??!
1 photo
Southern Phone Broadband
1.7 from 1,602 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.1 (568)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (476)
  • Customer Service
    1.8 (589)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (175) · No (298)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Dave Roden

Dave RodenCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Staggering incompetence, or deliberate rorting?

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
David

DavidPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I'm Leaving Southern Phone - Poor Service, Speed and Transparency

published

After months of me asking for tech help because of drop outs, slow and variable speed, I discovered it was their CVC. Cheaper to handle complaints than buy more CVC.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateAugust 2017
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Avi P.

Avi P.South East Queensland, QLD

Still getting charged after cancelling

published

Similar to other reviews, after cancelling the account, I still have been getting charged.
Their internet was terrible. Non-stop dropout.
And now that I changed to different NBN, I am still getting charged. My acc number is ACC240775

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateMarch 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Avi P.
Avi P.

I will wait for that.

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
nevets989

nevets989Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst customer service I've had in almost 20 years of using broadband

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2021
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
12 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
nevets989
nevets989
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Absolute Rubbish! They expect us to be okay with NO INTERNET FOR 2 MONTHS!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
3 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Ankit Agarwal
Ankit Agarwal
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Old Codger

Old Codger

  • 2 reviews

No dropouts and reliable service

published

Good service but have had some trouble will accounts, but these have been sorted without much trouble. The crew on computer chat line have been most helpful. Would recumbent for anyone looking for low price low volume service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

*** Will never use this service again ***

published

To start had no problems with the internet then after a couple of months the connection turned to crap the speed was slow always seems to cut out over night. When then put the speed up again it worked fine for a couple of months but yet again we started having issues. Ours came with 5G network and 4G I believe however the 4G stopped working altogether after a couple of months. Would rather pay extra to have a reliable service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateDecember 2019
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Graham W.

Graham W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Really poor customer service.

published

I purchased a 100mbs package on Christmas day. And was advised by email that they would be in touch within 48 hours (business days). After waiting till the 31st, I called to follow up. Waited over 30 mins on hold, then a further 20 or so on the phone with someone who in the end couldn't help. I then recieved a call from someone else advising that the 100mbps package wouldn't work in my area because it is fibre to the node. I said, that's fine, can you just amend the order. She said no, and wanted me to go back online and purchase a different package. Absolutely ridiculous. I'm really annoyed!

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Aaron

AaronCentral, SA

A sham of a company!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awful connection cuts out every 10 minutes

published

Internet keeps cutting out every 10 mins and has been for the past 3 months completely useless dont use this company have had troubles since I have changed over had no problems prior

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Rose G.

Rose G.

  • 16 reviews
  • 13 likes

ELDERLY mother has no landline 5 days now!! Waited in queue 1 hour 27 mins for technician, issue sti

published
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Harmen Hulsman

Harmen HulsmanMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Southern Phone provide a Mobile service, for my wife & I, which suits our requirements

published

Our two mobile phones are utilised for basic requirements, calls in & out and very little mobile Data.
Total cost per month approx $30. combined.Any queries are attended to immediately. Our landline/NBN thru Telstra.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateAugust 2009
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Will be reporting this company to the Better Business Bureau.

published

This company has left my 87 year old mother without her only line of communication for over a week and repeatedly missed their own deadlines for repairs. Their customer service have no clue and operate on a blatant policy of deterrence when it comes to fixing any problem. These people are crooks and I will be forwarding the details of my complaint onto BBB tomorrow. These guys are crooks.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
JesB

JesBGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

keeps on charging after contract termination

published

Have had multiple issues with this company over 2yrs. A month ago I requested for contract termination per 24-11-2020 and they keep charging my CC with 80AUD (incl 10 dollar late pay fee??).

If you consider them; just dont

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateSeptember 2018
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
5 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
JesB
JesB

Hi Shelby, thanks for your response. Yes it is a shame. Please find my customer nr attached. I hope we can resolve this switfly. ACC107041

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
chris clarke

chris clarkenowra

  • 4 reviews

Quick, professional

published

Have had no negative experiences over the years I have been with Southern Phone. Why blather on when all I can say is that it is a great AUSTRALIAN service with Australians to talk to when assistance is required

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
chris clarke
chris clarke

Not a prob, Darian - keep the standards high.

