??!
4 photos
Sunbeam Planetary Mixmaster MX7900

Sunbeam Planetary Mixmaster MX7900

MX7900W (White), MX7900B (Blue), MX7900R (Red), MX7900
2.6 from 40 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
7
3 star
8
2 star
8
1 star
12

Baker

BakerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

My very first stand mixmaster

published

Purchased in December 2016 at Harvey Norman for $799.00.

Build Quality
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Honest01

Honest01South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sunbeam Quality Never Again 2 Units both Stopped the same way

published

Purchase back in 2017 New Lasted 13 Months (Just out of warranty) Just Stopped and Blew the Circuit Breakers, Complained to Sunbeam after a hassle or 2 finally they took responsibility and replaced it. Today Not even 12 Months exactly the same thing ... Stopped and blew the circuit Breaker again
After resetting Keeps Blowing

Guess who's mum has a sunbeam....... Not mine

This Mixer Model has a inherent Fault and should be withdrawn for sale

Do not buy sunbeam they also only have 12 month warranty really not work $300

Purchased in December 2017 at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Honest01,
Sorry to hear that, please give our team a call on 1300 881 861 to discuss

Carolyn W

Carolyn WPerth, WA

Mixer stops within 3 years

published

Worked well until yesterday when it stopped. Definitely not overuse - average one use per 3 weeks. Have sunbeam from 25 years ago that still works. So disappointed - loyal sunbeam buyer

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Carolyn W
Carolyn W
Tegan

Tegan

  • 2 reviews

Mixes well, doesn't last long

published

Mixes very well, a little bit loud to use, but easy to use and doesn't make a mess. I used mine quite a bit but the mixer died after 15 months. Very disappointed.

Purchased in March 2018 at The Good Guys for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tegan, So sorry to hear of this. Please call us on 1300 881 861 for further assistance . Kind regards, Sunbeam


Mel Collins

Mel CollinsQueensland

Worst mixmaster ever

published

My 30 year old sunbeam ( has 2 glass bowls)creams butter and Sugar And does cake mixture better than this mixmaster.
As I always double recipes so you’d think there would be enough product in the stainless steel Bowl , however all this mixmaster does is push the ingredients to the edge of the bowl...it does not mix or cream .
I asked for a voucher from my family to get this machine as it was a 50th birthday present so I could keep my good old faithful one at work and keep my new one for home...well my new one is going back to where i purchased it.
Extremely disappointed.

Purchased in March 2019 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mel Collins,
So sorry to hear of this. Being a Planetary mixer the one beater should be able to beat small amounts so not sure why it didn't for you.


Mitzi Mulder

Mitzi Mulder

  • 2 reviews

Worst mixmaster ever had a

published

Had a sunbeam mixmaster with the two whisks I loved it but broke the large bowl so bought the planetary mixmaster doesn't mix paddles don't reach the bottom or sides
I hate it now looking for a new one

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys.

Value for Money
Noise Level
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mitzi Mulder,
Thank you for your feedback. Well noted. Like many other model these units still require assistance with scraping the sides whilst bowl is turning. It is also better for larger quantities used.
Kind Regards,
Sunbeam

Mitzi Mulder
Mitzi Mulder

Would not buy another one have heard too many complaints about the machine
Thanks to the good guys where wee bought it or as full refund


Emma Gyuris

Emma GyurisTownsville

  • 2 reviews

Would NOT buy again

published

worked well for 2 years. mixed bread dough, meringues, cakes as expected. after a bit over 2 years it lost speed control and could not operate at the lower speeds to mix dough. very disappointing, as there is apparently no service agent in Townsville, where i live and purchased the machine. i am now stuck in a cue to sunbeam to figure out what to do...
another issue.. the mixing paddle is useless as the rubber blade has a large gap between it and the wall of the mixing bowl, where all butter and sugar accumulates, not reachable by the paddle . So you can not cream butter and sugar for a normal size recipe.
Not happy!

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Eleni C.

Eleni C.Albany

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great First Mixer!!!

published

I was given this sunbeam mixer as a Christmas present in 2017. The first one I received worked well for the first week then started to spark, I immediately got this returned and replaced with another identical mixer. I have had no problems with it, it does mixes really well, however depending on what you're making, the bottom ingredients won't necessarily mix, but that can be easily fixed by manually scooping it up back into the mixture. It does tend to struggle a bit with hard butter which makes it sound a little strained and the tops moves quite a bit. It makes cooking quiches and cakes very easy. My only complaint is that the handle to the bowl is only glued on and has since fallen of from my mixing bowl.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Eleni please give us a call on 1300 881 861 to discuss the handle on the processing bowl and we can see if we can assist you.

Mahkuhl

MahkuhlCanberra

  • 2 reviews

Weak motor, died completely after 10 uses

published

Nice looking machine and well designed accessories. We used it only occasionally after the 40 year old Kenwood Chef passed down from my mother-in-law finally died. We found the motor to be pretty weak, and the bowl a strange shape at the bottom which meant ingredients didn’t mix. Fitting the bowl to the base was awkward. But then after using it only about 10 times, the motor failed completely. Glad I bought the extended warranty!

Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mahkuhl! Thanks for the feedback and apologies for the issues you experienced. Have you contacted the retailer or Sunbeam customer care re this issue??

lisanow

lisanow

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the dough mixer

published

Just made myself some bread using the dough setting on the mixer. Pretty impressed with how it mixed the ingredients in no time perfectly blended and with no requirement for me to knead dough and snap my floppy arms off. Looking forward to making cakes and biscuits and pavlova with this mixer in the near future. It looks stylish on the kitchen bench too :)

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Doesn't do the job

published

This machine is very disappointing. I thought sunbeam was a great brand, but not for mixers! Quite simply, it cannot knead dough. The safety lock does not work on the bowl. My two year old son is now terrified whenever I pull the mix master out, as the bowl lurches off the mixer if you don't physically hold it down when attempting to knead dough. When this happened a number of times trying to make pizza dough, I thought I would try a half batch of bread dough instead - same problem.

Standard mixing also fails, as flour ends up everywhere and it doesn't evenly mix - it doesn't reach to the bottom of the bowl, nor does it pick up anything from the sides.

The machine is unusable and a real disappointment.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Lisabee

Lisabeespringfield lakes

  • 4 reviews

Can't mix anything on the bottle of the bowl

published

This cute little mixmaster fails to reach the base of the bowl making it impracticable. The motor is unable to deal with any more than 2 cups and will often fail. Despite coming with several attachments, Whisk, dough hook, and a spatula beater. The machine still doesn't reach the bottom of the bowl, It is unable to knead anything over a cup without the machine rocking and the jumping like its having an epileptic seizure. Whisking egg whites, butter etc required removing the bowl and lifting it into the whisk. Making Pizza dough, cookie dough etc is impossible as the machine is unable to handle any large.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Damodon

DamodonBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Quite good - not without issues.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Christine H

Christine H

  • 3 reviews

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

published

I bought this machine to replace my old Kenwood. I use it to make biscuits with the dough hook. This machine will not mix the dough properly. I use No 1 setting (the slowest) but the machine speeds up throwing dough everywhere and the bowl becomes unlocked from the base causing a hell of a mess. It might be ok for meringue. Definitely NOT a useful kitchen item.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
AmieJK

AmieJKSouth Australia

  • 8 reviews

Great tool for simple recipes

published

This is a relatively cheap model compared to the higher powered mixmasters, and this does show when trying to blend thicker cake mixes or doughs. In saying this, for things like merengue or thiner cookie batters, this works well. The balloon whisk is handy to get your egg whites stiff and the flat paddle is great for blending and folder. A handy tool for the simple things. ,

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Tina

TinaBerwick

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of money

published

I got this from harvey norman lady year. I really wanted a benchtop mixer to make my baking easier.
I've had it for 18 months now and have used it .
My issue is that the bowl comes unlocked continuously so I can't ever let go of the bowl for more than 10 seconds at a time! It is so frustrating!! It really hasn't made my baking any easier.
Also attachment hit the bolw and make a sound. I have took this to harvey noman. They have checked with thire display. That one also have the same issue. What they said after, what you pay what you get. Funny.
Every time I use it I aware I'm going to get rid of it! I wouldnt recommend anyone buy it. Save your money for a KitchenAid or Kenwood people!!!

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Jazzy_mine

Jazzy_mineAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good cake mixer

published

I have had my mixer for almost 2 1/2 years. Initially after about 3 months my mixing paddle broke. My hubby had brought this for me and hadn't kept the receipt so I didn't hold much hope in getting it replaced without paying, but when I emailed sunbeam they were great and sent a replacement in a couple of days at their cost. I use this all the time and other than that is still going strong. The only complaint I have is that it is messy and always flicks the dry ingredients out of the bowl. Also I find I have to stop and manually mix halfway through as some of the mix goes to the side and doesn't mix in.

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Bluey

BlueyCanberra

Technology going backwards

published

Comes with a "paddle" to beat/mix. Paddle chucks contents out of the bowl all over the cook, bench and floor. Depression in the bottom of the bowl keeps ingredients away from mixing process. You need to be a weightlifter to raise the mixer head with one hand (let alone the one finger in the advertisement). Very disappointed in a brand which has been such an icon for so long.

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Loz

LozAU

  • 5 reviews

Great kitchen mixer

published

Motor is powerful enough to be used for beating / mixing and kneading.
Regularly used for pizza doughs, as well as cake batters and souffle mix.
Handy to have the ability to raise / lower the head with one hand pressing the button.
Not overly noisy and it is easy to clean

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Belpeep

BelpeepADELAIDE, SA

  • 5 reviews

Ok mixer with a couple of annoying flaws

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sandie C.

Sandie C.asked

Hi when you hold the stainless steel whisk attachment in your hand left hand and the grey plastic top with your right should the plastic move around(twist)? I can't say i have noticed this when i have washed it before. It doesn't seem to be whisking like it use to either.

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sandie C.
Thank you for your question. Please call us on 1300 881 861 when with your mixer and and we can assist you further.


Debbie Sim

Debbie Simasked

I brought my mixmaster around 2 months ago on a special its a very good mixmaster i love it. The only thing i got wronge is a was making a cake one day n the beater came apart. Where do i get another beater from?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Debbie. Please contact our customer care team on 1300 881 861 and have your proof of purchase ready and they will be happy to send you a replacement beater.


John

Johnasked

machine does not work at all I suspect switch any clues ?

1 answer
Mahkuhl
Mahkuhl

Yes I suspect it is the switch. That’s what happened to mine. Retailer just offered me replacement machine. It seemed to be a known common fault.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.