??!
1 photo
RAA Travel Insurance
1.9 from 41 reviews

See the Best Travel Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
4
1 star
29

Joan C.

Joan C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

First claim in 6 trips - and they won’t pay

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Senior
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

BrownHill C.

BrownHill C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

BEWARE: RAA Travel Insurance Section 7 Exclusions.

published

RAA Travel Insurance Section 7 Exclusions. You are not covered for losses, liability or expenses if you accidentally injure your travelling companion or relative. Make sure that your travel companions have travel insurance and don't just believe it if they say they are covered.They might sue you to recover costs!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Russ

RussMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Please be aware of RAA Travel insurance it is not what it is advertised to be

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Buyer beware,

published

Worst insurer, not south Australian, (Tokyo marine) made a claim for loss of income, as I fractured my ankle in thialand, sent off all paper work, everything that was asked, shock horror, claim was denied now I am out of pocket and no sick leave, I advise everyone DO NOT get raa insurance, (Tokyo Marine) fortunately only travel insurance is with Tokyo marine In Sydney, house and car are still south Aussie, but if their claim department switches, then sorry to say, but RAA will loose more business

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeMulti-Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimPersonal Liability
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Full of excuses.

published

We had to cancel a cruise excursion due to an injury previous day. Put in a claim with supporting documents. They looked for every excuse to deny claim. Next time we will buy Cover more Travel insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association
Ilario
Ilario

Find another insurer

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Child
DestinationEurope and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association
SBS
SBS

If you checked you would find that we have already passed on those details when we copied RAA on our response to the underwriter to initiate Stage 1 of their complaints process.


davo59

davo59Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Travel Insurance single trip to Sri Lanka

published

I took the travel insurance out for our trip to Sri Lanka, advised RAA that 4 month ago I was admitted to hospital for a angiogram during which they install two stents in partially blocked major arteries.
Following surgery I spent the night in ICU being allowed home the following day, now I take 4 more medications each day.
The RAA rep spoke with the insurance company and rang me back, they were more pleased to insure me with an additional $200.00 plus the standard policy of $214.00 = $414.00 for the 10 day policy covering me for all cardio events.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Senior
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Jo M.

Jo M.

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

May be cheaper than some but aren’t there when you need to claim

published

Crap. Non helpful in claims and straight out sent them without even contacting you. They are in the Hussey business like the rest of them. Take take and oh you actually needed our services oh sorry we are unable to assist.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association
SSP

SSPGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Frauds never go with them

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association
Jenny and Neil

Jenny and NeilMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Excellant

published

We have found Raa insurance excellant. We had to claim after a trip to Japan and it was handled well .There customer service is also been good on phone and direct. We have only claimed travel insurance once.

Insurance Cover For:Adult and Senior
Insurance TypeMulti-Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property and Personal Liability
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2018
Claim ApprovedYes

Katie T

Katie TMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified customer

Don't do it

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth America
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

richard

richardMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

No fuss claim payout.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association

DJW

DJWMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Get's easier everytime!

published

Very friendly and informative phone contacts.
Easy to fill out forms when applying for travel insurance (second time was able to complete medical assessments myself on line).
Still waiting on a claim settlement, I will review claim process in a few weeks time.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Senior
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association

Hi DJW, thank you for sending in this feedback, it is much appreciated. If you have any issues with the claim, please feel free to email us at online@raa.com.au and I can pick this up for you. Enjoy the rest of your week. Kind regards, Gemma


rob

robMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

worst experience, they tried any thing to get out of paying anything at all

published

Will never insure with RAA again...this is the second time we insured with them first trip we didn;t need to make a claim , this trip we had two suite cases destroyed by baggage handlers and a phone damaged in a storm, Raa split the claim in to individual items and then put the $100 excess on each item , this made it almost worthless claiming anything , waiting on a hospital bill and wondering if they will spit that in to individual parts so they don't have to pay ...

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association

Hi Rob, I'm sorry to hear you had things destroyed on your holiday and that our claims process was so difficult for you. I will escalate this feedback to our management team to take in to consideration. Kind regards, Gemma

EBS

EBS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Forget any medical review

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association
Simmo78

Simmo78AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Non existent customer service.

published

Very straight forward lost phone overseas case.

Lodged claim online, received a follow-up email some days later looking for more paperwork which we fwded off. Then NOTHING.

