??!

Reviews

2.2

166 reviews
5
(36)
4
(10)
3
(7)
2
(18)
1
(95)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (42)
  • Customer Service
    2.7 (43)
  • Timeliness
    3.2 (24)
  • Job Satisfaction
    3.2 (17)
  • Transparency
    2.6 (34)
Previous
Next
Tim M.

Tim M.

  • 2 reviews

Multiple vehicles, multiple policies, never a problem.

published

I've been with RAC for over a decade. During which time I have had between 3 and 6 cars at a time. I have my house and contents with them as well.

I've made several at fault and not at fault claims of vehicles and on the house. Only one time have I felt like they could have done better, every other time they have been very good. Call centre in Perth, quick service.

Cons would be - pricey premiums, as a Sole Trader I can't connect my business vehicles to my login and you have to specify any driver that drives over 10% of the time, which is aggravating for business vehicles that are used intermittently by a number of people.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Third Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelFord Mondeo MD (Hatchback)
See all answers
bangsat

bangsatWestern Australia

Car Insurance

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Jack

JackPerth, WA

Very fast & easy claims process, friendly & helpful staff

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2016
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMitsubishi Lancer
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandy Ritchie

Sandy RitchiePerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Reasons for cancellation of policy

published

I cancelled my building and contents also car comprehensive policies . The reason buying there policy was too high with another company I saved $100 with less excess . Car was they weren’t interested in reduction for less mileage travelled and cheaper

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Remco

RemcoWestern Australia

  • 38 reviews

Always excellent service, prompt and thorough

published

Always friendly and helpful and the claims we have made over the years, have been handled par excellence. The policy provides for a hire car option whichis without limit (unlike some other insurers where they are capped reflecting slow service). The repairs have always been professional and timely.
Truly an exceptional insurer in our experience.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Ressler

ResslerPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews

Disgusted...No fault claim - hire car

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II / PX.III
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

You don't know how good (or bad) an insurance company is until you claim!

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Abigail

AbigailPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

RAC Got us back on the road!

published

While we were dancing and having a great time at a festival, a tree fell on our beloved old car and damaged all but the left hand side of the car. I did a claim online (very simple), and within an hour I had an email response followed by a phone call from the RAC with details of a recommended car repair. We phoned the repairer, had the car assessed by the repairer within 2 hours of receiving the RAC email, and the car was subsequently booked in and repaired. A couple of years ago I tried another car insurer but returned to the RAC as they are easy to deal with, friendly, and super fast with their response. Thanks!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelVolvo V70 Mk.2 (2000-2007)
See all answers
Amira Mohamed

Amira MohamedPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Horrible experience with claims

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Car ModelToyota Camry ASV70R / GSV70R
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ABC67

ABC67Perth, WA

  • 19 reviews

Price OK, but service???

published

I was initially reluctant to go with RAC MV insurance, after being absolutely screwed by them years ago on a claim, then subsequent premiums. After many years, I thought I would give them a go, and quoted online, where the price was competitive, however their system was clunky, as well customer service online was average at best. The online system does not seem to "talk" to customer service dept and alot gets done wrong. Very frustrating and now not feeling confident, if I ever had a claim???

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
lauren

laurenPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Treated poorly

published

Has anyone else had a bad experience with RAC?? I thought from what I heard they where meant to be one of the best ...I have two young children paid my premium and now they don't want to pay me out when my car was stolen ..now left with no car two young children and short of my money they owed me and are not willing to pay me out ....not only that I felt they took way to long to respond to me and make a decision and treated me with no respect ..I wouldn't recommend RAC to anyone I'm very angry and upset and would never get anything insured with you again ..happy to take your money not pay you out .
Lauren

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Disappointed

DisappointedPerth, WA

Large Price Increase

published

Rang RAC about my renewal as it has gone up $100.00 spoke to three people no one could justify why it had gone up. Lodged a complaint they said someone would ring me back within 72 hours.....still waiting. Very disappointing as have been with RAC for 10 years. Couldn't have cared less about retaining a long term customer.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Corolla E170 Sedan
See all answers
Cat

CatPerth

  • 8 reviews

Huge price increase

published

My insurance renewal has gone up over 25%! I have been a loyal customer for over 20 years and they can't fix it. They can't even justify a 25% increase

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Nicholas R.

