1 photo
Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2

Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2

551325, 551310, 55127507, etc...
1.4 from 382 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Solar Water Heaters in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Rheem

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.3 (14)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.8 (12)
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (14)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.3 (12)
  • Heating Speed
    3.2 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Bob W
Bob WSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rheem heat pump water heaters have been a good investment for us.

published

We live in Queensland and have two 551310's which were installed in 2007. One had a noisy compressor early which was fixed on warranty. I change the anodes every 3 yrs and one unit's tank has just corroded through now after 14 years. I have replaced it with a 551325. The other unit is still working fine at the moment. Heating is fine summer and winter. Water temperature is as set. Despite other negative reviews, our experience has been good with Rheem heat pump water heaters.

Purchased in July 2007.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

Rheem mpi325 crap under 4yrs old fix once now trouble again not working again the $ you spent on this isn’t worth it

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

No service from Rheem

published

After another breakdown of the heat pump and calling Rheem for service, it turns out Rheem outsourced the service of compressors to another company which doesn't respond. My service call has been with Rheem for 2 weeks and they couldn't get hold of a technician to check the compressor. Will be replacing the heater with another brand for a company that can support its products and stand by it.

Purchased in September 2010.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Andyp
AndypDarling Downs, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Keeps braking down and they will not fix it. - **** BEWARE ****

published

The heat pump has broken twice in 8 yrs and I haven't bother to get it fixed and it just runs on the element all the time, didn't see the point in wasting more money for it to break again. Total junk beware.

Purchased in September 2012.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2 compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alan
AlanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Expensive Mistake...No more RHEEM for me !!!

published

Purchased in February 2012 at Builder supplied for $3,400.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ryan
RyanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dead after 3 yrs

published

Extremely over priced. Extremely noisy. Purchased the system in 2017 and now its dead. I cant be clear enough on how noisy it is. Do not buy this product. $3000 and only lasted 3 yrs and it only comes with a 12 month warranty. Their service fees and call out charges are ridiculous. For the love of god do not spend money on a heat pump

Purchased in February 2017 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ness_m
Ness_mNew South Wales
  • 5 reviews

Wish I could give it zero stars

published

Purchased in March 2014 at Tradelink for $3,300.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Ness_m
Ness_m

I’ve sent an email this morning, I am interested to see what response I get. FYI the unit has failed again this morning, no hot water but a solid green light.

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Terrible product

published

Built a new house through Beechwood 2 years ago so didn't really get to chose the brand of hot water system we got.It was our first time having a heat pump so I thought it was great,until out first need for a technician to come and fix it.Tell me the the part has only 1 year warranty.What a joke $270 to fix it and after reading the reviews on here I'm sure there is going to be more repairs.What a waste of money.Stay away from Rheem and Beechwood need start using another company for their new houses. My last house had Hardie Dux and not 1 repair in 10 years.

Purchased in November 2017 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Stay clear of them.

published

Have needed to spend what the system cost initially again in repairs over the time I have owned it. Warranty appears worthless. Contacted the number Rheem advises for emergency repair and was told I should find someone myself if it's urgent. I won't bother contacting Rheem again for anything and certainly not a new hot water system.

Purchased in February 2011 for $3,200.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2 compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony
TonyHunter Region, NSW

Needs fixing in under 5 years

published

I purchased a MPI 325 unit through Solahart newcastle in September 2014. Recently the TPR valve was gone and it had been leaking hot water and not producing enough hot water.
got the technician out and wants to charge me $260 for a valve replacement.
the 5 year warranty i am now told doesnt cover valves and other bits. very poor unit and from what i read below i am not alone!

Purchased in September 2014 at Solahart Newcastle for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Angry Bear
Angry BearSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

So far so good

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Homegas.

Value for Money
4/5
Noise Level
5/5

Waste Of Money

published

8 year old unit, has finally died after previous warranty repairs, many of these Rheem units have failed in my area that I know of, disappointing and will not be purchasing any Rheem product again.

Purchased in August 2011 for $3,500.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2 compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

2 Heat Pumps in 9 years!! Very poor quality!

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem
Z Smith
Z Smith

Sure will. Thanks

BeachyStar
BeachyStarPerth, WA
  • 22 reviews
  • 12 likes

Leaky and rusty after 7 years

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2012.

Incentivised Review No
Paul
PaulHunter Region, NSW

Poor Choice - very disappointed at bad investment

published

Purchased in December 2014 for $4,800.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Questions & Answers

Merv Luke
Merv Lukeasked
Heat Pump MPi Series 2

Why does the fan run during the night now when it always ran during the day

2 answers
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear Merv

Thank you for your enquiry. In regards to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31 due to the technical information required, our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

Ness_m
Ness_m

Merv, you can call but don't actually expect anything. My husband is still waiting for a return phone call.

Trent
Trentasked
Heat Pump MPi Series 2 551325

Whts the part number for a thermostat on a MPI-325 intergrated heat pump

1 answer
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear Trent.

Thank you for your enquiry. In regards to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31 due to the technical information required.

Our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

Cliff
Cliffasked
Heat Pump MPi Series 2 551310

How do I turn up the thermostat on a Rheem 551310 electric hot water sytem

1 answer
Rheem
Rheem A.Rheem

Dear Cliff

Thank you for your enquiry. In regards to your question, we highly recommend that you contact our customer service on 13 10 31 due to the technical information required.

Our customer service team will be able to advise accordingly

Kind Regards
Rheem Australia

See all Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2 questions

Get an answer from our members and Rheem representatives

Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2

Details

Compare all 8 Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Release dateOct 2007Oct 2007
Compare all 8 Rheem Heat Pump MPi Series 2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.