??!
1 photo
SGIO Car Insurance

SGIO Car Insurance

2.5 from 237 reviews

Unhappy and Disappointed

Has I have read with others, unhappy and I must say very disappointed. Have been an SGIO customer for 45 years and over the last 5 years, since retirement I have become very unhappy with SGIO service and cost. How I can have a 65% no claim and 20% loyalty bonus and my policy cost similar or more than many other policies, with the same standard of expectation, when I establish a brand new policy, I do not understand. My claims over the last 45years have been almost nil, last claim 18 years ago, first claim before that about40 plus years ago, other than the odd windscreen. Had five policies, now down to two and about to be zero. Cost of policy raised at least $150 every year, insured valued falls $5000. Have attempted to it renegotiate with either no success or very minimal. Whilst the last lady I spoke to attempted to provide a reasonable level of service, previous interaction and attitude has been very disappointing. Being on a fixed retirement income, that $150 per year or nearly hurts. Have conducted considerable research and will be moving to another provider. One whom I can walk down the road and speak with face to face, rather than talking with a voice in South Africa. As is clear, I have been an extremely loyal customer, and I and very clearly others do not feel it is returned. Other than in words with little meaning. Thank you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelLandcruiser
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Hi Marie, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I can appreciate it can be frustrating with the value of your car depreciates but the cost of the insurance increases. This is because we are insuring the risk of the vehicle which includes not only it's cost but also the cost of repairs in the event of an accident with another vehicle. We do our best to reward loyal customers and good drivers like yourself. However we don't price match as we do provide a different level of cover and claims experience. I am pleased the last person you spoke provided you a good level of service trying to help. If you would like us to take a further look at your policy to see if there is anything we can identify that will help please each out via Facebook messenger: https://www.facebook.com/sgioinsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review. ~ Jono

Easy claim process, prompt response and settlement

I have been with Sgio for the last 3 years and have my both cars insured with them. We had an accident in Jan 2019. Lodged the claim online. SGIO promptly called me back next day to organize a tow truck. Unfortunately the car was identified as a total loss. The payout was made within 3 days of the final assessment by 3 week of feb 2019. I have insured my new car also with SGIO. Premium is higher, maybe due to the claim we made. I wish I had insured for agreed value than market value as market value may not work in your favour in the event of a total loss claim.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelAudi Q5 8R.II
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Thanks for your review John B. Glad to hear that your claims experience was a good one! ~Renae

Avoid this company

Terrible service by overseas operators that cannot communicate effectively. Drawn out verification system and phone menus. I found SGIO extremely frustrating to deal with. Was held to ransom whilst trying to cancel a policy with operator refusing to quote on new car until after I agreed to reinsure with them. Very dishonest and probably illegal

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
3 comments
Hi Dave, thanks for your honestly whilst reviewing our Car Insurance Product. You should not be left feeling like this after an interaction with any consultant. Our experience onshore or offshore should be the same as we are all trained using the same processes. If you would like to escalate this further, feel free to PM our team via Facebook Messenger, we would be happy to make our management team aware~RenaeThanks Renae, I chose to insure with a company that operates locally. All the best to you... wherever you areThanks Dave, have a great Monday, all the way from Brisbane, Australia ~Renae

pay more for being loyal

5 years 2 cars never made a claim, premium goes up every year... for being loyal I guess , total cost per year double compare to others... customer service bad, always talk over you not interested what you try to say... save money go somewhere else

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
1 comment
Hey slick, thanks for taking the time to review our car insurance. Hope your new insurer is looking after you. I hope in the future we can offer you a premium that suits your budget and needs ~Renae

What happened to SGIO??

I have been a customer for many years and always been impressed by the service, even when claiming. However I completed an online claim on the 5 jan and have not heard one thing from SGIO. I just logged in to see where the online claim was in the process and it’s still in the very early stages. The claim also says that an excess has been applied however their policy documentation clearly states that food spoilage does not have an excess applied to claims!!! The reason for claim the states “fire”. No the reason for the food spoilage was is an electricity outage which was caused by a pole fire.

I have just read previous reviews stating things have been moved off shore, such a shame as the service used to be A1, not anymore. I will be reconsidering my Insurance with SGIO,

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hey there Unhappy, thanks for sharing your recent claims experience and we are sorry to see you have not been contacted. Can you PM your claim number plus full name to this page or our Facebook page so we can arrange for claims to contact you to amend the claim to the correct description for the claim and advise you of an update. ~Kaz

