??!

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

If you're a regular driver, a good car insurance policy can grant you peace of mind. With so many providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the best, cheapest car insurance for you, whether comprehensive or third party.

Read now

Reviews

2.2

200 reviews
5
(44)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(20)
1
(122)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (50)
  • Transparency
    2.3 (40)
  • Customer Service
    2.1 (52)
Previous
Next
Jamie frank

Jamie frankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Do not do any business with Shannon’s.

published

I wish I could leave no stars. Do not do business with these people. I had my car stolen and they did absolutely nothing but try and get out of paying. After weeks of back and forth they only gave me a partial amount of what my car was insured for. Change your Insurance provider ASAP. Absolute criminals, the people I spoke to didn’t care and had no passion

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
See all answers
Sean O.

Sean O.Perth, WA

Time to get rid of Shannons!

published

I have been Insured with "Shannons" not suncorp for the last 20yrs and have to put a claim in for my bonnet which is stuffed because of a weather incident. Being told we don't blend paint now so the bonnet will be new with new paint ..... going onto a very faded Landcruiser. My pride and joy is gunna look bloody terrible. I can see a fight coming on I think.....

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2020
See all answers
Lee Goldring

Lee GoldringFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not Shannons. Now 100% Suncorp

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Shannons Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bobby

BobbyQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

NO PASSION HERE

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Leena

LeenaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Shannons Unreliable roadside accident procedures

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelToyota Yaris
See all answers
Joe

JoeWerribee

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Shocking service! Customer service training required urgently.

published

Shocking service! I've been with Shannons for a number of years and was recently in and out of hospital with a serious breakdown. Shannons sent me emails about my overdue car insurance premiums and just cancelled by policies without even trying to make a simple phone call. When I contacted them and explained what happened, they simply ignored me and said that they don't contact customers by phone. They completely showed a lack of compassion and just stated that I should have checked my mail. I was in hospital for Gods sake. A simple phone call could have saved me this additional anxiety.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelIsuzu D-MAX
See all answers
Peter C

Peter C

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Purchase Shannons car insurance at your own risk!

published

We had multiple policies for a number of years, claim initially approved but next day quote for additional damaged submitted to purposely write off car. Shannons contacted VicRoads to write off car before they contacted us. AFCA supported Shannons at every turn, although they mislead them with non-current product disclosure statement, if you don’t believe our story check AFCA stats online to see what chance you have of getting a fair go.
Shannons are only the face of the company you have to deal with when you make a claim, never again!
No trust in Shannons to provide what you pay for.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Les M.

Les M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing service and support

published

This is the second time that I had to make a claim with Shannons and I still keep my no claim.
Their staff and service is awesome they paid out fast

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelHarley Davidson
See all answers
kym.b.wilson

kym.b.wilsonGippsland, VIC

Very happy with my shannons claim

published

We have been with shannons for over 15 years. Recently I made my first insurance claim ever. Shannon's were brilliant, they didn't need lots of paper work or ask lots of questions. They suggested a repairer close by, but said I could get a quote from our regular repairer if I wanted. The claim was very easy and fast and the time for the work to be arranged and completed was amazing! They suggested I use windscreens Obrien but also said I could use another windscreen provider if I chose. It took less than 3 weeks from my first phone call to shannons to having my car returned repaired.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Shannons Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

More damages to my car and lied

published

These people are dishonest, lies thru their teeth, I bought my car back from them because it’s not viable to fix but I got my car back with more damages and no longer drivable (broke my gear shifter), and they wouldn’t reduce the price or fix it. Passed me around different people who tells me different things.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Unbelievably rude and would not give me a quote on a modified car I was looking to buy

published

I asked for a quote for buying a modified car and because I didn't go to car shows and have a suped up modified car already, I wasn't an acceptable person who fit their model to get a quote from them. Couldn't believe they refused to give me a quote! What company refuses business just because I don't have the car they think I should have now? Still shaking my head in wonder of the rudeness and dismissal I was given.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHyundai i30
See all answers
Peter M

Peter MBelconnen 2615, ACT

Terrible customer service

published

Lost a car in the recent ACT hail event. Shannon’s very extremely efficient in collecting the excess payment from me however not a single phone call or update was given after that time. No hire car, no assistance provided inspite of having comprehensive insurance. I will never deal with Shannon’s again. 5 weeks on, still nothing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Helen C.

Helen C.Far North Queensland, QLD

Lost me on my first call for a quote.

published

Not a fan of Shannons from the start.
When I rang for a quote for my new scooter I felt like I was put through the wringer and spat out. The questions where more intense and personal than any of the other insurance companies I had rung that morning. Not to mention the conversation took a long 20 minute. At the end of this service they gave me a quote of over double the price of the other quotes I had. Oh, I have to say that Shannons were friendly (or over friendly) to the stage of after 20 minutes I was praying this conversation would be over soon.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Modelscooter
See all answers
John R

John RIllawarra, NSW

Thank you Shannons Insurance

published

Loss my 71 Valiant in bushfires Dec 19 Shannon's dealt with claim very quickly and efficiently and all by phone They also looked after numerous friends who lost everything ie house extremely well thank you

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
geoff w

geoff w

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

great service,totally drama free claim

published

recently made a claim for a motorcycle that my son had an accident on (total loss) and the process was great. claim paid out including riding gear and helmet within ten days.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Modeltriumph
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Shannons Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jim

JimADELAIDE

  • 4 reviews
  • 12 likes

Disgusting

published

Absolute disgusting service.
I had a vintage bike accident nearly 8 months ago. Shannon's being useless and unreliable as the worst of them.
Ombudsman had to be contacted, even they were amazed at how bad Shannon's are. Pbuh.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
Austin P.

Austin P.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Shannons enthusiastically difficult

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
You will be had

You will be hadSouth East Queensland, QLD

They are Brilliant

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car Model1967 MGB
See all answers
Craig B.

Craig B.South-Eastern Region, NSW

Worst Company I have ever dealt with!

published

Even though their Policy states that you have a choice of repairer when I complained about the smash repairer they wanted to send my car to they did not want to give me the option of taking it somewhere else. 8 weeks later still no car, neither Shannon's or the smash repairer care about costumer services.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Enthusiasts beware

Enthusiasts bewareCanberra Central 2601, ACT

Debacle

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelSeveral
See all answers
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Josh S.

Josh S.asked

Car Insurance

Hey if somebody hit my back chrome bumper of my Holden HD with there tow ball causing a small dent would the bumper be repaired and re chromed or replaced with a new bumper ? Thankyou

1 answer
Bal D
Bal D

Haha, now that's funny. No sir. They could care less about 'motoring enthusiasts'. It will be bodgied up where possible. Repairers are getting to the point of refusing to work with Shannons / Suncorp because of their bodgy repair policies with cheap parts and labour. Read the fine print about choice of repairer etc. They'd sooner put a plastic bumper on and spray it with chrome paint.

Shaz

Shazasked

Car Insurance

Has anyone else had any trouble with Insure my ride changing to Shannon’s and not receiving any insurance renewals, reminders etc and then finding your not insured until you need it.
Very disappointed.

1 answer
Bal D
Bal D

Yes. I tried to claim on my Shannons Insurance and was told they couldn't even find my policy. Pathetic.

Hennie

Hennieasked

Car Insurance

If I let someone else drive my car and have comprehensive, would they be covered under my insurance or not?

2 answers
Josie
Josie

It depends on the insurer and the age of the other driver.

Akan
Akan

i think they have to be listed

Get an answer from our members and Shannons representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.