??!
1 photo
RACQ Pet Insurance

RACQ Pet Insurance

2.3 from 51 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.6 (15)
  • Transparency
    2.3 (14)
  • Customer Service
    2.8 (17)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks (6), 2-4 weeks (3), 3+ months (2) and <1 week (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (6) · No (8)
Previous
Next

Slow, unrealiable and no transparency.

published

They will do whatever it takes for you not able to make a claim successfully. Very slow with processing and requires few follow ups for 3 weeks still with poor results. I cancelled my pet insurance immediately.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Carolyn Ryan

Carolyn RyanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Two claims paid without an issue

published

Two claims submitted for one of my Golden Retrievers. Both claims paid as per the policy. Fast settlement. Great communication. Highly recommend considering RACQ when insuring your pet. Happy to say my dog is now fit and well!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Troy30

Troy30Brisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Pathetic customer service!!

published

When trying to contact RACQ On the claims line they always have phone lines that cut out or no one can be heard. They then call back once with the same crackling line and then get cut off with no return call. They always say “oh we will have to make do with this line” and Rh n it gets disconnected. 7 days after Calais lodged and no response. Never ever again RACQ!!!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how RACQ Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad experience

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Don’t make my mistake! Elbow Dysplasia not covered and no link to vets.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
bobyammy

bobyammyOxenford

A must insurance.

published

Have been a member of RACQ for many years Never any issues regarding claims.
Claims always paid in a timely manner.
Customer service is excellent.
Good to know you are backed by quality.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets0 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Sue P

Sue PPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Disgusting Service and won't recommend

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
Bateup

BateupSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good Pet Insurance

published

RACQ offered the cheapest policy with good benefits that were on par with the rest of the big insurers in Australia. I have been with them a year now. I lodged a claim for my dog having treatment - some $4000 worth of bills, and it was processed reasonably fast. The people on the other end of the phone were very helpful. My second year bill jumped up $60, so will be calling them to try and get them to lower this, as there are cheaper companies out there for the same thing.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Harry Mostert

Harry Mostertbrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Difficult to deal with

published

Policy looked ok and was easy to set up.

This was the first time ever taken out pet insurance.
What a bloody hassle when we took our 6month golden retriever in for check up on a ear infection and sore paw. RACQ would not process the claim with history. I get it. However our Puppy was only 6months old how can we produce history when puppy hasn't got a history. I got constant emails and letters requesting history. What a joke. Why can't some just pick a phone and call me. I had to call them in the end. Now they say in a letter its out side the Policy, its taken too long.

I wish up front you were asked to provide a Vets - "Condition Report" this would saved me not a lot of pain.

So now i am out of pocket what a joke....

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how RACQ Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Keryn M.

Keryn M.South East Queensland, QLD

Strict underwriters

published

Strict underwriting and exclusions. I had a dog covered for many years who had a life long illness, and then decided it was too high risk and was forced to leave the policy. The customer service was terrible and zero empathy during stressful times involving my fur kid/s.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Darin

DarinPerth, WA

Very particular on pets they insure

published

Our dog had back leg problems when it was a pup. Vet fixed legs and said it would probably not be an issue for the rest of it's life. Dog now seven had no other leg issues and RAC said they will not insure him

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers

Fantastic service, worth having

published

My cat recently became very ill. Which ended up being a rather expensive treatment of 3 weeks at the vets, specialist and emergency. It was a massive claim with my RACQ Pet Insurance, and they paid the full amount. It's worth it being with RACQ. Happy to have 3 pets insured with RACQ.
Thank you

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
  • Verified customer

Devious hidden exemptions and make their money by not paying claims

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Deb

DebDarling Downs, QLD

Won’t pay even basic claims

published

Although the breed of dog is specifically stated in the certificate of insurance, failed to pay out on surgery due to the issue being a common concern in the breed. Researched policies carefully because I was aware of issues with claim payout but I thought RACQ was reputable so am extremely disappointed. Pre- existing condition an easy out for non payout of claim.
Cancel now!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Lara S.

Lara S.

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Terrible service & waste of money

published

Stay away from RAC pet insurance.
They do not pay out large claims. They will claim it is a pre existing illness even though my dog has no vet record of pre-existing illness or injury I even got my vet to write a letter to them stating that and still can’t get my claim accepted.
Very difficult deal with and the worst costumer service.
I seriously don’t know how they can get away with it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Pet Insurance

Find out how RACQ Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emily

EmilySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Took awhile but got there in the end

published

I recently made my first claim, was quite easy, just called up and answered a few questions and they did the rest. They contacted me a few times throughout the process with updates. My only complaint was that it took about a month to get an answer, but in the end they approved my claim, refunding me $1100. Hopefully future claims won't take as long. You do need to be careful about pre existing conditions though. I took my dog to the vet once a couple years ago because she was in pain, gave her a couple of pain meds and was fine but now they're trying to say she has osteoarthritis even though she doesn't. Now I have to take her to the vet and fill out a waiver form to get it sorted out.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Blake

BlakePerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don't waste your money! Terrible customer service

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Non stop phone calls after obtaining quote

published

Went onto the RAC Pet insurance website to purely see what kind of costs/quotes are involved with their pet insurance, i didn't even progress the page after seeing the quote and I have been spammed every day non-stop with random phone numbers linked to RAC Pet Insurance trying to get ahold of me!! Do youself a favour don't even bother getting a quote from these guys if you do not want to get a tonne of unsolicited phone calls, pests.

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Alice S

Alice SPerth

Huge Improvement, well done RACQ!

published
Insurance claim madeYes

Rip off

published

Adopted a dog from a rescue. No vet history. Makes a claim then gets told that we got denied because it was prior condition. We didn't even know he had it before! He had no prior history! Rip off!

Insurance claim madeYes
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Madonna B

Madonna Basked

Is IVDD covered in the policy?

No answers
Jasmine

Jasmineasked

Has anyone had any luck disputing a claim through the RACQ dispute resolution committee?

1 answer
Mark
Mark

Trying now, waste of time. But you need to follow process before going to AFRA.

CCMY87

CCMY87asked

Have you guys had any luck speaking to someone with regards to the insurance coverage? I've been transferred from WA to QLD, spoke to 6 people, still seem to not able to be directed to the right team/person. If this is how they are handling queries, I highly doubt they will be any better when it comes to claim time.

1 answer
Alice S
Alice S

Yes that was my experience n it was pretty bad. Did u ring on this number 137202? That’s the number to call n make sure you ring during their business hours. Good luck!

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPet Insurance
UnderwriterRACQ Insurance Limited
Annual Benefit Limit$12,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks
Accidental Injury CoverIncluded
Illness CoverIncluded
Routine Care CoverOptional Extra
Tick ParalysisNot Included
Emergency Boarding FeesUp to the annual limit of $1,000 if you are hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days
Lifetime Cover Included
Cooling Off Period21 Days
Consultation FeesNot Included
Cruciate Ligament ConditionsUp to $12,000 (included in the annual limit)
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.