?
? !
1 photo
Stihl FS 55 R-CE

Stihl FS 55 R-CE

3.0 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (7)
  • Safety
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Marco

MarcoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Brilliant quality product

published

Very easy to start up (read manual)People that have issues I think is user error. Very powerful and easy to use, not too heavy and it's a 2 stroke so it's gonna make some noise but I love it. Modulates throttle well and auto feed cord is a god sent! Worth every cent highly recommend this to anyone.

Purchased in March 2021 for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bobb09

Bobb09Gippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cannot get consistent performance out of this machine.

published

Purchased machine just over 12 months ago after using a Kawasaki-powered Spear & Jackson for 35 trouble-free years. I find this machine noisy, vibration prone and engine speed is inconsistent and hard to regulate. I had it serviced once, after telling the vendor my problem, they suggested my fuel was too old/too dirty etc. - I have been running 2-strokes for 55 years! I find I need to limit my brush-cutting to under 40 min. these symptoms become worse thereafter and the machine is virtually unusable.

Purchased in December 2019 at Marriots for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Can’t see what people are complaining about. This works beautifully.

published

Purchased at Stihl Dealer.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jacko

JackoSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

my gut told me to go with husqvarna, instead I went stihl. I wish I went with the husqvarna.

published

Purchased in November 2016 at Stihl Dealer for $378.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very difficult to start

published

This product is good if it starts. Very difficult to start even in warm weather. I am not at all satisfied with this product. Think twice before you buy. It is two stroke engine.

Purchased in May 2016 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike, NW Sydney

Mike, NW SydneySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Upgrade made the grade

published

This product has developed nicely in the 12 years since I’ve been running Stihl brush cutters from H&G. The base model with the bent shaft was excellent with basic maintenance, infrequently. I replaced that with this model recently. The straight shaft is easier to use. It costs a little more than bent shaft model because of the components required, (design related).
Straight shaft benefit is in getting the angle to use as an edge trimmer. Flip it over and the angle is right. A bent shaft needs to be held at an awkward angle for edge trimming duty. The auto-feed line function has improved as well (both systems work well).

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johnno

JohnnoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machines!

published

I'm not sure why so many negatives about this snipper. I am a commercial operator and I give these machines an absolute caning, with little or no servicing and I have two of these. Cuts well, I use only still 2.4mm line without any issues. Do take a little bit to start sometimes, harder if have been heated by use often, but nothing major. Does struggled well with initial throttling after starting, but keeps going after persistence. Auto line feed is a godsend for me as a commercial operator and it works well most of time, besides when it gets a little tangled. Never want to go back to the dreaded bump feed heads....paid $350.00 each for my two fs55's and worth every cent for the money they've earnt me in my business....

Purchased in March 2018 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
russy1

russy1Blayney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

ok for the first 3 years but no good for long term heavy duty work

published

Was ok for the early years that i had it but damaged the conrod after 3.5 years not the right machine for a big yard of nearly 2 acres. Dealer service has always been top quality. Have replaced it with an 85 so far so good a lot better for heavy duty work

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
McMatty523

McMatty523Bacchus Marsh

Couldn’t be happier

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maurice

Maurice

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Most problematic machine i've encountered

published
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

A good hard machine

published

If you replace the auto line head properly it lasts for ages, and that’s using the same stihl string it came with. No parts necessary, just fuel and oil.
It is hard to start till you work out how. (Heads up, turn it on, set the throttle with the lock, make sure you have choke on. Pump the primer 3-5 times. “Look for fuel in the bulb”, then crank it till it first fires, turn off choke, then a couple more cranks it will spit into action. Mine never fails after I worked out what it wanted to start.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Don’t buy this what ever you do!!

published

I have had nothing but problems with this machine, it’s hard to start, line feeder is terrible.
Vibrates like hell (even though I’ve had it serviced by a Stihl dealer) stay clear of this product !! I paid $475 in 2016 thinking I’m buying a premium product, then in 2017 Stihl dropped the price to $370 !!! Why ??? Take a guess ?? I will never buy a Stihl product again....

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Don’t waste your money!

published

Avoid this machine! It is dreadful, truely dreadful. After owning it for 1 day I am taking it back mainly due to:
- being extremely difficult to start and when it does start it may just cut out as soon as you touch the throttle
- cuts out at random intervals and then will not start again
- feeder head chews through cord excessively

Ultimately I bought this as my first stihl producers and the product is unusable which is disappointing. I would never buy a stihl product again due to this experience.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Doug Coleman

Doug ColemanHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Frustrating Auto Feed

published

If I had of known about how poor the auto feed works I would not have purchased this unit. After a few hours use I had used all the cord. I could not believe it. My older Ryobi with the bump feed would last for ages. I replaced it with an after market bump feed head ($49) and it works well....so far. I should have bought a different brand that came with the bump feed head. I've had Stihl chainsaws (pre Chinese) and other Stihl products (Family business were agents years ago) and have been more than happy but this unit has underwhelmed me.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

If it works for me, it will work for anyone

published

I am a bad gardener. I thrash all my tools until they fall apart. This is still going well after years of heavy use and no maintenance. This is the first petrol trimmer I have owned. Even in a Canberra winter, it starts OK. Recommended for small to medium gardens.

Date PurchasedSept 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Stihl FS 55 R-CE compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

ive got one my self and ive never had a problem since

published

iam happy with the cutting work of the machine its great and powerfull too yes i find it easy to maintain every 12 months and i do the maintance on it myself i look after it well and keep it clean aswell and the fuel that i use is moto mix

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Please think twice before you buy.

published

Very hard to start. If you use weekend to weekend, then it will take 30 or so minutes of back breaking effort to start. I do not recommend this product. It may be good for professionals but not for household use. Do not listen to sales people and others as after two three years, there won't be any service.

Date PurchasedMar 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bradj

BradjHunter Region, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Worst one I have ever owned.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Scotty

ScottyCairns Qld

Very disappointed!!!!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Diggz24

Diggz24Stittsville

Do not buy STIHL

published

Bought a new trimmer. A week later it wouldn't run. Long story short I've brought in to 3 different places and had to pay out of pocket not covered under warranty because they don't know what's wrong each time and stihl has a policy not to replace units that don't work, what a joke.
Almost $300 for useless junk. If I can even save one person from making the same mistake I made then I'm glad to help. Buy almost any other brand guaranteed you'll get better customer service. NEVER AGAIN.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE reviews

Questions & Answers

Carol s

Carol sasked

FS 55 R-CE

Mine is easy to start only 6 months old but vibrates - why - seems unbalanced! How can I fix it ???

2 answers
Jacko
Jacko

I probably had a lemon. 2 stroke always vibrates. That's why I bought a 4 stroke now

Carol s
Carol s

Thanks for your message - I think because I’m an older woman I was a sitting duck for the sales person - it’s light to handle and does start easy but it should be better!!

Greg

Gregasked

FS 55 R-CE

How do fix a Stihl FS 55RC whipper snipper that has has too much oil put into the fuel ?

No answers
mechanic

mechanicasked

FS 55 R-CE

Could anybody tell me where I can download a full workshop repair manual for a stihl fs55rc? thanks.

1 answer
acerace
acerace

Sorry no ,try Google!!!or ring Stihl or throw it in the BIN

See all Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE questions

Get an answer from our members

Stihl FS 55 R-CE

Details

Compare both Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE
CategoryPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $349.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeStraight
Power SourcePetrol
Engine Type2-Stroke
Engine Displacement27.2 cc
Cutting Head TypeLine
FeaturesEasy / Quick Start
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Compare both Stihl FS 55 C-E / FS 55 R-CE

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.