??!
1 photo
SureSave
3.7 from 145 reviews

Their policy seems to be "Deny Everything". Terrible company

My son broke his collarbone while snow skiing in Japan. Sure Save have continued to deny our claim. Each time we send through the relevant documents Sure Save find another reason for us to re-send the same documents and more reasons not to pay the claim.

Value for Money
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAsia
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Mark, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. I will send you a private message to gather some more details so I can escalate your claim. SureSave Customer Experience

No communication and lots of excuses from Suresave

I lodged a claim in November, whilst working overseas. I had to return to Aust, as I was sick. Suresave were helpful when I was o/s and then did not answer any of my emails, I only received the three automatic emails saying they have received my email and a constultant will get back to me in 10 working days. They never did. In January I was told this was because an agent had bought my policy, though it was in my name, they couldn't discuss my claim with me due to privacy issues. Subsequent unanswered emails, in March I was told my policy had been cancelled, (no doubt) and an officer would call back that day. I waited all day. No-one has called or emailed me. I am still waiting to have my claimed paid. I am being fobbed off on the phone and dont understand if my work paid for my travel insurance policy why is my claim not considered valid?

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAsia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Dianna, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. I will send you a private message to gather some more details from you so I can look into it further. Customer Experience, SureSave

No compassion, no service, unreliable .... watch out when claiming!

My father and mother (mid and late eighties) took out travel insurance for a train trip within Australia. Due to health circumstances, etc, they had to cancel the trip and claim on insurance. Unfortunately, his dealing with this company has been a nightmare and has left him in a wretched state. The intriguing thing is that the complaints he has with them are similar to many of the poor reviews below.

My parents are being “fobbed off” and Suresave are prolonging the claim. My belief is that these are stalling tactics in a hope they will just go away. It is like being treated as second class citizens and is taking a serious toll on them. My father and mother have many health issues and the insurance company's lack of understanding / lack of empathy / prolonging claims, etc, is causing undue extra stress which they do not need. They do not know where to go next.

But, I will not take this lightly and will escalate it to the fullest extent such as contacting the insurance ombudsman (or similar title), discussing with my legal and media contacts. No one should have to go through what they have been through. All they want is to settle their legitimate claim forthwith and move on. I don't wish to see them hurt any more.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Senior
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Steven, I'm very sorry to hear about your parents' experience. I'll send you a private message to gather some more details. Customer Experience, SureSave

Worst experience ever

This is the first time I’ve used Sure Save and will never use them again. Injured my hip coming down a few stairs after staying at a hotel in London Victoria. Saw a private Specialist and emailed them 3 letters from him outlining the investigations and treatment needed. Initially they agreed to the MRI and follow up. However, they changed their mind and attempted to make me travel against medical advice. Obviously I refused. They never come back to you when they say they will. It’s now delayed my trip home and treatment. All they seem concerned about is the cost of scans and not treating the individual with dignity.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Kristy, I am sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. I'll send you a private message to gather some more details to escalate to our head of claims. Customer Experience, SureSave

Poor company

We booked a trip to France in may for my 50th birthday in October, as we've never travelled together before we bought the insurance on the advice of the travel agent. In September after having no health issues in the passed I was diagnosed with a kidney disease and advised not to travel for between 4-6months as one of the complications was high risk of blood clots. We cancelled our flights and rebooked for February. We had to incur further expense to change the flights which we understood we could claim due to health reasons. Apparently easier said than done. So far we have experienced delay after delay for the claim. We submit the forms they ask for the 10 days later they ask for something else another delay for 10 days. The last 2 times we submitted what they asked we asked if they had everything they need and we were told yes. Now they are asking for my clinical notes, for which I'll need to go threw freedom of information act to get access to. More delay tactics. This is a terrible company who pray on people when they are most vulnerable they seem to delay until people become frustrated and give up. Give this company a wide berth, I'd give no stars if I could, still waiting for my money.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Heather, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I will send you a private message to gather your policy details so I can escalate your claim. Customer Experience, SureSave

Read the 92 pages of the PDS prior to taking out the insurance.

First and last time. We had gold card insurance and could have used it, but were informed by our travel agent that we should insure with this company as they were reliable. She never bothered to tell us that flight cancellation cover was very limited to six situations. If the airline decides to cancel a flight you may well be left with no compensation from Sure Save. Our early morning flight from Palma to Barcelona was cancelled without any prior notice so we missed connecting flights to Singapore and Brisbane. We were forced to fly to Barcelona late in the day at our expense and spend two nights at a hotel and pay for new flights to Australia. Veuling airline refused to provide a reason for the flight cancellation and the insurer refuses to process our claim until such time as they do. As stated above they will only pay if one of the following six situations is triggered : 1 Severe weather 2 Accidents 3 Riot Civil Strike or Commotion 4 Airport Closure 5 Emergency Landing 6 Flight Cancelled because of Insufficient Numbers. I have precised some of tha above. You will see there are a thousand reasons why the company WONT pay so be very careful.

