??!
12 photos
Smeg ECF01
4.0 from 63 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (27)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (28)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (24)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (16)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.5 (15)
  • Milk Frothing
    3.3 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Cosmic

CosmicBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

From DeLonghi to Smeg!

published

Just purchased the Smeg version (Feb ‘21) after ten years of the DeLonghi, everyday use. These are the same machine with cosmetic differences.
Once used to adjusting the settings to get the coffee temperature right this is a set and forget machine. I use it for one to two coffees at a time, occasionally four. Brilliant coffee every time. Thanks to the Barista from Melbourne and the tips on swirling the milk without the cylinder attached for lattes, good move.
I trust i will get another ten years out of the Smeg, great little machine, love the Retro look.

Purchased in February 2021 for $513.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Peta & Paul E.

Peta & Paul E.Murray Region, NSW

Very good

published

I have really enjoyed this machine. It is super compact and easy to use. I agree that coffee doesn't come out blisteringly hot but it shouldn't be that hot anyway, otherwise, you burn the coffee. Only hang-up with it is that you can't do too many cups in a run without having to give it a cool down break. So works great for 1-2 people, can cope with 3-4 but no more than that. It has proven to be reliable after nearly 2 years use - one of the coffee baskets refused to work after a while but nothing else of note. I have never cleaned it that much and found that coffee continues to taste great (and I can be fussy).

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ang

AngByford

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Makes great coffee but doesn't like crowds

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Smeg ECF01 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hannah

HannahGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Horrible machine - danger hazard

published

Purchases this machine in April 2020. Contacted smeg in June and spoke with a Tom or Steve to complain about the milk frother not heating the milk up properly. He said he would get back to me, send me a video of how to heat the milk up which wasn’t required because I am aware of how to do this. I told him it still wasn’t working and then I never heard back from him. I emailed them a couple of times after that and never heard back. Now my machine is making weird electrical sounds and I have been too scared to use it. Clearly a waste of money.

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Dear Hannah,
Could you please email diamondservice@smeg.com.au with your name, address and contact number? Once they have this information, they will be in direct contact with you.
Regards
Smeg

Zoe

Zoe

  • 10 reviews
  • 16 likes

Burnt Coffee..(Machine And Pocket)!

published

Purchased what was meant to be a new,full priced Smeg coffee machine from TVSN and received a refurbished model !!..that also had a factory fault where it would not make a second coffee without switching off the entire machine at the wall! I complained to Smeg directly after TVSN lied to me in trying to justify this deceit of sending a refurbished item. Smeg replaced it with yet another machine that carried the same factory function fault. Don't let Smeg tell you that you are not using the machine correctly,this is a classic damage control tactic they use to deflect! (I have only been a barista for 20 odd years) Smeg coffee machine is rubbish and i paid over$650 for it! I would never buy from either Smeg or TVSN again.

Purchased for $650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
4 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Zoe
Zoe
Zoe
Zoe
Dan

DanSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the experience I was expecting

published

Purchased in August 2020 at qantas for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Dan
Dan

I forgot to mention that standard mugs/ coffee cups don't fit under the portafilter and the machine doesn't come with milk jug...

Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Samantha C.

Samantha C.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Once you get the hang of it, its great!

published

Purchased in July 2020 at David Jones for $420.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Joel

Joel

  • 12 reviews
  • 19 likes

Great long lasting little machine that maintains pressure and performance over the years

published

I really wanted to buy $5000 machine from one of the Italian premium brands but could never justify that cost for my home machine. After some research, I picked up the Smeg coffee machine along with some other matching appliances (kettle and toaster) a few years ago for a fraction of the price. It has been a brilliant low maintenance machine that makes a fantastic coffee. The machine is my home cafe now during covid and it performs incredibly well.

Purchased in November 2018.

Consistency
Milk Frothing
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Tina Miller

Tina MillerSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Best little compact coffee machine

published

Beautiful looking coffee machine and very simple to use.LOVE IT.I was after a machine to make my kitchen pop in that corner and a statement piece and this just looks so nice.Yes it was expensive compared to other brands but I wanted a brand name I trust and just love the look of it.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Smeg ECF01 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
viki

viki

  • 3 reviews

FINALLY HAD THIS ONE

published

SMEG, super beautiful products. but the price is higher, otherwise, we'd like to purchase the fridge.

Was on sale. price match with the store, cause online is cheaper.

Sadly the blue one was running out.

