??!

Reviews

(42)
(7)
(13)
(23)
(138)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (39)
  • Transparency
    1.5 (35)
  • Customer Service
    1.4 (40)

rip off fools

published

800$ new car policy ,2 weeks old,other party wrote my car off so aami paid out,racq didn't want to refund or transfer policy to new car,stay away from RACQ, these are professional crooks

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
SushiT

SushiTSouth East Queensland, QLD

Agree with another reviewer - you have to do all the work

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelToyota Yaris
See all answers
The rain is coming.

The rain is coming.Brisbane

  • 2 reviews

RACQ make you do all the work

published

Involved in a car accident on the 11th of Feb. Fully insured with RACQ with 3 cars for many years. You have to make all the phone calls as we have not been called once by anyone from RACQ, I raised a complaint and was told I would be contacted, this has not happened and I was hung up on and I was not rude at all

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RACQ Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Walter

WalterSouth East Queensland, QLD

Please do yourself a favor and don't get insurance from these guys

published

If you are in Brisbane do not get your car insurance from them, first of all they send you to a repair shop that has terrible reviews and take almost 2 months to even look at your car then they get wrong parts then and you to a guy that calls you whithin 3 weeks or when he feels like . It has been 4 months and still waiting on parts and a phone call

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Lisa

LisaSouth East Queensland, QLD

I am very disappointed about racq car insurance!

published

I am very disappointed about racq car insurance! Last year November a crazy lady speedy off the highway and hit my car but unfortunately there is no camera on that road, the crazy lady lie to her insurance company and denied her fault. Racq is useless to do anything and asked me to responsible for this accident. I nearly have been killed by this bad woman and now suffering injustice. And it's very difficult to reach the racq phone number, staff very rude! I am going to quit racq insurance company!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Van L.

Van L.South East Queensland, QLD

Terrible car insurance

published

I've never dealt with such terrible insurance company, so slack and incompetent. I've had to keep on calling them about my claim after a car accident with one of their client ( i'm not at fault). I emailed them the details of the accident a week later and only about 2 1/2 months later they sent to me to get a quote for my car and will call me back on Monday. But it been 6 days, no one call me back, so i end up calling them. I came across a smart aleck telling me they still assessing the quote and not to drive my car if it is not safe ( so how the hell do you think i can go to work without my broken car, thanks for the advise). Still in dispute about this, but worst car company ever.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelToyota Corolla
See all answers
Nicole

NicoleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

TERRIBLE

published

Collision repairer choice is terrible. Car is still not fixed, and they do not care. All emails phone calls etc ignored. Outside and mechanical issues, not fixed, even after returning it twice.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMitsubishi ASX
See all answers
Suraj

Suraj

  • 3 reviews

Worst Insurance: Stay away

published

The policy was not the most expensive but was still way more expensive than a lot of its competition.

A claim was lodged, they only fixed the exterior of the vehicle, did not address the leak issue that arose after the accident. Claim was lodged October Mid, dispute was raised in November. They told on January 2, and that they will not fix the car. They still have my car and has not even returned it.

Stay away from them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party, Third Party Property Damage and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelHonda CR-V
See all answers
Mic

MicSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Horrible

published

Absolutely pathetic. I've never dealt with such an incompetent insurance company. I've had to constantly call about my daughters claim after a car accident (she was not the at fault driver)
They haven't even bothered to chase up the other party even though we have filed a police report.
They leave you on hold for an hour, only to give you no information.
Take your business elsewhere. They are useless and deserve the bad reviews.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RACQ Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Toni

ToniSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Disgusting service

published

I was recently hit from behind at a roundabout. I called racq straight away, and initially everything was fine with regards to organising repairs. But upon asking about a hire car and this being covered by the at fault parties insurance, was told I had to contact them and ask them to lodge a claim. I would then have to contact his insurer to organise reimbursement. What? I've been paying racq comprehensive insurance premiums for 20 years and am expected to do all the work! The guy who hit me was awful and abusive, I was in shock and had mild whiplash. Everytime I call racq I have been on hold for 30 minutes. I lodged a complaint 2 weeks ago and haven't heard a word. Avoid racq please people!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelAudi A4
See all answers
eddy

eddySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

How to get RACQ to pay out on a stolen car claim

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Kat2705

Kat2705South East Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews

Unbelievable price increase on premiums

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Corolla
See all answers
Helene

HeleneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Terrible Service from RACQ Insurance

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelHyundai Tucson
See all answers
TShaw

TShawSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Pay Agreed Value Premium Receive Market Value Payout

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Car theft

published

Car stolen was for sale prospective buyer took the car to pay for the car in my bank account. Never happened and the car wasn't returned. Reported the car stolen to Police. Car recovered and in the Police holding yard. Car picked up by RACQ and assessed and was deemed as a repairable write off and reported to Department of Transport. 6 weeks it took RACQ to investigate the claim with minimal communication of the progress of the claim. Finally the outcome of the claim was declined as the car was not deemed stolen and car was involed in criminal activity and the car was taken to a salvage yard and I was then told I had to sort out what to do with it. I have escalated a complaint to ACFA

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RACQ Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MarkandLynn

MarkandLynnAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Motorhome coverage Farcical.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
racqNO

racqNOSouth East Queensland, QLD

Premium jump

published

It is easy to make a claim, they will look after you, But the premium jump of $98.00 from the previous year is just unexpectable, RACQ tells me it's an increment!!!! of $98.00.!!!
Have been with RACQ since 1999. RACQ road side for $139. and Car insurance for$456. this is a total of $595.
Youi is quoting me $302 with all the bells and whistles.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMitsubishi ASX
See all answers
Praneel Singh

Praneel SinghSouth East Queensland, QLD

Ripp off, trapped me, Gave me stressful headache, Had to pay my excess even though it was not my fault

published

Gave up on me, didn't even investigate well, it was not my fault. We pay insurance for them to work for us but they told me to take your car for RACQ repairer shop and it's not my fault and no excess fee from me, but 2 days before I had to pick my car they said I had to pay $750 excess fee to get my car, they lied n trapped me, cheated, so I had to pay the excess to get my car, I would have fixed the damage for $300 at other shops, they ripped me n lied to me trapped me, Please never go with RACQ, I strongly suggest. Staff are so rude too, just Ripp off, and stress , headaches.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Discussed

Discussed

  • 11 reviews

Not happy

published

I have been with racq insurance forever and ctp yet this renewal they tack on 10% to my policy of 5 cars, no claims! Why? I check with other insurance company and beat their price no trouble, since they had the big change the company has gone backwards, no more business for them also staff not so nice anymore

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Sanjai

SanjaiSouth East Queensland, QLD

60 minute wait time to discuss the claim

published

all good with till the time you make a claim with RACQ.Your nightmare starts after you make ur claim. in some cases i waited for 1hour 20 minutes and then call dropped. a minimum of 30 to40 minutes wait. they dont even have a call back facility to help their customers. Diagonally opposite to their ads

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
See all answers
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Leon H.

Leon H.asked

RACQ caravan insurance why won’t they insure the tv and radio aeriels

No answers
TAA

TAAasked

I am looking at a repairable write off vehicle that has to go through an inspection yet and if it passes with flying colours does it cost more to insure it or just the same as non-repairable write off?

No answers
Sharyn C.

Sharyn C.asked

Had RACQ vehicle inspection all oked by racq continued with purchase, then 4 months later car blew the motor 2 mechanics said the problem would have been there for a long time. Do we have a case. Sharyn reply to shazzcam7@gmail.com

No answers

Get an answer from our members and RACQ representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.