??!
1 photo
Rancilio Silvia V4

Rancilio Silvia V4

4.0 from 19 reviews

Reviews

4.0

19 reviews
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    5.0 (2)
  • Milk Frothing
    5.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Makingtide

MakingtideCanberra 2600, ACT

Rubbish disguised as commercial - I wish I could give zero stars

published

Loom is close to the boiler - burned out just after warranty, the second loom burned 18 months later. Chrome-effect peeled off the PLASTIC group-head. The boiler-gasket perished, spraying steam everywhere

Purchased in November 2013 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

This is a great coffee machine

published

This is my second Rancilio Silva after the V1 and I have always been impressed with their quality and longevity. Commercial brass interior in a domestic package so it's a solid performer.

Purchased in June 2017 at Coffee Parts for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
GrinderRancilio Rocky Grinder
See all answers
Rob Boot

Rob BootMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

What a coffee machine. Amazing. Superb coffee from a compact espresso machine. luv it!

published

Temperature always perfect.
Pours are always perfect.
Frother works a treat.
Robust: survived a trip from europe to aus in my backpack.
Easy to clean, easy to use.
Chunky and solid buttons.
Sturdy Steel construction.

Purchased in August 2014 for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia V4 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
carmoda

carmodaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

The most practical domestic machine.

published

This is a suitable machine for people making between 1 &10 coffees in a session. Easy to get spares and robust. The quality of the coffee depends on your skill or desire to learn. It is not a machine for idiots, you will need to learn how to use it. There are hundreds of good youtube videos. I have a 100% success rate now and I have not had any failures, just had to tighten the part. Easy to clean.

Date PurchasedJul 2014

Great machine

published

A very reliable coffee maker that consistently makes great coffee, it just keeps going and going. Pressure and heat up are great, especially with a PID temp controller added. Milk for 2 is about the max - but that's to be expected. The machine also looks great on the bench.

Date PurchasedFeb 2006
Greg J

Greg J

  • 2 reviews

Outstanding

published

This is Italian authenticity and simplicity at its best. The perfect machine for brewing a short or long black. It is also extremely robust and, two years down the line, looks like the day I got it. Love it - highly recommended.

A slightly bigger water tank would be nice, but is not necessary.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Salty

SaltyPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Commercial grade coffee for a budget barista

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
teckleicq

teckleicqAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great espresso maker, if you know how to use it properly!

published

I've had this coffee machine for over 5 years now, and until a few months ago I was wondering why I wasn't getting great coffee out of it, and whether it needed a service, or something.
I googled and watched some video tutorials and found out it needed finer ground coffee in order for it to work at its best and since then i've been getting much better coffee from it.
Fairly easy to clean with the group head, catcher, frother, tray and tray cover to clean after making a flat white, but it is no Nespresso machine in convenience.
Do your research and get to know how to use your Rancilio Silvia first and maintain it with decalcification and cleaning the group head.

Date PurchasedJul 2011
Lrey

LreyPerth

So disappointing...

published

Purchased this machine because of its fantastic reviews, many of my friends have had theirs for years and very happy. Unfortunately, I have not had this experience and I am obsessive about looking after my machine. In the three years I have had it I have had the element replaced twice.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia V4 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Donna Byrne

Donna ByrneBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this coffee machine

published

Absolutely can not live without this machine, it is a machine that is easy to use and can be easily cleaned. I have had the machine for over a year now and has not missed a heart beat. It still leaves the flavour of the beans at its fullest that delivers you an amazing coffee

Date PurchasedDec 2015
purplethings

purplethingsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 24 reviews
  • 1 like

Coffee is a must!

published

If you are after a coffee machine that is not automatic, this is a good one. It does take a little practice in the beginning to get the coffee the way you like it (trying out different grinds and types of coffee etc), once you are there you can make a consistent great tasting coffee. There is a little work involved in cleaning it, however by taking care of the machine and keeping it clean, the coffee tastes much better.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Sceptic

ScepticInaminka

Be very careful of this lemon

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Sceptic
Sceptic

I wrote the review that began..."Context: Seven (7) home espresso machines since 1982." Would you like another more detailed review of the Rancilio after a further 3 months of fine tuning and despair?

Fiddly & time consuming

published

Before buying the latest Rancho Silvia, I read a number of product reviews & almost seemed to say this was a great machine. But I find the relatively small water reservoir, lack of any gauge to tell how much water is in it & the absolutely token drip tray painful features. I also hadn't heard about the water temperature issues until just now & didn't know I had to "temperature surf" to hit the right temp. The small basket is useless, as is the tamper. So all in all, I find the Silvia way too fiddly to be fun. It's a real disappointment. The Rocky grinder is good.

