??!
2 photos
Solahart L Series

Solahart L Series

2.6 from 62 reviews

See the Best Solar Water Heaters in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
7
3 star
5
2 star
7
1 star
28

Tom

Tom

  • 8 reviews

very good.

published

I live in Fremantle in Perth WA and installed 302L system three years ago (2016). The system worked very good. and only turn on the electrical buster few times (less than one week) every year. Recommend this product, but the price is higher than other companies. ~$4300.

Purchased in May 2016 at 99 Bikes WA, O'Conner for $4,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

ian irvin

ian irvinamphitheatre victoria

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

solahart hot warer system

published

I have had two solahart hot water in last thirty years first lasted twenty years the last one just over 10 years I would not advise fitting one any where south of the divide as you go further north would be better as south of divide not enough sun they use electricity at least 60% of the time and the last one started leaking water and was going to cost $4000 just to replace the tank besides having to replace thermostat 3 times have now fitted 60c gas continuous flow only cost $750 now I have perfect hot water all the time

Date PurchasedDec 2007
disappointing

disappointingBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

excellent product and service

published

Very happy my new solar hot water system. The service was excellent. They were prompt and completed the job of installing the new system within the time frame. They did extra work suchas to clean the roof and gutters and replace broken and damaged tiles and glue any loose tile . Excellent after service. I will recommend this company and product.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

TOTAL LACK OF SERVICE FROM DISTRIBUTOR

published

Have had problems with our hot water system since it was installed 9 years ago.. Still having to turn on booster to get hot water and distributor doesn't get back to you. Last time he came out was because I was in the office complaining and he just happened to walk in. Also when installed was not put on straight.

Date PurchasedNov 2008

mophead

mopheadVictoria

  • 5 reviews

Solarhart hot water system

published

This system is useless in winter - 2 short showers & a load of washing and the water is only lukewarm for the rest of the day. In summer there is no problem (we live in hot summers, cold winters). Plumbers have advised us that in winter the system needs to be turned on to day rate, which is high peak costs. The only alternative is to have a gas booster installed. We are installing a gas hot water system as it will be more economical.

Date PurchasedApr 2010

Love it. Best thing i ever did

published

I am a plumber by trade and have a lot to do with hot water. I have a 302 lcsd. There are 4 people in my family and i only have to boost 1 or 2 times a year. I saved $200 on my first bill. What i have found is when someone has a problem with there hot water 90% of the time its a valve mixing wrong or running water out. I think due to the sun that shines here we're crazy not to have one on every house.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

not good value when it only last for 8 years

published

had to fix tv antenna and found heater was leaking ,water quality is very good ,old heaters would last 8 to 10 years with poor water quality will not be fixing my solarhart over priced poor quality wish I had this review page 8 years ago.would not have put one in.

Date PurchasedAug 2010

mgb

mgb

  • 2 reviews

Beware of solahart hot water heaters not lasting

published

We had a roof solar hot water installed in about 2012 by solahart. After the instillation we found the hot water was not very hot (the booster is on 24/7) after 6 years the water heater started to leak from the tank. Solahart would not give any warranty so we spent over $2000 on a new tank
I do not recommend solahart

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Booster not boost so good.

published

I have a 302L Solahart 3 years old. Have an in house booster switch I use when necessary. I can boost any time of day for 2-3 hours and never gets hotter than Luke warm at best. My previous unit was a 25 year old Rheem and the booster worked fine. Just the 2 of us. 3 quick shrs a day. This unit does not perform as described in my booklet. PIPING HOT WATER ALL YEAR ROUND. I think not. I have been told the booster should be on continually and the internal thermostat should switch on and off as required. ?? Any thoughts on that ? I am in sunny Cairns so my system should be operating at it's maximum on sunny days one would think. Disappointing to say the least.
Cheers Greg

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Booster using too much power

published

Solahart with automatic booster our power bill has increased. Trying to eliminate other appliances by switching them off as advised by western power.
In a 2hr period this am the booser was switched ON and used 5kw power.
In the preceding 24hr period with the booster switched OFF there was only 5kw used.
Solahart people won't have it that the booster is using excessive power has to be something else.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

jimmyjim

jimmyjimMandurah

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rheem/Solarheart/Solar Edwards No Difference

published
Date PurchasedNov 2010

302L tank only lasted 10 years

published

Two commercial installations of the solarhart 302L. One tank just went, and the inspection on the other tank shows it is leaking and also needs to be replaced. These tanks should last longer than this! Looking online you can find many companies that offer 10 years warranty on the tank.

