?
? !
2 photos
Sanden Eco Heat Pump

Sanden Eco Heat Pump

4.0 from 82 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (29)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (26)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (28)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.2 (22)
  • Heating Speed
    4.5 (23)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
HuyNguyen

HuyNguyenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Fantastic electric Hot water system

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

358 reviews
Ad
Timothy

TimothyIllawarra, NSW

Don't buy it

published

My compressor died only a few months out of warranty and it was less than four years old. I was convinced by my contractor that Sanden heat pumps were the best around so I bought it. Even though the system was much more expensive than the competing products. When it died Sanden offered me no discount on the new system meaning after not even 4 years my hot water system would have cost over $7000. The manager at Sanden was as unhelpful as he could possibly be, and only after I had threatened to give the plumbing contractor franchise terrible reviews did they offer a 50% discount on the compressor (not including installation). So my system is now working well but it has cost me over $5500. Don't buy it. My review- Thumbs down fart noise.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gordo

GordoMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

One more try

published

Purchased in July 2015 at Faircloth & Reynolds for $5,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Sanden Eco Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LifeV

LifeV

  • 2 reviews

Why don’t more people get one?

published

Have had heat pump for 6 months and cannot rate it highly enough. Super cheap hot water. Unit will pay for itself in no time, especially since it runs off our solar panels.
You need to open release valves every 6 months to a year to ensure optimal performance but this maintenance requirement is nothing when you consider the how much money you save heating your water.

Purchased in August 2020 at Pure Electric.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

It has been great runs on solar

published

Wife convinced me we needed to go Sanden. I was skeptical at first due higher cost than competing units. Convinced me on no noise but for him efficiency and lowest energy costs mattered. We have both had our expectation beat and are so happy with the unit. runs every day on the household solar. Couldn't have imagined no annual energy bill whatsoever for hot water could be a thing but now I know it is true. And the hot water is too hot which is hot enough and it has never ever run out. It's not a machine but a beautiful Japanese princess

Purchased in May 2015 at Pure Electric for $3,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mitch

MitchVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great unit. Has reduced our power bills

published

Reduced our power usage significantly, power usage is minimal. Very quiet when it’s operating and I can’t hear it from inside. Excellent water pressure. No issues with temperature or using water from a rain tank.

Purchased in November 2020 at EnviroShop.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

358 reviews
Ad

Do your research before buying and understand the risks

published

As some other people have reported here, I also experienced the dreaded E124 error on my heat pump.

Purchased in 2016 and the system was working fine until the error occurred in late 2020, just six months out of warranty.

As others have experienced, my installer advised I was left with no option but to completely replace the heat pump unit at a cost of $3,000+. All because of one faulty circuit board.

As the tank and plumbing is all set up for this unit, I don't see how I'm left with much choice other than to re-commit to Sanden.

On top of that, I've been waiting for more than 2 months for a replacement.

So more than $7,000 for this system so far. And I thought I'd be saving money when I purchased this. Ridiculous.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sanden
Raychel E.Sanden

Hi Andrew, thanks for your feedback. If you've not already received your replacement Heat Pump unit and have paid for it, then please call us on (02)97910999 to discuss.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cliff F.

Cliff F.Perth, WA

system faults and shuts down and says low water pressure due to a block screen yet it’s perfect and it will do it again

published

Don’t buy. System has problems and the system will shut down and will cost you a service person just to reset it and supposedly clean a screen which is clean

Purchased in March 2015 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sanden
Raychel E.Sanden
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris

Chris

  • 2 reviews

Sanden heat pump

published

Purchased our Sanden heat pump hot water system from Pure Electric a very professional company offering sound advice & support. I'm extremely happy with this system, it's very quiet and efficient have never run out of hot water, it runs on solar during the day and our electricity bill has reduced by half.
Highly recommend both Sanden and Pure-Electric.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Sanden Eco Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeff

JeffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Exceeded expectations

published

Our Sanden heat pump was supplied by Pure Electric. It's super quiet, programmable to run at midday (power from our solar system, not the grid), very efficient and we are never short of hot water. It's been in use for 3.5 years and we are extremely happy with it.

Purchased in June 2017 at Pure Electric.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
WarwickW

WarwickWGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Sanden and Pure-Electric - a perfect match

published

Pure-Electric installed my Sanden three years ago. Very professional, explained everything . Excellent product & support. Never been short of hot water, in fact I tested it once and it was about 40 hours of normal use before the water started to get luke-warm. It is also whisper-quiet when running.
Highly recommend bothe Sanden and Pure-Electric.

