5 photos
Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300

Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300

EM5300S (Silver), EM5300K (Black) (See All)
3.6 from 151 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Sunbeam

Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 Showcases

Official material from Sunbeam.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (94)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (95)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (93)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (92)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (80)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    3.9 (84)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.0 (83)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jay Marquardt
Jay MarquardtSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Perfect coffee machine for home brewing

published

If you’re considering a coffee machine for your home and don’t want to spend a high price tag this one is great. Very easy setup. The coffee grinder works great. It’s compact. Everything you need. We are saving hundreds of dollars by not going to the coffee shop and to my surprise making equally good coffee right at home.

Purchased in June 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richard
RichardGoulburn Valley, VIC
  • 3 reviews

Dont waste your money

published

Purchased my first one in April 22 and returned it for a replacement 3 weeks later. The second one is also a lemon. The problem with both was a lack of pressure when extracting the coffee. It took AGES as the coffee would very slowly drip, drip, drip. No continuous stream of coffee at any stage. I will return this one and pay extra for a better brand. Unfortunate as this would have been excellent value if it actually worked as it should.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2022 for $479.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Drew
DrewPerth, WA

Expected for it to last longer

published

Wanted to buy a Breville but was talked into a sunbeam by the sales guy back in 2020. Was working great, no issues until recently when it started tripping the power, machine didn't even get used every day, maybe once or twice a week, had an electrician come out to check everything and confirmed it was the coffee machine tripping the power and the fault was causing it to trio even when plugged in but not in use. Contacted store and because it's outside the 12 month warranty they won't do anything, disappointing when it's not even 2 years old and clearly a manufacturing fault. Unlikely to buy this brand again.

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys for $484.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great until it wasn't

published

Coffee machine was bought as our other one was stolen, we purchased sunbeam as we were told not much difference between them and another brand. Worked perfectly for 1.5 years no issues. Perfect coffee, ground the beans no complaints at all and now it's tripping the power constantly, had an electrician come out and check if it was the machine or something else, confirmed definitely the machine and he was surprised at how fast it tripped the power. Disappointing for a machine that's not quite two years old especially for the price and appears to only have a 12 month manufacturers warranty as well.

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys for $484.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

grinder not working

published

had it for ~ 1.5 years, 2-3 coffees a day. cleaning in between each coffee bags, now grinder dead. made a deep clean taking all components apart, still dead. light is white but grinder doesnt spin.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
igor
igor

Wanted to update that Sunbeam took care of it and sent replacement straight away!!! Very happy with outcome.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter C.
Peter C.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Solid performer

published

Made hundreds of latte's. Bought scales to control the dosage per shot. Without these, good luck. Steam is a little slow, but for a cheap machine it's ok. The grinder is ok,, and again the key to good shots. Developed a sml water leak after hundreds of coffees so off to repair. Seems fair. Saved us so much money and our home made coffee is better than many Cafe.

Purchased in December 2021 at Appliances Online for $440.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Becksunich
BecksunichMelbourne
  • 3 reviews

Short Lifespan

published

After 19months my machine has begun leaking from the right hand side. Now out of warranty. Looking at reviews this is a common fault with the machine. I do not recommend this coffee machine.

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for $498.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeamSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark T.
Mark T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor quality Machine with obvious design flaw

published

I loved my machine however it is 13 months old just out of warranty and has started to leak water out of the steam wand. I have cleaned the machine weekly and it is well looked after. Disappointed as obviously this is a design flaw in the machine. I would have expected to get 5 years out of the machine for the price. Update 14 months machine has now died. Don’t buy one.

Purchased in October 2020 at Harvey Norman for $699.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeamSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next

Terrible product and dangerous

published

Our Sunbeam Coffee machine just a little over two years old, developed a leak at two years old and now the leak is massive. We have approached Sunbeam and their advice we had already carried out. We have approached several repair shops in Tasmania and they all tell us they wouldn't touch a Sunbeam Coffee machine. Do not consider buying this product as there are better machines available at the same price or less. The most disappointing product that we have ever bought.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for $649.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David hay
David hayRylstone
  • 5 reviews

Love it

published

Great little machine. Had it a few months now and use it a 2-3 times every day. Took a week or so to get a good consistent coffee out of it, but that's pure user error. I really like the grinder mechanism and how the light comes on. I just noticed the floating "please empty tray" sign, I've been wondering what that was, very cute.

