??!
4 photos
Samsung 400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel)

Samsung 400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel)

MPNs: RT35K5035SL/SA and SR400LSTC
3.7 from 134 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.4 (21)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (21)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (20)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (21)
  • Internal Layout
    3.4 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
DJD

DJD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Totally stopped working after a few months

published

The fridge that was bought new for my parents stopped working after a few months, both the freezer and the bottom fridge stopped cooling. It took many calls to get Samsung to remove the old fridge quickly, so we can purchase a different brand and place a new one in the fridge space. Customer Service refused to compensate foos loss claim after months of emails and phone calls, my parents lost their medicine (provided receipt) and 1-2 weeks of stored food in the fridge during Covid. We finally gave up and agreed to the $150 compensation and when we got back to them, they simply said sorry you got back to us too late, we can’t compensate you now.

Purchased in September 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Justin C.

Justin C.Sydney, NSW

Terrible Purchase!

published

Purchased in April 2017 at Bing Lee for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

stick to tvs

published

broke down twice whist in warranttty the third time we de even bother to see if it still in warranty, would,nt touch they should stick to tv frown mow on

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emerson Júnior

Emerson JúniorSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Still extremely upset!!

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Appliances Online for $949.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Stops working after 2.5 years, mould, condensation & not cooling

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

never Buy Samsung , worst customer service worst product

published

Bought this fridge 4 year ago, around a year ago realize that back panel of TOP freezer started bulging and lately it has gone to the point , Could not even fit the ice box, contacted Samsung after a month of backward and forward they suggested to contact Samsung premium repairer . Took six calls and 3 weeks to get a repairer, came and took him 2 mins to say this fridge cannot be repaired and cost me $160.
then Samsung did all the hu ha for one month and this week they advised me that they niter fix the fridge(which I paid $160 just for call out) nor can replace.
I did not have fridge for 2 Months.. This fridge have very well known manufacturing fault guys . Never buy this.
Worst customer service ,

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2016 at The Good Guys for $943.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Antonio

AntonioSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Amazing purchase

published

It’s not the first Time that I buy a Samsung product and as always I’m amazed of its functionality and durability. This top mount fridge Is very spacious and the motor is very quite not like some other brands. Very happy with it

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
brofield

brofieldSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Died one year out of warranty with known problem

published

BEWARE. There is a known issue with this model cause the fridge space to stop cooling and repairs cost about $400. In my case, this fridge worked as it should for 3 years, and then stopped cooling the fridge compartment correctly. Warranty is only 2 years of course, so I called repair company. Repair man looks at it and advises me that repair will be $400 and that this is a known problem with this fridge that he has repaired many times. I call Samsung and request repair under warranty since this is a known issue but they refuse to repair it.

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
4 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
brofield
brofield
Samsung
KathSamsung

I understand that you've been in contact with our team regarding this. If you have any further questions on your enquiry, please continue contact with the team!

Kath
Samsung AU

Faz

FazSydney, NSW

Is fixing the thermostat unit after every 2 years a norm for this refrigerator?

published

After the first year of buying the refrigerator, the fridge stopped cooling down the foods. As we were under warranty, Samsung fixed it by replacing the thermostat unit. Now it is 3.5 years old and it is freezing up everything in the fridge chamber. This time the Samsung helpline told us to fix it on our own as the warranty cover was only for 2 years. The question is regarding the quality; the fridge did not work smoothly for 2 years and we are again facing the same issue that was fixed by Samsung. What is the useful life of a refrigerator? Did we get a faulty unit? Or, is this a norm for this refrigerator to fix the thermostat unit after every 2 years?

Purchased in December 2016 at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Faz
Faz

Thanks, Kath. I already had several communication with you and Mick in last 10 days. And, I have also sent all the information you asked for on 26 June.

Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lloyd A.

Lloyd A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Energy Efficent and sleek

published

Had to downsize the fridge and purchased this one. Pros: are that its quiet, its pretty and it doesnt leave fingerprints. Compartments are easily adjustable and the freezer can be converted into additional fridge space.
Cons: the freezer doesnt contain a light, which i didnt think this would be a problem until you dont have it. Its small, good for a couple but i wouldnt think for a family.
I have a seprate freezer and have used the 'twin' fridge for extra space when needed. but otherwise i wouldnt see much of a use unless you already have an enternal freezer. at $599 it was a very good price !

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

OK but shop around first, bad internal build

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2016 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Karen N.

Karen N.Hunter Region, NSW

Worst Freezer!!

published

Bulging back panel in freezer, leaking water onto floor, makes noises constantly.
Disappointed

it is approx 2 yr old. I've removed ice maker as it wont fit.
Would not recommend!!
Not impressed!!

