??!
2 photos
Sanden Eco Heat Pump

Sanden Eco Heat Pump

4.1 from 73 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.1

73 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (21)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (20)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (22)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.2 (18)
  • Heating Speed
    4.4 (18)
Previous
Next
Jeff

JeffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Exceeded expectations

published

Our Sanden heat pump was supplied by Pure Electric. It's super quiet, programmable to run at midday (power from our solar system, not the grid), very efficient and we are never short of hot water. It's been in use for 3.5 years and we are extremely happy with it.

Purchased in June 2017 at Pure Electric.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
WarwickW

WarwickWGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Sanden and Pure-Electric - a perfect match

published

Pure-Electric installed my Sanden three years ago. Very professional, explained everything . Excellent product & support. Never been short of hot water, in fact I tested it once and it was about 40 hours of normal use before the water started to get luke-warm. It is also whisper-quiet when running.
Highly recommend bothe Sanden and Pure-Electric.

Purchased in October 2017 at Pure-Electric.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Simon

SimonBunbury

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Whisper quiet, have never been able to run out of hot water.

published

Whisper quiet, have never been able to run out of hot water. We recently had a significant problem, but Sanden have agreed to remedy it. Whilst technically the issue should have been resolved by the installer, the manufacturer have agreed to remedy via good faith.

Purchased in January 2017 at Ureco for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Sanden Eco Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil

Phil

  • 2 reviews

Sanden Heat Pump

published

We selected the Sanden heat pump system after much research 3 years ago as the most efficient hot water system available. We have been very happy with it! Paul from Pure Electric was ever so helpful with product support. Definitely recommend them!

Purchased in January 2017 at Pure Electric for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Kym S.

Kym S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

sanded heat pump

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Pure Electric for A$4,280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Lyneham-Canberra

Lyneham-CanberraCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Canberra environment - best hot water system

published

Canberra is cold in winter and I had researched the many types of hot water options, but the Sanden consistently came out on top. We replaced my mother's 1980 solar hot water with it and recently replaced our old gas hot water and we are all so happy with the system. Both were installed by Pure Electric who were great to work with (especially in this COVID environment) and the installs went smoothly. We have plenty of hot water and it only seems to take a couple of hours at the most of the motor running (very quiet) to reach peak hot water. A lot of hot water heat pumps are installed but those who do their research usually end up with a Sanden.

Purchased in September 2020 at Pure Electric.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
Claretnose

Claretnose

  • 3 reviews

Good system made even better by Great Installer -Pure Electric

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Pure Electric for A$5,450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Average Joe

Average JoeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Issues resolved - Low pressure and Water temp

published

Purchased in August 2020 for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Kate D.

Kate D.Northern Region, NSW

Good System- Excellent after sales service

published

We have had our unit for 4 years. It hadn't skipped a beat until recently our heating unit started leaking internally which caused damaged to the cpu. After to speaking with Sanden head office they were quick to replace the heating unit.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Sanden Eco Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DaveCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sanden need to disclose the presence of the frost protection and how it works

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Sanden
Mark P.Sanden
Dave
Dave
predrag

predragSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good and expensive

published

Paid over 5000 installed. Very quiet. Extremely efficient, way more then other non CO2 pumps (the only other is Reclaim Energy, using the same compressor...) Buy if you can afford.

Purchased for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Leo

LeoSydney, NSW

Unreliable Sanden heat pump - E1xx error 2nd time in 5 years

published

Installed back in 2015, still < 5 Yrs old.
Already had the valve replaced back in 2018 after the pump stopped with E1xx code, the whole family had hot shower in local Aquatic Centre for almost a week.

And just now on a freezing winter night, I had no hot water but the error code E124 displaying!!! what else can I say ? stay away ...

