??!
8 photos
Subaru Forester S3

Subaru Forester S3 (2008-2012)

4.0 from 91 reviews · View Details

Reviews

4.0

91 reviews
5
(45)
4
(24)
3
(10)
2
(4)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    5.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
Previous
Next
Gajic

GajicPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

2.0D Premium by name and nature

published

Purchased in May 2011 for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Pierre

PierreShellharbour NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 13 likes

S Edition for the money

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kangaroo3d

Kangaroo3dHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

$170 diagnosis fee after Takata Air Bag Recall

published

Purchased in July 2014.

Year2011
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S3 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
levin

levinSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Reliable and maintainable family car

published

Bought it when it was 7 years old.
We used it for our family and it is always reliable.
We drove it across states, went to the snowy mountain. Never had a problem.

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Taffy

TaffyDubbo

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best in its class

published

After owning a 2002 sf5 gt forester it was time for something bigger. Kids were starting to feel abit cramped. Luckily along comes the SH . Size wise it is as amazing with plenty of room for 5 adults. But after having a gt and being able to boost down the highway I needed an xt. With the 2.5l turbo out of a wrx (gt had a WRX motor with different heads and turbo) wow was I surprised when I put my foot down. Plant of power. A car that makes you smile everytime you get in. Was lucky to get the premium edition so full leather. Sun roof and sat navigation. For only $10000 with moderate is on the clock if this is the size car your after take one for a drive. I promise you wont be disappointed

BadgeXT Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD

Doesn't live up to the hype!

published
BadgeXS Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 1998
Kat

KatMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect car

published

I brought this car in 2014 and i have been in love with it ever since. its a very fun and reliable car to drive. it is the perfect size and is very stable on the road in all road and weather conditions. I mostly use the car to commute to and from work in the city but have also been very happy using to to go on road trips up the coast in the summer months. I find this car to be very reliable and fuel efficient and would recommend a Subaru Forester to anyone :)

BadgeXS
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Sam

SamMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Fantastic all rounder car

published

This is my 3rd subaru forester. I originally purchased an old SF5 as a rounaround car and fell in love with it. Since then I've upgraded to a SG9 and now a SH9 because I can't fault them.
They can handle soft off-road and quite comfortable on the highways too. Lots of legroom in front and back even with child seat.

BadgeXT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Gone_to_the_beach

Gone_to_the_beachSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

One of the most comfortable drives

published

Very comfortable car to drive - visibility, headroom, legroom all great. A little too responsive sometimes and expected the AWD to feel more capable but it struggles up our steep drive. Good clearance for dirt road drives though. All round very pleased with this car and felt we got the best choice.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S3 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emily

Emily

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it.

published

Great car. Managed to take my 2008 forester on the beach, it went well for an AWD! Big interior, lovely style and quite cheap for uptake. Very good car and glad I invested in it!
The best part is how the car drives in wet weather! Never slides, and is very safe. Lots of air bags too.

Badge2.0D
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Shayno

ShaynoMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Best car I've owned

published
BadgeXS
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
russy1

russy1Blayney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

a brilliant motor vehicle

published

A brilliant car purchased it in October 2015 with 169,000 km on the clock and now has nearly 250,000 km on the clock. Only non maintenance item that has needed to be replaced is the clutch at 210,000 km and it was the original clutch that was replaced. I have found servicing to be very reasonable since owning it and managed to have the timing belt done for less than $800 just recently. Mind you i am not using the dealer for servicing as you don't get the same service as you would from an independent mechanic

Badgex ski fx
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2015
4 comments
russy1
russy1

I still have this car. Just reached 300,000 km and still going strong

russy1
russy1
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Blanche R.

Blanche R.Perth

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Love the Forester

published

Fantastic city and country car - we regularly take it camping. Havent tried it properly off road but is very comfortable on unsealed roads. Love the pilot seat, easy handling and steering. Lots of legroom in the back, even for tall family members. Very solid build and feel compared to some of the new SUVs available.