20 DAYS and follow up emails and phone calls, no response. Reading through the reviews here I wish I had have consulted you guys first and learnt what a sham this cover is.

Obviously I've done my insurance money but I have now cancelled my premium roadside assistance on both cars in our house. Hopefully these peanuts get the message that saying you are local is quite different to acting like a local.

Insurance claim madeYes
2 comments
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association
Simmo78
Simmo78

Helen

Helen

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Here we go again - snap

published

Snap, however knee injury happened before the trip started which meant we had to cancel. GP was disbelieved When he declared no preexisting. Gross invasion of privacy asking for full medical history with no guarantee this information would not be misappropriated.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association

Worst travel insurance ever.

published

First time using, will never again! The 24 hour emergency can’t even help you if it’s a Saturday. Yes they’ll answer the phone. No it’s not a person located in Australia (as promised) and no they won’t help you until Monday morning when ‘a doctor can assess the file’!!!!!!!! Terrible. I have since found out they are owned by some Japanese crowd?!!?!??

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association

Dave l

Dave lMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Would not pay my mother out or father

published

Stay away from Raa travel insurance as will not pay out even if you have letter from doctors .my mum had back pain and ended up having operation on back and couldn't go on cruise they had booked my father had to stay back and look after her so couldn't go as Well and they would pay for either person shame on you raa my father has been a member for over 50 years

Insurance claim madeNo
3 comments
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association
Dave l
Dave l
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association

Hemabi

HemabiAdelaide

  • Verified customer

RAA Travel Insurance trip cancelation claim due to knee injury

published
Insurance claim madeYes
2 comments
Royal Automotive Association
RAA o.Royal Automotive Association
Hemabi
Hemabi

I certainly can and will. This claim has spiralled out of control and reached an impasse.


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Royal Automotive Association representatives

Details

RAA Travel Insurance - Domestic Plan

RAA Travel Insurance - Domestic Plan

No reviews
RAA Travel Insurance - Annual Multi-Trip

RAA Travel Insurance - Annual Multi-Trip

1 review
RAA Travel Insurance - Basics Plan

RAA Travel Insurance - Basics Plan

No reviews
RAA Travel Insurance - Essentials Plan

RAA Travel Insurance - Essentials Plan

No reviews
RAA Travel Insurance - Premium Plan

RAA Travel Insurance - Premium Plan

8 reviews
CategoryTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel Insurance
Contact Number 08 8202 460008 8202 460008 8202 460008 8202 460008 8202 4600
24-Hour Phone Contact NoNoNoNoNo
Online Live Chat NoNoNoNoNo
UnderwriterTokio Marine & Nichido Fire InsuranceTokio Marine & Nichido Fire InsuranceTokio Marine & Nichido Fire InsuranceTokio Marine & Nichido Fire InsuranceTokio Marine & Nichido Fire Insurance
Maximum Age Covered 101 years old101 years old101 years old101 years old101 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance Not IncludedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Accidental Death$25,000$25,000Not Included$15,000$25,000
Emergency DentalNot IncludedUnlimited$500$2,000Unlimited
Pregnancy (max weeks) 26 weeks26 weeks26 weeks26 weeks26 weeks
Resumption of Journey Not Included$5,000Not Included$1,500$5,000
Hospital Cash AllowanceNot Included$6,000$1,500$3,500$6,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesNot IncludedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Loss of Income$5,200$10,400Not Included$5,200$10,400
Permanent DisabilityNot Included$25,000Not Included$15,000$25,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash $250$500Not Included$250$500
Delayed Luggage $500$750Not Included$500$750
Credit Card FraudNot Included$5,000Not Included$1,500$5,000
Travel Documents / Passport Not Included$5,000Not Included$1,500$5,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $1,500$3,000$750$1,500$3,000
Luggage & Personal Effects $7,500$15,000$2,000$7,500$15,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability $10,000,000.00$10,000,000.00$10,000,000.00$10,000,000.00$10,000,000.00
Rental Vehicle Excess $5,000$8,000Not Included$4,000$8,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage IncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Domestic Pet Care Not Included$650Not IncludedNot Included$650
Special Activities Packages
GolfIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
CruiseIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Adventure IncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Snow / SkiOptional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional ExtraIncludedIncluded

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.