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone Broadband compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gary

Gary

  • 3 reviews
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Avoid this company

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
5 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Gary
Gary

My a/c number is ACC184271. I have filed a complaint with the telecommunications ombudsman.

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Gary,
I can see that one of our case managers are reviewing this for you. They will be in contact to confirm the closure of your account. *Darian

mckgnao

mckgnaoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Still being charged 5 months after disconnection

published
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateMarch 2016
11 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
mckgnao
mckgnao

Hello Darian, it's ACC114098. Thank you for your quick attention to this.

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Sunny

SunnyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Worst ever is Southern phone

published

Extremely poor service. I took it because it was cheaper under employee plan. Yeah I am employee and can't get it fixed. Honestly this is worst ever service !

Save yourself the headache and go with a decent company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Adequate SpeedsNo
Contract Type12-month contract
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Cisco_D

Cisco_DGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

DOnt risk it

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
3 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Cisco_D
Cisco_D

250810

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Worst company ever

published

Extremely poor and unreliable internet service. We complained multiple times and things did not improve.

When we tried to leave the customer service people tried to gaslight us. They have continuously lied to us. Customer service are extremely unhelpful. I was told it was my fault our internet was unreliable because we chose the basic plan.

We keep getting bills even after they have agreed to stop billing us.

Save yourself the headache and go with a decent company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
5 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
kellie a.
kellie a.
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Kellie,
If you do not respond here with your account number, I can not review your account and help fix this issue. I am more than happy to look into this and get it sorted but I can not do that unless you provide me with the necessary details.

Page 1 of 81

Questions & Answers

Heather

Heatherasked

Southern Phone Broadband

I thought my recent experience with SP was shocking( initial call was to report no internet , but immediately passed to their sales team ,why?, and pressurised into taking on a contract for 2 years , which because of being hard of hearing just could not understand most of the words that were being spoken in a fast mumble, agreed to being in a distressing situation having an extremely ill husband in Moruya hospital, where SP originally began years ago, Now of course sold out to AGL and apparently run on an oily rag, one can ring them and at leasrt 50 minutes later one may finally speak to a “helper” and I have done that many times over the past month, and what is really annoying to see an email pop up saying situation solved , and it hasn’t, one is still at odds with them, have decided to bring this up at AGLs meeting this week being a loyal shareholder, but not for much longer, and hopefully this might make it into the “AUSTRALIAN” business section for everyone to see what has happened to this once great service. Also their billing service is also woeful, full of mistakes, changed my account number without even the courtesy of a email advising this procedure, the list goes on and on, and I refuse to be locked into a 2 year contract
Healthier.

6 answers
Glenda S.
Glenda S.

I would not have a clue what to do I have found then to be very helpful

Aaron Hayes
Aaron Hayes

yes their service is a bit spotty, sometimes they are falling over themselves to help and other times useless. Heather I also am hard of hearing and hate doing business over the phone because I always get it wrong and end up saying yes sir yes sir three bags full even when I have no idea what they just said. Fortunately most of the operators I have spoken with so far have had broad Aussie accents but maybe I have just been lucky.
I also contacted them to complain about 12 hour internet outages (see my post elsewhere in this review page) but i just got the usual "we're sorry". When I made a positive suggestion that they have somebody on duty overnight to post messages about outages on their phone answering service and website they did not want to hear about that. Basically Southern Phone is dead to the world from 8pm to 8am and it's impossible to find out any information about overnight outages. All I want to know is:
1. Is it only my place or my street / my area or is it a widespread blackout?
2. Is it going to be off for a short time or a long time so I can make forward plans accordingly?
Not blaming them for the outages which are usually NBN's fault, just blaming them for the poor communication. Then they wonder why there are 200 people in the phone queue which could have been avoided by posting an update on their website. But I guess they don't want to advertise their outages.
And yes I also complained about their INDEFENSIBLE act of changing account numbers and cancelling everybody's online account access (passwords just suddenly didn't work any more, without notice) and once again making unnecessary work for themselves by having a gazillion customers in the phone queue to ask the same question "why am I locked out of my online account access?"
Either they are clueless or they don't give a rat's about customer communication.