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys for $798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Matt

MattSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Freezer broke within 3 years. Have seen similar problem on other reviews. Rear panel accumulated ice behind the plastic

published

Rear panel bulges out about 1 inch which means the ice maker can no longer fit straight. In fact as it expanded it pushed the ice machine forward and opened the door while I was at work spoiling all of my food! Now ice maker only fits side ways. Bottom plastic also has ice behind causing it to bubble. Absolute joke of a product. Waste of money. Possibly even dangerous As the freezer is changing shape. Could cause fire or gas leak.
Also very loud. Makes cracking noises constantly which are annoying when watching tv. Again seen others have experienced same problems.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2016 at The Good Guys for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
srjh82

srjh82

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

A lemon which won't cool

published

Just doesn't get down to a safe temperature - on the maximum setting, it's at best 7 degrees, which just doesn't cut it and may actually be unsafe from a food safety perspective. On a lower setting, or in less ideal conditions the temperature is even higher and definitely unsafe.

Much of the plastic inside is pretty flimsy as well, with parts breaking off too easily.

Disappointing.

Edit: If anyone else has this problem, it appears to be a fault with one of the temperature sensors in the fridge and with the temperature control knob. These are not particularly difficult fixes for a technician and the fridge may be worth fixing for those with a similar issue.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Melissa A

Melissa AGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Faulty Fridge

published

Purchased in May 2016 at The Good Guys for $890.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Melissa A
Melissa A
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel) compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fiona

FionaSydney, NSW

Ice build up and water leakage

published

Purchased in October 2016 at The Good Guys for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Petar

PetarIllawarra, NSW

Gave me an indoor pool.

published

Bought in March of 2019 and within 2 months already had to have a technician come out and replace a part. Still had a few issues like loud cracking and poor cooling also getting really warm on the outside. Then a week ago the fridge had leaked all over the kitchen floor. Called samsung and where it was purchased from and had pretty poor service from both. Seems I will be waiting for well over a week for a technician to come out and assess the fridge. Pretty poor service and a pretty poor product. Also companies don't seem to understand Australian Consumer Law as this is a major fault.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

Terrible fridge!

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Joan
Joan

Hello Kath, thankyou for your response. I have clicked on the link below but it doesn't really go anywhere. Could we communicate some other way?
Cheers

Samsung
KathSamsung

That is okay, Joan. Alternatively, you may send us a private message through Product Reviews, if you are unable to access the link!

Kath
Samsung AU

Leeroy

LeeroyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great Fridge with issues

published

I have the same problem with the door not closing it's a pain in the rear to physically close the door shut before walking away.
It might not seem like much but it just shouldn't happen..
Everything electrical and white goods is Sumsumg i love the technology and service
I've only had an issue with the fridge..

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Makes very loud banging noises

published

The fridge and freezer itself are perfectly functional and it’s a good product. However .. it makes REALLY loud banging noises at all hours of the day. Every couple of hours.

Purchased at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Page 1 of 7
See all Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Nakita

Nakitaasked

400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel)

Hello everyone I need help I purchase this product bout week ago and my freezer isnt freezing what can I do or is their something I havent done to freezer so it can freeze my stuff and also what temp does freezer and fridge need to be on

No answers
Nathan F.

Nathan F.asked

400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel)

Thanks for the reviews. Not buying this due to lifespan of a couple years. Thanks

No answers
Ljubo

Ljuboasked

400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel)

How long does it take for the fridge to cool if it’s brand new? Also is there meant to be a light in the freezer when u open it ?

2 answers
Emerson Júnior
Emerson Júnior

Are you dealing with problems? Pretty sure after 2hs delivered the fridge should be working straightaway. There is no light in the freezer.

Samsung
KathSamsung

Hey Ljubo. If your new refrigerator isn't cooling, please send us a private message via the link below so we can better assist you with this.

https://www.messenger.com/t/SamsungAustralia

Alternatively, you can reach out to our support team to assist you as well on 1300 362 603.

Kath
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series
CategoryTop Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,299.00
Dimensions 1715 x 675 x 668 mm
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesConvertible Fridge/Freezer, Door Alarm and Frost Free
Colour / FinishEasy Clean Steel
Handle Type Recessed
Smart Fridge No
Shelf MaterialGlass
Number of Shelves3
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1
Door Hinge Right
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 400 L
Fridge Capacity 285 L
Freezer Capacity 115 L
Release dateMar 2016
Compare all 4 Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8806088144627
  • MPN: RT35K5035SL/SA and SR400LSTC

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.