Nicholas R.Perth, WA

  • 7 reviews

A bit of Hit and Miss

published

Well under valued one of my cars, insured for more than double what RAC was offering with Shannons and Enthusiast.

But then again they valued my other car for double than what it is worth.

One of the ladies who answered the phone sounded a bit rude

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Julie345

Julie345PERTH

  • 2 reviews

Easy claim, good service

published

I hit a kangaroo on a country road. RAC insurance organised a tow for me, and then organised the repair of my car. There was a fair bit of damage, but it was repaired as good as new with no fuss. Good service from the people I spoke to on the phone, no issues.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party and Third Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelSuzuki Vitara LY RT-X 4WD, 1.6L Diesel
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

First time owning a car recieved no help

published

Recieved very little assitance with my claim. They decided to write it off in order to sell my car and make more money off it. They treated me very unfairly and were unwilling to help in anyway. Would not recommend.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Ness

NessPerth, WA

Motor Vehicle accident claim

published

My claim was sorted quickly and with understanding
Policy covered a hire car
Both parties with RAC so was extremely simple process
The accident was totally covered due to not being my fault

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelJaguar X-Type X400
See all answers
Ivanna

IvannaPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews

We always trust RAC for insurance but BAD phone customer service

published

We use RAC for house & property insurance, car insurance but always receive bad phone customer service. Why? Because we never receive our RAC member card. It has been numerous times I had to call RAC customer service to get my member card sent out to my address. How disappointing. We suppose to get what we pay.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda Odyssey
See all answers
Nathan S.

Nathan S.Perth, WA

Helpful and painless

published

My wife was involved in an accident where she was T-Boned by a garbage truck. She was lucky to walk away from the accident. The RAC were great; she was in shock and they walked us through what to do next and they organised a tow truck. They even offered a taxi fare to allow her to get home. Within 24 hours they had notified us the car was a write-off and they paid out the claim a couple of days later without any fuss. They then even offered a car broker free of charge to help get a deal on a new car. They kept us in the loop at all times and took care us.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMitsubishi Outlander
See all answers
Marcel B.

Marcel B.Peel, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Never had a problem

published

Generally reviews are posted when there is bad experiences but I have never had an issue with RAC. (Touch wood)

I found in comparison to other insurance companies RAC had the best value for money. Never had to make a claim for my car but my parents have in the past and they had no issues. Overall great service

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHyundai i30
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Barry R.

Barry R.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

want to pay renewal

1 answer
bangsat
bangsat

no need just leave, RAC are thieves

Barry R.