Obviously I don't know how long it will last and it's my first machine so I don't have anything to compare it to, but I'm really happy with it so far.

Purchased in November 2021 for $450.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great coffee machine,but now not working so well less than 12 months old

published

it is now very slow to process the coffee, just dripping out, and at the same time the wand is leaking water. i have cleaned the machine and its not making any difference.

Have loved the machine otherwise

Purchased in December 2010 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
edi
ediSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

2nd replacement, water leakage from steam wand during coffee extraction

published

This is our 2nd EM5300 machine under warranty. It's been 1 year and 4 months since its been replaced. It has always been good and easy to use, cleaning and descaling are always maintained when required. However at 16 months mark there are now two issues, water dripping from the steam wand when extracting coffee and it is failed to produce consistent high steam pressure.

What is your solution if you face similar issues? I appreciate your help.

Purchased in April 2020 for $400.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeamSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gabriella A.
Gabriella A.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

The machine suddenly won't turn on

published

Coffee is excellent, espresso is great, and the Steamer is wonderful.
We love our coffee machine. It's life saver in the morning and during lockdown until somehow there was massive leaking yesterday, and today it won't turn on at all.
Not sure what happens.
The coffee machine itself only 10 months old.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeamSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gaurav Girdhar
Gaurav GirdharSydney, NSW

Slow discharge

published

Coffee maker struggles to pump through even the most coursely ground coffee beans (grinder set to 30) with minimal tamping and without filling the wand fully. I've had it for about 7 months and it seems to be getting worse. Rest of the machine works fine.

Purchased in February 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeamSend a private message
Gaurav Girdhar
Gaurav Girdhar

What grind setting is everyone at to get the best Crema. I hardly get any crema at top. I tried between 12 to 22

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeamSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Wand is dripping

published

Hi, I've sent multiple emails to support and no response since July.... my steamer wand is dripping water well after steaming. It was initially dripping at the top of the wand and now through the wand it drips a lot.

Incentivised Review No
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeamSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Taryn S.
Taryn S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

It was great, until it wasn't.. another leaking unit

published

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeamSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300

My coffee machine is leaking. What can I do?

Establish where the leak is coming from:

  • From the front of the machine under the Drip Tray – make sure the Drip Tray is emptied regularly and positioned tightly against the coffee machine before each use.
  • From the back of the machine under the Water Tank – check for any cracks or leaks coming from the water tank. Make sure there are no foreign particles or object blocking the valve. Ensure Water Tank is sitting correctly against the coffee machine.
  • From the group head – ensure filter basket and group handle is locked in position before use. Clean shower head regularly and replace group head seal, if required.

If you require further assistance please contact the Sunbeam customer care team - 1300 881 861 (8:30am to 5:00pm - Monday - Friday AEST).

Why has the steam wand on my machine stopped working and what can I do to fix it?

  1. The steam wand tip may be blocked. See Instruction Booklet, page 26 for cleaning.
  2. No water in the water reservoir. Fill the reservoir with water. Run hot water through the steam wand to ensure the water flows.
  3. Espresso machine has scale build up. A descaling cycle is required. See Instruction Booklet, pages 30-31.

How do I clean and care for my machine?

The espresso making process involves extracting oils out of coffee grinds. Deposits of grinds and oils build up over time, affecting the taste of the coffee and operation of the Espresso Machine. Purging water through the group head and steam wand, before and after making each coffee, is the easiest way to keep your Espresso Machine clean. You can find the full care and cleaning information in the product manual, page 24 - 31.

My integrated grinder has stopped working, what should I do?

Troubleshoot through the scenarios below:

  1. No coffee beans in the Bean Hopper. Fill the Bean Hopper with freshly roasted coffee beans.
  2. Hopper gates are closed or not fully open. Turn the Bean Hopper in a clockwise direction. At Grind Setting 30, hopper gates are fully open. See Removable Bean Hopper section, page 8.
  3. The grind chamber or outlet is blocked. Grinder needs cleaning. See Instruction Booklet, Care & Cleaning, pages 28-29.

Why is my machine leaking water? What can I do to fix it?