Badge2.5i
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
FranJ

FranJCanberra

Completely let down

published
Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Len

LenSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome Car

published

This is a great car that has slowly existed the wagon market and entered the SUV market. It's gotten larger but just as reliable as before. It's a great family car and has plenty of storage space for when you need to move stuff. It's very versatile and is good value for money

BadgeXS
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S3 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
geoff

geoffSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A car for all seasons.

published

Slightly miffed that they didn't have an auto on hand, but this car pulls like a tractor. Awesome torque, very good fuel economy, and traction control in mud and snow. A bit disappointed with the false floor over the spare wheel; nothing but gravity keeps it closed. Over bumps and humps my extra equipment tends to jump about. I gave up dealer servicing due to apparent extreme costs of filters. Would certainly purchase another one.

Badge2.0D Premium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Nick

NickCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very reliable.vehicle

published
BadgeX
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Kiwigirl

KiwigirlPerth

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Good on Pick up

published

I find the car handles well even in the wet, has very little road noise.
the interior is stream lined and comfortable, the glove box could be a little bigger. Would be good if it could have a usb port in the back
Also for the reserving camera a beep noise would also be useful.

BadgeS-Edition
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
EileenForrest

EileenForrestMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

amazing vehicle

published

One of the most reliable vehicles, i have always owned a subaru the performance of the vehicle and reliability of the car is next to none. Petrol and maintenance on this vehicle is 10/10 for a turbo engine the fuel holds it value, luxury at its finest. If you are considering any vehicle that you dont need to spend thousands on and it will last forever this is the car for you

BadgeS-Edition
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Kathryn Byrne

Kathryn ByrneSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Subaru = reliable, poweful 4 cyl

published
BadgeXS Luxury
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011
Page 1 of 5
See all Subaru Forester reviews

Questions & Answers

Jules

Julesasked

Forester S3 (2008-2012)

What's involved with the 200,000 service and how much?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Jules, We can double check that for you if you'd like to private message us your VIN or rego details on Facebook or email us at feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

Sophie M.

Sophie M.asked

Forester S3 (2008-2012)

Hey.

Im looking into buying a 2010 Subaru Forester MY10 2.0D 6 Speed Manual Wagon. It has 285,000 kms on the clock though. Turbo diesel model. Has anyone had any issues with this model? Or has one with similar kms'? Has a lot of km's and thats my only con to the car really! Just trying to see if its worth it or not.

4 answers
Marco Niere
Marco Niere

That’s a lot of kms and turbos can be expensive to repair and replace. Unless u get the car for next to nothing I wouldnt buy it, it’s a big risk

Marco Niere
Marco Niere

Also I would suggest that such high KMS would mean the engine would be very old and tired and towards the end of its life, car had probably been thrashed.Definitely worth paying a bit more and get one with lower KMS AND NON TURBO! I wouldn’t pay more than $1000 for it

Clark Kent
Clark Kent

If highway kms and well serviced, (and the DPF could be a pain on these ( Diesel particulate filter))and if a low price could be plenty of life left. Diesel buyers are typically not hoons, tend to look after their cars, generally. I have seen cars with 200,000 kms that were in incredible condition. Get a independent mechanical inspection, peruse Forester owner forums, then decide.

Holly21

Holly21asked

Forester S3 (2008-2012)

Hi

I am considering buying a 2012 XT. Does anyone have this model and has 3 child booster seats in the back row? I currently have a 2013 Kia Rondo, but feel let down by many things. It claims you can fit 3 across no worries, which I guess is true. However with booster seats, there is very little room to plug in the seatbelts. I have to do it (and it hurts my hand every time) for my girls as they can't do it on their own. My eldest kept accidentally unbuckling the middle booster seat because she cannot see the buckles when she reaches in.

Can anyone help?

1 answer
sarah
sarah

Hi,
I don't know as i've never tried it but I do know there is quite a lot of leg room and space in the rear seating area which is why we bought this model as we had teenage boys. The only way to be sure is to measure the amount of space three booster seats take up and take a tape measure with you when you look at one to compare if it is big enough. Good luck.

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.