16 photos
Renault Clio

Renault Clio (2001-2022)

Also referred to as: Renault Clio 2021 and Renault Clio 2023. X65, IV B98, X85 (See All)
4.1 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Renault

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (11)
  • Braking
    4.5 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (10)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (10)
  • Handling
    4.6 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (11)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (11)
  • Features
    4.2 (10)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Tim
TimSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing car for enthusiasts and great value

published

Purchased in July 2021.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
scentedstars
scentedstarsSouthwest, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

lasted over 5 years

published

love this little zoom of a car - not no problems since purchase, but the tyres I love even more
6 years without needing to be replaced - to tread issues, no refill issues, not punctures
must be a record

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Werner
WernerPerth, WA

Renault never again

published

I own a 2013 Renault T/ IV Authentique TCe 90.09L.
I used to love this car a lot. In September 2020 the car overheated suddenly . Very poor design as temperature gauge doesn’t show gradual overheating. Towed To a Renault repair garage. The engine oil cooler was broken the oil had mixed with the cooling water. New parts from France 3 weeks wrong parts 3 weeks more . The car had only done 42592 km. Needed a new radiator was of course after all this time completely blocked. Was fixed is working OK . Cost $ 2992.00 .Contacted Renault Australia , many calls with not 1 return call from them , and no regress. Would not buy another Renault in Australia or any European car.

Purchased for $170,000.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
gannon
gannongannon.dass18@gmail.com
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Computer module for transmission

published

My car has only clocked 58000kms and it's computer module for the transmission has failed without warning. Was running as normal until we stopped at the lights when it won't move at all. The car was towed away living us to find our ownway home. Renault road side assist thumps down. We had to pay 3700 dollars for cost of repairs. Warranty on the car had expired by 2 months. Contacted Renault Australia, however, told me to get the dealer to verify that the part was defective?????? So contacted the dealer who was as confused as i was. Totally frustrated.Renault Australia is putting the blame at someone else.

Purchased in June 2015 at Peter Warren Automotive for $23,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David4242
David4242Gippsland, VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very good

published

Had the Renault Clio Zen since Feb 20. Great car, has a sense of fun even as an automatic. Quiet inside, and handles bumps well. Seats comfortable and supportive. The manual aircon system works quickly though the switches are a little confusing. The audio is probably the biggest let down. As the driver you dont feel like the sound is enveloping you, it very much comes from the dashboard. No amount of adjustment seems to improve it. Otherwise a great car. Why Renault could not sell more Clios in Australia is beyond me.. Too stylish for Aussies maybe..

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mercedes
mercedesSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I love my Renault Clio Expression 2015 model

published

I use my car for visiting ,shopping appointments and so on
Every second day
Every year as per book.
The mechanic was very happy ,everything was perfect condition ,and told me this car will last without problems for many years .
Unfortunately Just drove out of my garage reversing and the rear wheel on the left would not run ,but scraped the concrete drive Not even the NRMA could fixed ! I dont know if this is a fault of the car ??? on the dash board ,mention check ABS and skidding ,Hill start and so on but ,nothing made sense ,maybe Renault has some idea ?

Purchased in June 2015 at Dominelli Ford for $20.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Desmo500
Desmo500Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

It is Fun. The few small issues count for nothing on a winding road.

published

Purchased in July 2016 at Renault.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Isobella B.
Isobella B.South West, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beautiful little car

published

I bought my car February 2019 and have had no issues so far. I love this model, it’s nippy and sporty looking. Very fuel efficient and has heaps of little handy features tech wise inside.

Purchased in February 2019 at Renault for $19,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kristina
KristinaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect first car

published

We bought this car for our daughter after looking at many different makes and model. The Clio formula edition had all the safety features we were looking for and the apple CarPlay she wanted. The price offered was too good to pass up and our daughter loves her car. It’s fun and sporty to drive and I would recommend this car to anyone.

Purchased in July 2019 at Werribee Renault for $20,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Wouldnt buy one again or deal with with Renault or Village Motors Nrth lakes ever again

published

Have had to replace the timing belt at a cost of $4200 and now not even a mth later need to do the dual clutches the car hasnt even done 100000 ks yet and is only just 5 years old the aircon had to be replaced and maps dont work or the warning sounds on the Tom Tom I have been Quoted at the cheapest $5,000 plus for the clutches Renault would not even come to the party on even half the repair bill for the timing belt they did pay for the aircon the car has been serviced but last service by Village Motors they failed to put the right amount of oil in it

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phil
PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 18 reviews
  • 15 likes

What a fantastic little car!

published

Purchased in July 2016 for $16,500.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GeeEm61
GeeEm61Sydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Clio RS 200 Cup Premium, French and fantastique!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2015 at Pickles Auctions for $32,710.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marieanne
MarieanneSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews

Good car! But bad sound system.

published

I use my car to get to work. Its small so it parks pretty much anywhere (small car only spots included). I get it serviced regularly and it runs nicely aside from the sound system. The sound system is very tinny sounding and the best songs sound horrible in my car. I had them checked out and service department said they were the standard ones. When I bought this car it was worth $23,000 and I wish Renault thought about the sound!

BadgeGT Premium
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
happyhippy
happyhippySunshine Coast
  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Melting dashboard under warranty - told go away and don't come back!

published
BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Beth Green
Beth GreenPerth
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Driving exprerience is amazing, I have always loved euro cars. Handling is great, it really is a sporty hot hatch. it isn’t a big car if you have family, limited leg room in the bag but still ample. It is very cheap to fill, I always use 98 shell ultimate. It costs me $50-$60 a week. I am so happy with my purchase. I love it.

BadgeR.S. 200 Cup
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Leticia
Leticiaasked
Clio (2001-2022)

why the formula edition hasn't got light in the back seat?

No answers
Andrew C.
Andrew C.asked
Clio (2001-2022)

what esc on is pls

No answers
Sive
Siveasked
Clio (2001-2022)

What are common problems with the 2015 renault clioGT line 0.9l ?
How does it behave when climbing a steep incline?

1 answer
fred
fred

Sorry, I cant say as we had a 1.2 which was fine.

See all Renault Clio (2001-2022) questions

Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

Renault Clio (2001-2022)

Details

Compare all 19 Renault Clio (2001-2022)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $16,990.00$20,990.00$23,490.00$20,870.00
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km5.6 L/100km5.6 L/100km5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 0.9L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 12.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L
Max Power66kW @ 5000rpm88kW @ 4900rpm88kW @ 4900rpm88kW @ 4900rpm
Max Torque135Nm @ 2500rpm190Nm @ 2000rpm190Nm @ 2000rpm190Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureTurkeyTurkeyTurkeyTurkey
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateSept 2013Sept 2013Jan 2017Sept 2013
Compare all 19 Renault Clio (2001-2022)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.