??!

Reviews

(42)
(11)
(3)
(21)
(113)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (39)
  • Transparency
    2.4 (30)
  • Customer Service
    2.2 (41)


Peter M

Peter MBelconnen 2615, ACT

Terrible customer service

published

Lost a car in the recent ACT hail event. Shannon’s very extremely efficient in collecting the excess payment from me however not a single phone call or update was given after that time. No hire car, no assistance provided inspite of having comprehensive insurance. I will never deal with Shannon’s again. 5 weeks on, still nothing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Helen C.

Helen C.Far North Queensland, QLD

Lost me on my first call for a quote.

published

Not a fan of Shannons from the start.
When I rang for a quote for my new scooter I felt like I was put through the wringer and spat out. The questions where more intense and personal than any of the other insurance companies I had rung that morning. Not to mention the conversation took a long 20 minute. At the end of this service they gave me a quote of over double the price of the other quotes I had. Oh, I have to say that Shannons were friendly (or over friendly) to the stage of after 20 minutes I was praying this conversation would be over soon.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Modelscooter
See all answers
John R

John RIllawarra, NSW

Thank you Shannons Insurance

published

Loss my 71 Valiant in bushfires Dec 19 Shannon's dealt with claim very quickly and efficiently and all by phone They also looked after numerous friends who lost everything ie house extremely well thank you

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
geoff w

geoff w

  • 2 reviews

great service,totally drama free claim

published

recently made a claim for a motorcycle that my son had an accident on (total loss) and the process was great. claim paid out including riding gear and helmet within ten days.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Modeltriumph
See all answers

Jim

JimADELAIDE

  • 3 reviews

Disgusting

published

Absolute disgusting service.
I had a vintage bike accident nearly 8 months ago. Shannon's being useless and unreliable as the worst of them.
Ombudsman had to be contacted, even they were amazed at how bad Shannon's are. Pbuh.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers

Austin P.

Austin P.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Shannons enthusiastically difficult

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers

You will be had

You will be hadSouth East Queensland, QLD

They are Brilliant

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car Model1967 MGB
See all answers

Craig B.

Craig B.South-Eastern Region, NSW

Worst Company I have ever dealt with!

published

Even though their Policy states that you have a choice of repairer when I complained about the smash repairer they wanted to send my car to they did not want to give me the option of taking it somewhere else. 8 weeks later still no car, neither Shannon's or the smash repairer care about costumer services.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Enthusiasts beware

Enthusiasts bewareCanberra Central 2601, ACT

Debacle

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelSeveral
See all answers

Absolutely disgraceful service. Avoid!!!

published

My car was backed into 28th October by another party insured with Shannons. $3200 damages. Sent them my quote for repairs by email within 2 days. Month later they said need pictures of every panel, speedo, vin & gearshift!!! Haunted them for another 2 weeks before claim was settled. As an owner of 5 cars, ( 2 classics ) a house , contents & a boat. I definitely wont be dealing with this organisation.

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Tanya

TanyaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

No care for members or ownership of mistakes

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Nicholas R.

Nicholas R.Perth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Not very good

published

The staff over the phone was very helpful and friendly.

My Vehicle was insured for 27k and I was paying $1200 per year 5000kms limit. After the first year I felt like I was getting screwed. The value of the car did not go down at all but then Shannon's decided to drop it just under 22k and still paying the same per year. So I let it slide for a bit. Then I looked up Enthusiast Insurance.

Long story short. Enthusiast insured my car for 36k and told me the value doesn't go down so their Agreed Value shouldn't drop either but we will see. Now I am only paying $750 per year but 3, 000kms is my limit.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

They are dishonest won't pay up called me a lier

published

Cyclone Debbie Bowen , ran over concrete broke gearbox, shannons paid to have gearbox out so mechanic could quote
machanic explained. to shannons assor gear cogs split into 3 pieces because of smash sent photos etc, they refused to pay said it was mechanical, and I was lying Took legal advice not worth it, shannons is cheaper but what's the point if they don't pay.?

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Sleaf1

Sleaf1Brisbane

  • 21 reviews

Claimed with no problems. Prompt and efficient.

published

My vintage car caught fire. Claim was processed quickly and efficiently. Communication excellent and painless. Claim settled with no hassles. Would strongly recommend. Wish all car insurance claims were that painless.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Model1975 VW Beetle
See all answers
Worthy1

Worthy1Wanniassa 2903, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Shannons is not what it used to be

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Modelcommodore vk
See all answers
scott

scottGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews

So far so good.

published

Been with them for many years now. I have imports and they have been good to me. I recently went with them for home insurance with them as well. I made one claim which was handled quickly. I know a bloke who made a house claim and said they went above and beyond so that's why I thought I'd give them a shot.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
See all answers

2Spooky

2SpookySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews

Classic car insurance; paid out full agreed value within 12 days

published

Received my payout in 12 days and retained my salvage rights as guaranteed. Overall I was pretty happy with the service provided. Always spoke to on-shore customer service who I didn't have to follow-up too much. There were a couple of hiccups; for example I provided a stat dec and then when I followed up they said they were waiting on me to give them the stat dec so I had to tell them to check the previous email attachment. They also asked for proof that my phone I was claiming for was damaged and I had to instruct them it was at the bottom of the river the car crashed into. Other than that all was fine.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Angela

AngelaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Enthusiast bullies

published

13 weeks and my claim is still going. Claim has been passed to 3 assessors so far. Absolute joke. They don't care about you or your car. Disgraceful customer service. Every person l spoke to were all indicative of hostility and bullying. Have 2 cars, 3 motorbikes a truck and home and contents with them. Thousands of dollars paid every year for almost 20 years and your reward for being a loyal customer...zero, nothing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2019
See all answers

SimonDigby

SimonDigbyWestern Australia

  • 4 reviews

Hopeless, rude and totally ineffective.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateNovember 2017
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Olivia Y

Olivia YSydney, NSW

Best in Australia

published

Amazing results, fast claims and very helpful in finding parts for our old Austin Healey 100/4.
Great discounts for mature members and the have people who know cars and restorations . Well Done.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party, Third Party Property Damage, Third Party, Fire and Theft and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Josh S.

Josh S.asked

Hey if somebody hit my back chrome bumper of my Holden HD with there tow ball causing a small dent would the bumper be repaired and re chromed or replaced with a new bumper ? Thankyou

1 answer
Bal D
Bal D

Bodgied up where possible. Repairers are getting to the point of refusing to work with Shannons / Suncorp because of their bodgy repair policies with cheap parts and labour.


Shaz

Shazasked

Has anyone else had any trouble with Insure my ride changing to Shannon’s and not receiving any insurance renewals, reminders etc and then finding your not insured until you need it.
Very disappointed.

1 answer
Bal D
Bal D

Yes. I tried to claim on my Shannons Insurance and was told they couldn't even find my policy. Pathetic.


Hennie

Hennieasked

If I let someone else drive my car and have comprehensive, would they be covered under my insurance or not?

2 answers
Josie
Josie

It depends on the insurer and the age of the other driver.

Akan
Akan

i think they have to be listed


Get an answer from our members and Shannons representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.