??!
5 photos
Sunbeam Mixmaster Classic

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
4
3 star
5
2 star
21
1 star
36

Esmay

Esmay

  • 5 reviews

Terrible, never again

published

I purchased the cafe series mix master some time ago but never used it. I opened it from the box yesterday as my other one had broken. I put it on the lowest setting and the speed was like the maximum setting and the mixture just kept splattering everywhere and made a mess of my kitchen. Something is definitely not right. Then the mixer started jumping around all over the bench. I turned it off and that was it.
There goes all my money in the bin as it's brand new and obviously not under warranty.
Will never purchase this brand again.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Esmay,
Could I ask how long you have had your mixer?

Esmay
Esmay

Hi
I have had it for a few years however i never opened it till now. So so disappointed. Stupidly I should have opened it at the time and used it to make sure it was working. Have lost confidence in sunbeam.


Sue

SueMurray Region, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sunbeam used to be a reliable brand

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for $170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sue,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. We are so sorry to hear of your experience with our MX8500 and will be passing it on to our product manager. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Fiona L

Fiona LCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 11 reviews

My Mum's I960's Sunbeam Mixmaster Is Truly Classic!

published

For a product almost 60 years old my Sunbeam Mixmaster still works like a dream and I can even purchase new attachments for it!
Thumbs up to Sunbeam, for continuing to make products with no built in obsolescence and still able to be serviced and repaired.
As a result of such positive experiences with my truly classic Sunbeam Mixmaster, I have gone on to purchase many other Sunbeam products and all have similarly proven exceptional longevity and reliable performance.
Highly recommended!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Fiona L,
We love hearing this!. Thank you :). Hold onto it, it is a great machine. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Didn’t last long

published

Bought for my wife 2 years ago mx8500 now motor runs but beaters don’t work. I am like so many others. Thought Sunbeam was STILL a good product so I would buy another one. Should have looked at the product reviews. Talk about cheap and nasty. How disappointing. As other people have said. Just a heap of junk. Shame on you Sunbeam you have trashed your good name with rubbish to make a few extra dollars. Dumb Dumb Dumb

Purchased in March 2017.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Gary Gray,
We are sorry to hear of your experience with the MX8500. I will be sure to pass this on to our product team for valuable feedback. Kind Regards Sunbeam


glenbas

glenbasLaunceston, TAS

worst sunbeam mixmaster ever

published

After owning a Sunbeam for over 30 years we decided it was time to upgrade, We purchased the silver model almost 2 years ago. We only used the mixer occassionally, to cream butter & sugar or whip cream, maybe 2 times a month. A few weeks ago I contacted Sunbeam as the mixer could only be used on low speed, if we turned it up the beaters would jam. I was advised to take it to our local sunbeam repair agent which i did. I collected the machine today to be told it was no good any more as the gear box had seized !!! I am so angry that after minimal use over a 2 year period it now has to be thrown out. NOT GOOD ENOUGH. Last time I will ever buy Sunbeam

Purchased in November 2016 at Begents Electrical Launceston 7250 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi glenbas,
Sorry to hear of the issue with the MX8500. I will be sure to pass this feedback onto our Product and Tech teams.


Kayser

KayserMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great product.

published

I have had this mixmaster for just over a year. This machine works very well and is easy to scrape food off the sides of the bowl. The attachments are great for mixing ingredients and the bowl size is excellent. I bought this at a great price and would highly recommend this product.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

So good to hear you are making the most of your mixmaster Kayser, thanks heaps for the review


Bowl hard to unlock

published

I bought this after my old machine of 10 years died. It works great only problem is I have a lot of trouble unlocking the large bowl I have no trouble with the small bowl. Does anyone know the trick to unlocking the large bowl. It might be faulty .

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Never buy Sunbeam!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2005
Wendy Gordon

Wendy GordonPERTH

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Just what i was looking for

published

I am extremely happy with this mix master. The main reason for this being, i can scrape the edge of the bowl whilst it is mixing without any effort at all. I had a very expensive mix master that i sold because i couldn't do this. It had scraper beaters, but i find that they don't do the job well enough, especially for meringue. This classic model is just so easy to use. love it

