??!
5 photos
Renault Koleos HZG

Renault Koleos HZG (2016-2020)

Also referred to as: Renault Koleos HZG 2019 and Renault Koleos HZG 2021. Zen, Intens, Life, etc...
3.6 from 35 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

35 reviews
5
(14)
4
(5)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (13)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (14)
  • Handling
    3.8 (15)
  • Braking
    3.6 (15)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (14)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (15)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (15)
  • Features
    4.1 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (15)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Les

LesWestern Australia

Renault Koleos 2016

published

This does not happen all the time sometimes goes several weeks before it happens.
But after I stop waitng for traffic when I put my foot down to take off nothing happens appart from the fact it moves forward slowly .
Very dangerous if traffic coming towards you could cause a nasty accident

Purchased in October 2016 for A$22,500.00.

Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Endless Issues

published

Was so excited when we purchased this car. Beautiful and full of features. Unfortunately after 19 returns for warranty and over 7 months off the road we fell out of love and found ourselves in a world of hurt trying to get compensation from Renault. Literally writing this review whilst on the phone doing mediation with our dealership trying to get a result.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$53,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stevenj32

Stevenj32CHADSTONE

  • 35 reviews
  • 19 likes

Average SUV at best

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Renault.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos HZG compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AM24

AM24Perth, WA

  • 25 reviews
  • 22 likes

The hidden Gem in the SUV market

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$49,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ranko46

Ranko46Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

This could have been a really good car

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Renault for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Disappointed

DisappointedSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Loved it for the first 5 weeks.

published

Absolutely loved this vehicle until the first fault within 5 weeks - fast forward 11 months and the vehicle has awaiting its 4th proximity sensor in its short driving live -expect to wait at least a month, closer to 2 for parts (still waiting).
Incredibly disappointed in Renault Australia’s after sales care, if you hear back at all the response is disinterested at best. Dealership is starting to come on board with support to resolve ongoing issue but I’m yet to feel optimistic about a resolution.

Purchased in December 2018 at Renault Ballarat .

Build Quality
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
Mitchell

Mitchell

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No problems after 2.5 years.

published

Purchased in June 2017 for A$27,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jason Cole

Jason ColeIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful Design & Comfort - but buggy!

published
  • +8

Purchased in October 2018 at Gateway Motor Group for A$41,035.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Beema41

Beema41South-Eastern Region, NSW

Disgusting service & parts costs

published

Our 2017 Koleos has cost a fortune to maintain ($1900) for brakes when only travelled 55k. The airbag light comes on daily. Windscreen deal pops out. Unusual noises on start up. Dealer cant fix.

Purchased in April 2017 for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos HZG compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David G

David G

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice car BUT expensive brake problems

published

Late 2016 model, done 42,ooo K and $2500 in brake costs, nothing covered under warranty, all easy driving around the inner city in Sydney, really not fit for purpose and does not meet what would be a reasonable expectation of running costs for new car.

Purchased in October 2016.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Norman M

Norman MGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not happy

published

Just done 30'000kms and car needs front brake rotors, again! First set replaced at circa 15'000 kms under warranty but not without a fight, now it's round 2. Has anyone else experienced this? The car is my wife's daily driver so it's driven quite conservatively.

Purchased in May 2017.

Year2017
Gary H

Gary HHunter Region, NSW

Promised so much,delivered so little

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Peter Warren Automotive for A$30,500.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
See all answers
Kevin

KevinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stay away.

published

I bought a brand new Koleos in2017. It now has 40,000 kms and was told today at service that my brakes are 99% worn and I need new brakes and disks (costing $800). The drivers seat is wearing out as is the shift knob. My wife drives the car to work and to drop off the kids it’s not a race car

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Unusual

published

Purchased in September 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vic

Vic

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Active Braking Disconnected

published

We don't use this car every day, only done 3000km,
Everytime I drive the car message comes up Active Braking disconnected I took it to village motor northlakes 5 times, first time they told me there was a leaf between the senor I drove for 500m message come up took back to village motor they told me because of the dust I drove for 100m message came up again I took back they told me radar is faulty and its because of dushboard camera, message is not coming up however I don't trust village motor because the reasons they told me was lie

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Renault Koleos HZG compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Runamuk

RunamukSouth East Queensland, QLD

2018 intense 4wd desiel

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ngg

NggVictoria

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car needs some improvement

published

Car is good for the price, no doubt. Some improvements to consider 1. Setas can be softer, 2. Side views of other vehicles are not good especially if you at a roundabout.

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dravid

DravidSyd

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Superb Car

published

Extremely happy with the Koleas, Zen 2017. Only fault is the pho-leather seats in Summer. Lambswool seat covers will fix. The Turning circle is not as good as Rav 4. However, its a great vehicle, with all the gadgets needed. Would highly recommend. French Design, Japanese engineering, Korean built. Welcome to the 21 st century.

BadgeZen
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Katrina

KatrinaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great Vehicle EXCEPT our dealer promised update to Apple /Android Auto on purchase, still waiting!!

published
BadgeIntens
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
adam R

adam RUmina Beach

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

So far so good

published

Purchased in September 2018 for A$34,600.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 2
See all Renault Koleos reviews

Questions & Answers

Mary C

Mary Casked

HZG Intens FWD Petrol (2016-2020)

Can I set anything/anywhere to get the side mirrors to fold automatically when I leave the car? At the moment I have to use the switch on the driver's side door. Can't find anywhere in the controls to set to fold automatically.

No answers
Merd Mac

Merd Macasked

HZG Intens 4WD Diesel (2016-2020)

Does the Koleos have a full size spare tyre?

1 answer
denandbil
denandbil

Yes it does.

Stephen

Stephenasked

Koleos HZG (2016-2020)

Does anyone have a service book with there Koleos series 2 or does the dealership keep it ???

3 answers
denandbil
denandbil

You should have the service book. The dealership shouldn't keep it.

Stephen
Stephen

Thanks

Stevenj32
Stevenj32

You own that book and it is your proof that the vehicle has been serviced and maintained, get it back from the dealership, or contact Renault and have them send a new one out, they should also have a record of the services done and can stamp it.

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.