1 photo
Rhino-Rack

Rhino-Rack

1.8 from 121 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Product Quality
    2.1 (68)
  • Return Claim MadeYes (6) · No (64)
  • Customer Service
    2.1 (55)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
  • Verified

Failed first weekend because of design flaw and cheap hardware

published
Product Quality
Customer Service
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Cameron
Cameron
  • 3 reviews

Buy Yakima these are terrible

published

Rhino racks are on huge lead times, took months to get them. Whistle like crazy and so thick I can barely fit my Yakima bike rack to them. Wouldn’t recommend at all.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Return Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack

Hi Cameron, we are sorry to hear of this experience with our roof racks. If you were wanting our team to reach out to you directly, please email them at customerservice@rhinorack.com.au for further assistance. Thanks

Other Camping Shops

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Allan B.
Allan B.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

I want my money back

published

Just fitted pioneer rack with backbone to Nissan patrol 2020. Drove home and wind noise was as if I had all the windows open. Wished I had seen reviews before purchasing . Can I get my money back?

Product Quality
Customer Service
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Camping Shops

Find out how Rhino-Rack compares to other Camping Shops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael L.
Michael L.Perth, WA

Wind noise

published

Had the all new platform and backbone system fitted to my 2019 Ford Everest a week ago. Looks fantastic but the wind noise is far in excess of what would be deemed acceptable. Cannot even have a normal conversation in the car whilst driving above 80 to 90kmph. Went back to the installer who is saying that for $205 I can purchase a wind deflector. What the? More money on top of the platform purchase price to make it an acceptable product? I am sure wind tunnel testing was done and this issue should have been picked up, these wind deflector should for part of the original kit. Considering having the platform removed.

Cheers Mike

Product Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
james b.
james b.Mid North Coast, NSW
  • Verified

update on "customer support"

published

Lodge claim 26/2/21, 2/3/21 asked for proof of purchase, provided 2/3/21, asked again for p/p, sent again 18/3/21, Text pic and email p/p, no response. Late April I finally called & after a long wait spoke to a nice girl who tried to help, said she would call me back. 14/5/21 Still waiting. WHY is this so HARD. Don't Buy.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Product Quality
Customer Service
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack

Hi James, we are very sorry to hear of this experience. What is your case number? We will follow this up with the Customer Service team for you. Thank you

nato
natoGoulburn Valley, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible rack it's completely useless

published

Terrible rack system i wasn't told about the on road and off road weight carrying difference i was only told it could hold 75kg its really 75kg for on road use and only 40kgs for off road use the rack are 6kgs alone the rhino rack steel mesh platform is 21kg the pull out awning 12kg im left with only 1kg to spare for off road use i cant even put a light bar on the rack because it will be over weight off road it's completely useless not what i wanted now i need to buy a new rack system

Product Quality
Customer Service
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack

Hi there, thanks for reaching out. Can you please email our Customer Service team at customerservice@rhinorack.com.au with your exact make, model and year we can confirm the current rating for you? Thank you

Vas
VasSydney Surrounds, NSW

Pioneer Platform with Backbone - Great Rack! But terrible wind noise!

published

Great rack system and very versatile. However, the wind noise is just unbearable. I put the Pioneer Platform with Backbone on my 2019 Ford Ranger I do a bit of high driving and it has made it unpleasant. The Wind Fairing (which isn't out for the Series 5 Platforms) should be included for free with how much you pay for these roof racks!

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Peter D.
Peter D.Hunter Region, NSW

No fit for purpose

published

I should have looked at the reviews as well , I brought a rhino platform asking the sales person could I fit a James Baroud RTT, of cause you can they are made to fit . Wrong it won’t fit , the long bars are over 160mm wide and can’t line up with the RTT. It was a mission to fit there own fox wing awning. So buyer beware

Incentivised ReviewNo
Return Claim MadeNo
Store LocationAuto one Warner’s bay nsw
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Other Camping Shops

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Richard H
Richard HSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rhino-Rack Tradie Tray with Backbone System

published

I have a Prado 2016 - now fitted with Tradie Tray + Backbone Sys- the Rhino-Rack Load calculator advises that I can only put 50Kgs on the rack? If I include an Oz tent (23) + Batwing Compact Awning (18) that leaves 9kgs? However according to my Car Manual I can carry 80 Kgs "on" the standard racks. So I cannot see what benefit the Tradie Tray is???? Wish I knew this prior to buying.

Product Quality
Customer Service
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack

Hi Richard, thanks for reaching out. Can you please email our Customer Service team at customerservice@rhinorack.com.au with your exact make, model and year we can confirm the current rating for you? Thank you

Camping Shops

Find out how Rhino-Rack compares to other Camping Shops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kieran N.
Kieran N.Perth, WA

Too much wind noise

published

I should've read the reviews here firs before buying pioneer backbone system from rhino rack. Yes i do DM message rhino rack, they are offering me rubber strips that i dont know how it can help the wind noise of their pruduct.

