??!
16 photos
Renault Clio

Renault Clio (2001-2019)

Also referred to as: Renault Clio 2018 and Renault Clio 2020. X65, IV B98, X85
4.1 from 30 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
5
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
3

Wouldnt buy one again or deal with with Renault or Village Motors Nrth lakes ever again

published

Have had to replace the timing belt at a cost of $4200 and now not even a mth later need to do the dual clutches the car hasnt even done 100000 ks yet and is only just 5 years old the aircon had to be replaced and maps dont work or the warning sounds on the Tom Tom I have been Quoted at the cheapest $5,000 plus for the clutches Renault would not even come to the party on even half the repair bill for the timing belt they did pay for the aircon the car has been serviced but last service by Village Motors they failed to put the right amount of oil in it

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

What a fantastic little car!

published

Purchased in July 2016 for $16,500.00.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
GeeEm61

GeeEm61Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Clio RS 200 Cup Premium, French and fantastique!

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Pickles Auctions for $32,710.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Marieanne

MarieanneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Good car! But bad sound system.

published

I use my car to get to work. Its small so it parks pretty much anywhere (small car only spots included). I get it serviced regularly and it runs nicely aside from the sound system. The sound system is very tinny sounding and the best songs sound horrible in my car. I had them checked out and service department said they were the standard ones. When I bought this car it was worth $23,000 and I wish Renault thought about the sound!

BadgeGT Premium
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

happyhippy

happyhippySunshine Coast

  • 6 reviews

Melting dashboard under warranty - told go away and don't come back!

published
BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Beth Green

Beth GreenPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Driving exprerience is amazing, I have always loved euro cars. Handling is great, it really is a sporty hot hatch. it isn’t a big car if you have family, limited leg room in the bag but still ample. It is very cheap to fill, I always use 98 shell ultimate. It costs me $50-$60 a week. I am so happy with my purchase. I love it.

BadgeR.S. 200 Cup
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

fred

fred

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice motor

published

Bought secondhand - it stated out as a demo car. Nothing gone wrong at all, perhaps everything was fixed as as a demo!. Had a recall, something to do with the wiper motor, which renault also fitted a new set of wiper blades gratis.
A nice bit of style and fun to drive, but don't like the way it drifts backwards a we bit and its always in the wrong gear for what you want - I prefer CVT.
95 octane a bit of a nuisance but I guess that's the price for a small turbo engine. But very nice to drive.

BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

JKnight

JKnightAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

excellent choice for us

published

We've had our Clio GT X98 5D for some months now and am extremely happy.
- Handles really well
- Very comfortable sporty seats
- lovely interior, easy to clean
- Hasn't missed a beat, very economical.
- Had to replace the wiper blades, service and could get parts easy enough from auto supplier
- It is a little tight in the back for passengers on a long journey but perfect for city/commuting.

BadgeGT
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
MINC

MINCNSW, 2145

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Would NOT ever Buy again

published

Renault dropped their pants big time on recent pricing stinging everyone that bought prior to 2017! Meaning, they knew when they were selling you your car in 2016.
Clio is a Great little design (hardware) and could have been a great little drive ...but..(the software) hmm I've had annoying issues from blue tooth connection not consistently working to a gearbox that keeps neutralizing itself or gets confused as to when to change gears - I would NOT recommend Renault brand or Renault Sales.

BadgeR.S. 200 Sport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Bonds

BondsLogan Village

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Clio RS 200

published

Love the car, it's quick, grips the road well, handles well, awesome sound with resonator deleted, especially fun in Sport and Race modes. I am 6 foot 5 and fit in nicely for a small car. Fun, good warranty, love it. It looks good. A great hot hatch. Would recommend it to others wanting a bit of fun out of their car for a good price. Got. Great deal drive away.

