??!
6 photos
Subaru Liberty 4GEN

Subaru Liberty 4GEN (2003-2009)

4.4 from 37 reviews · View Details

Reviews

4.4

37 reviews
5
(18)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (4)
  • Handling
    5.0 (4)
  • Braking
    5.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (4)
  • Features
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (4)
Previous
Next

Solid car over many years

published

2005 bought second hand from dealer. Premium wagon. Driven on all roads and long distances. Just about to clock 375,000kms! Engine is perfect but everything Else starting to go. Suspension gone! Electric windows issues. Tailgate light always needing replacement. I dread having to get a new but the time has come. Servicing too expensive.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Shameem

ShameemSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car in the world

published

I bought a subaru liberty in 2009. I got delivered a Subaru Liberty on the 1st April with 13km on the clock. Last Friday (31/07/2020), it ticked over half a million kilometre. Over last 11 years we travelled a lot together. The ride was and still being awesome. I have a BMW 430! convertible and ride of my liberty is no less enjoyable. I never had spent anything except normal wear and tear. Just got it polished and waxed and it looks like new again. I am so happy with this car and want to thank Subaru for delivering this little piece of gem.

Purchased in April 2009 for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
ChrisR

ChrisRSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best car on the road

published

I've had my beast for 9 years and its still going strong. It has been regularly serviced and the interior is as good as it was the day it came home,and that's with dogs regularly on board. I can confidently drive on the open road, its fast acceleration keeps me out of trouble when overtaking on hills and cruise control makes open road driving a breeze. The rear seats fold down to take extra long loads when required. It's just done a weekend in the bush, give adults and two dogs, all rode comfortably. Highly recommend the Subaru Liberty to anyone for any purpose.

Purchased in August 2009.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 4GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charbel

CharbelSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the subaru liberty

published

2008 subaru liberty has plenty of power leather seats sunroof luxury edition popular car very smooth on roads steering wheel is smooth as well I clean my cars one a week always protected with wax the liberty's will not let you down

Purchased in January 2019 for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Steven. R

Steven. R

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

A real great car for its time!

published

I love Subaru’s & when I was looking for one I was looking for the WRX at the time. While searching I found these awesome rides. Kind of like the luxury version of one I chose it due to having all leather interior (STi stitched), momo steering wheel, sunroof, climate control plus it was the STi model & looked sexy as. So I chose this 6 speed weapon & I am overall very happy with it. It had great legroom for me, a nice sounding turbo, great suspension package & awesome rims. The sound system is amazing for a stock one too! The only thing is I wished it had a slightly more throaty exhaust but apart from that (which can be modified) is overall a really good car :D

BadgeGT Tuned By STI
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015
Sophie W

Sophie WAU

  • 6 reviews

Perfect

published

Good car and easy to drive, really cheap on fuel. Subarus are good cars because they are all wheel drive. I feel safe when I'm driving in the car and it's a reliable car to get you where you need to go, not much to fault on this car very happy

BadgeSport Edition
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Jake

JakeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Beautiful and fun car to drive - excellent power

published

I have had this car for 6 months and it has been nothing but a pleasure to drive. I have not had a single issue with the car, except that i drive more enthusiastically which uses more petrol! the spec-b suspension is unbelievable. Interior looks modern and up to date even though it is 10 years old design. The mcintosh sound system is OK, i installed a parrot bluetooth to add bluetooth experience.

BadgeGT Spec.B
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
iBennyz

iBennyzMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Perfect first car, very reliable

published

This is my first car and I love it. As the vehicle is AWD, it creates a smooth and controlled driving experience, in addition to that, the cruise control function makes driving so much easier. The interior and cosmetics of the car has a modern feel despite being a MY05 model. Unfortunately there is no bluetooth or AUX audio function, however with two cigarette lighter ports, it allows me to use a FM tuner to play music through my mobile device. It's current running cost is $55-$65 a full tank which usually lasts 1.5 weeks with day to day commutes. I've owned this car for over a month now and have had no problems.

BadgeSafety Pack
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
commie

commieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 17 reviews
  • 6 likes

The complete wagon.

published

Brilliant wagon. Not luxury but everything you need, comfortable, accessible, well designed, roomy, easy to service etc. The Liberty is a simple to maintain point and shoot wagon that does what a vehicle that it is should do. I use it for everything from everday travel to going camping and skiing and it's never failed me.

Badge2.5i
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2010
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 4GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ken

KenNewcastle

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

2.5 ltr motors head gasket failure. USA forced a recall, but not here in Aus.http://forums.whirlpool

published

2007, 77k (as of 2017), full service. City only drive. Just told that the head is beginning to leak, 2500-3500 (some paid 6000) repair plus control arm rubber failing (price??)
This one owner car was to last my healthy aged mother till she can drive.
DONT buy any 2.5 subaru non turbo.
Ring Subaru Aus and tell them your thoughts 1800 22 66 43 (Monday to Friday 8.30am – 5.00pm AEST).

