??!
16 photos
Renault Clio

Renault Clio (2001-2020)

Also referred to as: Renault Clio 2019 and Renault Clio 2021. X65, IV B98, X85
4.1 from 36 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (9)
  • Braking
    4.4 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (9)
  • Handling
    4.6 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (10)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (10)
  • Features
    4.1 (9)
Previous
Next
gannon

gannongannon.dass18@gmail.com

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Computer module for transmission

published

My car has only clocked 58000kms and it's computer module for the transmission has failed without warning. Was running as normal until we stopped at the lights when it won't move at all. The car was towed away living us to find our ownway home. Renault road side assist thumps down. We had to pay 3700 dollars for cost of repairs. Warranty on the car had expired by 2 months. Contacted Renault Australia, however, told me to get the dealer to verify that the part was defective?????? So contacted the dealer who was as confused as i was. Totally frustrated.Renault Australia is putting the blame at someone else.

Purchased in June 2015 at Peter Warren Automotive for A$23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
David4242

David4242Gippsland, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very good

published

Had the Renault Clio Zen since Feb 20. Great car, has a sense of fun even as an automatic. Quiet inside, and handles bumps well. Seats comfortable and supportive. The manual aircon system works quickly though the switches are a little confusing. The audio is probably the biggest let down. As the driver you dont feel like the sound is enveloping you, it very much comes from the dashboard. No amount of adjustment seems to improve it. Otherwise a great car. Why Renault could not sell more Clios in Australia is beyond me.. Too stylish for Aussies maybe..

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
mercedes

mercedesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I love my Renault Clio Expression 2015 model

published

I use my car for visiting ,shopping appointments and so on
Every second day
Every year as per book.
The mechanic was very happy ,everything was perfect condition ,and told me this car will last without problems for many years .
Unfortunately Just drove out of my garage reversing and the rear wheel on the left would not run ,but scraped the concrete drive Not even the NRMA could fixed ! I dont know if this is a fault of the car ??? on the dash board ,mention check ABS and skidding ,Hill start and so on but ,nothing made sense ,maybe Renault has some idea ?

Purchased in June 2015 at Dominelli Ford for A$20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Desmo500

Desmo500Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

It is Fun. The few small issues count for nothing on a winding road.

published

Purchased in July 2016 at Renault.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Isobella B.

Isobella B.South West, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful little car

published

I bought my car February 2019 and have had no issues so far. I love this model, it’s nippy and sporty looking. Very fuel efficient and has heaps of little handy features tech wise inside.

Purchased in February 2019 at Renault for A$19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kristina

KristinaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Perfect first car

published

We bought this car for our daughter after looking at many different makes and model. The Clio formula edition had all the safety features we were looking for and the apple CarPlay she wanted. The price offered was too good to pass up and our daughter loves her car. It’s fun and sporty to drive and I would recommend this car to anyone.

Purchased in July 2019 at Werribee Renault for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Wouldnt buy one again or deal with with Renault or Village Motors Nrth lakes ever again

published

Have had to replace the timing belt at a cost of $4200 and now not even a mth later need to do the dual clutches the car hasnt even done 100000 ks yet and is only just 5 years old the aircon had to be replaced and maps dont work or the warning sounds on the Tom Tom I have been Quoted at the cheapest $5,000 plus for the clutches Renault would not even come to the party on even half the repair bill for the timing belt they did pay for the aircon the car has been serviced but last service by Village Motors they failed to put the right amount of oil in it

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

What a fantastic little car!

published

Purchased in July 2016 for A$16,500.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
GeeEm61

GeeEm61Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Clio RS 200 Cup Premium, French and fantastique!

published

Purchased in August 2015 at Pickles Auctions for A$32,710.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marieanne

MarieanneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Good car! But bad sound system.

published

I use my car to get to work. Its small so it parks pretty much anywhere (small car only spots included). I get it serviced regularly and it runs nicely aside from the sound system. The sound system is very tinny sounding and the best songs sound horrible in my car. I had them checked out and service department said they were the standard ones. When I bought this car it was worth $23,000 and I wish Renault thought about the sound!

