??!
1 photo
Sterling Homes

Sterling Homes

3.0 from 66 reviews

See the Best Home Builders in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
25
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
12
1 star
21

  • Verified customer

Sterling Experience!

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

Ren  Linda

Ren LindaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

10th build & still smiling

published

10th build with sterling homes .
fantastic & functional house designing from Peter Finocchio all 10 homes.
Peter really knows how to design houses & the positioning of window, doors ,rooms that makes a great flowing home .
Our last build was managed well
workmanship/quality A1
final cost was spot on, as Peters estimates on the contract were perfect
Thanks Peter will see you for the 11th build soon

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateAugust 2019
See all answers
  • Verified customer

Great work and Excellent Consultant

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateOctober 2018
See all answers
  • Verified customer

Another Amazing Job

published

Third time building with Sterling Homes and dealing with Anthony Cristescu from the Parafield Gardens display homes and I couldn't be happier. Anthony continued to understand what we wanted for our home and constantly provided suggestions for us. He continued to keep us informed throughout the entire process and was just generally lovely to work with! Thanks again team, greatly appreciated.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
See all answers

Quintin

QuintinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

Sales and marketing is excellent... TBC

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Build StageMid-Construction
See all answers

Teresa

TeresaAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Happy Sterling Homes Customer

published
Build StagePost-Construction

Joe

JoeAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Very helpful and great advice

published

My first property development was made so easy with the assistance of Anthony cristescu. He assisted me with things that were beyond his duty of work. from helping me with knockdown until the completion. i really appreciate the effort and care taken to make sure everything went to plan. will definately get him to build for me again on the next development.

Build StagePost-Construction

  • Verified customer

Great help, very accomodating and quick to reply to any emails

published

Planning with John Lea was excellent as we were first home builders john was very accomodating and helped us through the whole process

Stirling were happy and very quick to reply to any questions that we had during the build process which was a lot.

Was a couple minor paint touch ups needed before handover but he overall quality was outstanding.

Construction End DateSep 2018
  • Verified customer

Maintenance issue poorly managed and design issue not resolved

published
Construction End DateAug 2018
Gemma

Gemmaadelaide

  • Verified customer

Wonderful Outcome

published

Sterling homes didn’t just deliver a house but a home. From the initial consultation with Anthony Cristescu at the Parafield Gardens display home until the final handover we had no worries or concerns. A massive thank you to Anthony our building consultant and Casey from customer service who were very helpful and transparent with us. Without the guidance and support this process would’ve been a different story. This house is amazing and very high level of finishing beyond our expectations. I will definitely be recommending Anthony and Sterling homes!

Construction End DateMar 2018

Dan A

Dan A

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Very poor workmanship and no pride in attention to detail.

published
Construction End DateMar 2018

  • Verified customer

First House, First Build, Couldn't Be Happier

published
Construction End DateMar 2018

  • Verified customer

really happy

published
Construction End DateJan 2018

Paul B

Paul B

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Extremely Happy

published

The Quality and Workmanship was excellent.
Our Supervisor Tom gave us a stress free build.
Sterlings customer service was great and everything was explained in detail, and
any problems we had were fixed. We are an older couple and were concerned at building a new
home at this stage of our life, but Sterling homes made it a great experience.

Construction End DateDec 2017
Jas

JasAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Above and beyond

published
Construction End DateFeb 2018
Stephen

StephenAdelaide

  • Verified customer

A++

published
Construction End DateOct 2017

  • Verified customer

Great Quality & Quick Build

published
Construction End DateAug 2017

Rio

RioAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Thumbs up

published

Nobody said building a house is easy but we are lucky to made the right decision to go with Sterling Homes. Everyone was very helpful and professional specially Anthony Cristescu (Parafield Garden Display Home) who is always on top when things needs to be done. He helped us get through the whole process with ease and gave suggestions that will suit our requirements. Given a chance, will built with Sterling Homes again with no hesitation.

