??!
5 photos
Renault Koleos HZG

Renault Koleos HZG (2016-2020)

Also referred to as: Renault Koleos HZG 2019 and Renault Koleos HZG 2021. Zen, Intens, Life, etc...
3.7 from 32 reviews

Reviews

(14)
(5)
(6)
(3)
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (11)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (12)
  • Handling
    3.8 (12)
  • Braking
    3.6 (13)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (12)
  • Features
    4.2 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (12)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

AM24

AM24Perth, WA

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

The hidden Gem in the SUV market

published

Purchased in December 2019 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ranko46

Ranko46Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews

This could have been a really good car

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Renault for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Disappointed

DisappointedSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Loved it for the first 5 weeks.

published

Absolutely loved this vehicle until the first fault within 5 weeks - fast forward 11 months and the vehicle has awaiting its 4th proximity sensor in its short driving live -expect to wait at least a month, closer to 2 for parts (still waiting).
Incredibly disappointed in Renault Australia’s after sales care, if you hear back at all the response is disinterested at best. Dealership is starting to come on board with support to resolve ongoing issue but I’m yet to feel optimistic about a resolution.

Purchased in December 2018 at Renault Ballarat .

Build Quality
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
Mitchell

Mitchell

  • 4 reviews

No problems after 2.5 years.

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $27,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jason Cole

Jason ColeIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Beautiful Design & Comfort - but buggy!

published
  • +8

Purchased in October 2018 at Gateway Motor Group for $41,035.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Disgusting service & parts costs

published

Our 2017 Koleos has cost a fortune to maintain ($1900) for brakes when only travelled 55k. The airbag light comes on daily. Windscreen deal pops out. Unusual noises on start up. Dealer cant fix.

Purchased in April 2017 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David G

David G

  • 2 reviews

Nice car BUT expensive brake problems

published

Late 2016 model, done 42,ooo K and $2500 in brake costs, nothing covered under warranty, all easy driving around the inner city in Sydney, really not fit for purpose and does not meet what would be a reasonable expectation of running costs for new car.

Purchased in October 2016.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking

Norman M

Norman MGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not happy

published

Just done 30'000kms and car needs front brake rotors, again! First set replaced at circa 15'000 kms under warranty but not without a fight, now it's round 2. Has anyone else experienced this? The car is my wife's daily driver so it's driven quite conservatively.

Purchased in May 2017.

Year2017
Gary H

Gary HHunter Region, NSW

Promised so much,delivered so little

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Peter Warren Automotive for $30,500.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers
Kevin

KevinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stay away.

published

I bought a brand new Koleos in2017. It now has 40,000 kms and was told today at service that my brakes are 99% worn and I need new brakes and disks (costing $800). The drivers seat is wearing out as is the shift knob. My wife drives the car to work and to drop off the kids it’s not a race car

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Unusual

published

Purchased in September 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Vic

Vic

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Active Braking Disconnected

published

We don't use this car every day, only done 3000km,
Everytime I drive the car message comes up Active Braking disconnected I took it to village motor northlakes 5 times, first time they told me there was a leaf between the senor I drove for 500m message come up took back to village motor they told me because of the dust I drove for 100m message came up again I took back they told me radar is faulty and its because of dushboard camera, message is not coming up however I don't trust village motor because the reasons they told me was lie

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Runamuk

RunamukSouth East Queensland, QLD

2018 intense 4wd desiel

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ng1

Ng1Victoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car needs some improvement

published

Car is good for the price, no doubt. Some improvements to consider 1. Setas can be softer, 2. Side views of other vehicles are not good especially if you at a roundabout.

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dravid

DravidSyd

  • 6 reviews

Superb Car

published

Extremely happy with the Koleas, Zen 2017. Only fault is the pho-leather seats in Summer. Lambswool seat covers will fix. The Turning circle is not as good as Rav 4. However, its a great vehicle, with all the gadgets needed. Would highly recommend. French Design, Japanese engineering, Korean built. Welcome to the 21 st century.

BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Katrina

KatrinaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great Vehicle EXCEPT our dealer promised update to Apple /Android Auto on purchase, still waiting!!

published
BadgeIntens
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

adam R

adam RUmina Beach

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

So far so good

published

Purchased in September 2018 for $34,600.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jon B

Jon BSydney

  • 5 reviews

Nice family SUV - Zen 4x2

published

My first SUV, it has got a lot of features for affordable price. Renault's low finance offer has sweetened the deal. Never owned a French car, but very impressed by the Koleos. The Infotainment system and Android Auto are easy to use; a lot of space and legroom compared to others. Great overall look. Comfortable enough for long drive. Would highly recommend to anyone shopping around for comfy and safe family vehicle.

BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Matt

MattSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Trouble from Day 1

published
BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

stressed

stressednsw, 2747

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

200 klms and problems not available no catalogs for parts kingswood renault service

published

fault message came on check start stop took the car to renault service seat sensor faulty code came up they could not work out why seat message was on took back vehicle and rebooked as they were to busy to work out the problem brought the vehicle back when they organised renault techs they swapped seats with another vehicle problem went away they had no parts or catalogs for parts several weeks passed got phone call saying they located
a sensor was located took car back to find out the part did not fit they told me they would call when the part appeared i have owned the vehicle for three months whats next dissapointed

Badgebad
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Page 1 of 2

See all Renault Koleos reviews

Questions & Answers

Tony M.

Tony M.asked

2019 koleos life how do stop radio from going off as no good at the drive in

1 answer
kylie.byrnes
kylie.byrnes

I’d like to know this too, I’m currently at the drive in in my 2017 model and it’s driving us crazy


Anne F.

Anne F.asked

I have had the soft wear updated twice in side two months & the maps show up as blue lines on a black background like someone forgot to colour it in. Its really heard to read. Anyone else had this problem?

1 answer
Norman M
Norman M

Mine is like that but only at night, i think there’s a menu option for auto day/night


Jackie H

Jackie Hasked

All of a sudden the volume control has stopped working in the radio. Can't turn up or down only mute. Neither the volume knob below main screen or buttons by steering wheel will work?
Can't find anything about this in manual either.

1 answer
Kylie S.
Kylie S.

Hi I was wondering if you had this fixed as it’s just happened to my car


Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.