Date PurchasedJun 2007

Well below expectations

published

We had a solarhart hot water system installed 6 years ago and have just had the bad news that it is all rusted out and needs replacing. After expecting to get much more time this was extremely disappointing. The solarhart guys
gave us this news and then an invoice for $163 call out fee, with no help offered for the immediate leak problem.
We have lost faith in the solarhart brand and feel that Solarhart should review their call out fees. Would also advise everyone who has one to get it checked before the 5 year warranty runs out.

Date PurchasedFeb 2011

Johnsy123aus

Johnsy123ausZilzie

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful, I am very happy

published

Solahart Rockhampton, did a fantastic job I am very happy with the hot the hot water system , the way it was installed. No fuss they cleaned up well after them. I was a bit worried about how hot the water would be but its so great and as hot as the electric one I had before, big tick to Solahart Rockhampton. I am about to price a Solar PV electric system from them as well

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Poorly installed. Panels not strapped to the roof, only held in place with the copper water pipes

published

Solar hot water system stopped working after 12 months. I just rang solarhart and they don't have an out of hours emergency plumber. Had to wait untill 7am Monday to book a call out. I was hoping it would work for longer than 12 months before it failed. No hot water, for 3 days and still waiting for their plumber.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
AFK

AFKPeel, WA

  • 50 reviews

Effective water heater

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Solid, reliable system. Exactly what I wanted.

published

After almost six years my Solahart is still going strong. Water is always hot, and there is always plenty of it. I'm in northern California, and the Solahart system is perfect for this climate. My equipment is reliable, dependable, sturdy, and requires almost no maintenance on my part. Highly recommend.

Date PurchasedJun 2010

Jennifer Margaret

Jennifer MargaretBallina

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

It stopped working after 1 week

published

When my solar hot water system stopped working after just 6 years I was recommended by the plumber to purchase a whole new system from Solarhart - he told me they were the best. In good faith I followed his advice and did so. After just 1 week it stopped heating. I contacted the provider and was eventually told that even though the green light had gone out (which the manual said indicated it was not heating) it was heating!
Confused?! She was the business owners' wife and she said her husband would contact me later that day when he was available. That was 2 days ago and I'm still waiting.... To be continued. ( but I wish I had checked out this site before trusting the plumbers advice.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Going strong after 15 year maintenance

published

Bought a house with one of these on the roof. Electric boost wasn't working, Solarhart Sutherland replaced along with anode and pressure valve in a 5-year service (cost $450). Working like a dream. Boost kicks in, but only at night after using lots of hot water.
Some very negative reviews here, maybe manufacturing quality has dropped?

Date PurchasedJan 2001

DONT BUY SOLAHART / Rheem

published

Sadly, I poorly invested $6,000 dollars on a three panel solahart hotwater system thinking it would last longer than 6 years. However, the system has suffered a catastrophic premature failure. Leaking panels. Lucky for Solahart it just made it past warranty, with Solarhart giving me the two finger salute. Solahart is owned by Rheem so beware of this namesake product range too. I found Choice magazine a great place to start looking for your replacement system. Im thinking a straight electric hotwater system with a solar power panel system may be the best replacement. Main thing to take away from this is "buyer beware" of solahart / Rheem. You wont get any product or after sales support.

Date PurchasedOct 2010

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Andy C.

Andy C.asked

How to replace the electric element in a 1988 model 80ge tank?The element is not separable from the round inspection plate.

No answers

Michael D.

Michael D.asked

The panels look really dirty. What is the best way to clean them?

1 answer
barry power
barry power

can the cover on the tank be replaced if hail damage exists


SCOFFER

SCOFFERasked

Hi. Could you please advise me of the size of the 10 X heating element cover plate bolts (6 + 4 bolts). They are so badly rusted I am unable to tell the size, but guessing 13mm head and M8 thread and about 15mm thread length.

PS: Great forum

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Solahart representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.