??!
4 photos
Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200

Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200

MX9200 (Stainless), MX9200R (Red), MX9200K (Matte Black), MX9200W (White)
2.8 from 54 reviews

Stand Mixers Buying Guide

A reliable stand mixer can help make your baking sessions a breeze. Whether you want to splash the cash on a premium KitchenAid mixer or find the best affordable stand mixer from Kmart, here are some buying considerations to throw into the mix.

Read now

Reviews

2.8

54 reviews
5
(19)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(8)
1
(22)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    1.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (4)
  • Safety
    3.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Chris

ChrisVictoria

Does not cream butter and sugar

published

I've had Sunbeam mixmaster for 35 years I Bought a new one 18 months ago and dislike using it. Whipping butter & sugar together to make a cream is impossible, all the ingredients stick to the side and the base . So sad that I can’t use it for the purpose intended as I have loved my original one for 35 years.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Nicolas N.

Nicolas N.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Stay away from Sunbeam

published

Purchased the first one and used about 10 times before one of the small gears broke. Upon inspection it was made of low grade cast metal. Replaced under warranty. We only used the second one about 15 times and for light mixes, knowing that it is not a heavy duty machine. Motor started sparking badly and it stopped working. Vey low quality components and no spare pats available, which is tippical with cheap bad quality throw away products. I didn't expect it to be a heavy duty machine given the price point, but this thing is not fit for purpose. Will never go near a Sunbeam product ever again.

Build Quality
Value for Money

sunbeam mixmaster not good

published

Hi i bought the sunbeam mix master 1 and half year ago used only occasionally but it’s making grinding noise looks like the gear box is stuffed total waste of money

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for A$280.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
Benchtop Food Mixers

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200 compares to other Benchtop Food Mixers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The not fit for purpose mixer

published

My Sunbeam Planatery Mixmaster will not cream butter and sugar. There is a design fault in that the blade does not reach the bottom or sides of the bowl. The butter and sugar ends up stuck to the sides and bottom and does not cream. I seek a refund for this product and it’s false advertising. I a, back to using my old mixer as this one is hopeless.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Do companies only make poor quality products now?

published

Maybe one of the worst mixers ever made. Was disappointed that it never seemed to touch the bottom when mixing and today motor finally stopped working after just over 2 years and limited use (lucky if it was used 4x a month). Expensive waste of time, never buy from this brand if you want value for money. Hope companies start to realise that a poor product that looks good isn't what consumers want. We want the Sunbeam our grandmothers received as wedding gifts that their daughter eventually inherited because it still works as well as the day it was unboxed.

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$680.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Melinda,
So sorry to hear of your issues with the MX9200R. Please call us on 1300 881 861 as we would love to assist you further.

Carmel

CarmelLakewood

Very Disappointed

published

I've used Sunbeam mixmaster for 45yrs.Bought my new one round 2yrs ago,hardly use it.Whipping butter & sugar together to make a cream is impossible,all sticks to the side,the base seems to be too wide.I keep reverting back to my hand mixer.The motor also seems to have a high pitch sound.Just bought another brand mixer,it's great.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
mwatson

mwatsonHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love this Mixer

published

My husband brought this for Christmas at least 4 years ago. I am surprised at the bad reviews as I LOVE MY MIXER. I don't use it every day but I do use it regularly and it hasn't missed a beat. I do agree that you have to scrap the sides and the bottom but I would do that regardless of what mixer I have as that's the way I have always had to do it. I love the way it looks and I love the speed control. I noticed it was the one they used on My Kitchen Rules and that is why I wanted it and I haven't been disappointed yet.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review mwatson!

So disappointing

published

The motor sounds like it’s straining all the time. The paddles and mixer attachments don’t mix well at all because they are to far away from the bowl so always have to stop and scrape the sides of the bowl, even with the scrapper attachment. The cover part for the bowl has to big an opening so mixture still comes out. So disappointed with this machine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Rach,
So sorry to hear you are not happy with the machine. We will pass your feedback on to our design team. Please give our Customer Care team a call to discuss this with you on 1300 881 861

Rach
Rach

I'm in New Zealand so a call would cost a lot. Do you have a NZ number.