Ultra high price hike

I have mostly been with sgio for 51 years until they started massive annual.price hikes which they can not explain ir justify to me. This year with devalued value of my vehicle, the price rise and 2.5% taken off loyalty discount the sum total is a massive 33% change in my policy. There has been no claim made on my policy. I decided to check other 5star insurance companies and comparing apples with apples got a far better deal with another insurance company. My boat is near due also so checked and have a far better policy at a better price with the same company we have our ute and car with so looks like i will have to change insurance company once more. I rang sgio to query the prices but have not received a viable response so can only assume they are not interested in my business. When we have a home, 2 cars, a boat and camper to insure we want a quality insurance company we can rely on at a fair price but will not pay unsubstantiated pricing for anything. I don't think it prudent to name the other insurer but it is 5 star well known

Insurance claim madeNo
2 comments
Hi Boot, firstly thank you so much for your many, many years of loyalty, we are really sad to see you are leaving us due to an increase in your premiums and the team were unable to help with any changes to your premiums, we do appreciate your feedback and thank you for your review. ~KazIt is sgio decision to overprice premiums but the customers will vote on that decision

So much for so little

About 10 years always found them to be helpful and understanding, Realising the vehicle is needed to get a round.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Wonderful to hear Charlie H, thanks for your feedback. Please let us know if you need anything moving forward ~Renae

SGIO - Slow, scheming and slack in customer service !

Took over a month to authorize repairs on what was clearly the other persons fault, then tried to get us to move repairers to a cheaper option ( and use fake parts ) never kept us up to date, took over 3 mths to get sorted due to sgio being difficult to deal with with repairer ... Couldn’t phone anyone here in Perth to discuss always a overseas call Centre ... Were done!

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Helen, thanks for taking the time to review our Car Insurance. Sounds like you have had a run around with your claim, and you certainly should not be left feeling like this. We do appreciate your loyalty and understand you are 'done' but hope in the future we can have a chance to look after your insurance and restore your faith in our service ~Renae

Disappointing level of service to dealing with a claim

We have been with SGIO for a number of years and we may as well be invisible. Making a small claim involving a car and minor property damage has been like Blue Hills! We are still in the process and unable to get anyone to answer the phone. The car claim has been fixed up reasonably pronto ( using online service) but dealing with the property damage is ongoing and a saga. Altogether disappointing and the customer review process does not allow one to express a view as it is "stage managed" to elicit set responses!

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi fatpat, we appreciate your honest feedback today. It is good to hear that your car claim has been resolved but you should not be experiencing these delays with the property damage. If you would like the Social Team to follow this matter up and have a claims specialist call, you can PM us via Facebook Messenger and we can request a callback. We would like to assist in getting your matter resolved asap ~Renae

SGIO not worthy of an insurance Company

I have been with SGIO for 10 years and was treated like someone not being with the company at all. I had to deal with an external company that do not have any intention to provide a service. I recommend not to use SGIO as an insurance Company because you will be unhappy with any claim from this insurer.

Insurance claim madeYes
3 comments
Hi John, thanks for your honest feedback on our Car Insurance Product. Sorry that your claim has left you feeling this way. A claim should be an easy and pain-free process! If you need any assistance in following this matter up, please let us know ~RenaeYou can phone me if you are a SGIO official.John, we would be happy to arrange for someone to contact you. Please PM this page or our Facebook page with your policy/claim details and your contact details plus a full account of what the problem is so we can help. ~Kaz

Camper Van Insurance Claim

A loyal customer for several decades with 9 current policies that I am now considering moving to another insurance company, as a result of one minor caravan/camper claim.
The whole process took far too long ( that's once you can break thru their 1800 phone no. barrier.) and involved too many officers.
A less than ordinary experience for me.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Neil and thank you so much for your honest feedback on our Car Insurance Policy. We understand your frustration regarding your Caravan/Camper Claim, this process should be painfree and an easy process. We hope that you have received a solution and good outcome to your claim ~Renae

only problem i had was trying to convince the telephone person what a Kangaroo was as she wanted his

did above and if SGIO keep hiring overseas people I will go elsewhere as don't know Australia wildlife and should be told

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Terry, thanks for your feedback. We will certainly pass this on to our management on your behalf. regards ~Renae

Unbelievable

SGIO wrote asking us to come back on board, we were loyalty customers at one stage, attempted to purchase new policies for car and house, sick of talking to the Philippines, not understanding - Don't care - Not listening not sure which. Wanted to visit local branch - no chance ! - Will not give me a discount unless the policy is in my Partners name, yet the Car is owned by me. Confused ???? - So am I.

Insurance claim madeNo

Being made to feel like a criminal after a life threatening car accident....DISGRACEFUL.

Have been with SGIO for many, many years. Had a car accident last week, and rightfully should have lost my life. By miracle, I didn't. Car is an absolute write off. I registered a negative alcohol reading. Irrespective of this, I have been questioned and interrogated by the claims department in a manner that has left me additionally traumatised and feeling like a criminal. The service should be ashamed of themselves. Irrespective of how this matter is resolved, I will be taking my business elsewhere.