Insurance claim madeYes
4 comments
Hi Jack, Thank you for taking the time to share that frank and honest feedback with us. I’m sorry to hear of your disappointment with the claims process. I would very much like to look into this for you and if need be have your claim reviewed. I will send you a private message to grab some more details from you. Customer Experience, SureSaveI have received a response from cerebus today it appears they are going to pay most of the claim. I have heard nothing about a medical claim on the trip.The claim has now been resolved with Sure Save We are still waiting for payment from Veuling Airlines for refund of fares etc from Palma to Barcelona.

Terrible - don't touch them

We took 3 policies for our family of 8 when we booked a holiday to Solomons. Three weeks before Qantas/Air Solomon with drew the flight back from Honiara. We had to leave a day earlier (losing a night paid for at the resort) and QF could only get us to Brisbane that night - we had to overnight in airport hotel Brisbane before flight to Melbourne next morning. At the time the agent (who sold us the policies) said the lost night and airport overnight would be covered by Sure.
This is how my policy reads >
.```2 Your flight, other transport or overnight tour is cancelled or rescheduled before your trip starts
Cancellation costs
Chosen Limit for Cancellation Related
Expenses````

They /Cerbus are DENYING the entire 3 claims - stating `change of schedule not covered`
Shocking
I wish I had read these other reviews before paying for these policies -
- go elsewhere

Insurance claim madeYes
4 comments
Hi Merilyn, I will private message you now to grab some more information so I can follow this up with our Head of Claims. Customer Experience, SureSavethank you - I meant to add this - on the day we were advised on the change, in order for me to decide what to do , Hideaway Holidays phoned Sure to check if we were covered for this loss ( on 4 June) and this is what she wrote me ````I have asked SureSave Insurance company if you can put through a claim for option 1 and they have confirmed that you can. Also the additional night accommodation in Solomon Islands is claimable ```Well hardly a surprise after reading all the bad reviews regarding non claims- they are not paying . Despite them telling Hideaway when it happened on 4 June that this flight reschedule was covered, as we had to decide what to do - they are still rejecting the claim.. This is their rubbish reply : ````I've spoken to our Head of Claims and unfortunately although there is cover for flight delay/cancellation for specific incidents, a delay due to operational requirements and aircraft availability is not covered ```` The cover stated in my policy as this clearly means nothing - ```2 Your flight, other transport or overnight tour is cancelled or rescheduled before your trip starts Cancellation costs``` This was clearly a case of rescheduling before a trip starts - how they can deny this is quite incomprehensible to me. DONT USE THEM

Worst Claims Experience Ever

Be aware - should you make a claim there claims side Cerberus, will do everything in their power to frustrate you so you end up not bothering. They are incompetent and use delaying tactics to continually muck you around. I would suggest there are much better insurers you can use.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi there, I'm sorry to hear about your claims experience with us. If you would like us to look into it further, we'd be more than happy to do so and have sent you a private message. Customer Experience SureSave

Still waiting for my claim to be finalised after 3 months

The support I received while in hospital over seas was A+ .. trying to claim the last of my medical and accommodation expenses since I’ve been back is terrible .. I send emails and keep receiving the same auto email back stating they will get back to me ...after posting on here this was resolved within 3 days thank you.

Insurance claim madeYes

Claim underpaid despite policy wording covering full claim

It has taken over a month and many phone calls and emails to finally have this settled. I bought a policy to cover my travel to Nepal, including trekking up to 6000m, unlimited medical costs and unlimited medical evacuation costs. After a severe medical episode I had to be airlifted by helicopter off a mountain and Sure Save deemed this as a cancellation fee and underpaid my claim by thousands. Having bought a policy with unlimited medical evacuation costs I felt this was fraudulent for Sure Save to initially underpay my claim. This has since been rectified but with no explanation, no apology. I have vented on social media, told friends/family and told the travel agent who recommended Sure Save of this ordeal. Will not use them again.

