??!
16 photos
Renault Clio

Renault Clio (2001-2020)

Also referred to as: Renault Clio 2019 and Renault Clio 2021. X65, IV B98, X85
4.1 from 31 reviews

Reviews

(18)
(5)
(4)
(1)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (5)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (5)
  • Features
    3.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (5)
Kristina

KristinaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Perfect first car

published

We bought this car for our daughter after looking at many different makes and model. The Clio formula edition had all the safety features we were looking for and the apple CarPlay she wanted. The price offered was too good to pass up and our daughter loves her car. It’s fun and sporty to drive and I would recommend this car to anyone.

Purchased in July 2019 at Werribee Renault for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Wouldnt buy one again or deal with with Renault or Village Motors Nrth lakes ever again

published

Have had to replace the timing belt at a cost of $4200 and now not even a mth later need to do the dual clutches the car hasnt even done 100000 ks yet and is only just 5 years old the aircon had to be replaced and maps dont work or the warning sounds on the Tom Tom I have been Quoted at the cheapest $5,000 plus for the clutches Renault would not even come to the party on even half the repair bill for the timing belt they did pay for the aircon the car has been serviced but last service by Village Motors they failed to put the right amount of oil in it

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews

What a fantastic little car!

published

Purchased in July 2016 for $16,500.00.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GeeEm61

GeeEm61Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Clio RS 200 Cup Premium, French and fantastique!

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Pickles Auctions for $32,710.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Marieanne

MarieanneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Good car! But bad sound system.

published

I use my car to get to work. Its small so it parks pretty much anywhere (small car only spots included). I get it serviced regularly and it runs nicely aside from the sound system. The sound system is very tinny sounding and the best songs sound horrible in my car. I had them checked out and service department said they were the standard ones. When I bought this car it was worth $23,000 and I wish Renault thought about the sound!

BadgeGT Premium
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
happyhippy

happyhippySunshine Coast

  • 6 reviews

Melting dashboard under warranty - told go away and don't come back!

published
BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Beth Green

Beth GreenPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Driving exprerience is amazing, I have always loved euro cars. Handling is great, it really is a sporty hot hatch. it isn’t a big car if you have family, limited leg room in the bag but still ample. It is very cheap to fill, I always use 98 shell ultimate. It costs me $50-$60 a week. I am so happy with my purchase. I love it.

BadgeR.S. 200 Cup
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
fred

fred

  • 7 reviews

Nice motor

published

Bought secondhand - it stated out as a demo car. Nothing gone wrong at all, perhaps everything was fixed as as a demo!. Had a recall, something to do with the wiper motor, which renault also fitted a new set of wiper blades gratis.
A nice bit of style and fun to drive, but don't like the way it drifts backwards a we bit and its always in the wrong gear for what you want - I prefer CVT.
95 octane a bit of a nuisance but I guess that's the price for a small turbo engine. But very nice to drive.

BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
JKnight

JKnightAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

excellent choice for us

published

We've had our Clio GT X98 5D for some months now and am extremely happy.
- Handles really well
- Very comfortable sporty seats
- lovely interior, easy to clean
- Hasn't missed a beat, very economical.
- Had to replace the wiper blades, service and could get parts easy enough from auto supplier
- It is a little tight in the back for passengers on a long journey but perfect for city/commuting.

BadgeGT
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MINC

MINCNSW, 2145

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Would NOT ever Buy again

published

Renault dropped their pants big time on recent pricing stinging everyone that bought prior to 2017! Meaning, they knew when they were selling you your car in 2016.
Clio is a Great little design (hardware) and could have been a great little drive ...but..(the software) hmm I've had annoying issues from blue tooth connection not consistently working to a gearbox that keeps neutralizing itself or gets confused as to when to change gears - I would NOT recommend Renault brand or Renault Sales.

BadgeR.S. 200 Sport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Bonds

BondsLogan Village

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Clio RS 200

published

Love the car, it's quick, grips the road well, handles well, awesome sound with resonator deleted, especially fun in Sport and Race modes. I am 6 foot 5 and fit in nicely for a small car. Fun, good warranty, love it. It looks good. A great hot hatch. Would recommend it to others wanting a bit of fun out of their car for a good price. Got. Great deal drive away.

BadgeR.S. 200 Sport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
psymann

psymannPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent small, cheap, fun car.

published
BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size0.9
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
abehne

abehneAU

  • 2 reviews

Great Car!

published

Driven for 3 years without losing a beat. Fuel consumption running on around 5litres to 100 km. Very economical. Drives beautifully around town or on the open highway. Amazing features include cruise control, speed limiter and handbreak assist to make your journey troublefree. I'm very happy with my Renault Clio.

BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size.9
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Clint

ClintSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Great designed little car

published

I wanted a small, well designed, good priced, European car and I got it in the new Renault Clio.. it not only looks great but run good to. I love the modern interior, especially the centre console. But the main two reasons I brought the clip was the day lights and the key card... (key in the shape of a key card)

BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Nice car allot of headaches

published
BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AAsq

AAsqAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Looks nice but a few small issues

published
BadgeDynamique
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Andrew88

Andrew88Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A true drivers car.

published

I'm a current owner of a Clio X85 200. Quick in a straight line especially when you get between 4000 and 7500 RPM. Amazing handling. The thing with this car it feels like it is talking to you as a driver. Not many cars do that. This is one. The last of the great 2 litre NA hot hatches. (edit, still owning 2018. Great car.)

BadgeR.S. 200 Cup
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Engine Size2.0
Annie

AnnieCanberra

  • 5 reviews

Perfect in some ways quality is eh

published
BadgeDynamique
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Engine Size1.2
Charlstin Yeung

Charlstin Yeung

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love it!

published
BadgeExpression
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Engine Size1.2
Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews

Love my Clio

published
BadgeExpression
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Andrew C.

Andrew C.asked

what esc on is pls

No answers
Sive

Siveasked

What are common problems with the 2015 renault clioGT line 0.9l ?
How does it behave when climbing a steep incline?

1 answer
fred
fred

Sorry, I cant say as we had a 1.2 which was fine.

Marita S

Marita Sasked

Hi Guys,

Looking for a runabout car and stumbled upon a 2014 Clio 3cyl - any big complaints - secondary market can throw some lemons

2 answers
JKnight
JKnight

Hi,
Our Clio was a used car and we have had no concerns. It probably depends on who you are buying from and whether it has been thoroughly checked over for problems. We bought from Autosports and they seem to process lots of higher end cars and have a reputation to protect.
So far I have absolutely no complaints about our Renault. We have three vehicles in the family and the Renault has become my favourite for running around after kids.
Good luck with your car hunting.

Bonds
Bonds

No problem with mine. Love it, but it was new. As with any second hand car you need to have it inspected and full service history etc.

Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.