Not for Doughmaking

published

This unit is 5 years old but used only a dozen times for light mixing. Over the last 6 months, I made dough a couple of times and found the unit struggled and so I took the dough out while still very wet. This last time, I let the mixer knead while adding a tablespoon of flour at a time in order to not overtax it. There was a loud clunk and that was the end of the motor as the gear broke. Also, the "Planetary Mixmaster" label started to rub off when I first wiped it down, so have gingerly cleaned around it ever since. Steer clear of this product if you want to make dough. For the price, I expected better quality. I will not be replacing this unit with another Sunbeam mixer.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
Benchtop Food Mixers

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200 compares to other Benchtop Food Mixers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Quince

QuinceSkinners Shoot

Two have gone the same way

published

The first mixer I bought lasted a few months,developed a grinding noise and was replaced under warranty.
The replacement is about a year old and has also developed the same grinding noise.
If you buy one, don't expect it to knead bread dough, as advertised. They are not very robust unfortunately.

March 22nd 2018 Update: Spare parts

I wrote a review stating both my original mixer and its replacement developed bad noises (ie gearing). Since writing the review I have had my mixer at the local repairer. He said he couldn't get spare parts, and consequently had 4 of the same model in his workshop unabled to be repaired. The good news, for me, is that was able to repair mine from parts in his broken collection.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Miffy

MiffySydney

  • 2 reviews

Great Machine but After 4 yrs all blades were broken after infrequent use & after 5 stand base metal

published
Date PurchasedSep 2013
AJM69

AJM69Melbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I love my mixer, I don't use it every day or anything like that but have never had any problems with it. Previous to this mixer I had a cheaper model sunbeam stand mixer that wasn't planetary. I like how the whole mixing bowl is used, it's great for making cakes, whipping cream, whipping egg whites. The only downside is that it is too big to fit in any of my cupoards as the shelves are fixed so has to stay on the bench. So I would recommend measuring the space you want to keep it in before purchase.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Noisy

published

It's 4 weeks old , used 4 times An has an odd noise like grinding not sure if that's normal or not . Hopefully it's not a bad purchase as it looks like by reading reviews it could be more problems to look forward to . Hopefully not . Great colour is the positive

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Lou

LouWollongong

Disappointed. 3 Broken machines and counting.

published

I bought my MX9200 in September 2012. I was initially pleased with the performance. Over time, the gears became louder and the machine eventually stopped working at higher speeds and then stopped working altogether. The machine was replaced and I received a new machine, this machine never sounded as smooth as the first one, it was always much noisier. Within just a few months it too stopped working. This was also replaced under warranty. I have had the 3rd machine for 11 months and today it too suddenly stopped working. I'm at the point now where I'd prefer a refund to being replaced with another machine which will break quickly.

Date PurchasedSep 2012
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Amrita

AmritaAuckland

this is a piece of crap

published

Never will again purchase sunbeam product. Sales and customer service is hopeless in NZ. I purchases in sydney while on holiday.did not lasted 30days. Sunbeam nz cannot replace in nz and was told to take it back to australia for refund. Now why cant i get a replacement in nz sunbeam

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Benchtop Food Mixers

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200 compares to other Benchtop Food Mixers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

It's Rubbish - Literally

published

We bought this mixer at DJs, based on the brand allegiance to Sunbeam from years past. Didn't use it much in the warranty period as we were busy with retirement and resettling, etc. When we got time to use it, we encountered recurring reliability issues. Mixer would not re-start after stopping to add ingredients, and display would flash. Wouldn't work again for several hours. Suspect a major programming issue within the control chip. Got so sick of this happening, we have now thrown it in the bin, so it is now literally rubbish. Now bought a KitchenAid, which is probably what we should have done in the first place. Take heed!

Linda

LindaSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Sunbeam cafe mixmaster

published

I brought my sunbeam cafe mixmaster not long ago and I love it I've always had a sunbeam mixmaster over the years and I've never had any problems with them it mixes great and whips up cream and egg white fast I would highly recommend it if your thinking of buying one .

