off under a comprehensive policy?

2 answers
Douglas
Douglas

Hi Marelle, it took about eight weeks, but I delayed the process by not having my phone on hand (leaving it in the car and not checking the missed calls) when the RAA had tried to ring.

Marelle S.
Marelle S.

Thanks Douglas. I have never encountered such a lack of customer service. It is causing me a huge amount of stress and financial pressure. I've been a RAA member for 17 years, and it means nothing. Never again.

Get an answer from our members and Royal Automotive Association representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.