  1. Make sure the drip tray is pushed tightly against the machine. Empty it regularly to avoid waste water overflow.
  2. Make sure the red plug on the water reservoir is removed and the reservoir is sitting flush against the machine. Check for any cracks or foreign particles stuck on the valve / connectors on the water tank and machine base
  3. If it's leaking from the group head make sure the group head handle is on tight and check for the seal.

What is the correct way to use grind settings?

For freshly roasted beans, a medium grind setting is recommended. As the coffee beans start to lose their freshness, turn the Bean Hopper clockwise in small increments to a finer grind setting to keep an optimum espresso extraction. Use the information in the Instruction Booklet on pages 14-15 for help.

My grind is messy and sometimes it sprays, what should I do?

  1. Clean the residue from the chute before grinding.
  2. Make sure coffee beans are fresh. For some dry roasts, measure enough beans for your dose, increase the humidity of the whole beans by stirring your measured beans with a damp wooden spoon handle before putting them into the hopper for grinding.

My grinder doesn't seem to grind finely, what should I do?

Troubleshoot through the scenarios below:

  1. Grind Setting not correct. Adjust the Grind Settings by turning the Bean Hopper. See Instruction Booklet, Tips for Grinding & Extraction, pages 14-15.
  2. Top burr is not seated correctly. Coffee beans or grinds are caught around & under the top burr. The top burr needs cleaning. See Instruction Booklet, Care & Cleaning, pages 28-29.
  3. Bottom Burrs needs adjusting. See Instruction Booklet, Adjusting the Bottom Burr section on page 29.

When I use a standard espresso cup the machine spills the extraction outside of the cup, what should I do?

  1. Sit the cup on a raised platform. For example, place an upside down ramekin under the cup to bring it closer to the spout.
  2. Place two cups under each side of the spout and split the double shot into two cups. This method requires the coffee cake to be level and tamped evenly to ensure an even extraction and flow rate.
  3. Use a bigger or taller cup.

Why is my steam wand so slow? It takes 20 minutes to get started.

The steam nozzle might be blocked by milk residue or scale build up. Soak the wand in soapy warm water to soften the milk residue, then follow the user manual to clean and descale the machine.

My coffee is lukewarm or cold, it is not hot enough, what should I do?

The Barista Max allows water temperature to be changed from the recommended 92°C -in 2°C increments - to cater for personal preferences. For more information, see Instruction Booklet, page 22.

My milk wand makes a horrible screeching noise, what should I do?

When steaming milk, it sometimes produces a loud, high pitched "screaming" sound. This occurs when the steam wand is not drawing in enough air. This can be prevented by keeping the tip of the steam wand so that it's approximately 2cm in from the jug wall and no more than 1cm beneath the surface of the milk. Turn the steam wand on and adjust the jug with your hand until you hear the milk "hissing" - this is the sound it should make when milk is expanding.

Latest Consumer Questions

Muzza
Muzzaasked
Barista Max EM5300

I have owned my EM5300 for about 16 months now and it has started leaking around the top of the Group head when making coffee and when I am using the steam wand, after the last time I cleaned it, it started leaking a lot worse. Reading through the earlier posts, it seems to appear to be a somewhat common problem, and for some reason all responses from custom care are via a private message?
Is there a common reason and is it a simple fix?

No answers
Damian
Damianasked
Barista Max EM5300

Hi, our Sunbeam Barista Max started dripping constantly out of the steam wand. Now it’s started dripping from around the head as well. Any solution please?

No answers
Miles
Milesasked
Barista Max EM5300K (Black)

HI There, I also have the above model which has started leaking from the wand and next to the group head. Present from my Kids for my 50th, now sadly over the 12 month mark by 6 months. Great machine sadly and due to being regional no repairers near.

1 answer
Richard
Richard

Sorry to hear that. I ended up paying extra for a Semi-Auto Delonghi model and couldnt be happier. Its a shame as i liked the look of the Sunbeam, but the performance of my 2 was poor. Good luck with your next purchase.

See all Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300

Details

Compare both Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $849.00$849.00
Pump Pressure15 bar15 bar
Input Power1,550 W1,550 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNo
Water Tank Capacity2.8 L2.8 L
Dimensions 410 x 320 x 350 mm410 x 320 x 350 mm
Weight10 kg10 kg
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g250 g
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishBlackSilver
Compare both Sunbeam Barista Max EM5300
  • GTIN13: 9311445024966, 9311445034590 and 9311445034606
  • MPN: EM5300

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.