Purchased in October 2017 at Pure-Electric.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon

SimonBunbury

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Whisper quiet, have never been able to run out of hot water.

published

Whisper quiet, have never been able to run out of hot water. We recently had a significant problem, but Sanden have agreed to remedy it. Whilst technically the issue should have been resolved by the installer, the manufacturer have agreed to remedy via good faith.

Purchased in January 2017 at Ureco for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

358 reviews
Ad
Phil

Phil

  • 2 reviews

Sanden Heat Pump

published

We selected the Sanden heat pump system after much research 3 years ago as the most efficient hot water system available. We have been very happy with it! Paul from Pure Electric was ever so helpful with product support. Definitely recommend them!

Purchased in January 2017 at Pure Electric for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kym S.

Kym S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

sanded heat pump

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Pure Electric for $4,280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lyneham-Canberra

Lyneham-CanberraCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Canberra environment - best hot water system

published

Canberra is cold in winter and I had researched the many types of hot water options, but the Sanden consistently came out on top. We replaced my mother's 1980 solar hot water with it and recently replaced our old gas hot water and we are all so happy with the system. Both were installed by Pure Electric who were great to work with (especially in this COVID environment) and the installs went smoothly. We have plenty of hot water and it only seems to take a couple of hours at the most of the motor running (very quiet) to reach peak hot water. A lot of hot water heat pumps are installed but those who do their research usually end up with a Sanden.

Purchased in September 2020 at Pure Electric.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Sanden Eco Heat Pump compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Claretnose

Claretnose

  • 3 reviews

Good system made even better by Great Installer -Pure Electric

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Pure Electric for $5,450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Average Joe

Average JoeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Issues resolved - Low pressure and Water temp

published

Purchased in August 2020 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kate D.

Kate D.Northern Region, NSW

Good System- Excellent after sales service

published

We have had our unit for 4 years. It hadn't skipped a beat until recently our heating unit started leaking internally which caused damaged to the cpu. After to speaking with Sanden head office they were quick to replace the heating unit.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
EvoHeat EVO270

Looking for Electric Hot Water Storage Systems?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat EVO270

358 reviews
Ad
Dave

DaveCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Sanden need to disclose the presence of the frost protection and how it works

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sanden
Raychel E.Sanden
Dave
Dave
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
predrag

predragSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good and expensive

published

Paid over 5000 installed. Very quiet. Extremely efficient, way more then other non CO2 pumps (the only other is Reclaim Energy, using the same compressor...) Buy if you can afford.

Purchased for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

scott

scottasked

Can I mount tank and pump in very large garage, just trying to keep the pump away from coastal sea mist.

1 answer
Sanden
Raychel E.Sanden

Hi Scott, thanks for your question! We recommend you contact your local Sanden installer and have them confirm if your garage is suitable for placement. You can find your local dealer here on our website: https://www.sanden-hot-water.com.au/locate-installer

Rando

Randoasked

Has anyone had any issues with Sanden timer controller? I have just had PV installed and want to set blockout timer accordingly. For starters, the time it was set to was wrong by many hours somI tried to change that to no avail. Couldn't get it to flash. Also, the down arrow doesn't work - doesn't wake up the panel when you press it (enter and up arrow do) can't get to time setting mode or block out setting mode, instructions followed.
There is a bit of condensation when you lift up the lid - how do people deal with that to improve longevity?

Keen to understand if this is a common issue and best way to resolve. I'm a few months left only of the 5 year warranty!

1 answer
Rando
Rando

Wish someone would provide an answer on the condensation. That's happening to me too! Sanden?

Jayrod B.

Jayrod B.asked

Hi A Sanden unit has been recommended to me by my plumber as a energy efficient replacement for my failing off peak HWS, my question is have the circuit board issues been addressed as listed in earlier posts as I will not be going forward with this product if in 4-5 years I’ll be up for a new compressor unit.

1 answer
Gordo
Gordo

Sanden have advised me that the circuit board in the new units can currently be bought as a replacement part. I can’t comment on how robust they are compared to the old model.

See all Sanden Eco Heat Pump questions

Get an answer from our members and Sanden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

EvoHeat EVO270

EvoHeat EVO270

358 reviews
Ad