BadgeR.S. 200 Sport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

psymann

psymannPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent small, cheap, fun car.

published
BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size0.9
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016

abehne

abehneAU

  • 2 reviews

Great Car!

published

Driven for 3 years without losing a beat. Fuel consumption running on around 5litres to 100 km. Very economical. Drives beautifully around town or on the open highway. Amazing features include cruise control, speed limiter and handbreak assist to make your journey troublefree. I'm very happy with my Renault Clio.

BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size.9
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2014

Clint

ClintSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Great designed little car

published

I wanted a small, well designed, good priced, European car and I got it in the new Renault Clio.. it not only looks great but run good to. I love the modern interior, especially the centre console. But the main two reasons I brought the clip was the day lights and the key card... (key in the shape of a key card)

BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Nice car allot of headaches

published
BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
AAsq

AAsqAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Looks nice but a few small issues

published
BadgeDynamique
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Andrew88

Andrew88Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A true drivers car.

published

I'm a current owner of a Clio X85 200. Quick in a straight line especially when you get between 4000 and 7500 RPM. Amazing handling. The thing with this car it feels like it is talking to you as a driver. Not many cars do that. This is one. The last of the great 2 litre NA hot hatches. (edit, still owning 2018. Great car.)

BadgeR.S. 200 Cup
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Engine Size2.0

Annie

AnnieCanberra

  • 5 reviews

Perfect in some ways quality is eh

published
BadgeDynamique
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Engine Size1.2

Charlstin Yeung

Charlstin Yeung

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love it!

published
BadgeExpression
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Engine Size1.2

Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my Clio

published
BadgeExpression
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4

Samantha

SamanthaMelbourne

WOW!

published
BadgeR.S. 200 Sport Trophy
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sive

Siveasked

What are common problems with the 2015 renault clioGT line 0.9l ?
How does it behave when climbing a steep incline?

1 answer
fred
fred

Sorry, I cant say as we had a 1.2 which was fine.


Marita S

Marita Sasked

Hi Guys,

Looking for a runabout car and stumbled upon a 2014 Clio 3cyl - any big complaints - secondary market can throw some lemons

2 answers
JKnight
JKnight

Hi,
Our Clio was a used car and we have had no concerns. It probably depends on who you are buying from and whether it has been thoroughly checked over for problems. We bought from Autosports and they seem to process lots of higher end cars and have a reputation to protect.
So far I have absolutely no complaints about our Renault. We have three vehicles in the family and the Renault has become my favourite for running around after kids.
Good luck with your car hunting.

Bonds
Bonds

No problem with mine. Love it, but it was new. As with any second hand car you need to have it inspected and full service history etc.


Style_Meets_Emotion

Style_Meets_Emotionasked

We own a Saab and a new Golf. Saab is getting up there in age and has a small coolant leak, which we believe is the head gasket (so sad as I'm a Saab nut). When we bought the VW the Clio second. While my partner is very happy with the Golf as am I. Love the look of the Clio the power is aplenty, fit and finish is quite decent. Does anyone have a Clio from 2011-now, and could you kindly advise any issues if any; build quality, any major or minor failures, etcetera? I'm happy to deal with the typical Euro car glitches and such; I'm more after major issues; such as major tranny problems, head gasket issues, major mechanical failures. I heard of someone on here having a timing chain actually stretch and broke. If you've owned one from new and it's about 2-3 years down the road, no pun intended haha, could you kindly let me know of any problems such as those? But scared of a French car, as that I've never owned.

3 answers
Sh1984
Sh1984

My Renault whilst it only did 10,000 km's prior to being sold was faultless - not one single problem. The new Renault's have a 5 year unlimited KM warranty so total piece of mind. Prior to buying it I wanted a VW Golf, but the internet is full of disgruntle VW customers with major problems hence why I went for the new Clio. Funny you are a Saab nut, my Mum and Dad had 2 Saabs in the 90's a 9000CD and a 9-3 Cabrio - both wonderful cars. Prior to the Renault I had a Peugeot 206 GTI 180 - this car was excellent however it had heaps of issues - so much so I knew everyone at Brisbane Peugeot pretty well (when it was on James St). The new Renault Clio is pretty good in all aspects - I very much recommend it!

