??!
4 photos
Stihl FS 45 C-E

Stihl FS 45 C-E

2.6 from 14 reviews

Reviews

2.6

14 reviews
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Previous
Next
Alan Coles

Alan ColesTimaru

  • 2 reviews

It is good

published

Easy to start if you follow instuctions, choke and prime, make sure primer bubble is completly full of fuel. My one starts after 2-3 pulls on starter One fault is the line needs to be heavier. As to line not feeding out, make sure you hit line feed button with full revs, I was told by dealer to do it at idle, would not work, service agent said use high revs, no more problems Meets my needs.

Purchased for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Absolute rubbish

published

Worst Stihl product i ever had, hard to start keeps stalling, line wont feed, been no good since day 1. Stihl supplier at 239a beach st frankston wont do anything except to blame the user when they know it has problems keep away.

Purchased in June 2019 at Stihl Dealer for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Ana P.

Ana P.Sydney, NSW

Could be perfect

published

Takes s 3 to 4 strokes to start off but once it starts its great till you need to change the line. It doesnt self feed alwais and you have to take the whole thing out to feed manually.

Purchased in July 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Can't give it away

published

Runs well. Starts with 3 or 4 pulls. However the line feed is the biggest piece of junk anyone has put on this earth. It will NOT self feed and you have to pull head apart every time. It went back to,dealer and he can't figure it out either. Don't waist your money buy another brand. If I could I would give a negitve rating of -5.

Purchased in October 2019 at Gympie for A$230.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Love to fish

Love to fishGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable

published

I have had my FS45 easy start for about 13 years and its never given me any problems. Its mainly used around the house every week and it starts fine all the time same as my shrill blower. Would definitely by another one

Purchased in June 2006 at Sthill shop Thomastown .

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Ed Douglass

Ed DouglassIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Follow the suppliers directions

published

Have had Stihls since 1977..Firstly a brush cutter which my daughter still uses ..Two chainsaws..still going..Ten years ago I purchased an FS 45 C..For home use...Following the suppliers advice as to how to start it ...pull..prime.. .choke .and off it goes ..Has never missed a beat in all this time ..Just a new spark plug every year...if in doubt read the book . Ed Douglass

Purchased in February 1999 at Wrights Chainsaws Nowra.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

Absolute piece of junk

published

Only had this for under 6 months, started well the first couple times, now you break a sweat trying to get it started...10 minutes later your heading for the fridge to crack the top of one. Goes through a ton of line an you gotta give it the berries to get through minimal grass.. Never again will I buy a stihl product.

Purchased in September 2018.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Richard Neville

Richard NevillePerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Disappointed

published

This whipper snipper is high revving and is very temperamental to start. It was purchased to replace my previous Stihl wipper snipper which I had had for many years but this one doesn't stack up to it's predecessor. It is used for my residential front and back garden and just meets my needs. I would hate to be using it in a large area.

Purchased in November 2017 at Beechboro Mowers for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Sakurashinmachi

SakurashinmachiMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Not the best

published

Purchased in June 2007.

Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 45 C-E compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Gave me a heart attack trying to start it

published

Had near heart attack twice trying to start it, vomited, cold sweat and palpitation. I found out later that its the purity of oil used that affects how easy or difficult it is to start it. I bought their Motomix and it started easily enough. This is a powerful cutter but heavy after using it for 10 minutes. It's also very loud and it eats the line very quickly.

Date PurchasedJul 2011
MPM

MPMMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Descent machine for the price

published

Easy to start and runs consistently
Quick and easy to refill the head with line
I would recommend watching the you tube instructional for this
Used for small and medium sized jobs with no issues at all after more than 2 years of regular use on 5 properties ranging in size from a regular residential block and up to a half acre

Date PurchasedOct 2015
DBB

DBB

  • 3 reviews

No problem in 4 years

published

Bought new 4 years ago. Never had any problems even cutting far north Qld grass! Pushes 2.4mm line no problems at all. Used 2.7mm (probably being a bit hard on it) and worked ok with revs up. Always used Stihl ultra 2 stroke oil and 98 octane fuel (with ultra you’ve got a fuel stabiliser do keeps fresh in tank). Only changed spark plug and air filter once. Follow manual for starting and you won’t have a problem.

Date PurchasedApr 2013
Galaxy

GalaxySydney

  • 6 reviews

I'm better off with a cheapie

published
shaz55

shaz55DUBBO

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

A nightmare - never again

published
See all Stihl FS 45 / FS 45R / FS 45 C-E reviews

Questions & Answers

Diana R.

Diana R.asked

FS 45 C-E

What is the difference of the fs45 and the fs45c?

1 answer
Alan Coles
Alan Coles

Easy start system on fs45c, no need to pull heaps of cord, just short pulls on starting cord, more gentle recoil on spring in recoil starter. If you follow instructions on starting it is very easy

Steve

Steveasked

FS 45 C-E

What size cord to use on a fs45c ?

1 answer
Jimbo
Jimbo

Bunnings sells cords cheap, take your one down and buy

Selina H

Selina Hasked

FS 45 C-E

Would like to know correct draining of fuel out of this Stihl 45c so can put fresh fuel in due to its old fuel sitting there for long time in the plastic fuel container part and want to give everything a good clean is there a video on how to do it please as want to know I’m doing it right?

2 answers

I am not sure mate I have never had to drain the tank as mine is always getting used so the fuel doesn’t get a chance to get stale but I am certain if you use dr. Google you find the best way

Jimbo
Jimbo

Juts turn it upside down and tip it out. Make sure you pump the primer many times to clear the carb system out. Then fill with fresh fuel and make sure you put some stabil fuel preservative in the new mix as well as 2 stroke oil to clear out the system.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.