4 photos
Sunbeam Verve Platinum

Sunbeam Verve Platinum

SR6250, SR6550, SR6585, etc...
2.2 from 114 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Sunbeam

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    4.9 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Disappointed with Sunbeam Verve SR6550

published

I bought the new Verve SR6550 iron about 3-4 weeks ago and used it on my next ironing day. Read the instructions and how the iron worked. Couldn't stand the continual beeping for whatever was upsetting it. 2nd week: tried again to use the iron. It beeped after about 5-10 seconds having stood it on its heel. (need to stop ironing to straighten the clothes). Then it got upset again - more beeping - couldn't work out what the problem was. I shall return this to the store when I'm next in that town. After 50+ years of ironing I should know basic safety and how to use an iron! I shall go back to my non-digital steam iron which still does a good job. It's also a bit heavy.

Purchased in February 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Product is used Weekly
DeeBee
DeeBee
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Has never really worked properly

published

Has never really worked properly. The steam generally doesn't work when ironing, and it spits water if you press the shot of steam (either while ironing or standing). This is not related to temperature of the iron- it does it even on linen setting and when it is indicating it is up to temperature. The only reason I didn't return for a refund is that I bought online during lockdown and it was just too hard to return at that time, but am now wishing I had gone to the effort to do that as I get frustrated every time I use it- which is often as I sew regularly. Don't waste your money on this one, a cheap kmart number would perform better

Purchased in April 2020 at Myer for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Hilary W.
Hilary W.Northeast, VIC

not happy

published

I purchased this iron recently. This iron is difficult to use as the dial is not easy to understand and difficult to see the markings. It often wont turn on even tho the on light illuminates but the temp light does not turn on. The steam does not come out unless the steam spray or shot is pressed.

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hilary W.
Hilary W.

Just an update. The iron had several faults and was replaced by Good Guys. I am very happy with the replacement.

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Platinum compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jen
Jen
  • 2 reviews

Best iron ever

published

I've never damaged any fabric with this iron its perfect for low heat delicates and the steaming of garments is perfect particularly for sensitive garments and tough materials such as heavy denims

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Jen,
Glad to hear you've found your perfect iron.

Jen
Jen

I'm glad I found it too as I take in ironing for other people !! Its the best !!!

Michael Doulton
Michael DoultonSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

What a difference

published

Thanks Sunbeam. We were very unhappy with the Sunbeam Alpha SR 6350 but Sunbeam took it back for a full refund and we bought the Verve Platinum instead which irons brilliantly and is so much easier to use.

Purchased in April 2020 at Myer Online Store for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Michael Doulton,
Glad to hear your loving your replacement !

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Fabius
FabiusSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but not excellent

published

The iron working good but it breaks easily.
I've changed two times: the first time the iron plate was ruined immediately, and the second time it stops to work the steam.

Ken Singh
Ken Singh
  • 6 reviews

Perfect Item

published

I'm very with my purchase. Good value for money. Good product for ironing all type of clothes. It has good function for steam ironing. I recommend to buy the same.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for $57.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Thanks Ken Singh

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Aman
AmanSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Sunbeam Iron

published

For the price we paid. It’s really good iron to have. Does the job like it’s expected to. Very easy and quick to heat up and easy to navigate through tight screens.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hi Aman,
Thank you for your great feedback!

fizzwizz
fizzwizzHobart, TAS

Not the usual sunbeam quality

published

Initially very happy with the iron and have always had sunbeam. After a few months it started leaking and now leaks every time used to the point were there would be 3-4 large leaks on one side of a shirt front. As I sew, quilt and iron most garments, I am using the iron every week. I will return to store of purchase and give sunbeam another chance.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $65.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello fizzwizz,
Sorry to hear about this, however all our irons come with a 2 year warranty so you can be sure that you are getting what you want, what you expect and plenty of time to test the product too.

