4 photos
Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel)

Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel)

MPNs: 35904360 and R395YS
2.2 from 163 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.2 (14)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (13)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Peter V.
Peter V.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Just another unsatisfied Sharp microwave user.

published

I have read the reviews and I am another who purchased a Sharp R395 y s microwave. Stopped working after 2 to 3 years. Phoned Sharp, but received no solution to my problem.

Purchased in August 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $299.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Peter V.
Peter V.

Inferior product, lasted only 2 years. Not good enough

Short life

published

I really liked this microwave until it failed to work, blown fuse & that was the end of it. Purchased 07/2017, short life & now goes to e-waste. First microwave 36 years old, still working using in workshop. Second microwave, another brand lasted 7 years. Manufacturers need to concentrate on quality & repairable. Would rather pay a higher price for a product with a longer life.

Purchased in July 2017 at The Good Guys for $287.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Darryl
DarrylSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

I will NEVER buy a Sharp product again.

published

Had microwave for 4 years hardly used it. Occasional heat pack warm up and some steamed vegetables. That's it !!
Repair man said it is the most expensive part to replace

Purchased in October 2016 at Bing Lee for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel) compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve2020
Steve2020Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Another disposable short term product.

published

Ours was only ever used for reheating. Never cooked in it. Unfortunately, for some reason the door and door surround decided to arc out quite dramatically. This gave my wife such a scare she immediately switched it off and unplugged it. It was well looked after with no visible corrosion or damage whatsoever. If left unattended, this could have caused a fire or worse. Contacted Sharp and emailed pictures. No response as yet.
Reported fault to the ACCC.
UNLESS Sharp replace it, we'll never buy Sharp again.
Thinking about Smeg now.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2015 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Leanne
LeanneHunter Region, NSW

Programming has changed - it doesnt cook as it should

published

We have owned a Sharp Carosel with Sensor Cook for decades. Replacing like with like as the appliance needed replacement. The latest model is a total waste of money. The sensor cook doesn't work as it should, the programming must have been changed. Everything we have attempted to cook has either been very overcooked or undercooked eg sensor cook vegetables. Another sensor programme, rice now stops a couple of minutes in, to be stirred. It used to be set & forget = perfect rice. The delay start has gone too.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Annoyed
AnnoyedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Waste of money

published

Failed after only 2.5 years,keeps blowing fuse thought additional cost and the brad name would matter, but clearly not
Outlay $280 probably should have bought Kmart brand instead
I will be contacting Sharp for refund

Purchased in July 2017 at Goodguys for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ray
RayVic
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed

published

Bought this Stainless Steel Microwave as I had previously owned a white one which was great and lasted forever, though with a new home I wanted an upgrade. Was always a bit noisy. Maybe used twice a week for a year and a half and it seemed to just blow up! Totally disappointed as hardly used and still looks brand new!

Purchased in September 2017 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Joby P.
Joby P.Sydney, NSW

Was an excellent microwave I ever used, very happy so far but stopped all in sudden , not happy now...

published

Was an excellent microwave I used ever, very happy so far but stopped all in sudden , not happy now... after 4 years, feels like such a short time and one year warranty is not so enough for such an expensive microwave, hope sharp will do something to deal with it...

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Rocket
RocketSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

What A Dud but Sharp came to the party for out of warranty repairs

published

Purchased 29/6/2018 - failed just over 12 months later. Started making a terrible noise intermittently over last few weeks. Initially thought it was the turntable coming off the rollers but now evident something more serious and stopped using it. We had owned a Sharp Carousel microwave that served us well for over 10 years. I will submit a complaint to Sharp and also check if our credit card provides an extended warranty but from other reviews it appears this item is an absolute dud. Do NOT buy!

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for $193.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
3 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Rocket, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to us at ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Rocket
Rocket

Thank you. We have contacted the customer service team and now have authority to take the item to the local authorised service agent. We did that today so will update the review once we know the outcome.