Heather
Heather

Your experience sounds exactly like mine Aaron, direct debit ,which had been going seamlessly for nearly 4 years, stopped ,faced with a bill with a different account number, I dismissed it and waited for the proper bill to appear in my email column, and a month later the next one came with a late payment added on, so on the phone to find out what was going on, but was repeatedly informed just pay up!, after much probing was told there had been a bit of a “glitz” in the new system ,no apology regarding their failure to inform their Customers of this fact, also was told I would have to ring their billing dept to restart direct debit again, which Idid not do being so disgruntled over this affair, and guess what , they started taking my payments again direct from my card! Words actually fail me at how this business is run,I was without the internet for nearly 3 weeks simply due to the fact my order for the new Modem, which they really pushed at me wasn’t ordered as promised, so made the delay much longer, can’t help wondering if these people are on bonuses for selling NBN to customers just fed up with holding on and on when there are so many other things one should be doing, and we accept anything just to get these necessary services back.I then lost my landline as well, went through the usual spell re costs if it was my phone, which it wasn’t , not that SP investigated though, but spent $150 buying a new set to be sure, so am determined to have a shot at AGL ‘s meeting this week, as I’m so irritated with SP, Heather.

Leone V.

Leone V.asked

Southern Phone Broadband

Long term customer ACC134847
No long distance call possible without constant dropping out of connection.
Inability to connect to Netflix , no internet provision.
Can only say the availability & speed is grossly substandard.
It is impossible to phone SP, without constant interruptions, we have been trying for months.
Please contact either me or my husband.
Leone Vrieling.

2 answers
unhappy
unhappy

If your not on contract then leave to another provider, southern phones is a nightmare to deal with. If your on contract the only way these people will do the right thing is if you make a complaint to the TELECUMUNICATIONS ombardson , it easy will only take a few minutes, and they are legally obliged to deal with the issue, good luck southern phones is the Worst Telco in Australia

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Leone,
It is upsetting to read that you have had to go through this with your service. Especially in times like these when we are relying on our service to keep in contact with our loved ones.
Have you completed a power cycle with your equipment? This is turning the modem off at the wall for about 10 minutes, then turning the connection back on. This often refreshes your connection and will allow the service to stabilise and work better. *Darian

Andrew

Andrewasked

Southern Phone Broadband

When can I expect a reply to my letter to David Joss which I sent a few months ago. I rang to check if perhaps he had died or left the organisation but the lady said no, he is still there. She said she would remind him but of course nothing has happened. I seem to recall there were around 17 issues I raised in my email to David. Just not good enough, and when the word gets around (which I am doing my best to spread) then customers will leave in droves and Southernphone will be a thing of the past. I have never heard of a company that relies totally on customers but which has a philosophy of treating customers like objects floating around a sewer. Andrew Frellek, Trevallyn, Launceston.

3 answers
highcountry
highcountry

join the un happy club, I was not treated treated well either

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Andrew,
Thanks for reaching out. I am sorry to hear that you have not received a response to your letter. Are you able to respond to my private message with your account details so I may look into this for you?

Andrew
Andrew

HI,
I have replied to Yvette so you could contact her if you want my details. Andrew

Get an answer from our members and Southern Phone representatives

Details

Compare all 7 Southern Phone Broadband
CategoryInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service Providers
Standard Monthly Price A$80.00A$60.00A$70.00
Service TypeADSLMobile BroadbandNBNNBN
Packages AvailableBundle and StandaloneBundle and StandaloneStandaloneStandalone
ContractMonthlyMonthlyMonthlyMonthly
Data AllowanceUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
NBN Speed Tier 12/150/20
Max Download Speed 12 Mbps50 Mbps
Max Upload Speed 1 Mbps20 Mbps
Compare all 7 Southern Phone Broadband

Visit official website

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(552)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(431)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,519)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,265)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(66)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(59)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(389)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.