??!
1 photo
SGIC Car Insurance

SGIC Car Insurance

2.5 from 134 reviews

Worst customer service! Don't know their own processes!

I had to restore paint protection after the crash repair. I was asked to submit the quote for reviewing what fair and reasonable portion would be. Didnt get a call from SGIC but the paint retailer called me to book for paint job. Called in two days later to confirm with SGIC. It took a while for them to figure out and finally confirmed that I proceed with the work. After the paint work, I was asked to submit the actual invoices. It took them +2months to reimburse the invoice. I called SGIC as many as 6 times during this period. All I would hear was it was submitted to assessment team for fair and reasonable portion. Seemed like they have rote learned their sentences! I spoke with managers too and they promised me twice to call me back by the end of the week with updates on what was going on. They never called me! What I did not understand is why did they need to assess what is fair and reasonable twice and needed both quote and an invoice for the same reason. Price wise it is cheaper than most of the provider but if you shop around you can get cheaper than SGIC. and for that very reason,I have switch my car insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car Modelnissan dualis
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Bishwas, thank you for sharing your review. I am glad you had this claim completed but am disappointed we took so long to reimburse you. If you would like me to look into your claim to answer your questions please PM your policy/claim details to this link to our Facebook page via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/sgicinsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review and include your policy/claim number, date of birth, address and contact details. ~ Jono

Worst insurance Company Ever!!

Treatment by SGIC, the worst! Awful to deal with. Another carpark reversal where the other driver accepted it was his fault, only to flip and tell SGIC we were both at fault.
Ridiculous emails, phone calls, etc, etc.
Was even told my claim would not go through as l had not informed them where car was to be repaired, l was driving it at the time and it had been repaired 2 weeks prior after l paid $500 excess for something that was not my fault.
Rudeness of staff in Adelaide Office and also claims which is based overseas is very hard to take.
Yesterday I received an email asking for a good review as to how well they looked after me as a client, what a joke this company is, nobody speaks to anyone else, only interested in taking the money fraudently.
Have cancelled my insurances with SGIC!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Camry RZ
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateApril 2019
1 comment
Hey Pauline, I can understand your frustration and can assure you this isn't the way we want our customers to be left feeling during or after a claim. We are sorry to see you go but if you do change your mind or want us to look into this further for you we'd be more than happy to. Please PM us your details to https://www.facebook.com/sgicinsurance/. We are always more than happy to assist where possible and we appreciate the feedback. ~ Nada

No customer service

Wasn't set up with the proper policy made a claim that was rejected then I canceled it someone was going to call me to discuss my rejected claim and that didn't even happen what a joke.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
5 comments
Hey Craig, thanks for sharing your claim experience with us. We don't want you feeling left frustrated after trying to make a claim. We are more than happy to chase it up for you. Please PM us your details through facebook by going to https://www.facebook.com/sgicinsurance/ along with your claim details so I can get someone to contact you ASAP within the next couple of business days. ~NadaThat was already ment to happen it has been two weeks now so I wouldn't worry.Not a problem Craig, if you do change your mind please do not hesitate to get in contact with us. ~Nada

Unfair and incompetent

Got rear ended in a parking lot after I had finished reversing and already in drive gear to move forward. While I was changing gears I was stationary and got rearended by the SGIC client.
This client ACCEPTED her fault and accepted to pay the damages offline. Stupid mistake on my end to not take it in writing as the client decides to get SGIC involved. When I consulted SGIC, they claimed that it is the fault of both drivers. Thats great isnt it, you are bloody done reversing, you are completely at a halt and then someone reverses into you and rear ends you and we are both at fault?
We had to make follow up calls to find out what was happening with their so called Investigation.
Will ensure nobody I know ever buys SGIC.