Rocket
Rocket
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel) compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mr Smith
Mr SmithMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute rubbish

published

DO NOT BUY... Wish we could could give 0 stars. Purchased 13/4/18. Failed 29/8/19. Grand total of 16 months use. Surprise... It only has a 12 month warranty. DO NOT buy. We should not be forced into buying "Extended Warranties" for this sort of rubbish.

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for $224.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Smith, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We encourage you to reach out to us at ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Mr Smith
Mr Smith

What is there to discuss. Your product failed just outside a warranty. Clearly built to standard that this is expected. Never again with Sharp products. Do you intend to replace it at no cost. VERY unlikely..

Kathrin L.
Kathrin L.South East Queensland, QLD

In for repair after 3 months !!

published

After 3 months of use the turntable stopped working, Sharp do not replace but rather send off for repairs ( even thought the microwave is only 3 months old ) has been nearly 3 weeks being repaired and still have no microwave !!!
Noisy and marks with fingerprints easily - would not recommend !!

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Kathrin, we are sorry to hear about your experience. we have forwarded your details to our concerned team who will get in touch with you at the earliest.

Kathrin L.
Kathrin L.

Thank you SHARP for assisting me in this matter, I have been given a new microwave

Janey
JaneyPort Macquarie
  • 2 reviews

Only lasted three years

published

It was bought in September 2016 and has just suddenly stopped working. It sounds and looks the same with all the lights & beeps but just not cooking anything. Three years just seems a pretty short life expectancy.

Purchased in September 2016 at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Janey, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

ravinder kumar
ravinder kumarSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great microwave till today

published

Hi i purchased this microwave on 30 July 2016 and it stop working today 22 July 2019 just less than 3 years. It was working great till today. This stop heating or cooking. This was a great microwave. Love it so far but not happy now. I think one year warranty ia not enough for this expensive product. I hope sharp can repair this at no cost please. Would love to buy again.

Purchased in July 2016 at 2nds World for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Ravinder, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

ravinder kumar
ravinder kumar

Thanks sharp for repairing this product.great help and customer service

Sue B
Sue BSydney, NSW

Microwave caught on fire.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at The Good Guys.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Sue B
Sue B

Waiting 4 days now with a microwave we can't use.

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Sue, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Great until it wasn't!

published

Purchased in February 2015 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Jess, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel) compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 11
See all Sharp R395YS / R395YBK reviews

Questions & Answers

Jan
Janasked
R395YS (Stainless Steel)

Where is the fuse located

1 answer
Colin S.
Colin S.

Inside cabinet, on top near the back. It is a 10 amp ceramic fast burn fuse. If it is gone, perhaps the magnetron has overheated and died. The appliance needs cool air behind it. There is a fan at the rear which sucks air in and blows it over the magnetron.

Philip
Philipasked
R395YS (Stainless Steel)

The light began flickering that seemed to be related to steam coming from the food, but now it flickers or changes from normal brightness to very dim and flickering no matter the amount of steam from cooking even doing it when the door is opened without any cooking at all - i.e. just opening the door prior to doing anything. Is it possible to get a new light for this older model?

No answers
Saad
Saadasked
R395YS (Stainless Steel)

i have this Microwave R395YS for just over 2 years. The lamp stopped working way back. But i Ddd not cared much as it was still doing the heating . but now it stopped heating as well. I believe this is not adequate life span for a microwave where we have spent bit more than $200. Can sharp offer some remedy for this issue ?

1 answer
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Saad, thank you for providing feedback.. We encourage you to contact Customer Care either via email at ccare@sharp.net.au, or by phone on 1300 135 022, referencing this feedback so that our team can troubleshoot accordingly and assist in achieving a resolution for you.

See all Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel) questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel)

Details

Compare both Sharp R395YS / R395YBK
CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $369.00
Type Conventional
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Dimensions 310 x 520 x 442 mm
Turntable Diameter320 mm
Power1,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Release dateSept 2011
Compare both Sharp R395YS / R395YBK
  • MPN: 35904360 and R395YS
  • GTIN13: 4974019707556

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.