Three-Year Wonder

published

We bought the Sunbeam Cafe Series II back in August 2013 and it was going fine until recently when it suddenly went Zit! and stopped working. There was a flicker of light from the back and a burning smell. Am in the process of deciding whether to have it repaired (apparently the power board has gone). Less than three years old and not overly used, am very disappointed. While it worked great, am very reluctant to pay out more money for something that could just go Zit! again and die. Perhaps they should make them without power boards like they did in my mother's day (hers lasted more than 20 years).

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Vee

VeeSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Extremely happy!

published

I bought this and didn't know what to expect as I've read mixed reviews. Anyhow, I'm very happy I stuck with my original thoughts on Brand. The red colour is gorgeous for a start. I love the fact you can select a power setting and there's a display timer to ensure you don't under/over beat. For such a powerful machine, it's super quiet! I use it at least twice per week and I can't complain. I'm a super happy camper :)

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
BlueznRootz

BlueznRootzPutaruru

  • 2 reviews

Great, for 18 months... then boom!

published

I bought this Mixmaster 19 months ago and have used it every 2nd / 3rd day over the last 6 months. I make sourdough bread every 2 or 3 days and prefer to use a mixer. This is my first mixer. The motor was fine until this morning when there was a loud crack and a burning smell. And no response after that. How sad... and I'm not happy. I paid NZ$390.00... a lot of money for me. The attachments were good, a scraper, whisker, mixer and dough hook, all the options I wanted. But 19 months performance for $390 is not good by my book.

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Libby

Libbyasked

Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200

Why is this dysfunctional not taken out of circulation. I had to return mine due to its inability to mix anything well. Absolutely useless for creaming butter and sugar. I am using my 20 year old Sunbeam mixer which is just perfect. Christmas cakes, pavlovas, sponges and cakes all beautifully mixed.

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Libby,
Thank you for your question...
All mixers no matter how expansive they are will at times need to have the bowl scrapped down with a spatula, especially when there is a small quantity of ingredients on the bowl.

All recipes that usually begin with butter and sugar will instruct you to scrap the bowl and mix again because most mixers will need that help at first and then will be fine when more ingredients are added.

Libby
Libby

This is not a satisfactory answer. My old Sunbeam creamed perfectly. I see many other comments re this problem in reviews of this mixer. I also have quite a few friends who have also returned their new mixers. Thank you for your reply but this model does need to improve.

Kiwi

Kiwiasked

Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200

Hi. I have a sunbeam cafe series mixer. The mixer attachment will not come off as it should. Has anyone experienced this and if so, how can I get it off.

3 answers
Libby
Libby

No but I returned this mixer as it would not cream butter and sugar. The paddle did not scrape the sides of the bowl

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Kiwi,
To remove the particular mixing attachment, push it upwards, turn it anticlockwise, then pull it downwards (Figure 8; on page 8): https://www.sunbeam.com.au/Root/Specifications/InstructionBooklet/MX9200_ib_1.pdf

Kiwi
Kiwi

Hi Sunbeam
Thank you for responding. If it worked as above then I would not have a problem. The attachment does not want to move around to the point that allows me to pull it downwards. And yes I have done the usual push it up and turn anticlockwise. I love my sunbeam products but I must say this one is a bit frustrating as I also find it does not cream properly. I look forward to hearing back from you.

r.winter

r.winterasked

Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200

Ive had the Mixer for under a year and haven't used it very much but now its not working. The machine turns on, the LED light turns on but when I turn the dial to make it mix - nothing happens. The timer on the LED begins and then 4 seconds later the LED goes blank and then appears with this ( -- EO ) on the screen. Nothing i do will change this, i just have to unplug it. It seems like an Error code or maybe its referring to something but there is no information about what this could mean in the manual or anywhere online. Please help!

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello r.winter,
It sounds like the Mixer head is not locked down properly, see page 15 for steps to fix: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/Root/Specifications/InstructionBooklet/MX9200_ib_1.pdf

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.