Insurance claim madeYes
5 comments
Hi Aditya, Thanks for your feedback on our Car Insurance Product. Sorry to hear about your recent accident and claims experience. Usually in this situation, your insurance company and the other party's (SGIC) would work together to find a resolution. Maybe follow this up with your insurer and they can advise you of next steps on your behalf. ~RenaeWe only have 3rd part insurance. Your client on the other hand, ACCEPTED their fault and then you guys made a nice little backflip. I am left with a $900 bill thanks to your unscrupulous business ethics.Thanks for the information Aditya. If you would like to escalate this matter you can PM us via Messenger and we can pass your matter on to the Claims Manager. ~Renae

1th. 8 month Told me damage done by human is not covered . My wife had accident. I claimed. They se

I have been with sgic for 5 years. I received terrible service. I am not happy at all. Paint job has to match on the front of the vehicle

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
hey Ramin, sorry to hear that you were not happy with the repairs. We can certainly have your concerns escalated for you but we do not manage the claims directly here, however, if you can confirm the claim number we can absolutely have that escalated for you ASAP and you would get a call from the claims team within the next 2-3 bsines days. ~Lochy

Their policies are totally designed to benefit them

I met with an accident in November 2018 and which was not my fault at all, where the other driver hit us from a biroad when I was driving in the main road. From SGIC approved Keswick Crash repair centre gave me a confirmation call saying the car can be repaired and delivered by 19th December. Keeping that in mind I hired a car and did not look for other options as they gave me a promise. But on 6th December SGIC called me and said my car is not at a repairable stage and they are going to write off!! Which is really misleading ! Moreover, SGIC is telling that they are deducting my upcoming premium payments from my insurance value. This is totally unacceptable and due to their promise of fixing the car I had to pay for a rent car 300 AUD. They are terrible. How can I absorb such a great loss and even this accident is not my fault. So do I have to suffer? For being a customer of SGIC? Why SGIC cannot claim the fully insured value from the third party insurer who is at fault?

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Sudharshan, thanks for reviewing our Insurance Product. Sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience with your car claim. If you would like the matter escalated you can PM the Social Team via Messenger and we can escalate to a Claims Manager on your behalf ~Renae

Not happy when it's not your fault but still have to pay an excess

17 years too long time to change not happy claims department wasn't helpful making me feel like it was my fault when a guy went though red lights and almost hurt me but they take the lights out of picture cause I had no witness or dash cam that's crap on your part SGIC that will lose me.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Liliana, sorry to hear you are unhappy with the claims team, were you able to identify the person at fault who went through the red light? Generally if you can ID the person at fault you wont have to pay an excess. Can we help escalate your concerns to the claims manager? If so please PM our Facebook page or this page and we would be happy to help. ~Kaz

Untrained staff and hidden agendas

I recently contacted sgic to cancel the remaining month or so left on 2 car insurance policies; one was seamlessly processed with a refund of $56. The other car received nothing. I contacted both the offshore and local office and was told that due to a mystery "admin fee" , which neither office could elaborate on, I was not entitled to a refund.

I then tried to raise the issue on their Facebook page and was advised that after deduction of this "mystery admin fee", if the remaining balance is under $15, sgic automatically "donates" the monies to the "charities [they] support". Apparently this is written on pg 86 of their pds. If I wanted that amount refunded, I would need to "escalate" the issue with another team.

First of all, why was one refund given with no addition charges, while the other car denied? Secondly, why is sgic not appropriately training their staff? And thirdly, who are these charities that sgic support, and if my money is going towards them, then shouldn't I receive a charity receipt?

Hence I will also be changing my other existing policies to other companies, and be encouraging family and friends to do so. 2 other family members have already made the switch to better deals! So please shop around! Sgic has a low rating here for a reason, and their sub-standard responses to these reviews are just for "ticking a box", rather than actually helping out their customers.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi Leanne, thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate your honesty and can see what you are saying. The info our Facebook team advised you is correct however I can not comment as to why the refunds were both processed differently. We recently off shored our call centre and would like to pass on your feedback to the consultants who assisted you. Please feel free to PM us your policy and contact details if you would like to esculate this further. We dont want to loose you as a customer and are happy to make the right arrangements for you - thanks ~Rubie

Automotive Claim

SGIC is fantastic company to deal with. Customer service was exceptionally great and all matters was concluded with in 10 minutes. The claim, and assessment of the vehicle and repair of the car all with in a matter of minutes.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
So good to hear OPALS, thanks so much for sharing your great experience! ~Renae

Could of psint the whole side if the car

Unfortunately you can see the new paint and the old. The whole side of the car should of been painted as i requested multiple times

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Robert, thanks for reviewing our Car Insurance Product. I am sorry that you have been left with repairs that show a difference in the paint. There is a resolution process you can follow if you are unhappy. Let us know if you require any further help in escalating this. The Social Team is available via Facebook Messenger ~Renae

i wish i had read the reviews before insuring 6 cars..

