??!
1 photo
Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2

Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2

551325, 554325, 551310, 551410, 554410 and 3 more
1.4 from 374 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
8
3 star
13
2 star
34
1 star
304

Tony

TonyHunter Region, NSW

Needs fixing in under 5 years

published

I purchased a MPI 325 unit through Solahart newcastle in September 2014. Recently the TPR valve was gone and it had been leaking hot water and not producing enough hot water.
got the technician out and wants to charge me $260 for a valve replacement.
the 5 year warranty i am now told doesnt cover valves and other bits. very poor unit and from what i read below i am not alone!

Purchased in September 2014 at Solahart Newcastle for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 6 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Angry Bear

Angry BearSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

So far so good

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Homegas.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Waste Of Money

published

8 year old unit, has finally died after previous warranty repairs, many of these Rheem units have failed in my area that I know of, disappointing and will not be purchasing any Rheem product again.

Purchased in August 2011 for $3,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

2 Heat Pumps in 9 years!! Very poor quality!

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Z Smith
Z Smith

Sure will. Thanks


BeachyStar

BeachyStarPerth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 7 likes

Leaky and rusty after 7 years

published

Purchased in May 2012.


Paul

PaulHunter Region, NSW

Poor Choice - very disappointed at bad investment

published

Purchased in December 2014 for $4,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Mike B

Mike BPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cost $instead of saving money - did not deliver on promise

published

Unit installed but heat pump did not work from day one. After many attempts to fix with heat pump working for 8 months out of five years Rheem washed their hands of it and told us that as the heat pump was faulty we needed to contact heat pump manufacturer. I don't think its my job to get their third party suppliers to fix equipment supplied under the Rheem name. We have now been paying for direct element water heating for over 4 years which I'm guessing runs into thousands of dollars of extra electricity bills when we thought we were being energy efficient.

Do not buy a Rheem heat pump!!!

Purchased in May 2014.

Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)

Unimpressed

Unimpressed

  • 2 reviews

Terrible

published

Terrible unit! Less than 4 years old completely corroded and ruptured. Flooded our yard and found this when we took the top off! And on the long weekend just too top it off!

Purchased in January 2015.

Build Quality
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Worst piece of product we have ever had. Never seems to go more than 2 years without problems with the heatpump

published

Rheem should replace the whole unit with a different technology as clearly they can't make it last in line wit the actual length of service expected from a water heater

Purchased in December 2010.

1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Bullie

BulliePeel, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Total waste of money

published

Good Morning, after being pressured from our builder to purchase a Reem Heat pump MPi series2 ($2,800.00) now 3 years on we have needed to replace the system with another brand due to the heat pump death on the day before Christmas day and with no warranty due to 3 years old (=$1k per year) I feel the need to expose this poor quality & expensive product for what it is, Rubbish and more land fill.. Rheem you should a shame to sell it to people..

Date PurchasedApr 2015
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Mike

MikeSydney

Rubbish

published
Date PurchasedDec 2009
2 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Mike
Mike

I have already emailed customer service team with no response.


Snowy

SnowyDrouin

Ordinary

published

Called out to repair one of these today. The operation problems and faults were obvious. Complete engineering disaster applenty.
Due to how many of these installed locally we are looking at building a rework kit to save people some money. Unfortunately wont cover take failure.
Rheeme solar hot water is just as bad. Installers and rheem warranty agents dont have a clue.

Date PurchasedDec 2009
2 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Snowy
Snowy

Thank you Ream Australia for leaving a reply. Now can you kindly return to my original post and read it carefully.


rs2000

rs2000

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

The worst heat pump period

published
Date PurchasedAug 2009
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

it ok for summer not winter!!!

published

Hi everyone my hot water system just work in the summer but winter lucky it works for a few time head from exhausted at work in the winter get into the shower you get what??? What do you feel with that product to sell to public plus at night it makes so much hamming noise and tech come to inspect and goes wo notice
thank you

Date PurchasedSep 2009
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
deeson

deesonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

RUN AWAY if you are considering buying one of these.

published

Garbage unit, now 7 years old and I have to replace it. Four warranty call outs in the first 3 years. Wires are burning near a connection and could possibly have caught fire. Worked well for a while but at a 3.5k cost now. RUN AWAY. Judging by recent reviews they arent any better now than when we got ours.