Purchased in March 2020 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Anna Leontieva

Anna LeontievaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I finally got it

published

I am really struggling with the right coffee grind. I know you are recommending Victoria oro grind but it’s not easy to achieve.
If I purchased Smeg grinder what would be the right number grind on it?
What discaler is better to use?

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Not worth the effort

published

The water holder was cracked and they taped it The milk frother does not get milk warm . You have to turn off and on between Cups. No go for me

Purchased in May 2020 at William Sonoma for $4.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Tracey king

Tracey kingSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Power switch got stuck and still stuck with no reply from appliances online

published

onlinevery unsatisfied
Contacted by email explaining what had gone wrong with machine, still no reply at all and switch still stuck and needs to be turned on by power point switch don't work

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for $427.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Megan

MeganSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolutely worth it

published

Had it for 1 year and absolutely love it. Use it 2-3 times a day at least in our household. No issues with it, still looks brand new and no colour fading. The machine makes really good coffee! It’s always consistent and the temperature is always perfect. Could not be happier with it! Cant recommend enough!

Purchased in April 2019 at David Jones for $280.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Candice v.

Candice v.The Mallee, VIC

expensive paper weight

published

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys Online store for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Smeg ECF01 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ken Farmer

Ken FarmerPerth, WA

Bad decision I made. Do nor buy this.

published

Confusing to operate. Buttons flashing. Difficult to make multiple serves. Steam wand is too short. Too much froth. Had a Breville and Sunbeam over the years and both of them were much better. Platform for the cups is too small, even espresso cups barely fit. The only thing going for it is it looks nice. A good decoration with poor performance.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $460.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Don't buy one. It will last forever because I prefer to have instant than deal with the temperamental design.

published

Have to turn it of and on between functions. Takes up to 20 min to make 1 coffee. Doesn't blow through the coffee unless it's really lose, the wand is to short. Can't seem to warm it up prior, so often pumps hot water everywhere. Completely ignors push button requests. All buttons dumbly fash so you don't even know if pushing the button has worked. Seriously I've had 3 $100 sspecials all heaps better and all got heaps of use.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Kate S.

Kate S.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This is THE best compact manual coffee machine I have ever had.

published

One year on and it still produces the best coffee! Simple to use, easy to clean.
Only needs descaling when the lights start flashing.
Combine it with decent coffee beans and you will no longer go out for coffee, ever.

Thank you SMEG!

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Melissa

MelissaMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Love my machine!

published

Love my Smeg coffee machine. It is needing to be descaled more often as it gets older, but we have had it for over 3 years now. So simply to use and looks great on the bench. Highly recommend.

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Hi Melissa,
Thanks for your review. We're glad you're enjoying your coffee machine.
Regards
Smeg

ROKU

ROKUWestern Australia

  • 16 reviews
  • 29 likes

Same as others out there !

published

Nothing special with this unit and like many others after a time the coffee starts to taste plain and even after regular cleaned, that you MUST do every few weeks, the taste just drops off. Coffee not hot enough either.

Purchased in January 2019 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Debbie S

Debbie Sasked

ECF01

If making 2 coffees and needing to heat 2 different types of milk, the machine produces steam for first, but when attempting to heat a 2nd jug the steam won't work. Sometimes this still happens when trying to heat 1st jug of milk?

1 answer
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Hi Debbie S,
Thanks for your enquiry. Please check that the steam button is lit and if it goes out, press it again and it will let the machine continue steaming.
Hope this helps
Regards
Smeg

Ktt

Kttasked

ECF01

Orange light flashing. I’ve now descaled four times with recommended descaler but still orange light flashing. I’ve done a factory reset. Still flashing! Ive had no joy in contacting customer services so grateful for any advice.

No answers
Beth

Bethasked

ECF01BLAU (Black)

Descaled my coffee machine a week ago orange light went off but now my machine will not work it's Asif the machine is still in descaling mode. I have tried switching it off and un plugging it but when I switch it on again the same happens not sure if this is repairable . Any ideas?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

Details

Compare all 7 Smeg ECF01
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $499.00$499.00$499.00$499.00
Pump Pressure15 bar15 bar15 bar15 bar
Input Power1,350 W1,350 W1,350 W1,350 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity1 L1 L1 L1 L
Colour / FinishPale BlueCreamRedBlack
Dimensions 303 x 149 x 330 mm303 x 149 x 330 mm303 x 149 x 330 mm303 x 149 x 330 mm
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNoneNoneNoneNone
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare all 7 Smeg ECF01

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.