??!
1 photo
RAA Travel Insurance

RAA Travel Insurance

Premium, Essentials, Annual Multi-Trip, etc...
2.2 from 65 reviews

Reviews

2.2

65 reviews
5
(16)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(40)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (34)
  • Transparency
    2.5 (27)
  • Customer Service
    2.7 (33)
Previous
Next
Jen

JenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Excellent service

published

Extremely satisfied with the outcome of our claim through RAA Travel Insurance. Our Africa Safari trip was cancelled due to COVID 19. RAA covered in full the non-refundable deposit paid.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Oldies but goodies

Oldies but goodiesMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Soo easy

published

Very easy to get approval online. We had quite a few medical issues which they sorted no problems. With 2020 being "weird" after our trip was cancelled they refunded 90% of our insurance payment, which I thought was very decent considering what a lot of my friends insured with other companies had to do to get satisfaction. Thankyou for being a great insurer, will go with you again once we can travel safely

Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
kevin

kevinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

cancelled cruise

published

booked travel insurance for cruise on 21/03/20 got cancelled raa would not refund our money only give credit for 12 months now after contacting consumer affairs they will refund 70 per cent only lost over $100 dollars never again

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how RAA Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disappointing travel insurance

published

When I initially rang about my travel insurance the lady told me I had to make sure I did something with my travel insurance before June 8th 2020 or it would activate and I would be unable to do anything. I now find out that I can’t cancel it as it is no longer in the allotted 10 weeks! Something I would have liked to know at the time. Luckily Qantas are doing the right thing and refunding our flights in full. You on the other hand have told us we can only extend it and it expires in 2021 whether we can fly or not it won’t be extendable after paying $523.94. Haven’t travelled anywhere as flight cancelled due to COVID 19 pandemic

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Great outcome

published

Very happy with the outcome of our claim through the RAA. We were overseas when the Aus. Govt. announced everyone had to return home ASAP. We had to pay extra money for airfares to get home which the RAA reimbursed - very happy with the service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers

Great Service!

published

Due to the cancellation of our cruise, I emailed first and then spoke to RAA over the phone re my travel insurance and what steps I needed to take. It has all been handled very quickly and efficiently when you consider how busy travel centres are at the moment. I was impressed that I had basically just hung up the phone when an email with my updated policy came through in readiness for our next cruise booking once the travel situation regains normality. Thank you RAA

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Ian

IanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

RAA fudging with Corona Virus information

published

We have a trip planned to Japan in June. I called the RAA Travel Insurance people to ask what would happen if we were quarantined in our hotel for 2 weeks and unable to leave by our scheduled departure date. The consultant simply told us that if it happened then to give them a call at the the time to discuss it which is a ridiculous response. I need to know BEFORE we go as there is a real possibility it could happen and we need to know NOW. The consultant also said that we could call them at the time and extend our travel insurance by 2 or 3 weeks. I thought travel Insurance was intended to cover us for these unforeseen circumstances but it seems the RAA doesn’t want to know about it.

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Great Travel Insurance

published

One member of my family became sick whilst overseas. Had to cancel a section of the trip. Contacted RAA to confirm how to best handle this whilst overseas. Obtained online medical cert and submitted claim online on return. Received full refund of expenses, less excess. Couldn't have been fairer, so no complaints at all.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Teenager
See all answers
Kathy

Kathy

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed

published

Took insurance out 20.01.2020 for travel cover period 09.04.2020 to 14.05.2020, we no longer need insurance as cruise cancelled due to coranavirus phoned to see if we were able to get refund of some type, in no uncertain terms I was told definitely not, over $1100 premium down the drain!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how RAA Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ellie

EllieSydney, NSW

Disappointing lack of transparency

published

As part of my employer's directive, had to cancel a conference attendance due to the global health crisis. Disappointingly I called to see if they were able to offer any assistance and they said that they weren't honouring any policies after 31.1.20 for coronavirus (mine was booked very early Feb). I tried to find the directive stating this as I would not have booked my insurance if this was the case but there was and still is nothing about the coronavirus on their website. Hopefully noone gets stuck with the same issue as I was told if I were to have gone on the trip and got coronavirus, I may not have been covered.
More writing this review as a warning to others - I'm really disappointed by this blatant cover up.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

RAA travel isn’t RAA

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Not recommended

published

member-Used Raa insurance for my recent travel. When I made a claim with regards to the cancellation of my flight - they split my claim into three separate claims and deducted the excess from each claim which ended up in practically getting nothing. They use a different company as their insurance broker. When we make claims we are dealing with the other company. Not with RAA !! Beware !!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
Mandy Bruce

Mandy BruceMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Do not use RAA travel insurance

published

I have taken travel insurance for years and my first claim on RAA travel has been a debacle. I was diverted by the airline for 15 hours on my way to Africa . I lost 1 day of safari and also had to pay another flight to meet the safari....claim was dismissed because the flight was diverted for "operational" reasons (pilot and ill) and they don't cover that ....... never again RAA

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
David

DavidMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

RAA, now TOKIOMARINE.

published

for almost 20 years I have used and recommended RAA travel insurance UNTIL last year when they changed their broker to TOKIO MARINE . I still use RAA insurance for Home and contents, 2 Cars, Security, all other insurance requirements.

DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior

This insurance is a scam! Don’t get tricked by Raa, if you’re injured overseas you still must pay your own medical bills

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how RAA Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lisa H.

Lisa H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Received incorrect information on travel to Bali

published
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult, Child and Teenager
David J

David JMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not Happy with Annual Policy and Rigid Rules

published

Recently I booked a trip to UK with the dates fitting within my Annual RAA insurance Policy. Cathay Pacific then changed my flight and I had no alternative but to extend my trip 2 days outside the dates of the policy. I approached RAA to extend my policy by 2 days. But No. That was not allowed. I either had to have a totally new policy for the trip costing me $1100 not even making an allowance for the 42 days of the 44 I had already paid or take out another One year policy from the start of the trip. Not even a suggestion of a short 2 day policy to tide me over. Not Happy RAA and I have been a member for over 50 years and have not made a claim on several previous policies.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Steve D.

Steve D.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Easy and great price

published

RAA was the easiest option in organising our travel insurance for our recent overseas trip to Bali. Simple questions on line and easy to adjust what type of cover suits your personal activities whilst overseas. Have used it 3 times now and will use again when we plan our European holiday next year. Thanks RAA :)

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
Chris

ChrisMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not very good at all. Stressful process.

published
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
1 comment
Chris
Chris

Update: still awaiting callback from RAA Insurance re this matter, but as promised by them. As I say, do not waste your time. Utterly, irrevocably amateurish.

Kyle H.

Kyle H.Adelaide

  • 3 reviews

All my travel needs were covered

published

Policy price was very competitive (1 week in Fiji ). Unlimited medical and luggage cover was my biggest factor in choosing. I called and got great customer service. However I wanted to read the full Product disclaimer before purchasing. I purchased online (very easy) and also received 10% off for being a member. Very happy with the purchase process.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Sheila

Sheilaasked

RAA Travel Insurance

I hav purchased travel insurance for a trip I was to undertak in May 2020 due to the pandemic obviously won’t be taking it . Do I get my money refunded for the insurance never used

1 answer
Ian
Ian

Now......That's a great question. I never thought of that. I am in the same situation with a trip to Japan which is not going to now happen. I haven't yet heard from my travel agent about whether I am going to get a air fare refund or credit. Thanks for that question. I look forward to seeing what answer you get.

Terry O.

Terry O.asked

RAA Travel Insurance

I would like to know who, at the RAA, I can ring for advice in relation to my "planned" China tour?
If I cancel the tour & am I covered? or
If I accept the offer of a deferred tour date from the travel agent & what are the insurance implications?
FYI - My insurance was taken out BEFORE the Arbitrary cut off date/time as told to me by an RAA staffer yesterday
I think it is perfectly natural for me to deal direct with the RAA (the supplier)
If I bought a faulty Panasonic TV from JB Hi-Fi, I would not be "hand-balled" to Panasonic

No answers
Patricia Shaw

Patricia Shawasked

Travel Insurance - Premium Plan

Policy Number 20099393. Not happy with above comments,
Going to Central Asia, Caucasus and Iran April till May. If Govt travel advice for Iran changes to DO NOT TRAVEL due to Corona Virus do I get reimbursed if I can't travel to Iran. I hope so. With Premium Cover I have paid alot.

4 answers
Mandy Bruce
Mandy Bruce

You probably wont get reimbursed for anything u try to claim from RAA...total hip.

Kathy
Kathy

I was told no $1100 paid for premium cover, no claim just wanted to cancel cover, any other insurance cover car house etc always pay pro rata when you cancel, insurance wasn't even until 9th April and it was about 4 weeks prior

Patricia Shaw
Patricia Shaw

RAA will not cover Iran at the moment, even though it is Do Not Travel. Said have to wait & see what happens. So won't cover if I do go, or don't go! Tour Companies haven't cancelled any of my tours so I can't cancel or lose a lot of money. I am attempting to leave Au 4 April. Probably be a flight problem too.

Get an answer from our members and Royal Automotive Association representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.