??!
5 photos
Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9500

Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9500

MX9500 (Stainless), MX9500CU (Copper), MX9500K (Matte Black) and MX9500R (Red)
2.4 from 9 reviews

In for service for 3 weeks. Used twice since and seems to be OK. At least working without holding do

Initially did not work without holding head down the entire time. This completely defeated the purpose of having a mixer of this type. Had a Kenwood for 30 years and never had a problem. When returning it to Briscoes it was sent away for repair which took 3 weeks which was very inconvenient.

December 8th 2018 Update: Used twice since service and stripped gears while whipping egg whites

Not at all satisfied. Have received money back from Briscoes. Would not recommend and would not purchase this brand again. For the little, careful use it got it has performed in a very disappointing manner. Took 3 weeks for the first service and did not want it serviced again. On second use since first service as it would not work without having head held down, I was whipping egg whites for meringues when there was an extremely loud grating noise which sounded very like the gears being stripped. The bowl tipped over and no control of the beater.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
HI JMM, good to see it is working again but please contact us here at Sunbeam if you experience any further issues....

Had an issue originally but Sunbeam sorted it out pronto.

Purchased MX9500 Stainless Steel model in January 2016. RRP at that time was $689 but I think we got it cheaper because it would have been sales times. Anyway, not what you'd call a cheap machine. Purchased this top of the range model because of the stronger (1200W) motor. Seems that maybe was a mistake because the motor is possibly too strong for the gearbox. Which I suspect is what's wrong with the machine after breaking down yesterday trying to mix 450g of dough for two pizzas. Infrequently used but was very happy with it when we did use it. Will wait to see what happens when we call Sunbeam Customer Service on Monday but I'm not holding out much hope as the website says the warranty is 12 months, (although 5 years on the motor).

Have rated 3 stars as I'm still hoping for a favourable outcome.

Update: Sunbeam got the product inspected by a local appliance technician. They worked out what the problem was and then Sunbeam replaced the mixer (sent it out to us). The problem wasn't what I suspected, but an unrelated issue. Have used the replacement machine a few times with no issues and it seems a lot quieter than the old one ever was. Seems the other one was always going to fail at some point as soon as some decent stress was put on it. The replacement is working very well.

Have updated my star rating to reflect the excellent Sunbeam service I received.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Am waiting for the 3 machine to turn up

First machine copper gears went about 3 time flour products used. Sunbeam replaced with stainless model the gears went 3rd or 4th time used other than cream. Most expensive cream mixer I have ever purchased. It is now being replaced.; Maybe different colour and gears might be better. They have emphasised that original warranty date applies. I have been purchasing Sunbeam products for 50 years and have never had to return one or had any problems. Very disappointed. LG

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
The 3rd machine is working perfectly at the moment. Rest assure you will hear if the situation changes. LG

Good mixer with a quality motor, great for bread

Surprised to read the negative reviews. Haven't had any issues with this mixer, I've found it excellent since purchasing! I use it to knead my bread dough (using the included dough hook which works well) and I haven't had any issues with cake mixtures. Speed is easily controllable using the dial on the side (motor is loud at high speeds but it performs very well) and the splash guard prevents mixture from flying everywhere for wet mixtures. Overall very satisfied with this product, only negative is the very high price tag.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Good little mixer - some great features

I already have a Kenwood Chef Major but wanted a smaller machine too as I'm a home baker. Surfice to say I've been spoiled by the super powerful super fast Kenwood so I need to be careful to give the Sunbeam a fair appraisal. I would thoroughly recommend this machine. It does a great job of mixing and whipped albeit slower than I am used to but I suspect all smaller machine are comparable. This machine apparently has a 1200w motor although it doesn't come close to the Kenwood which also has a 1200w motor. The beaters are a bit flimsy too for such a (apparently) powerful motor. I love the design and the head tilt button position. The best feature is the LCD and timer, not only can you set it to time your mixing but you can use it as a regular time. I use it to time the oven. Brilliant feature. The beaters however are trickly to locate in position but I suspect I'll get used to it as time goes on. Also, there is a pause feature which allows you to stop, scrap down the sides and continue without losing the timer function. I love the bowl which is a great shape (much better than the Kenwood) and has a handle. All in all I'd recommend this machine or one very similar.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Broke on the second use

Terrible. Broke down after second use making dough to the recipe in the booklet. Followed the recipe exactly after reading these reviews to make sure I didn't stress the machine and it still broke down. Made strange noise, small washer and small pieces of metal in the dough. Why are you still selling this machine?