outbidder42
outbidder42

Hi. I have the previous generation RS Clio which is a little different to a regular Clio, and even the new RS Clio, which is automatic only. Only issue with my car, and it's a common issue, is a tiny, tiny oil leak from a bolt on top of the rocker cover. It occurs because when they put it together they did not not put in enough 'gunk' to seal properly. It appears as a tiny smudge of oil at the bolt and you would not even worry about it but as it was under warranty I got it fixed. Trouble is they have to take the whole assembly off including removing the timing belt, which then has to be replaced. Great news for me as I got a free timing belt replacement at 30,000km, but if out of warranty you'd have to pay. Not a real problem as you'd just wait to get it done when the timing belt is due and ask them to add the gunk then. If it's just out of warranty, I'd hit them up for a free fix anyway, as it's a known problem.
Other issues - minor dash rattle that comes and goes from summer to winter. The pcv valve sits too loose, easy self-fix is a little silicon (see the ozrenaultsports forum for details). Leather sports seats (not recaro) can wear through on the sticth bump. It prefers hot weather to cold. It needs proper sticky tyres or doesn't handle like when new (Conti 3's were fine, replacement for Conti 3's (Conti 5's ?) not quite as sticky). As other cars have gone ahead, it's a touch too slow against it's competition, but the handling makes up for it. That and the price second hand - side by side comparo to say a Mazda 3 SP25, you'd be nuts not to go for the Clio. Very firm ride for rear seat passengers (driver is fine, not too firm).
Love my RS Clio. I was supposed to get rid of it when the lease ran out, but I just can't bring myself to do it. More reliable than my series 5 Golf GTi. If I didn't own one, I'd buy one.

We had a 2014 Golf, which overall was a great car, albeit a bit bland. We purchased a new 2017 Megane GT and its been amazing. Much more of a drivers car than the Golf. I also had several Saabs, the last a 2001 9-3 cabrio with the dreaded head gasket leak. Sold before that needed replacing. Being from Canada we don't have access to these fun little quirky French cars, but each time I'm behind the wheel you get that grin. I myself drive a '13 Pug 208 Allure which is and has been a great little car, only downside the horrible old school 4 sp auto. And since that purchase I've fallen for the Frenchies. My partner has the Megane and we were actually going to trade the Golf for a new A3, massive sale at Audi at the time, but our first stop was to test drive the new Megane. We drove it and bought it that night. For the price and amount of features, value is there. There have been a few minor integrity issues, such as both front door seals were misaligned, making the doors harder to open than they should. Was fixed under warranty of course but took a few weeks as they had to order from France. Sadly the issue has returned. And there's a small rattle in the passenger door especially when the bass is prominent on the Bose sound system. However northing that would stop be from buying another. I've dealt with far worse new cars and their issues. But the point is we got a top range Clip (led lights et cetera) when we brought the Megane for service and I was very impressed. For having over 20k kms felt as if it was brand new. Feels a touch smaller than my Pug, but in the works of trading the Pug for a Clio for myself. Oddly I have been wanting an E class coupe, but the amount I drove and as fun as the Clio is, not to mention the value and cheap servicing, I wouldn't hesitate to even buy a good Demo in the car lot. I really fell for the Clio we had for a few days, and even though I may have not had it that long, it's worth your while trying one out. The Megane is great and I'd expect the Clio to be the same, even with its small niggling little issues. After all coming from owning SEVERAL Saabs and other not the pinnacle of reliability cars, I don't think you could go wrong with a Clio. Great little run about. And the one we had for a loaner was returning 5.1l/100km of fuel. Double what my Pug gets, I'm sure do to its ancient 4 sp auto. Also theres some great French car clubs here in NSW and other states, join one and you'll get some really good info and honest opinions about these cars. They really are world players, albeit very affordable, but they can sure compete with anything else out there. If buying a Megane over an Audi says anything. Cheers


Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.