BadgeGT Premium
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
happyhippy

happyhippySunshine Coast

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Melting dashboard under warranty - told go away and don't come back!

published
BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Beth Green

Beth GreenPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Driving exprerience is amazing, I have always loved euro cars. Handling is great, it really is a sporty hot hatch. it isn’t a big car if you have family, limited leg room in the bag but still ample. It is very cheap to fill, I always use 98 shell ultimate. It costs me $50-$60 a week. I am so happy with my purchase. I love it.

BadgeR.S. 200 Cup
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
fred

fred

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice motor

published

Bought secondhand - it stated out as a demo car. Nothing gone wrong at all, perhaps everything was fixed as as a demo!. Had a recall, something to do with the wiper motor, which renault also fitted a new set of wiper blades gratis.
A nice bit of style and fun to drive, but don't like the way it drifts backwards a we bit and its always in the wrong gear for what you want - I prefer CVT.
95 octane a bit of a nuisance but I guess that's the price for a small turbo engine. But very nice to drive.

BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
JKnight

JKnightSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

excellent choice for us

published

We've had our Clio GT X98 5D for some months now and am extremely happy.
- Handles really well
- Very comfortable sporty seats
- lovely interior, easy to clean
- Hasn't missed a beat, very economical.
- Had to replace the wiper blades, service and could get parts easy enough from auto supplier
- It is a little tight in the back for passengers on a long journey but perfect for city/commuting.

BadgeGT
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
MINC

MINCNSW, 2145

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Would NOT ever Buy again

published

Renault dropped their pants big time on recent pricing stinging everyone that bought prior to 2017! Meaning, they knew when they were selling you your car in 2016.
Clio is a Great little design (hardware) and could have been a great little drive ...but..(the software) hmm I've had annoying issues from blue tooth connection not consistently working to a gearbox that keeps neutralizing itself or gets confused as to when to change gears - I would NOT recommend Renault brand or Renault Sales.

BadgeR.S. 200 Sport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Hatchbacks

Find out how Renault Clio compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bonds

BondsLogan Village

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Clio RS 200

published

Love the car, it's quick, grips the road well, handles well, awesome sound with resonator deleted, especially fun in Sport and Race modes. I am 6 foot 5 and fit in nicely for a small car. Fun, good warranty, love it. It looks good. A great hot hatch. Would recommend it to others wanting a bit of fun out of their car for a good price. Got. Great deal drive away.

BadgeR.S. 200 Sport
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017
psymann

psymannPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent small, cheap, fun car.

published
BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size0.9
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
abehne

abehneAU

  • 2 reviews

Great Car!

published

Driven for 3 years without losing a beat. Fuel consumption running on around 5litres to 100 km. Very economical. Drives beautifully around town or on the open highway. Amazing features include cruise control, speed limiter and handbreak assist to make your journey troublefree. I'm very happy with my Renault Clio.

BadgeAuthentique
Engine Size.9
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Clint

ClintSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Great designed little car

published

I wanted a small, well designed, good priced, European car and I got it in the new Renault Clio.. it not only looks great but run good to. I love the modern interior, especially the centre console. But the main two reasons I brought the clip was the day lights and the key card... (key in the shape of a key card)

BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Nice car allot of headaches

published
BadgeExpression
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Leticia

Leticiaasked

Clio (2001-2020)

why the formula edition hasn't got light in the back seat?

No answers
Andrew C.

Andrew C.asked

Clio (2001-2020)

what esc on is pls

No answers
Sive

Siveasked

Clio (2001-2020)

What are common problems with the 2015 renault clioGT line 0.9l ?
How does it behave when climbing a steep incline?

1 answer
fred
fred

Sorry, I cant say as we had a 1.2 which was fine.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 19 Renault Clio (2001-2020)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price A$16,990A$20,990A$23,490A$20,870
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption4.8 L/100km5.6 L/100km5.6 L/100km5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L45 L
Engine3 Cylinder 0.9L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 12.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L
Max Power66kW @ 5000rpm88kW @ 4900rpm88kW @ 4900rpm88kW @ 4900rpm
Max Torque135Nm @ 2500rpm190Nm @ 2000rpm190Nm @ 2000rpm190Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureTurkeyTurkeyTurkeyTurkey
Safety Features
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateSep 2013Sep 2013Jan 2017Sep 2013
Compare all 19 Renault Clio (2001-2020)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.