??!
5 photos
Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300

Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300

EM5300S (Silver), EM5300K (Black)
3.8 from 114 reviews · View Statistics
Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 Showcases

Official material from Sunbeam.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (60)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (61)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (59)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (59)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (47)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.1 (53)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.1 (53)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Matt

MattGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant Machine

published

Fantastic little barista coffee machine.
The package is excellent by having grinder onboard for a fresh grind (on No. 22 at the moment for a good size coffee grind, but it depends on the roast date etc.).
Coffee extraction and brewing is fantastic (always use double shot in a cup.
Last but not least is the milk frothing which is excellent if you know how to froth milk.
Sunbeam have designed the machine so well with attention to details as well as the built quality. Don’t waste your money on capsule machines and get one of these if you’re a coffee drinker, well worth every single cents.
Only issue was with the portafilter head surface de-coloured! Still does the job, but looking to see if I can replace it.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Internal leak after 18months

published

The machine worked really well for 18 months. Then an internal leak zapped my husband. Only have 12 month warranty. This is epic fail for expensive machine. Sumbeam said would replace it, but have not done so after 4 months waiting. Feel very unhappy with what was a reliable brand.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Rebekah E.
Rebekah E.

Hi Sunbeam, here is the information requested: 00868259 [ ref:_00D90IbQY._5002t58hSE:ref ]

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Jackson

JacksonSouthwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Died after ONE DAY

published

Got this as a gift, looks awesome, made 2 great coffees. Woke up the next morning to make some more coffee. The machine wouldn't even turn on. Changed power points, tried everything. It is dead.

By reading other reviews I'm not convinced this won't happen again. I will be looking for a more reliable machine if I can. It's a shame because it was a very thoughtful gift but no product should die after 1 use.

Purchased in August 2020 at Betta Home Living for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
AMR

AMRSydney, NSW

3 of EM5300 coffee Machine for 1.5 years

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2019 at David Jones.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
trompfy

trompfyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 215 reviews
  • 62 likes

The best coffee machine for your home

published

On Monday 28th September 2020 I bought this for when I move into my own unit in September 2020 so I can make different types of coffee for when my family and friends come over. The staff were kind and thoughtful to me and the service was fantastic.

Purchased in September 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $105.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
ScottyP

ScottyPNSW, 2256

  • 16 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good little Espresso machine. Decent coffee.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Cairoloves

CairolovesGold Coast

  • 34 reviews
  • 11 likes

After using I'm now a self proclaimed Barista - love this machine!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Deviot

DeviotSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 22 reviews
  • 31 likes

A good budget coffee machine

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Inal

InalNSW, 2263

  • 18 reviews
  • 27 likes

Works fine and improvement over earlier manual coffee machines but unsure of durability.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
KillaWhat

KillaWhatSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 50 reviews
  • 52 likes

The Coffee Machine I Didn't Know I Needed!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sahri

sahriCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 30 reviews
  • 29 likes

Fantastic Machine - So much customisation, perfect coffees in no time at all!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +2Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
BellVueQ1

BellVueQ1Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 33 reviews
  • 17 likes

Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300S - making the daily grind a quality and enjoyable experience. You won't be disappointed

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +4Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Sue

SueTasmania

  • 33 reviews
  • 16 likes

It's fabulous & I’m still learning the different styles that can be made!

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Awesome coffee daily........ but

published

Absolutely love the machine which I bought my husband right before Christmas. Only complaint is we get more coffee over the counter than in the 2 cup ‘collect’ thing
Have tried collecting less coffee before tapping but still pretty messy.
Apart from that very happy.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Helen McNaught
Helen McNaught

So no suggestions how to make a coffee without having more on the work surface than the ‘collection’ thingie?