Anthony Goodwin

Anthony GoodwinLong Jetty, New South Wales

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

If you know what you're doing, this is your best value for money machine

published

Ok, so I've had mine for a few years now. Use it 2-3 times a day. Invest in a good grinder or you are wasting your time. To get best results, you also gotta buy a thermostat switch unit on ebay. It takes a bit of fiddling, but once on, you have all the control you need. Do your steamed milk first, then switch over to the extraction run water through till you are at 96 degrees celsius. Then pop in your group and run your coffee through.... DON'T leave your machine on, you'll burn it out! Another tip for longevity is to keep your steam wand stationary and the gaskets and seals will last longer.... mine has been serviced twice

Disgruntled consumer

Disgruntled consumer

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great machine straight outa the box

published
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia V4 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rocks

Rocks

  • 2 reviews

Problems With My Rancilio

published

Supposedly the top of the line in home espresso machines, "a highly reliable machine, producing great coffee every time". This is not my experience. An issue with the thermostat on my machine took months to resole. My experience has been poor, both with the machine and the retailer Coffee Aroma.

Mark

MarkMelbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great Machine

published

Great single boiler machine which is great fun and makes great coffee. Looks great too and has a fairly small footprint so doesn't take up too much space in the kitchen. Has never let me down and other than monthly back flush cleaning hasn't required any maintenance. Overall I am very happy with it & would recommend it as a first serious expresso machine.

Great option

published

For price and usability you can't do much better. Makes a great coffee. Steam is strong. It is easy to clean. Looks good sitting on the bench in the kitchen. I had read other reviews and was impressed by others thoughts which made it an easy decision to buy this one.

Truck

TruckAdelaide

Needs a doser grinder

published

The Miss Silvia is a fantastic coffee machine with a steep learning curve if you do not have a doser grinder. I have had my Miss Silvia for 2 years using a Sunbeam Cafe Series grinder - the problem was getting a consistent amount of ground coffee in the portafilter. Very recently purchased a Breville BCG600SIL Dose Control Pro now every shot is the same I set the unit 6 seconds grind time. The grinder is less than $200

See all Rancilio Silvia reviews

Questions & Answers

stokeygilr2015

stokeygilr2015asked

Silvia V4

Hello, My hubby had left my Rancilio Silvia Frothing button on for 2 days :( (i was in hosptial) now it won't work at all? I am thinking the milk frothing devise has died? Has anyone had this problem, or know of where i can get it fixed pretty quickly in Sydney or Canberra? Thanks in advance

4 answers
Domino1352
Domino1352

You may need a new boiler or prehaps a new element.
Give theses guys a call http://dibartoli.com.au/service-centre/ they are at Bondi in Sydney.
There are others https://www.google.com.au/search?q=rancilio+repair+sydney you might find one closer...

You will also need one of these...
http://dogboxaustralia.com.au/products/ <<< for person who left frother on for 2 days...
:)

Anthony Goodwin
Anthony Goodwin

Yep, bad news, most likely resulted in a burned out element. Pretty costly repair, couple of hundred. Good luck

Neil
Neil

I had this problem on my 2008 model Silvia a few times and can be solved (assuming the modern versions are similar) by removing the water reservoir and top metal lid. On the boiler there is a little red reset switch which stops the unit from burning out. This has probably tripped. Use a screwdriver to push the button back in. Reassemble and switch back on. This should fix it. Found this video on Youtube to help. Good luck. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQdJNm9RV68

cousin it

cousin itasked

Silvia V4

My Rancilio Squirts water out of the coffee grounds holder whenever I make a coffee, not always but often enough to be frustrating. What am I doing wrong?

3 answers
Andrew
Andrew

If you heat your milk before you make your shot of coffee and try to make a shot of coffee immediately after, then the steam in the boiler will blow steam and water out of the handle when you try to make the coffee shot. If that is the problem then you need to bleed the steam off (by opening the steaming wand) before you try to make a shot of coffee - otherwise the pressure is too high and it will blow out (and also cook the coffee grounds by overheating them). If you make coffee first then that is not the problem.
If that is not the problem, overfilling the grounds can make it hard to properly close the handle and it can leak. Also, if the coffee is very finely ground and you tamp it very hard, then the pressure build up is too much and you can blow the water out (rather than it passing through the grounds).
In my case, if it happens it is usually that I steamed milk and forgot to bleed off the steam before trying to make a shot of coffee - so I shoot steam and overheated water through and it spurts and splutters and throws water out (and makes a horrible burnt shot in the process).
Any of that make sense?

Matty
Matty

Sounds like your portafilter is not sealing properly with the grouphead. I had this problem and found that I wasn't turning the handle far enough when locking the portafilter into the grouphead. Make sure that you turn the handle all the way to the 6 o'clock position or even a bit further to between 5 and 6 o'clock and this should hopefully ensure a tight seal. If this doesn't work, perhaps the rubber grouphead seal deteriorated. It's pretty simple to change out the seal and replacements can be bought fairly cheaply on Ebay.

cousin it
cousin it

thanks to both answers- wil give those suggestions a shot

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.