Date PurchasedOct 2012
2 comments
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
deeson
deeson

Worst pumps and service ever

published

I’ve called a couple of times as the water seems luke warm intermittently, it’s a big unit and only 3 in the house and we don’t shower for more than 5 mins, so I call the company and the first time it was 5 yrs old out of warranty nothing we can do about it, now again I call and they want to charge me for someone to have a look at it, a HWS should last longer than 5 years, I had the same HWS at my previous house and stuffed up after 3 yrs and they just wipe their hands of you, don’t ever buy a rheem unless you don’t need hot water

Date PurchasedJul 2012
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Captivating

Captivating

  • 20 reviews
  • 10 likes

Sadly, the reviews are right. This product is awful

published

Where to start. Didn't even get 2 year of use out of this unit. Was installed at new home and sat idle for a year before settlement. Once we moved in, the TX valve went 12 months in and was fixed by the builder. 8 month later the compressor goes which costs over $1,000 to supply and install. 2 plumbers recommended replacing this with a better brand heat pump, one that is reliable. Gladly, this unit sits in a skip. While it was working, it was noisy, much louder than the new one.

Avoid this at all costs.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Sal

SalBrisbane

Total lemon. Rheem fail in their duty to care for their valued customers

published

Very expensive unit to buy and run (blatantly lied to about cost effectiveness versus solar) . Have spent at least $1000.00 in repairs and now it's stuffed up again. Honestly Rheem you should offer to replace this lemon. I do not have the money to fix it again! I am truly destitute and desperate.

Date PurchasedApr 2009
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Greg

GregBendigo

Hopeless, confusing a joke

published

Unit failed one the day we moved into the property it had little use and the plumber said the units are crap, poor design and not worth repairing. We have the unit in bypass but the costs are killing us. Do NOT buy this hws I am surprised that they still are selling them
Greg Bendigo 0447447600

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Peter

Peterbrisbane

Stopped working, again!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2010
1 comment
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Page 1 of 19

Questions & Answers

colin

colinasked

Heat Pump MPi Series 2 551325

I have a mpi 551 325 model its flasing 4 red lights which tell me its a tank thermistor error but there is no reset button tp press what are my options?

2 answers
Angry Bear
Angry Bear

Hi Colin, I am not an expert on Rheem. Based on my experience, firstly ring Rheem service (sorry, don't have their number). My experience is that they are not very competent, but they may be able to help you. Secondly, send an email to rheem.service@rheem.com.au officially requesting advice. Also, from my experience, their service personnel are quite competent and know a lot more about their hot water systems than the installation people from a hot water company. I got the impression that Rheem are concerned about their reputation and the right (senior?) peopler keen to help. Stand your ground and don't give in too quickly. Hope this helps.

Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear Colin

Thank you for your enquiry. In regards to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31, our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia


Will T.

Will T.asked

Heat Pump MPi Series 2 551325

My machine is Rheem MPi-325 Intergrated heat pump,Energy efficient water heater, Installed in May 2012, and now no hot water,The mode are green light not on, the red light is on. and I have taken the front cover off located the control box but it does not have a reset button on the bottom left side as shown in the manual I found on the internet.
my email is tanhuizhe@gmail.com

2 answers
BeachyStar
BeachyStar

Sorry Will can't help! The advice I received was that my rusted tank wasn't worth replacing as the heat pump had passed its 5 year warranty and was likely to break down.

Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear Will

We are sorry to hear about your experience and our customer service team would like to investigate the issue. However, we cannot obtain your information given the limitations of this website. If you could please email your contact details through to rheemcustomerrelations@rheem.com.au, referencing this review, our team will be able to assist you accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia


James v.

James v.asked

Heat Pump MPi Series 2 551410

My rheem hotwater mpi intergrated heat pump The green light is flashing when it was switches on

1 answer
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear James

Thank you for your feedback. In regards to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31, our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly.

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia


Get an answer from our members and Rheem representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.