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
UpYours

UpYoursCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 76 reviews
  • 107 likes

What can I say? It makes a good espresso.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tonkaboy

TonkaboyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent entry level machine with inbuilt coffee grinder!

published

Had this one month, very simple and easy to use and makes very good coffee. the build construction is a little flimsy and plastic but excellent value for money. Coffee grinder is good and variable and easy to get the correct size grind. If you follow the instructions to the tee for frothing milk you can't go wrong.

Purchased in November 2020 at The Good Guys for $390.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dom

DomSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 31 reviews
  • 23 likes

Makes nice coffee. Easy to setup and operate. Looks great.

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Josh E

Josh E

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a great machine

published

We bought this machine yesterday as a Christmas present for my girlfriend and it makes coffees that are just like you get from a cafe. Excellent results & worth the money

Purchased in December 2020 at Betta Home Living for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Josh,
Thank you for the great review, we're happy to hear that you're loving the Café quality of our Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300K.
Enjoy and Merry Christmas,
Sunbeam Customer Care

Annoyed

AnnoyedDarwin, NT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of Time and money

published

Purchased to replace our aging but reliable Krupps
Despite trying three different brands of coffee beans and experimenting with all options,
we could not make a decent cup of coffee. Help line advised it needed a part which was unavailable for 6 weeks.
Machine was returned to Harvey Norman who advised it was faulty.
Bought an $89 Anko from KMart, works unbelievably good

Purchased in October 2020 at Harvey Norman for $390.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Graham

GrahamSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

No Prefect, but Close

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Bing Lee for $475.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300

Why has the steam wand on my machine stopped working and what can I do to fix it?

  1. The steam wand tip may be blocked. See Instruction Booklet, page 26 for cleaning.
  2. No water in the water reservoir. Fill the reservoir with water. Run hot water through the steam wand to ensure the water flows.
  3. Espresso machine has scale build up. A descaling cycle is required. See Instruction Booklet, pages 30-31.

How do I clean and care for my machine?

The espresso making process involves extracting oils out of coffee grinds. Deposits of grinds and oils build up over time, affecting the taste of the coffee and operation of the Espresso Machine. Purging water through the group head and steam wand, before and after making each coffee, is the easiest way to keep your Espresso Machine clean. You can find the full care and cleaning information in the product manual, page 24 - 31.

My integrated grinder has stopped working, what should I do?

Troubleshoot through the scenarios below:

  1. No coffee beans in the Bean Hopper. Fill the Bean Hopper with freshly roasted coffee beans.
  2. Hopper gates are closed or not fully open. Turn the Bean Hopper in a clockwise direction. At Grind Setting 30, hopper gates are fully open. See Removable Bean Hopper section, page 8.
  3. The grind chamber or outlet is blocked. Grinder needs cleaning. See Instruction Booklet, Care & Cleaning, pages 28-29.

Why is my machine leaking water? What can I do to fix it?

  1. Make sure the drip tray is pushed tightly against the machine. Empty it regularly to avoid waste water overflow.
  2. Make sure the red plug on the water reservoir is removed and the reservoir is sitting flush against the machine. Check for any cracks or foreign particles stuck on the valve / connectors on the water tank and machine base
  3. If it's leaking from the group head make sure the group head handle is on tight and check for the seal.

What is the correct way to use grind settings?

For freshly roasted beans, a medium grind setting is recommended. As the coffee beans start to lose their freshness, turn the Bean Hopper clockwise in small increments to a finer grind setting to keep an optimum espresso extraction. Use the information in the Instruction Booklet on pages 14-15 for help.

My grind is messy and sometimes it sprays, what should I do?

  1. Clean the residue from the chute before grinding.
  2. Make sure coffee beans are fresh. For some dry roasts, measure enough beans for your dose, increase the humidity of the whole beans by stirring your measured beans with a damp wooden spoon handle before putting them into the hopper for grinding.

My grinder doesn't seem to grind finely, what should I do?

