??!

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

If you're a regular driver, a good car insurance policy can grant you peace of mind. With so many providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the best, cheapest car insurance for you, whether comprehensive or third party.

Read now

Reviews

2.4

167 reviews
5
(39)
4
(18)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(98)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (33)
  • Customer Service
    2.3 (33)
  • Timeliness
    2.2 (22)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.0 (16)
  • Transparency
    2.2 (31)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Kim Thoa B.

Kim Thoa B.

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A company that isnt all about the money

published

I lost both my job since the pandemic today I rang up and unexpectedly was advised that they offer 3 month free to help people effected by the pandemic! Amazing!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda CR-V
See all answers
bea

beaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

They've never let me down

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2017
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelFord Mondeo MC
See all answers
Tdot15

Tdot15Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst service ever!

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJune 2020
Car Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Motor Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Honestly couldnt ask for better service

published

Excellent service, support and reasonable price. Cannot fault these guys at all. I have home insurance with them also and they are a stand up company. Very happy after two years with them

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Holly B.

Holly B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

They have your back

published

They are not the cheapest (although competitively priced), but have been easy to contact, very responsive to my queries and have gone over and above in terms of service to me over the years. Always happy to negotiate ways to reduce my insurance costs and have been a valuable source of comfort to me in times of need when it really counts. I have gone elsewhere briefly, only to return for a level of service and concern they showed that I have not experienced elsewhere. Thankyou so much, Suncorp.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda CRV
See all answers

Highly unreliable and Very bad customer service

published

I had an issue with my car and I called the Suncorp. They said that they will cover the issue, and in my claim lodgement the status was changed to "Repair Authorized". After 2 days of waiting, they informed me that they are not going to cover that. I spend more than 3 hours on my phone and it disrupted my work for 3 days. If they provided me with accurate information at the day I contacted them first regarding this issue I could get this work done and save my time.
If I could give a minus rating I would do so and I do not recommend their service at all.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Hubba D.

Hubba D.

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

WARNING DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM

published

Attempted to short pay me for a not at fault accident by 2500$ ended up going through my own insurance to recover the money that I was entitled to, then attempted to charge me for the hire car after going through my insurance.
you will all burn in hell for your scandalous ways.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Eldecco

EldeccoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good luck; even if you’re not at fault they get the money

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Car ModelHyundai i30
See all answers
Tom J.

Tom J.South East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely horrendous. Rude staff, any excuse not to pay.

published

I was hit by a driver insured by Suncorp almost a year ago now (other driver 100% at fault). Dealing with their claims team is like trying to squeeze blood from a stone. They make you jump through unnecessary hoops, ignore emails for weeks on end, move the goalposts, and are then extremely rude and belittling when they finally do reply. 1 year later, and they are STILL yet to pay out. This is the worst "service" I have ever received from any company.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Motor Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great customer service

published

We would really recommend Suncorp car insurance they were always friendly and helpful on the phone and went out of their way to help us.

The only claim we had was for a small chip in the windscreen and they quickly organised for a company to check it out

Will definitely use them again if we are back in Australia!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelFord Escape
See all answers
Unhappy customer

Unhappy customerCentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Insurance fraudsters - happy to take your money with hidden clauses so they don't have to fulfill their promises!

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelMitsubishi Verada
See all answers

Bad and dodgy service

published

Bad and dodgy service. Was told I can change my policy within the cooling-off period. contacted them last week and was told had to pay $275 extra on top of what has already been paid just to change the date of the car insurance policy. Stay away from them.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Incompetent repairs

published

Wife's car was sent to 2 different repairs and car worse then it was before the repairs would not recommend suncorp Insurance to my worst enemy very lazy car now a bomb very bad service shame on you suncorp have lost a lot of money thanks suncorp very bad service

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMazda 3
See all answers
Muhib A.

Muhib A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Take No responsibility after you pay premium

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Dani

DaniSydney, NSW

Do Not Trust Gio Or Capitol Smart

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Motor Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tom

TomQueensland

Worst Insurer - Don't pay claims - Awful claims process

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelAudi A1 8X S Line
See all answers
hirondelle

hirondelleGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Dishonesty of Suncorp

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelAudi Q5 8R.I TDI
See all answers
Janz

Janz

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Ridiculously poor customer service and claims process

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Del A

Del ASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Overall Service

published

We were involved in an accident and put in a claim to Suncorp. Initially, I was a bit scared of getting into the claims process but coming out of it now, it was a breeze.
The entire process was really smooth and not stressful. From lodging the claim, to responses from the Suncorp car insurance team, to getting the car replaced was very smooth. Although the Suncorp app did not provide any updates on the claims process, the onshore team kept in contact with us throughout the process. I highly recommend Suncorp car insurance based on my experience with them. This is what service should look like.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMazda 3 BN (Sedan) Maxx Sport
See all answers
Manu

ManuSouth East Queensland, QLD

Car insurance

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

MARGO X.

MARGO X.asked

Motor Insurance

Why is it that every single Car Insurance company including you Suncorp have shocking bad reviews pages of unhappy complaining customers from the cheap insurance to expensive so are they all wrong are these customers all complaining about nothing? I have yet to find an insurance company with "rave reviews" so who do I choose? You Suncorp? You tell me. . .

1 answer
Unhappy customer
Unhappy customer

Firstly, most of the insurance companies are owned by 1 or 2 parent companies!!! So no matter who you insure with, you are dealing with that parent company and if you aren't happy and change your insurance company, its probably to one of their other ones, so they don't care as they are still getting your money.....
Secondly, its because noone is watching over them making them do what they promise/claim! I was going to go to the Ombudsman but that turned out to be useless as they approve what the insurance companies are doing....
I ended up having to dig my heels in and fight them all the way by refusing to pick up my car until it was either fixed or written off and after 3 months, I finally have my car repaired and picked up.
Luckily I have another car, but if I didn't I would have been forced to accept their decision.
There needs to be a watchdog keeping an eye on them and making them abide by their promises.....as it is OUR MONEY, currently they can do whatever they want and get away with it unless you are prepared to fight them on it....

Unhappy customer

Unhappy customerasked

Motor Insurance

When are you going to stop ripping people off and start upholding you promises! Shame on you!

1 answer
Unhappy customer
Unhappy customer

Suncorp and their companies with insurance rip offs.

charlie s

charlie sasked

Motor Insurance

is my car still covered rego number is 401yoa

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Why not call the company and ASK?

Get an answer from our members and Suncorp representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.