??!
4 photos
Sunbeam Verve Platinum

Sunbeam Verve Platinum

SR6250, SR6550, SR6585, etc...
2.2 from 113 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (10)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    4.9 (9)
Previous
Next
DeeBee

DeeBee

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Has never really worked properly

published

Has never really worked properly. The steam generally doesn't work when ironing, and it spits water if you press the shot of steam (either while ironing or standing). This is not related to temperature of the iron- it does it even on linen setting and when it is indicating it is up to temperature. The only reason I didn't return for a refund is that I bought online during lockdown and it was just too hard to return at that time, but am now wishing I had gone to the effort to do that as I get frustrated every time I use it- which is often as I sew regularly. Don't waste your money on this one, a cheap kmart number would perform better

Purchased in April 2020 at Myer for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton, Denim, Synthetics and Wool
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Hilary W.

Hilary W.Northeast, VIC

not happy

published

I purchased this iron recently. This iron is difficult to use as the dial is not easy to understand and difficult to see the markings. It often wont turn on even tho the on light illuminates but the temp light does not turn on. The steam does not come out unless the steam spray or shot is pressed.

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton
See all answers
1 comment
Hilary W.
Hilary W.

Just an update. The iron had several faults and was replaced by Good Guys. I am very happy with the replacement.

Jen

Jen

  • 2 reviews

Best iron ever

published

I've never damaged any fabric with this iron its perfect for low heat delicates and the steaming of garments is perfect particularly for sensitive garments and tough materials such as heavy denims

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton and Denim
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Jen,
Glad to hear you've found your perfect iron.

Jen
Jen

I'm glad I found it too as I take in ironing for other people !! Its the best !!!

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Platinum compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael Doulton

Michael DoultonSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

What a difference

published

Thanks Sunbeam. We were very unhappy with the Sunbeam Alpha SR 6350 but Sunbeam took it back for a full refund and we bought the Verve Platinum instead which irons brilliantly and is so much easier to use.

Purchased in April 2020 at Myer Online Store for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Michael Doulton,
Glad to hear your loving your replacement !

Fabius

FabiusSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Good but not excellent

published

The iron working good but it breaks easily.
I've changed two times: the first time the iron plate was ruined immediately, and the second time it stops to work the steam.

Ken Singh

Ken Singh

  • 6 reviews

Perfect Item

published

I'm very with my purchase. Good value for money. Good product for ironing all type of clothes. It has good function for steam ironing. I recommend to buy the same.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for $57.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is usedDaily
Clothing MaterialCotton, Denim and Synthetics
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Thanks Ken Singh

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Aman

AmanSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Sunbeam Iron

published

For the price we paid. It’s really good iron to have. Does the job like it’s expected to. Very easy and quick to heat up and easy to navigate through tight screens.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton, Denim and Synthetics
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hi Aman,
Thank you for your great feedback!

fizzwizz

fizzwizzHobart, TAS

Not the usual sunbeam quality

published

Initially very happy with the iron and have always had sunbeam. After a few months it started leaking and now leaks every time used to the point were there would be 3-4 large leaks on one side of a shirt front. As I sew, quilt and iron most garments, I am using the iron every week. I will return to store of purchase and give sunbeam another chance.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $65.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Clothing MaterialCotton
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello fizzwizz,
Sorry to hear about this, however all our irons come with a 2 year warranty so you can be sure that you are getting what you want, what you expect and plenty of time to test the product too.

Thank you

juergen

juergenAU

  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Easy to Use

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Myer for $69.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello juergen,
Thank you for your wonderful review and breakdown of pros and cons. I will pass on your feedback to our quality and control team.

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Platinum compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian

IanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

This product is not worth buying.

published

I purchased one of these irons and within 3 months (1) the clip that closes the water compartment had broken (which resulted in a lot of water dripping onto my clothes while ironing) and (2) the iron soleplate temperature ran hot and cold. I returned the iron to the retailer where I purchased it from who (under warranty) exchanged the iron with the same product. Around 3 months later the clip has not broken but the iron soleplate is now running hot and cold. Rather than take the iron back to the retailer for another exchange iron I have placed it into the bin and have purchased another brand of iron.
MONEY DOWN THE DRAIN...!

Purchased in October 2018 for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Ian
Ian
NikC

NikCSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 19 likes

Brilliant iron

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Clothing MaterialCotton, Denim and Synthetics
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review NikC!!

James Creese

James CreeseHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed

published

Bought this iron to replace my old trusty Sunbeam. Almost from first day leaked and splashed water from the poorly designed water cap. Iron was returned several months after purchase and replaced with same model. Started out OK but now new one sprinkles water everwhere and now the auto steam doesn't work making business shirts look less than business. Won't go back for a 3rd bite.