Barry R.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

renewal

1 answer
bangsat
bangsat

no need just leave, RAC are thieves

Unbelievable1717

Unbelievable1717asked

RAC Car Insurance

I have roadside assistance and one day my car was making a strange irregular ting ting .. ting type sound coming from the engine bay, I called out RAC roadside and the mechanic said not to drive it and recommended I get it towed to the nearest service centre and would then get the free 30 minutes diagnosis on what the issue was prior to any repair costs. Firstly they don’t advise you that if their diagnosis has to remove the engine cover which may I add, for my car, takes two minutes or less – they then call and you have to pay an extra charge for their labour. They diagnose my car with having a stretched timing chain , Which had been broken the guides which was allowing the chain to hit the cover creating the sound. This was correct, and I did not really have an issue with this part of their service. The repair was done within three or four days, and as my car is a 96 model I understood they would need to order parts etc so that time frame was reasonable. I then went to pick up the car when it was ready, and a young mechanic who had been working on it was the one who drove it around to the front of the service centre – This was in Embleton Perth W.A. FYI – I turned on the car and listen to the motor, there was no more sound, which indicated they had done the repairs and the car was now running better. I drive the car around the block, and started to hear a winding sound – I then drove back to the RAC Centre less than 400 m, and went inside to question the whining sound. The customer service representative at the desk then called the mechanic/technician who had worked on my car back to assist me at the front of the centre. I lifted the bonnet and turn on the car and pointed out the whining sound I was hearing to which the mechanic said it’s likely just the fan belts sometimes they squeal – he goes inside to retrieve a lubricant spray – comes back and sprays the pulleys, and waits... The sound does not disappear but he assured me that if I allow the lubricant spray to work the sound will be gone after driving a short way. After this encounter I drove the car a total of 30kms back to my house and parked in the garage which has a carpeted floor. My intention was to sell the car, because in the meantime I had needed to buy a cheap replacement vehicle to get to work. My regional car then sat in my garage for three weeks while I re-sprayed and sanded and re-sprayed 80% of the panels on the exterior of the car With aims to sell for a higher price. After my painting was complete I then drove my car a further 45 km and as I was then reversing out the driveway, The car would not engage my reverse gear. The shifter on the automatic transmission moved into HDR easily, however the car it self would not engage into reverse at all. The house I had pulled into was actually my grandmas house - which is 600m from my own residence . I managed to push the car out the driveway and shifted into drive - the car responded and engaged into gear - so I then drove at 15kms an hour and parked it again at my own home . I then spent 2 days googling what the issue could be, and Discovered that My transmission oil was far below the dipstick level - so much so, that it was not even registering, and initially I had difficulty estimating where the level sat - Only to realise that it was not registering on the stick at all. I filled up the fluid, move the gearstick, did everything as suggested online, and there was still no change in my gearbox or the ability for my car into reverse - I then called out RAC again and the mechanic said that it could be a problem with the bands, that I needed to get it checked out, and that in order to change the drive chain, RAC who serviced the vehicle would not have to touch or go anywhere near my transmission, and therefore there must have been a leak. My response to this was to explain that my car had been sitting in the dri I then called out RAC again and the mechanic said that it could be a problem with the bands, that I needed to get it checked out, and that in order to change the drive chain, RAC who service the vehicle would not have to touch or go anywhere near my transmission, and therefore there must’ve been a leak. My response to this was to explain that my car had been sitting in the carpeted garage for three weeks since the service, had only driven a total of 60 km, and that there was not a single drop of transmission fluid on my carpeted floor where the car had sat. I then took the car to a gearbox service professional as I did not trust RAC to not try and charge me for this issue which they seems to have caused. The service professional said that I will need to replace my entire gearbox at a cost of approximately thousand dollars. I was on Centrelink payments, and I did not know what to do, so my only option was to get it towed again to my friends house while I worked out what I needed to do to fix the car and if anyone could work out a solution that didn’t involve replacing the entire gearbox. And entire year later, I was able to acquire the knowledge that in order for RAC to replace my drive chain, they They would have likely had to drop out my engine whilst on a hoist in order to access the area. My car is a 96 Hyundai coupe, where the cooling system for the Transmission runs via hose through the radiator, therefore in order to drop out the engine, they would have had to disconnect this hose which holds the transmission fluid. The mechanic either did not realise it was running out or forgot to replace the fluid once they put the engine back in. I believe it is quite negligent for them to not even check the fluids after such a service procedure, not to mention the diagnosis that I paid for initially would have noticed if there was low transmission fluid when it first went in . I had to pay a years worth of registration fees, $500 for a secondhand transmission, $500 for installation of transmission, just to drive the car 300 km and realise that there is a huge oil Leak coming from the rocket cover gasket which they had replaced, and also noticing that the drive chain cover was not on properly, and the half moon cells we also leaking. I realise that because I did not drive the car initially There was not enough travel time for these leaks to become apparent - At this point I decided to get the car towed again to Rac service centre in Canningvale, where after checking the car, they called to advise me that they had noticed the faults in the work previously done by RAC Embleton, and we are going to call them and ask if they were willing to pay for the repairs out of goodwill even though you had passed – obviously because they noticed the extremely low kilometres after the last repair the work. They have now had my car for 3 1/2 weeks, and have never bothered to call me with an update, And only advise me of the progress when I called them. They did not provide me with a hire car either. I want to know if anyone has had any issues with the services provided by RAC roadside toe and repair, and if anyone has any idea the process which I will need to go through in order to claim back my expenses caused by RAC is negligence on my initial service, which is backed up by them finding fault in their own work, and something as simple as a rocker cover gasket, is just in support of my reasoning And accusation that they are to blame for my transmission malfunction

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.