??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200 (Stainless)

Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200 (Stainless)

MPN: MX9200
2.7 from 12 reviews

Reviews

(3)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(5)

Carmel

CarmelLakewood

Very Disappointed

published

I've used Sunbeam mixmaster for 45yrs.Bought my new one round 2yrs ago,hardly use it.Whipping butter & sugar together to make a cream is impossible,all sticks to the side,the base seems to be too wide.I keep reverting back to my hand mixer.The motor also seems to have a high pitch sound.Just bought another brand mixer,it's great.

Date PurchasedMay 2015

mwatson

mwatsonHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love this Mixer

published

My husband brought this for Christmas at least 4 years ago. I am surprised at the bad reviews as I LOVE MY MIXER. I don't use it every day but I do use it regularly and it hasn't missed a beat. I do agree that you have to scrap the sides and the bottom but I would do that regardless of what mixer I have as that's the way I have always had to do it. I love the way it looks and I love the speed control. I noticed it was the one they used on My Kitchen Rules and that is why I wanted it and I haven't been disappointed yet.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review mwatson!

  • Verified purchase

So disappointing

published

The motor sounds like it’s straining all the time. The paddles and mixer attachments don’t mix well at all because they are to far away from the bowl so always have to stop and scrape the sides of the bowl, even with the scrapper attachment. The cover part for the bowl has to big an opening so mixture still comes out. So disappointed with this machine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Rach,
So sorry to hear you are not happy with the machine. We will pass your feedback on to our design team. Please give our Customer Care team a call to discuss this with you on 1300 881 861

Rach
Rach

I'm in New Zealand so a call would cost a lot. Do you have a NZ number.

Quince

QuinceSkinners Shoot

Two have gone the same way

published

The first mixer I bought lasted a few months,developed a grinding noise and was replaced under warranty.
The replacement is about a year old and has also developed the same grinding noise.
If you buy one, don't expect it to knead bread dough, as advertised. They are not very robust unfortunately.

March 22nd 2018 Update: Spare parts

I wrote a review stating both my original mixer and its replacement developed bad noises (ie gearing). Since writing the review I have had my mixer at the local repairer. He said he couldn't get spare parts, and consequently had 4 of the same model in his workshop unabled to be repaired. The good news, for me, is that was able to repair mine from parts in his broken collection.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Miffy

MiffySydney

  • 2 reviews

Great Machine but After 4 yrs all blades were broken after infrequent use & after 5 stand base metal

published
Date PurchasedSep 2013

AJM69

AJM69Melbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I love my mixer, I don't use it every day or anything like that but have never had any problems with it. Previous to this mixer I had a cheaper model sunbeam stand mixer that wasn't planetary. I like how the whole mixing bowl is used, it's great for making cakes, whipping cream, whipping egg whites. The only downside is that it is too big to fit in any of my cupoards as the shelves are fixed so has to stay on the bench. So I would recommend measuring the space you want to keep it in before purchase.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Lou

LouWollongong

Disappointed. 3 Broken machines and counting.

published

I bought my MX9200 in September 2012. I was initially pleased with the performance. Over time, the gears became louder and the machine eventually stopped working at higher speeds and then stopped working altogether. The machine was replaced and I received a new machine, this machine never sounded as smooth as the first one, it was always much noisier. Within just a few months it too stopped working. This was also replaced under warranty. I have had the 3rd machine for 11 months and today it too suddenly stopped working. I'm at the point now where I'd prefer a refund to being replaced with another machine which will break quickly.

Date PurchasedSep 2012
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Linda

LindaSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Sunbeam cafe mixmaster

published

I brought my sunbeam cafe mixmaster not long ago and I love it I've always had a sunbeam mixmaster over the years and I've never had any problems with them it mixes great and whips up cream and egg white fast I would highly recommend it if your thinking of buying one .

BlueznRootz

BlueznRootzPutaruru

  • 2 reviews

Great, for 18 months... then boom!

published

I bought this Mixmaster 19 months ago and have used it every 2nd / 3rd day over the last 6 months. I make sourdough bread every 2 or 3 days and prefer to use a mixer. This is my first mixer. The motor was fine until this morning when there was a loud crack and a burning smell. And no response after that. How sad... and I'm not happy. I paid NZ$390.00... a lot of money for me. The attachments were good, a scraper, whisker, mixer and dough hook, all the options I wanted. But 19 months performance for $390 is not good by my book.

Rubbish

published

Bought it for mum 3 years ago for mothers day and she has only used it a hand full of times gear box broke and is seized. Repair man said it was immaculate inside but the gear snapped breaking the gear housing.
Really disapointed this thing took a whole month to save up for on an apprentice wage

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

  • Verified purchase

Love my mixmaster!!!

published

I bought my sunbeam cafe series 9200 in the hope of making my life a little easier. I own a small cafe and bake all the slices and cakes myself. This mixmaster meets all my expectations! It has timer with memory, pause button and broad variable speeds all while not making a heap of noise. Highly recommended for anyone that loves to bake!! Oh and if you want perfect pastry or meringue.. this will be your new best friend!

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Karen

KarenHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Buy something else

published

Husband thought he was buying a quality piece of equipment. Which it was until the brass cog that turns the bowls chewed itself out. The machine now makes a god awful screeching noise and wont turn the bowls. Tried to get a replacement part from a Sunbeam repair agent but after only a few years this part is unavailable making the whole machine useless. Really annoying because the mixer part works well. Wont buy Sunbeam again if they're not going to support their products for longer than 12 months..

Date PurchasedJan 2010

See all Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9200 reviews

Questions & Answers

Andrea

Andreaasked

Hi, I have a MX9200 and when I turn the speed on it doesn't change the speed. The LED display tells me it is changing to whatever speed from 1 to 12 but the motor maintains the same speed. Any ideas?
Regards Andrea

1 answer
ElizabethS
ElizabethS

Did you manage to solve this? Mine is doing the same and I've only used it twice.


kira

kiraasked

Is there a smaller mixing bowl than the 4.5 litre that it comes with if so were can you get it?

1 answer
AJM69
AJM69

I didn't look for one but have seen smaller ones in the shops, I don't know if it fit this model.


Liz drew

Liz drewasked

Hi sunbeam - I purchased a mx9200 planetary mixer in July last year and the speed dial is on working ie/ timer is going but the speeds won't increase or work. I have used the mixer a few times and this is the first time it has happened. Am I able to go to Myers (purchased) and get it replaced.?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Hi Liz,

I do apologise for the issues you encountered with one of our Sunbeam products. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be passed onto the product team.

Please return the unit to Myer with a copy of your receipt for a warranty replacement.

Kind Regards
Sunbeam


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.