Construction End DateApr 2017

Maddy

MaddyAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

SLOW SLOW SLOW!

published
Construction End DateJan 2018

  • Verified customer

Downsizing for empty nesters

published
Construction End DateJul 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Shay O

Shay Oasked

Hi guys, we built with Sterling 3 years ago, moved in 2 years ago. The water pressure in our ensuite shower is virtually nothing but pressure in the main bathroom shower is great. Im guessing its a head or handle flow problem. Would Sterling cover this issue since the house is only 3 years old or do i have to call a plumber and cover the cost of the fix myself?

1 answer
David and Chris
David and Chris

Sorry, I don’t really know. Maybe try Sterling and see what they say?


Worry1

Worry1asked

Hi did anyone built a home with Stirling homes in Gympie? , and what was your experience?

4 answers
Kate Mawson
Kate Mawson

Did you end up building with them? We are considering them for our build too.

Worry1
Worry1

Hi we end up building with them biggest regret in our life . They under quote you and also sweet talk you to hide their lies, they told us between 6 &8 weeks before they start building it been 12 weeks since we settled our land and they stil say waiting on council approval to me that is a lot off poo
I wil never build with them again even if they pay me to and neither recommend them

Nothaapyeither
Nothaapyeither

I'm sorry to say we engaged Stirling Homes Queensland to build our home and it has also been a nightmare. They promote that it's Stirling with an "I" as obviously the other Sterling Homes in Adelaide seems to get a lot of bad reviews but they both sound about the same. Sweet talk and cheap price at the front end and nothing but lies and incompetence once you are signed up and they have a hefty deposit and you have nothing much to show for it. I wish we had never heard of them. How they continue to do business is because people like me didn't look into them properly. A mistake I will never make again and probably the best advice I can give a potential owner is do your research- check the QBCC website, google them, ask for referrals which are not by staff members with an alternate surname, and go on to sites like this and ask others about their experience. If I'd done those things I would have run a mile! I think product review needs to create a seperate listing for Stirling with an 'I' (for Incompetence) - so people can share their experience and not get caught out like I did.


Big G

Big Gasked

What can be done about the apparent fraud being committed by sterling homes. There appears a lot of the same type of complaints appearing on a regular basis.
...... Finding rock on site despite no indication on soil reports, this is interesting given that in many cases they have established the blocks and filled the block?
...... Need for more cable to meter box and hole, This is an obvious rort when they set the block and house position on block and why does it seem the same lengths are appearing in all cases?

Does anyone else find these types of variances odd?

5 answers
Craig
Craig

Yes that sounds like sterling homes to me and glad I am not alone.
I believe that is how they make their money.
At first the house and land build price is good better than other builders but I feel when all the extras are added to your account it brings the build price up on par with other builders and maybe even slightly higher.
After all my estate was completely developed by sterling yes they brought the fill they planned the house positions they planned it all.
They will tell you Actium developments isn't part of sterling homes but if you ring the developers office who would believe the receptionist at Sterling homes answered your call.

Big G
Big G

Just an update, Sterling where asking for extra cable above their 10 m allowance, measured from pit to house, 4.8m ground to box 2m , allow .5 m down and .5m up for below ground component. That totals 7.8m well less than the 10m allowance, could this be classed as an attempt to obtain extra money by false pretences?

touchstone64
touchstone64

Hello Everyone, I applied to work for Sterling Homes as a sales consultant. Whilst I have not heard back from them yet, I did have concerns about most of the comments here that were all similar to each other, as in the negative comments about people's experiences. Whilst I can understand the frustration of most of the comments on this site and can relate to all of them as I have built myself (not with Sterling Homes though). On the flip side of most of these comments, I did realize there are only 43 comments/complaints about Sterling Homes in this forum. Most of them were over a 4-5 year period. I feel terrible for all the people that had a bad experience Sterling Homes as it should not be this way when building a home. But you have to ask yourself as I have done after reading all the comments, this is a company that builds 800 plus homes per year. Maybe I will not hear back from them as most of you have said LOL (said with tongue in cheek). However, if I do, I hope I can turn things around for the better. One thing is true though, a building company can be let down or even destroyed if it is only as good as it's tradesmen. Cheers


Get an answer from our members and Sterling Homes representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.