Troubleshoot through the scenarios below:

  1. Grind Setting not correct. Adjust the Grind Settings by turning the Bean Hopper. See Instruction Booklet, Tips for Grinding & Extraction, pages 14-15.
  2. Top burr is not seated correctly. Coffee beans or grinds are caught around & under the top burr. The top burr needs cleaning. See Instruction Booklet, Care & Cleaning, pages 28-29.
  3. Bottom Burrs needs adjusting. See Instruction Booklet, Adjusting the Bottom Burr section on page 29.

When I use a standard espresso cup the machine spills the extraction outside of the cup, what should I do?

  1. Sit the cup on a raised platform. For example, place an upside down ramekin under the cup to bring it closer to the spout.
  2. Place two cups under each side of the spout and split the double shot into two cups. This method requires the coffee cake to be level and tamped evenly to ensure an even extraction and flow rate.
  3. Use a bigger or taller cup.

Why is my steam wand so slow? It takes 20 minutes to get started.

The steam nozzle might be blocked by milk residue or scale build up. Soak the wand in soapy warm water to soften the milk residue, then follow the user manual to clean and descale the machine.

My coffee is lukewarm or cold, it is not hot enough, what should I do?

The Barista Max allows water temperature to be changed from the recommended 92°C -in 2°C increments - to cater for personal preferences. For more information, see Instruction Booklet, page 22.

My milk wand makes a horrible screeching noise, what should I do?

When steaming milk, it sometimes produces a loud, high pitched "screaming" sound. This occurs when the steam wand is not drawing in enough air. This can be prevented by keeping the tip of the steam wand so that it's approximately 2cm in from the jug wall and no more than 1cm beneath the surface of the milk. Turn the steam wand on and adjust the jug with your hand until you hear the milk "hissing" - this is the sound it should make when milk is expanding.

Latest Consumer Questions

Jenny N.

Jenny N.asked

Barista Max EM5300S (Silver)

Hi there, I have been practicing with the machine with different grind settings, and at your suggestion of 23 - 25, while the coffee tastes great, the pour, which is good, lasts under 10 secs. I have tried 28, same result. It is a good pour, but does not last the 25 - 30 secs suggested in the User Guide (or elsewhere for that matter). I tamp the beans as per the instructions, even watched the videos, seems to be the same, but the pour (1 cup) is still very brief. I always get between 30 - 40ml of coffee. Jenny

No answers
Eliza

Eliza asked

Barista Max EM5300

I have just recieved my machine today. When trying to work out the correct grind setting, after about 2-3 coffees the grinder seems to block and the amount of coffee coming out of the grinder is a lot slower, and it makes noises that sound like something is blocked. Have already tried taking the bean hopper out and cleaning out the burr part.. dont really want to have to do that every 2-3 coffees? Is there anything else we can try? brand new!!

No answers
Ian

Ianasked

Barista Max EM5300S (Silver)

Hi
I've had the Sunbeam Barista Max for just over a year. Recently there is a lot of water leaking out somewhere from the bottom of the machine. I regularly empty the tray and keep it clean. Just wondering if there is a solution to this problem?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Ian.
Firstly can I get you to check the below to see if this maybe causing your issue.
1- Make sure drip tray is pushed tightly against the machine. Empty drip tray regularly to avoid waste water overflow.
2- Make sure red plug on the water reservoir is removed and reservoir is sitting flush against the machine. Check for any cracks or foreign particles stuck on the valve / connectors on the water tank and machine base.
3- If it's leaking from group head make sure group head handle is on tight and check for the seal.
Please let me know if this assist's you.
Thanks

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Compare both Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $699.00$699.00
Pump Pressure15 bar15 bar
Input Power1,550 W1,550 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNo
Water Tank Capacity2.8 L2.8 L
Colour / FinishBlackSilver
Dimensions 410 x 320 x 350 mm410 x 320 x 350 mm
Weight10 kg10 kg
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Compare both Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9311445024966, 9311445034590 and 9311445034606
  • MPN: EM5300

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.