Purchased in May 2019 at Myer for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton, Denim and Synthetics
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
zooter

zooterMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Rubbish, Leaks and burns clothes

published

Initially it looked good, but then slowly within a few months, it started leaking, burning clothes etc. on high heat. If on low heat, it doesn't iron at all. Even after ironing for 15 minutes it just doesn't get the creases out!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Clothing MaterialCotton, Denim, Silk, Synthetics and Wool
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi zooter, maybe there is a problem with the thermostat. Please return to store or give us a call on 1300 881 861 to assist you.

Pinkay

PinkayGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews

Good

published

I always iron my own shirt and this iron all of my shirt really well, it’s easy to use anc it heats up quick. The cord length is quite long, so it is easy to handle and use.

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tom,
Thanks for the great review! Glad to hear it is making life easier. Kind regards, Sunbeam

jess

jessGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Does a good job

published

I do not usually use iron as I am too lazy for that, but after I bought this iron, my dad has to iron his shirt to go to work!! The iron is not that large so it is quite easy to store, would recommend.

Purchased in September 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi jess,
Thanks for the great review!

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Platinum compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tanya J.

Tanya J.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Heat up quick

published

I just bought this last month and it is still working well. It heats up quick, easy to handle, use and iron every type of clothing. The cord length also fits my arm and the price is not that expensive as well.

Purchased in March 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI Tanya J,
Thanks for the great review!

Tom

Tom

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Sunbeam iron

published

Decent iron well priced for how it works would recommend but it’s nothing special
Works well on fabrics
Somewhat gentle with delicates
Very satisfied with the steaming aspect of the iron as it works well

Purchased in September 2018 at The CPAP Clinic Physical store for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Clothing MaterialCotton and Synthetics
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Tom,
Many thanks for the great review.!

Splashes water everywhere

published

This iron splashes so much water onto the items that I am ironing I have to hang them up to dry. I think I'll have to put this in the cupboard as a spare and buy another brand. Unlike my earlier iron the Verve 58 does not beep a warning when left on. I wish I had taken note of that brand as it served me well for many years.

Purchased in June 2018 for $108.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Clothing MaterialCotton
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Dave,
Sorry to hear of your issue with the iron. If you have retained your receipt please return it to the store of purchase.

Komal

KomalSydney

  • 6 reviews

Good product

published

Sunbeam is a good company. The iron have been good for last 6 months i just feel it is bit heavy but have been a good product so far.. will recommend the product..!!

Date PurchasedJune 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Komal, Many thanks for the positive feedback!

tanya

tanyaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

not too bad

published

It is not too bad as what the others said I think, It works normally and okay for me, the water inside doesn't drip everywhere and it glides smoothly. The weight is a little bit heavy but this is not a big problem. I also like the cord, it is quite long.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the review Tanya!

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Doss

Dossasked

Verve Platinum SR6550

Should my verve iron only produce steam when I push the shot button or as long as I’m using it when set to steam

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Doss,
Attached is the user manual for the SR6550 this should assist you with your question. https://manualsbrain.com/en/manuals/1284458/ Thanks

bob89

bob89asked

Verve Platinum

Difference between Verve62 and Verve 57

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello bob89,
There is a comparison tool on our website, I have loaded the two irons for you, so you can easily see the difference in there specs:
www.sunbeam.com.au/en/Product-Comparison/?subCategoryPageId=412&skuIDs=SR6575,SR6250

Just copy and paste the above link

CEC

CECasked

Verve Platinum SR6585

Why when ironing does the alarm start?

1 answer
Platycat
Platycat

Hi CEC,
My Verve Alarm does not start when I am using, it starts only if left on and not touched for a minute or more and as soon as you start to use again the Alarm stops.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Compare all 10 Sunbeam Verve Platinum
CategoryIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam GeneratorsIrons & Steam Generators
Price (RRP) $139.00$84.95$84.95$54.00
FeaturesAuto Shut Off, Drip-Stop and Vertical SteamAuto Shut Off, Drip-Stop, Vertical Steam and Water SprayAnti-Drip, Auto Shut Off, Drip-Stop, Vertical Steam and Water Spray
CordlessNoNoNoNo
Steam GeneratorNoNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity300 ml300 ml300 ml300 ml
Colour / FinishPurple PlatinumPinkBlackGreen
Cord Length2.5 m2.5 m2.5 m
Steam Output35 g/min150 g/min38 g/min
Power2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W
Weight1.8 kg1.8 kg1.7 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateAug 2011Aug 2011Aug 2011Aug 2011
Compare all 10 Sunbeam Verve Platinum

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.