Thank you

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Platinum compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
juergen
juergenAU
  • 25 reviews
  • 14 likes

Easy to Use

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Myer for $69.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello juergen,
Thank you for your wonderful review and breakdown of pros and cons. I will pass on your feedback to our quality and control team.

Ian
IanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews

This product is not worth buying.

published

I purchased one of these irons and within 3 months (1) the clip that closes the water compartment had broken (which resulted in a lot of water dripping onto my clothes while ironing) and (2) the iron soleplate temperature ran hot and cold. I returned the iron to the retailer where I purchased it from who (under warranty) exchanged the iron with the same product. Around 3 months later the clip has not broken but the iron soleplate is now running hot and cold. Rather than take the iron back to the retailer for another exchange iron I have placed it into the bin and have purchased another brand of iron.
MONEY DOWN THE DRAIN...!

Purchased in October 2018 for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Ian
Ian
Nik C.
Nik C.Sydney, NSW
  • 18 reviews
  • 21 likes

Brilliant iron

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review NikC!!

James Creese
James CreeseHobart, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed

published

Bought this iron to replace my old trusty Sunbeam. Almost from first day leaked and splashed water from the poorly designed water cap. Iron was returned several months after purchase and replaced with same model. Started out OK but now new one sprinkles water everwhere and now the auto steam doesn't work making business shirts look less than business. Won't go back for a 3rd bite.

Purchased in May 2019 at Myer for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
zooter
zooterMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Rubbish, Leaks and burns clothes

published

Initially it looked good, but then slowly within a few months, it started leaking, burning clothes etc. on high heat. If on low heat, it doesn't iron at all. Even after ironing for 15 minutes it just doesn't get the creases out!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi zooter, maybe there is a problem with the thermostat. Please return to store or give us a call on 1300 881 861 to assist you.

Pinkay
PinkayGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 14 reviews

Good

published

I always iron my own shirt and this iron all of my shirt really well, it’s easy to use anc it heats up quick. The cord length is quite long, so it is easy to handle and use.

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tom,
Thanks for the great review! Glad to hear it is making life easier. Kind regards, Sunbeam

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Platinum compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Roslyn
Roslynasked
Verve Platinum SR6550

I have a sunbeam verbe 65 platinum and all of a sudden has started peeping and doesnt appear to be as hot. If I turn off a power point and turn back on it works for about 40 seconds and then starts
peeping. It has been I been a great iron and bought in on 12/12/2018.
What can I do about this as use 4 times a week.

No answers
Doss
Dossasked
Verve Platinum SR6550

Should my verve iron only produce steam when I push the shot button or as long as I’m using it when set to steam

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Doss,
Attached is the user manual for the SR6550 this should assist you with your question. https://manualsbrain.com/en/manuals/1284458/ Thanks

bob89
bob89asked
Verve Platinum

Difference between Verve62 and Verve 57

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello bob89,
There is a comparison tool on our website, I have loaded the two irons for you, so you can easily see the difference in there specs:
www.sunbeam.com.au/en/Product-Comparison/?subCategoryPageId=412&skuIDs=SR6575,SR6250

Just copy and paste the above link

See all Sunbeam Verve Platinum questions

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Sunbeam Verve Platinum

Details

Compare all 10 Sunbeam Verve Platinum
CategoryIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam Generators
Price (RRP) $139.00$84.95$84.95$54.00
FeaturesAuto Shut Off, Drip-Stop and Vertical SteamAuto Shut Off, Drip-Stop, Vertical Steam and Water SprayAnti-Drip, Auto Shut Off, Drip-Stop, Vertical Steam and Water Spray
CordlessNoNoNoNo
Steam GeneratorNoNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity300 ml300 ml300 ml300 ml
Cord Length2.5 m2.5 m2.5 m
Steam Output35 g/min150 g/min38 g/min
Power2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W
Weight1.8 kg1.8 kg1.7 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishPurple PlatinumPinkBlackGreen
Release dateAug 2011Aug 2011Aug 2011Aug 2011
Compare all 10 Sunbeam Verve Platinum

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.