Purchased in August 2015 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
john Y

john YSydney, NSW

Sanden is very much under expectation, only installed for 5 years and compressor is now GONE!

published

Purchased in June 2015 for A$4,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Sanden
Mark P.Sanden
john Y
john Y
Chris

ChrisWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great on power but horribly fragile & horribly expensive repair.

published

7 yrs old..On its 3rd mother board(valued at $1800 each) now unit leaking water.Cant fix.
Uses hardly any power.Super quiet.Everything is great except the cost of repairs.You will never get back $1800 (pcb board cost) every 2 years in power savings.The idea is fantastic.My dealer went above & beyond for me but SANDEN AUSTRALIA dont care 1 little bit about anything but trying to take more money off you each time it fails.I believe these heat pumps are too fragile to be sold in our country.Replaced whole system with electric system for $1700....Less than price of a PCB board.

Purchased for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Raj

RajSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Whisper quiet operation, hot water in two hours of installation

published

Unit is very good, need to test and report on the long run. Bought this unit due to highest warranty. Water heated up within one hour. So far so good.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Sanden Eco Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
amaslam

amaslamSydney, NSW

E124 error just under 5 years

published

Had the Sanden unit installed late 2015. It's worked flawlessly until last week and now E124 error. Plumber came (original installer) and reset the system (FClr). It did one more tank to full hot and after that no more hot water. Reset again didn't help. It was the ones on 3 yr warranty so now I'm being quote a new compressor at ~3000+ (ouch!). It appears to be a PCB issue but installer says Sanden doesn't make those model PCBs anymore, so can't repair :(. Contacting ACCC for this (Consumer Guarantee) to see if they'll replace it. Otherwise going gas instantaneous at ~$2k and no more heat pumps in my lifetime.

Purchased in November 2015 for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gaylene A.

Gaylene A.

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great until the Heat Pump dies!! ....$$$$$

published

I loved my Sanden...... 8 yrs down the track and the mother board gives up, cannot be replaced because it is an older model, so I need to replace the whole unit... $3250.00 ....... over 8 yrs I have spent $7050.00 on a hot water system, do not recommend, any savings I made on electricity have been eaten up by running costs, totally devastated. :(

Purchased in April 2012 for A$3,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Ian.

Ian.Gippsland, VIC

Installed a Sanden and married it with my Solar PV system.

published

Purchased in May 2018 at KJ Multi Maintenance 29 Williams Parade PO Box 320 BAIRNSDALE, Vic 3875 for A$4,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
IrishPat

IrishPatCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Perfect investment along solar and batteries for my retirement

published

Installed six weeks ago in suburbs of canberra. I've had my Solar in now for 2 years 10kW and my Tesla was installed just 6 months ago now. The final thing dragging me down on energy was the gas hot water service (i'm getting rid of gas - new ikea induction cooktop was installed same time). The Sanden purrs, it's really quiet. I'm a little hard of hearing so can't even here the thing. Looks good, very nice install and it's running 100% on daytime solar. With our low usage I think we'll be getting 100% rooftop solar / heat pump hot water all year round.

Purchased in June 2019 at Pure Electric for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Sanden
Mark P.Sanden

Thanks Irish Pat , great to hear from another of our many happy customers .

David L.

David L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lack of Communication Experts

published

Have been trying to contact Sanden and have sent numerous emails but to no avail. Obviously customer service is not one of their fortes so why would one bother to buy one of their products.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Sanden
Mark P.Sanden
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Fiona

Fionaasked

I have had a Sanden Heat Pump installed some 4 months ago. We are in Tasmania and on tank water. Unfortunately since the install we have had a blue/green stain develop on our shower floor with the same coloured stain where the tank outlet drips onto a newly fitted cement slab. We are concerned that it is some sort of internal corrosion. All copper piping to the pump is new. Any ideas?

No answers
STANLEY W.

STANLEY W.asked

what does E124 code mean in my heat pump

1 answer
Sanden
Mark P.Sanden

Hi Stanley,
It indicates that the unit has had some form of power outage during the start up routine.
having the dealer reset the unit may clear it, otherwise there is a chance the board has been fused - best to get the installer take a look at it .

regards
Mark

Bill

Billasked

Is the heat pump better mounted in a sunny or shady area ?
What clearance does the heat pump require on each side ?

1 answer
Sanden
Mark P.Sanden

Hi Bill,
It makes very little difference to the performance where you place the unit it really a matter of the best position aesthetically or logistically. in terms of clearance we recommend 150 mm either side of the unit.
trust this assists .

Get an answer from our members and Sanden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.