Wind fairing should be included for the price we paid.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Product Quality
Customer Service
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack

Poor customer service

published
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack

Hi Jason, we are sorry to hear of this. Can you please email our team at customerservice@rhinorack.com.au with your best contact details so that we can look into this for you? Alternatively you can DM us at https://www.facebook.com/rhinorack/. Thanks

John P.
John P.Perth, WA

Rhino Rack Pioneer

published

I just bought a new Wildtrack and was going to put Rhino Pioneer Backbone system on, but went for a drive in a mates car who has them as he said not to buy them because they were to loud and yes it was horrendously noisy over 60kms an hour, he also said the service from Rhino is terrible.
I also spoke to 3 different roof rack places & 2 said there was lots of complaints and 1 said no complaints, so I’m confused.
Could they all be installed wrong?
I’m still unsure if I should get them or not ?
Does anyone know if the ARB or any other brands make the same noise? Please add any helpful comments, Thanks

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Mark Nightingale
Mark NightingaleGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible wind noise

published

I have a 2020 Toyota Hilux, fitted the pioneer platform with backbone system all to specifications. Have terrible wind noise even at 50km/h. Even worse on our long trip over Easter. Looked for a wind fairing, but none available for my model. Even if one does come out, you seriously can’t make us pay for it. Pretty stoked that I drilled the holes in the roof in my brand new car for the pop rivets to fit it.

Product Quality
Customer Service
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Max H.
Max H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

pioneer roof rack fishing rod holder

published

Yesterday I bought a fishing rod holder for my pioneer roof rack. One would expect that a Rhiino Rack rod holder would fit on a Rhino rack - It does not!! the rod holder was expensive yet it would apear that you need to spend way more for a bracket to fit it to the side of a pioneer rack. On their web site there is a picture of a rod holder on top of a pioneer rack but how it fits is totally beyond me (I have trade qualifications) You cannot contact them direct and clearly the dealer knows nothing as they sold it to me knowing what I had. - They sold me the pioneer rack. $300 to put a couple of fishing rods on the roof - you have to be joking!!!!

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Store LocationOpposite Lock Morphet Vale Adelaide
2 comments
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Other Camping Shops

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Pioneer platform rack on backbone system

published

Being a tradie I have had racks on my cars for as long as I can remember.
So I have just purchased a Landrover to tow our van and put one of these racks on thinking I was going for the best.Nice solid rack but the road noise is terrible.
If I don’t need it I have to remove it’s that bad,starts humming from around 70 kph. Very disappointed ,they even want to charge you over $200 for a wind fairing to fix their problem.

Product Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack
Camping Shops

Find out how Rhino-Rack compares to other Camping Shops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Mark
Markasked

Will the new wind fairings fit my pioneer platform on my 200 series
I don’t have the backbone Mount it is mounted on the 4 support legs each side
I do not like the current wind fairing
Cheers
Mark

1 answer
Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack

Hi Mark, if you have an All New Pioneer then the new style wind fairing will suit your platform. The current range of wind fairings suits the old style platform - part numbers 42XXX. Thank you

Rachel A.
Rachel A.asked

Wow I’m glad I’ve read all this thanks guys for sharing.I’ve ordered the x-terrain dmax and 3 roof racks which are rhino I asked for ARB are they the same with different badge??I will not be putting these rhino racks on my new x-terrain.I don’t like that all the kevin bloke says to all of you who complained I’m sorry better to not be sorry and to just have a good product

1 answer
John P.
John P.

Same i won’t be installing Rhino. I want to though as they look awesome but seems to be no customer service and obviously there is a problem as they keep saying there is a wind fairings will be available. My friend has been waiting for 14 months now. The company probably needs to be reported to consumer protection.

Will
Will asked

Hi
We recently had the Rhino Vortex Crossbars with mounting kit, fitted to our Ranger cab by an ARB dealer.
We noticed there is some play with the rear crossbar, where it joins the mounting plate, when you jiggle the crossbar. There is no movement with the front crossbar.
Please advise
Thanks
Will & Heidi

4 answers
Crossrip
Crossrip

I have no experience with the product you are referring to.

Rhino-Rack
Kevin C.Rhino-Rack

Hi Will & Heidi, sorry to hear of this - that doesn't sound right. We recommend you head back to the dealer that installed this for you, they would need to double check that everything has been installed correctly as per the instructions. If you have any further questions please reach out to us directly at customerservice@rhinorack.com.au or you can DM us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/rhinorack. Thanks!

Will
Will

Hi Kevin
Thank you for the feedback.
We have been back to the Rhino dealer and they tightened up the fittings.
All resolved...and happy customers :)

See all Rhino-Rack questions

Get an answer from our members and Rhino-Rack representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.