At first it seem that i was going to be treated properly after a tiny not at fault bump...but alas after my car was virtually destroyed by hower crash lonsdale sth aust..sgic prefered cheap and nasty repairer..then all walls and blicks came up..and has now become a horrible experience..my friends went thru same process with hower crash..please be warned..as for scic..wldnt a little help and nice service go a long way to keeping customers..there are countless insurers out there these days..please treat your existing customers correctly..and then you may recieve your first good review this century....

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi John, thanks for taking the time to review and leave honest feedback. We do not like hearing that our customers are feeling like this. A claim should be easy and pain-free. If you would like any assistance in escalating your concerns you can send through your private information and claims details to our team via Private Message in Facebook Messenger ~Renae

Car Rego balance deducted from payout IMMORAL

We have been insured with SGIC for seven years, we have 3 cars, home and contents. The Car was written off as a total loss the payout was determined quickly, however the balance of the Car registration was deducted from the payout. This is outrageous and immoral. Car registration is our business, NOT SGIC. Also the balance of the insurance policy will not be refunded or credited back to us for the new car replacement.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Jok, thanks for your review. The deduction of the registration is noted in the PDS for your information and this is also common across all insurance companies as the roads authority will refund your unused registration directly to you. In regards to your premium, your policy states you agree to pay your premium and we agree to pay your total loss claim. This is also noted in the PDS and is common across all insurance companies as well. Thanks for the opportunity to explain this to you. ~Kaz

SGIC - appalling service

I was in an accident with an sgic client, it was entirely their fault. My car is now unusable and one week later I’m getting absolutely no reply from sgic. I have phoned them twice and been told a claims person will call with 48 hours - I hear nothing!
The claim dept didn’t pick up calls today, I waited otjephie for 40 mis, even the online chat was a min 30 min wait.
Put on more staff SGIC, provide some goddamn service to people who need it. Appalling.

Insurance claim madeNo
2 comments
Hi 'Just', I am sorry that you have been left feeling this way. It is always a difficult time going through a claim and chasing things up. Has your insurer offered to correspond with us on your behalf? This will assist you greatly and take the pressure off. I hope you get some satisfaction soon and find a good outcome to a horrible situation. Please reach out to us if you require any assistance in chasing things up. The Social Team can be found on Facebook Messenger. Thanks for your feedback ~RenaeInterestingly the service did not improve when i finally did get in contact with a claims agent. Simple questions about the benefits of going with a partner garage or my own choice could not be answered. Seriously. Again, commitments to have a supervisor return my call went undelivered. I ended up progressing my own case in the absence of SGIC delivering any service. Only then did I get a call from SGIC staff. Truly unbelievable. If anyone on this website is shopping around for a good alternative for insurance these are not the guys to go with!

Wouldn't even bother with them!

I was sent a survey via email and at the end I was asked to put a review on here, Gladly! Would not recommend them at all! We have building insurance with them, had a problem with our garage roof collapsing but apparently they dont cover it! Even though it is part of the building!! The customer service representative was rude and when I ask what i was covered for then if i wasn't covered for the building he pretty much just said goodbye and hung up! Will definately be changing providers as soon as this contract is up!

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Thanks for your honest feedback Teresa V. You should not be left feeling like this, and we apologise for that. The consultant should of educated on what is covered and what is excluded. I understand that you are changing providers based on your message but if you would like any further information please feel free to PM via Messenger our Social Team. We are always happy to assist where we can ~Alison

Dishonest & incompetent

Clueless when managing a claim - on each occasion when talking to a claims consultant they lie and have no idea what they are doing - change insurers best decision I made - stay away from any insurers under IAG this also includes CGU SGIO.