BadgeLuxury Edition
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2007
markir

markirRaumati

  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great car, surprisingly fast

published

Bought a 3.0R Spec B late last year. Overall pretty good car - I've owned a few Subaru turbos over the years and wanted something different (no turbo lag in particular), The 3 Litre motor is just awesome. I was shopping for an auto wagon - but when I drove the 6 speed manual I loved it. So a quick assessment:
Pluses:
- really nice 6 cylinder motor, great response, surprisingly fast
- awesome Bilstein suspension
- great 4wd
Minuses:
- a bit skittery on rough road
- sulky key remotes - won't work if it is raining!
- chassis rigidity poor - needs front strut brace

That last point is hugely significant - with the brace installed is is a different car, a pleasure to drive and confidently push into corners!

BadgeGT Spec.B
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Louisa

Louisamelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Lucy, my 2006 Tuned By STi Liberty GT

published

Dream car, made with care.

When Driving my 06 TBSTI, I know I'm wrapped in safety. She's spacious, comfortable, makes decent power, good on fuel and when maintained, will last for ages.
With the right child seat configuration, you can also fit 3 across. I also know, without kids seats, you can lay the rear seats down, and fit a 2seater couch in.
My Lucy has been tuned to make it more fuel efficient with an increase of power. Being 11 years old, she is getting on. But, I won't be selling her any time soon. She is my dream.

Badge10/10 tbsti
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.0T
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Charlie M

Charlie MAdelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 17 likes

2005 Subaru Liberty - 9 years of ownership review

published
BodySedan
airlock

airlockSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

great wagon

published

2.0 petrol 2005. great car with tons of space and awd for safety. great handling with plenty of feel and grip. nice interior, cruise control is great as is dual zone air-con and a large amount of storage space in the compartments. the engine is a little weak and the car requires more frequent servicing then other alternatives, fuel economy is ok but the engine needs to be worked a little harder then some so this can impact your mpg if you like to get a hurry on. all in all a great tourer and more then capable of having some fun along the way.
space, interior, dual zone climate, awd, handling.
weak engine, high service costs.

Engine Size2.0
BodyWagon
Bitpart

BitpartCanberra

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not one problem

published

2.5i sedan purchased new in 2007 and covered 65,000 km. The car drives better now than when new, smooth, quiet and handles beautifully, and I have only had regular services plus replaced tyres once, with no problems at all. Also still looks new inside and classier than many new cars that have lots of plastic trim. Downsides - petrol economy around town is not too flash compared to newer cars, although not bad on the open road. Main problem is that rear seats can't be folded down so even though the boot is large there are restrictions with longer loads.
Smooth, still feels classy, excellent handling, tours well. 4wd for those wet weather days.
Rear seats don't fold. A little thirsty.

Engine Size2.5
Badge2.5i
BodySedan
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty 4GEN compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nurse Sarah

Nurse SarahSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love the Liberty

published
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionAutomatic
BodyWagon
bazzam

bazzamAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good

published
BodyWagon
Kiora_cheese

Kiora_cheese

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good

published
BodyWagon
kjp444

kjp444Sydney

  • 39 reviews
  • 10 likes

Excellent

published
BodyWagon
dailymocha

dailymocha

  • 2 reviews

Good

published

A very nice pice of work, known as the Japanese BMW which says a lot. The new stronger 2.5l engine has a nice exhaust note. Pity Subaru hasnt mated the engine with a 5 speed auto, it needs it. Passenger seat does not lift, my wife is short and she cont see over the bulkhead
Great driving car, well built very safe and just the right size now that the kids have gone. Love the 6-disc MP3 player
Not much: the ignition key digs holes in my pocket, why does Subaru copy VW and make the key retractible? Why o why a 4-speed autonmatic box?

BodyWagon
Page 1 of 2
See all Subaru Liberty reviews

Questions & Answers

Hards

Hardsasked

Liberty 4GEN (2003-2009)

Hi. Looking to purchase a 2004 Subaru Liberty GT 4GEN Premium Pack. It has 150,000k on the clock, regularly serviced and appears well looked after. Any common issues with this model I should be wary of ? Thanks!

1 answer
Shameem
Shameem

My one was the base model(4cyl). I didn’t face a single issue in last twelve years. Just normal wear and tear.

Brad

Bradasked

Liberty 4GEN (2003-2009)

Does the 2007 Subaru Liberty 4GEN Auto AWD MY07 have a timing belt or timing chain?

No answers
Brad

Bradasked

Liberty 4GEN (2003-2009)

Does the 2007 Subaru Liberty 4GEN Auto AWD MY07 have a timing belt or timing chain?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.