??!
5 photos
Renault Koleos HZG

Renault Koleos HZG (2016-2019)

Also referred to as: Renault Koleos HZG 2018 and Renault Koleos HZG 2020. Zen, Intens, Life, etc...
3.9 from 26 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
4
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
2

David G

David G

  • 2 reviews

Nice car BUT expensive brake problems

published

Late 2016 model, done 42,ooo K and $2500 in brake costs, nothing covered under warranty, all easy driving around the inner city in Sydney, really not fit for purpose and does not meet what would be a reasonable expectation of running costs for new car.

Purchased in October 2016.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking

Norman M

Norman MGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not happy

published

Just done 30'000kms and car needs front brake rotors, again! First set replaced at circa 15'000 kms under warranty but not without a fight, now it's round 2. Has anyone else experienced this? The car is my wife's daily driver so it's driven quite conservatively.

Purchased in May 2017.

Year2017
Gary H

Gary HHunter Region, NSW

Promised so much,delivered so little

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Peter Warren Automotive for $30,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers
Kevin

KevinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stay away.

published

I bought a brand new Koleos in2017. It now has 40,000 kms and was told today at service that my brakes are 99% worn and I need new brakes and disks (costing $800). The drivers seat is wearing out as is the shift knob. My wife drives the car to work and to drop off the kids it’s not a race car

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Unusual

published

Purchased in September 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Vic

Vic

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Active Braking Disconnected

published

We don't use this car every day, only done 3000km,
Everytime I drive the car message comes up Active Braking disconnected I took it to village motor northlakes 5 times, first time they told me there was a leaf between the senor I drove for 500m message come up took back to village motor they told me because of the dust I drove for 100m message came up again I took back they told me radar is faulty and its because of dushboard camera, message is not coming up however I don't trust village motor because the reasons they told me was lie

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Runamuk

RunamukSouth East Queensland, QLD

2018 intense 4wd desiel

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ng1

Ng1Victoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car needs some improvement

published

Car is good for the price, no doubt. Some improvements to consider 1. Setas can be softer, 2. Side views of other vehicles are not good especially if you at a roundabout.

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dravid

DravidSyd

  • 6 reviews

Superb Car

published

Extremely happy with the Koleas, Zen 2017. Only fault is the pho-leather seats in Summer. Lambswool seat covers will fix. The Turning circle is not as good as Rav 4. However, its a great vehicle, with all the gadgets needed. Would highly recommend. French Design, Japanese engineering, Korean built. Welcome to the 21 st century.

BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Katrina

KatrinaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great Vehicle EXCEPT our dealer promised update to Apple /Android Auto on purchase, still waiting!!

published
BadgeIntens
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

adam R

adam RUmina Beach

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

So far so good

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $34,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jon B

Jon BSydney

  • 4 reviews

Nice family SUV - Zen 4x2

published

My first SUV, it has got a lot of features for affordable price. Renault's low finance offer has sweetened the deal. Never owned a French car, but very impressed by the Koleos. The Infotainment system and Android Auto are easy to use; a lot of space and legroom compared to others. Great overall look. Comfortable enough for long drive. Would highly recommend to anyone shopping around for comfy and safe family vehicle.

BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Matt

MattSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Trouble from Day 1

published
BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

stressed

stressednsw, 2747

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

200 klms and problems not available no catalogs for parts kingswood renault service

published

fault message came on check start stop took the car to renault service seat sensor faulty code came up they could not work out why seat message was on took back vehicle and rebooked as they were to busy to work out the problem brought the vehicle back when they organised renault techs they swapped seats with another vehicle problem went away they had no parts or catalogs for parts several weeks passed got phone call saying they located
a sensor was located took car back to find out the part did not fit they told me they would call when the part appeared i have owned the vehicle for three months whats next dissapointed

Badgebad
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Eva

EvaBurwood

Love our new car - Zen 4*2

published

This is our first car. Everything is good and the price is really nice. It includes all basic features that we might use. It is very good value for money. We made a wise decision on it. We bought it at the end of financial year, so got some discount. Overall is good.

BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
bzerk86

bzerk86Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 32 reviews
  • 19 likes

Zen 4x2 - Smooth operator!

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Frank

FrankBrisbane, QLD

Love the car - Koleos Life MY18

published

A very good stylish looking car, Good value for money, handles well. Build is far better than Honda CRVs. Interior feels much nicer for $32,000 mid size SUV, nice features. 10.5L/100km. A/c works well with dual climate control which i feel is a std. for this range. Spacious legroom, comfortable , reasonably quite while driving, CVT is good.

BadgeKoleos Life MY18
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Baxter

BaxterHobart

  • 8 reviews
  • 18 likes

Very reliable

published

Previous car was a Tiguan with all the bells and whistles. Looked at the Renault Koleos and it had many of the same safety features and gadgets but more. Cost was a lot less than a new Tiguan and cannot fault it. Running costs are good, smooth on the road, stylish and safe. Good family SUV with a lot of class.

Badge2016
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Zam Zam

Zam ZamPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Amazing 2018 4x4 Koleos Zen

published

I never paid much attention to Ranult, nor French cars in general; until by accident i came across a review of the Renault Koleos. OFcourse, i wanted to test drive the car for myself, and was blown away with the drive and plethora of features available!!! This car is absolutely amazing, in every regard. For a medium sized SUV it feels more like a large SUV inside. The Zen completes the vehicle in every way with features; from having a dedicated sat nav and apple car play, to the amazing interior and other features. This car has an amazing range of features for a very competitive price tag. Don’t bother with Korean and JApanese cars. You’ll get allot more from this one!!! And its very affordable.

BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

betsy

betsyCollins Creek

Itens, still the best!!!

published
BadgeIntens
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Page 1 of 2

See all Renault Koleos reviews

Questions & Answers

Tony M.

Tony M.asked

2019 koleos life how do stop radio from going off as no good at the drive in

No answers

Anne F.

Anne F.asked

I have had the soft wear updated twice in side two months & the maps show up as blue lines on a black background like someone forgot to colour it in. Its really heard to read. Anyone else had this problem?

1 answer
Norman M
Norman M

Mine is like that but only at night, i think there’s a menu option for auto day/night


Jackie H

Jackie Hasked

All of a sudden the volume control has stopped working in the radio. Can't turn up or down only mute. Neither the volume knob below main screen or buttons by steering wheel will work?
Can't find anything about this in manual either.

1 answer
Kylie S.
Kylie S.

Hi I was wondering if you had this fixed as it’s just happened to my car


Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.