Insurance claim madeYes
3 comments
Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate you sharing your recent claim experience with us. We are sorry to hear you are feeling this way. Did you want to lodge a complaint about your experience if you haven't already? Feel free to PM us your claim and contact details if you would like us to make the relevant arrangements for you. Happy to help! ~Rubiei am perplexed to your response-i have gone through your internal review process which is astounding in itself (i.e lacks objectivity and impartiality) -despite acknowledgment that you failed to consult, failed to disclose and your misrepresentations there is no accountability-one hopes that the Royal commission into banking will extend to corruption of insurance companies -i wonder what your chief executive and the board of IAG really have any insight as to how its "foot soldiers" treat its customers -APPALLING !Thanks for the reply, we are happy to hear you went through our internal dispute process. We will take your feedback on board and please remember if you are not happy with the outcome you can proceed to the external dispute process and dispute the decision with FOS. For further info feel free to click here - https://www.fos.org.au or to speak with your allocated case manager. Thanks! ~Rubie

They couldn’t renew my expire policy - terrible. Indeed they were after more money.

No Comments
They couldn’t renew my expire policy - terrible. Indeed they were after more money even though I am an existing customer.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi Ron, thanks for your review. Sadly we cannot reinstate expired policies, we generally allow 30 days for you to renew your policy. New policies can be a different premium as pricing can change weekly. Really sorry we were unable to help further Ron but we do appreciate your feedback. ~Kaz

Excellent accident claim service

More than 10 years with SGIC. Since have made 3 accident claims. Prompt action was taken from lodgement

till my vehicle was properly repaired and delivered. Excellent service.

Insurance claim madeYes

Paid waaay less than the car was worth

SGIC paid maybe half the market value of the written off vehicle. The system for claiming is set up to make it hard. Rep promised to call me back with answers to questions, Did not happen. As each of my policies (home and contents, 3 cars, 2 motorcycles and a boat) come up for renewal, I'm going out for quotes from other companies. Already have identified a $200 plus saving on home insurance, and $50 on first motorcycle.

Insurance claim madeYes
3 comments
HI there Mick, Sorry to hear that you have had this experience. If you would like our Social Team to follow up the matter on your behalf, please PM us via Messenger with your details ~AlisonJust insured one of my cars with Elders. Cheaper, and they've got an office in town.We are sorry to hear we lost you as a customer Mick. We believe we could have turned this situation around but we are glad you found a policy that suits your needs. Thanks again for the loyalty! ~Rubie

Fabulous Price

I switched to SGIC a week ago for my comprehensive car insurance. The insured value, policy cover and excess was the same as my previous insurer but heaps cheaper. Highly recommend.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Great to hear Mary. Welcome aboard, and thanks for being a valued customer. Please let us know if there is anything you need! ~Alison

Less than 2 minutes to renew

Easy to renew and competitive in price. Done and dusted with no fuss on my mobile. Good communication and no sales pressure.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback Fiona. Have a great afternoon ~Alison

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

My sixteen [ almost seventeen ] year old is getting her first car. A Nissen Xtrail 2004 - automatic with sunroof. She has been quoted by RAA for third party/ property insurance - $550 a year with $1100 excess. I am wondering if you would be any cheaper. I am an existing SGIC customer - house/contents/car.
1 answer
Hey Yvonne! You would need to complete a quote to get a price from us for this cover in your daughters name. Unfortunately we don't have any family type discounts at this stage. You can get a quick quote online via this link: https://www.sgic.com.au/car-insurance. Hope this helps Yvonne! ~Jamie

Who is a good insurance agency for SA?. SGIC customers seem to have to deal with interstate representatives and Sub-contract builders
2 answers
I contact SGIC direct and have had no problems dealing with them.I seriously feel for the South Australians that have suffered in the recent 'weather events' and hope that SGIC changes their ways and actually helps and supports their members. Recent experience has shown me that once your claim is in, you’re on your own. In the likely event you are having trouble getting assistance from SGIC persevere, as they rely on your apathy, lack of understanding of your rights or just you have suffered enough and won’t fight for it. Don’t let this company do this to you, you are South Australian, they are not; they are IAG, a multinational with their head office in Sydney and borne from the demutualisation of NRMA in 2000. This is why you have to talk to interstate and possibly overseas call centers (surely not all 'customer service reps' are of Indian decent). SGIO bought SGIC in the 1990s and NRMA (now IAG ) bought SGIC in 2000. I'm looking at RAA as they seem to be truely South Australian

Similar listings