Insurance claim madeYes
3 comments
Hi Kerrie, I am so sorry to hear about your tragic accident and are happy to hear that you are ok. I understand you have been left feeling terribly interrogated. You should not be made to feel like this. The intent of our claims process is so support and assist you where we can. You have mentioned you are taking your business elsewhere but if there is anything the Social Team can do to make the experience any easier please PM us your claims details via Messenger. We care about what you are going through and are happy to help! ~AlisonIt is interesting that SGIO responds to my complaint ONLY when it is published in public domain. Obviously my initial, identical DIRECT letter of complaint, which I included in their feedback form 2 weeks prior, wasn't even deserving of a reply. Disgraceful.Hi there Kerrie, the Social Team responds to all messages (complaints or compliments) via all social channels. I am sorry that you have not received a response from your letter. If you would like to scan it in and Private Message it to us Via Facebook I will personally follow it up for you. ~Renae

Disappointing

Had been with SGIO for over 30 years. can't comprehend why my premium kept increasing despite being a safe driver and the value of the vehicle depreciated.
Got two independent car insurance quote for similar coverage. Very disappointed after being a loyal customer with 65% bonus discount & 12.5% loyalty bonus and your premium is still higher.
After some consideration, had no choice but to drop it.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi Kim, thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your recent renewal and decided to leave us :( The older the asset the more of a hazard it is to insure which explains the increase in premium and devaluation of the asset. I have attached a document which explains our discounts, loyalty scheme and how we price our policies for your own peace of mind - Car Insurance - https://www.sgio.com.au/sites/sgio/files/sgic/policy_booklets/sgio_motor_ped_wa_g015810_0717.pdf. I hope this brings you some clarity around your premium. Thanks! ~Rubie

Worth the premium

My mistake, petrol in a diesel car. After dark, 110 kph zone middle of nowhere. Called SGIO, found the right option. Recovery vehicle, lift to a hotel, hire car next morning, all sorted. That simple.

Excellent outcome, ultimately with the fuel system completely serviced and guaranteed by the mechanic of my choice.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hey Mark, great to hear you have a nice outcome to a bad situation. I hear about this happen quite often and so easy to do! thanks for the review and let us know if you ever need anything ~Alison

Great savings help me with my budget.

Been with SGIO for a number of years now. Appreciate the loyalty discount. Easy online renewal and SGIO always send reminders. Great service.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Thanks so much for your loyalty and feedback Tony!

Does not follow up progress of costumer claims

I have been involved in a car accident with an SGIO member. I have been trying to contact them for several weeks to follow up the progress of my car with a very high weight time on the phone. During the time i have been passed on to multiple phone lines giving the same details over and over again. I have been told that my car was to be assessed on a monday(25/09) and that they will only insure the cost of the holding of the car til then, when the day came i called the towing company and have been told that SGIO has not followed up for my car. I am still trying to contact them and follow up my car claim. Poor service. Please follow up costumers with what is happening. Also the web chat is useful but only to an extent or until the question gets complicated.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi there, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We can see you are not happy with how the claim is processing and would like to follow up with our claims team. Can you please PM us your contact details and our customers claim number. I would like to organise a call back for you to discuss your next steps on the claim. Let's get things moving for you. Happy to help! ~Rubie

A nightmare experience

I had been a customer of SGIO without claiming for several years .
On my access driveway at suburban home a vehicle drove from a completely blind spot on my neighbours lawn and crossed my path .I sent photos and descriptive sketches and texts to SGIO and when they appeared to not understand I was not at fault I appealed for an assessor to visit my home ( 5kms from CBD) , to be acquainted with the scene at first hand . They refused and I paid an excess, cancelled my policy and will never have anything to do with SGIO again.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Pedro, sorry to hear you were unhappy with your claims experience. Did the team explain to you why you were deemed at fault? We would be happy to have someone contact you to explain the decision, please provide your claim number if we can help you with this. ~Kaz

Used to be Good

First car 1974 & stayed with them until 2016 when had a serious accident & was left with no help.
Now with RAC WA same cover, cheaper premiums & local help 24/7.

Insurance claim madeYes
3 comments
Hi Arthur, thanks for sharing your thoughts, sorry to hear you left us after so long. We would like to understand about the accident and how we didn't help, so we can pass on your feedback, thanks. ~KazYou are welcome to phone me on 0409952802 Perth time AWST any time after 8:30am Regards ArthurHi Arthur, thanks for the details. Before we can make arrangements or organise a call back for you we need the claim number please. Thanks! ~Rubie

Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Can I pay my premiums so as not to have an excess when claiming?7
1 answer
Hi Zimma, thanks for your question. You can choose to have a zero excess on a comprehensive car policy. You will pay a higher premium on your policy if you choose to have a zero excess. Hope this helps! ~Kaz

Similar listings