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Lani

Laniauckland

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mixer

published

I have had this mixer for 3 years now. No problems. Very easy to use. Looks smart on my bench. Highly recommend . Solid machine. I get a lot of comments on how good it looks. Easy to clean. Got it at a great price. Even hubby can work it.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Bowl doesn't spin

published

Highly disappointed with this mixer. My husband purchased it for me for Christmas 2017 from Myer, I went to use it today (2/1/18) for the first time to discover the bowl did not spin with the large or small bowl attached. We will be returning this appliance and will purchase another brand.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Sunbeam florence broadhurst design is a disgrace

published

Florence broadhurst mixer really poor hardly mixes. The bowl doesn't lock into place properly very bad machine waste if money.
The toaster is fine but the mixer complete let down.
Pity because sunbeam was a trusted brand for me, I'll never buy sunbeam again.
The mixer has made me not bother using it and I cool alot.
I wouldn't waste time, effort or money on sunbeam mixers again.
I could've got a better machine from target it chosen the Kenwood.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Denise

DeniseMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cheap disappointing product, don't waste your money on Sunbeam

published
Date PurchasedOct 2014

Fiona J

Fiona J

  • 2 reviews

Noisy, bad oil smell

published

I purchased this as my grandmother and mum both had a similar Sunbeam mixer. They worked great. Mine did not. Although it looked similar, when in use it always had a bad smell of burning oil. The motor sounded screechy. Note I am speaking in the past tense...there were 2 motors one to spin the bowl around. It failed and the mixer is now in the landfill.

Date PurchasedJun 2014

Attaching and rotating bowl is a nightmare

published

I recieved this as a gift. I had the issue of bowl not attaching or detaching properly. At about 1 month old the base fell apart it was replaced whole new machine but i still have the same problem. Its useless! I also have issues putting beaters in and quite often the beaters bump together to the point where i have small metal peices from beaters in my mix. Would not reccomment at all, should really return it. Dont want to offend my mother in law with sending it back as i wouldnt replace with the same mixer again.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
patrick hamilton

patrick hamiltonBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Sunbeam Customer Service is appalling

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Skye swasbrick

Skye swasbrickQueensland

worked for four years

published

Hi my grandmother has a sunbeam mixmaster classic we have put the little bowl in and it is stuck to the turntable and all it is doing is clicking and turning. We don't know what to do or how to get the little bowl of the turn table Can someone help us?

Date PurchasedNov 2012

Will not cream butter and sugar took over half hour to get mixture

published

This mixmaster is no where near as good as our 30 year old Sunbeam mixer, when mixing ingredients for example trying to cream butter and sugar, the mixture just sticks to the outside of bowl spinning around mixing nothing, manually having to force the mixture to the centre of the bowl. This was bought as a birthday present last March and my wife is very disappointed in it and says it has taken the joy out of cooking with the extra time it takes to mix the mixtures. I do have a video of this. We did call customer service regarding this issue and have tried their recommendations on the problem without these fixing the problem.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Problem detaching bowl

published

I brought this mix master, and after one use I could not detach the bowl from the base. One day I decided to unscrew the bottom and found that a small spring was not affixed where it should have been, after reattaching the spring I could finally remove the bowl. It works just fine now.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

CatherineC

CatherineCIpswich

  • 2 reviews

Beater gears worn away

published

I recieved my mixmaster as a present less than 2 years ago and use it a dozen times a year. I find the motor nice and quiet but the beaters very hard to get in. Just recently the beaters jammed when I was beating some butter and then the outer beater stopped rotating. When I ejected it I fond the gears had stripped and the beater will no longer spin. Spare parts are quite expensive considering the cost of the machine!

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Lisa L.

Lisa L.asked

I have one dough hook that isn't working and is loose when Inserted. The other beater attachments hit when spinning. Any suggestions?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Lisa L.
I haven't come across this problem before, giver your local repair agent a call to see if this is repairable. We have a directory of repair service agents, find your local agent here: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/en/Service-Agent-Locator/


Trevor W

Trevor Wasked

Our Mixmaster Classic MX8500W is three years old and might have made 10 - 12 cake mixes. When we last used it, their is only one speed & it seems to be over revving & getting hot.
We are relucent to purchase another Sunbeam Classic. What is the problem?

2 answers
Sue
Sue

Hi Trevor. I returned mine after a couple uses as it stopped working. You could try contacting Sunbeam. I didnt replace mine with another Sunbeam, i bought a Breville and love it.

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Trevor W,
I haven't come across this problem before, giver your local repair agent a call to see if this is repairable. We have a directory of repair service agents, find your local agent here: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/en/Service-Agent-Locator/


Tracey

Traceyasked

Hi there, is there meant to be a something holding the turn table on the bottom once you put it in the hole? I have tried to use it & it vibrates & moves around my bench? Thank you

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Tracey,
The Mixmaster classic is not a planetary mixer, the bowl is designed to spin so that the beaters can reach and mix all the ingredients in the bowl.
I hope that helps... I think that is what you are asking. If not please reach out again.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.