1 photo
SM-33

SM-33

3.9 from 25 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Child Medications in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Bayer? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next
Jonathan
JonathanNortheast, VIC

Miracle cure.

published

I have epilepsy, so bite my tongue all the time, and tried bonjela, but trying to get it to stick to a mucus tissue and the tongue is damn near impossible. When I bite my tongue, SM-33 pours right into hard-to-reach places, stays there, and numbs rapidly. My only complaint is its nasty flavour. Other than that, it’s been a life saver.

Purchased in May 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Fight the crazy
Fight the crazySydney, NSW

How to use correctly

published

First brush your teeth &/or rinse with mouth wash, then apply small amount to earbud or cotton wool, apply to effected area, it will numb the pain in a couple of minutes

Purchased in May 2021 for $10.00.

Incentivised Review No
Boronia
Boronia
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product that delivers results

published

Wow, after suffering for a week this has been a blessed relief. Yes there is a slight initial discomfort but nothing worthy of complaint. So to all of you stating that you have high pain thresholds, its time to realise and accept that you probably don't if this product is too much for you.

Incentivised Review No
Child Medications

Find out how SM-33 compares to other Child Medications

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
vix1995
vix1995
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Does sting a bit, but does the job.

published

Was advised to put this on my mouth ulcer. Stung quite a bit initially (but might be due to having quite a large ulcer too) but only for about 5 seconds before it begins to numb.

It does say apply every 3 hours but I do start to feel it wearing off much shorter, ulcer hurting again sometimes after 2 hours, sometimes after only 30 minutes.. Overall, the numbing works really well for something OTC and worth the initial sting of application. It's not super consistent, but I'm not sure you'll find anything better without prescription.

Purchased in March 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Mark H
Mark HQueensland

Awesome works like a charm

published

My filling came out on Sunday as usual and the nerve was exposed. I was laying in a bath with my head in the water. Picture the scene a 6 foot 4 guy weighing 120 kg in a 1.4 meter bath with my feet on the wall and my head in the water with my shoulders all squinched up to get relief. Went to the chemist and the lady gave me this sm33. I was willing to try anything by this time. I put it on thick by just sucking it out of the tube and placing it on my tooth with my tongue. As I am lying here writing this I have a numb mouth and don't want to pull my tooth out with a pair of pliers. Works great. I will go and buy the lady a bunch of flowers on Monday after going to the dentist. Awesome stuff

Purchased in August 2020.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

The best baby products in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a years worth of opinions from over 6,500 Aussie mums and dads to published our Awards for the best baby products in 2020. See the top-rated prams, car seats, carriers, and breast pumps to spoil yourself and your baby with this summer!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.29 Oct 2019
the-best-baby-products-in-2020
Next
CMC
CMCGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

One of the Most Effective OTC at Numbing

published

This gel is perfect for ulcers, it stings at first but within a couple of minutes you can no longer feel any pain. The active ingredient lidocaine, is unparalleled as a numbing agent and nothing else you can get OTC will work as effectively and quickly as it does. Reapply every few hours and my mouth is given the chance to be pain free and combined with an antiseptic mouthwash my ulcers are well on their way out.

Purchased in May 2020 at Chemist Warehouse for $10.49.

Incentivised Review No
Missychrissy72
Missychrissy72Sydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

It works

published

My nearly 8 mth old
is teething and this has been a lifesaver for us both. It does have a strange smell and he hates the taste and blows
raspberries after application BUT it works within a minute! My grumpy, sad baby has some relief and becomes his happy self again. I wont use any other teething gel now as this one actually provides him with relief.

Purchased in December 2019 at Chemist Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Flextape420
Flextape420Illawarra, NSW

Heck yeah dude

published

People who are complaining about “the pain of it” are soft! This gel has helped me out multiple times and I would really recommend it unless you have a high pain tolerance. Seriously grow up it’s fine

Purchased in August 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Nacho
NachoSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Pain before the calm

published

I have been using this for years. Works well but might be painful when first applied. I would also recommend flossing and brushing teeth with a salt toothpaste and rinsing with xylitol beforehand to lower the bacteria level in the mouth. Also helps to get adequate sleep as I am more prone to mouth ulcers when the immune system is weak.

Child Medications

Find out how SM-33 compares to other Child Medications

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Crap

published

this is awful, applied this trash t to 3 ulcers; the pain it causes when after applying is ridiculous - I have a high pain tolerance but this was dumb. My eyes were watering, and the damn trash only lasts 10-15 minutes before I have to reapply and go through the damn pain again. It sounds like it’s ideal for teething; but damn oath fools don’t use this trash on any open skin or ulcers - just doing ya self damage!!

Perfect

published

i get mouth ulcers so very often, nothing else works for me not salt nor vegemite or anything. it taste good and does the job in at least a week. i am also terrible when it comes to spicy foods this works really well and stings the tiniest bit, i would say this has been the product that has worked the best for me personally and honestly!

Horrible & Painful

published

Used it on my ulcer and boy “ OOO” boy that was painful.
Stung like a bee and I flew like a butterfly.
Back to the chemist.
Hopefully I find someone with some experience to help me.
Just trying to make up fifty words or so, so I’ll keep trying.
Finally

wendalls
wendallsGippsland, VIC

Stings like crazy

published

I used this stuff on my lip for a bit each time it nearly sent me thru the roof with the horrendously bad stinging (I have high pain threshold) I wondered how babies tolerate it, once the sting went after about 30sec went numb which was want I wanted to stop the pain, I have decided not to use it as it hurts so much, so I am using savlon antiseptic this does not sting at all, but then again it is not numbing lip either, but is like a bit of moisturizer.

Mel1983
Mel1983New South Wales, 2287
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is the only thing I have found to work.

published

This is the only brand of teething gel i've found to work on my toddler.

She likes the taste and happily lets us put it on her gums.

I tried a few other brands on my daughter and myself and this is the one that really numbed the gums properly.

sarah
sarah
  • 5 reviews

love this teething gel

published

i find it really effective better then other brands and the ingredients look good too . You definitely need to get this gel if your little one is teething. My little one used to be screaming in pain at night but not anymore with this. Can be purchased from most chemists.

Child Medications

Find out how SM-33 compares to other Child Medications

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Lady G.
Lady G.asked

Can this be used on holes in teeth?

1 answer
Mark H
Mark H

In the sense of stopping or minimizing pain yes but it wont fix the problem. It will be a temporary solution until you can see a dentist

Sophia V.
Sophia V.asked

Can sm33 gel be used for burnt lips that are blistering?

3 answers
CMC
CMC

It would be very painful to apply but may providing some numbing relief.

Danielle M.
Danielle M.

Can you use after having a tooth pulled out ?

Mark H
Mark H

Yes you can but your dentist should have given you pain relief at the time of extraction of the tooth.

missjeuel
missjeuelasked

Can I use sm33 gel along with Nurofen kids for my 7month old bub?

1 answer
Mark H
Mark H

That is a doctor or dentist question. You would be advised to query that with your health professional

See all SM-33 questions

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.