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Don't waste your money on this product

I bought Sunbeam Cafe Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9500 this month. I used it twice and its broken after that. This is a terrible product for the amount of money I spent. There are other good mixers in the market for cheap price. Do some research before you buy Sunbeam mixer.

1 comment
Hi Apz, I do apologise for the issues you encountered with one of our Sunbeam products. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be passed onto the product team. Kindest Regards Sunbeam

Similar to a commercial mixer.

As a chef by trade, I am able to recreate many of the dishes I would normally prepare in a commercial kitchen with the bits and pieces of equipment I have collected over the years. The only exception when cooking at home is the few dishes or ingredients that require extensive manual labour were usually not in the rotation of the family menu.
I spent many years as a dessert chef but I rarely attempted cakes, pastries and desserts at home. It usually required arduous work mixing by hand, switching bowls and numerous handheld tools. I’ve just had a daughter so my time is limited.
As a result, I decide to purchase the Sunbeam Café Series Planetary Mixmaster MX9500 with the Power Drive. My purchase was made based numerous features. The timer and pause functions are great if I get called away by my crying daughter. Another advantage is the spring loaded head lift. Makes baking with one hand when the other is occupied by a child much easier. The 1200w motor gave me more confidence that it would be able to cope with the household needs.
Having used the mixer for a short while I am very happy with it. The attachments are sturdy and fit well, making the mixer feel well built. I also love the scraper attachment as it has made the clean-up process a lot easier.
I also have a wife who does not eat gluten. While the range of breads and products are definitely better, I love that I am now able to make GF bread and pasties at home.
I was not sure any mixer would match the power of a commercial one but I have not had any issues with the power of this one for the small batch doughs I have made so far (including a GF pizza dough which was rather heavy).
Overall I am very happy with the product and I’m enjoying being able to make desserts at home like I would in a commercial kitchen.

1 comment
HI LT13!, Thank you for your great feedback on the Sunbeam LC9000! If you require any further advise or information on the unit, please don't hesitate to give our Customer Care Team a call on 1300 881 861 and one of our representatives will be more than happy to assist. Also congrats on the birth of your baby daughter! I hope your Sunbeam Mixmaster brings many great memories together with your family baking lots of yummy deserts :) Kind Regards Sunbeam

bad quality and bad attitude of the sales person in the shop

I bought a "top" machine MX9500 in the sunbeam shop, then it was broken twice in a month. First time it was broke because i made 1 kg dough, then the machine died. According to the sales, i shouldn't make 1kg, that's too much for this "top" machine, they even gave me a lecture that i knew nothing about cooking, they were all shocked by 1 kg dough... i got my new machine, after that, only carefully making less than 500g douch. Then only at the third time i used it, died again after a shocking noise. I went back to the shop, this time, they said even 500 g is too much. and i shouldn't use it more than 1 min. and their machine is not designed for Asia cooking style, blabla.... I got my money back, but I felt insulted and disappointed about this whole purchase experience.

1 comment
Dear J F, Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. We are sincerely sorry to hear about the experience you've had with our Sunbeam shop. All feedback is taking into consideration and passed onto the relevant departments. Should you wish o discuss further, please contact us on: 1300 881 861. Kind Regards Sunbeam

Questions & Answers

I have a sunbeam mixer model MX 9500. The motor works but recently the tough hook and mixing attachment would not engage Can you advise nature of problem please and what can be done? thanks Lindsay
1 answer
I am not surprised it is probably for the dump. My mixer lasted less than a year before functions began failing. I received my money back after second failure which was probably gear box crash.

Why do I have to hold down the head of mixer to keep it going. Had a Kenwood for more than 30 years with No such trouble. Maybe doing something wrong with the dial. Can not see anything relevant in instruction manual.
2 answers
HI JMM. It sounds like the head is not locking in properly if you manually have to hold it down to operate. Please make sure there is nothing stuck between the head and the chassis that is prohibiting it to lock. Please call us on 1300 881 861 if this doesn't help.My current mixer is working perfectly. I do not have to hold anything down. I think you should contact Sunbeam. Regards LG

How do i get it to start?We used it one time and now it's not working
2 answers
Hi Stephen. Sorry to hear of the issues you are having with your MX9500K. Please call us on 1300 881 861 to discuss further, or alternatively, send us a private message with a contact number and we would be happy to assist.Sorry Stephen. I don't have any issue with starting my mixer. I see Sunbeam has contacted you. All the best with it. LG

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.