Insurance claim madeYes
2 comments
Hi Louj, I'm sorry to hear about your claims experience with us. I can absolutely understand how poor claims communications would be frustrating. If you would like me to look into it further, I'd be more than happy to do so and have sent you a private message. Thanks Ali Diaper Customer Experience www.suresave.com.auI have responded

Worse experience ever. I would give them no stars if I could

After more emails and confirmation explaining what happened over and over... they still can’t get it right.
I have never had such a bad experience with any company before. I’m still trying to get what I’m owed. They treat you like a lying criminal!

Insurance claim madeYes
3 comments
Hi Sophie, I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your claims experience with us. I have followed up with the team and can confirm the balance of your claim was finalised on 22/11 as per our email discussion last week. Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.auThe hospital and doctor costs from USA have not been finalised... so claim has not been finalised, even if you’ve handed it over to someone elseHi Sophc, I can confirm the USA bills have been finalised as well. Thanks, Elenor

Hassle free claim

I had a fall and broke my arm two weeks before I was due to go overseas. The claiming process was very easy.
Nine days after receiving my claim they sent me an email stating that my claim was approved.
I travel often and from now on will only use this travel insurance, hopefully will never need to claim again.

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Cathy, thanks for the review. I'm sorry to hear that you broke your arm before you were scheduled to travel - I hope you're recovering well. Great to hear you found the claims process easy, and that you were able to be reimbursed for your expenses. Fingers crossed your next trip goes much smoother! Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

Terrible company, terrible service, terrible claim process. DO NOT USE!

I had a fall in May, tripped on a tree root, and broke and badly dislocated elbow whilst in Italy travelling alone. After 10hrs in Italian emergency hospital I rang asking for help to get flight home. I was told, contrary to website, that it was not their job to help me, they emphasised that I had to make sure I got cheapest option home and that no medical claims could be made once I got home. Any out of pocket expenses were my problem. That was the only help I got from them.
Luckily my travel agent stepped up and got me home so I could have surgery. Then he helped me with claim process which should be called DELAY process! Once details were supplied to them they tell you they will replay in 10 days. Day 9 they ask another question, sometimes same question, then you have to wait another 10 days. Again and again! Finally when I started ringing them on a daily basis, talking to supervisors and threatening legal action in September the claim was paid.
No way will I ever use them again and I am making sure any fellow travellers know how bad they are!

Insurance claim madeYes
2 comments
Hi SueD Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re really sorry that you weren't happy with the level of service we provided. We take this kind of feedback quite seriously, so I have asked our Head of Emergency Assistance to take a look at what happened in your case and to establish if there were any gaps in our service that we can improve. From the review of the case, we can see that you called our emergency assistance team to advise us about your medical situation. During this call, you also advised that you had contacted your travel agent to arrange tickets home and you were referred for surgery and wanted to do this in Australia. At this point, our team advised you of the documentation you would need to submit your claim for assessment. You contacted us on 30/5 advising that your travel agent was not able to find availability until the 1st or 2nd of June and you asked if we could take over your booking and arrange sooner flights. We believed that we set expectations that as it was European Summer we would unlikely be able to do any better than your travel agent, and advised that legally, as we did not hold your original booking, we could not take over your booking. I appreciate that the delays in response time at each step during the claims process would have been frustrating, and I will provide feedback to the team. On behalf of everyone at SureSave we are sincerely sorry that you were not happy with us. Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.auIsn’t it strange. I completed your in house customer feedback questionnaire after the claim was finally settled in September and got no feedback from you. Now I have gone public and I get this lovely, sympathetic reply. Who are you trying to kid! Such a shame I got no such sympathetic replies or explanations or help in Italy or upon my return when submitting the claim!

Good to know this is happening in the background

Good value
Nil excess option great in case
Didn't need to claim but happy with all
Will be using again on my next trips I am working on and happy to continue

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi Andy, thanks so much for your review. Terrific to hear that you were happy with your policy - it's always great when everything goes smoothly on your trip, but glad to hear you'll have a policy in place if you should need it in future. Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

A good policy.

Set up by travel agent. Everything was done over the phone, no trouble. I always have travel insurance when I travel. I would use SureSave again when I go cruising. Thanks,

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Wally, thanks so much for your review. Great to hear it was easy to set up your policy with your travel agent! It's also great to hear our travellers view travel insurance to be a necessity for their trip - if things go awry, it can definitely make or break a trip! Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

Peace of Mind

We always take a policy out when we travel just to have 'holiday peace of mind' in the event something does in fact go wrong.
Our Travel Agent sets it all up for us, normally when we are making our booking, so it is not forgotten.
Touch wood, we have never had to make that dreaded phone call to Customer Support.
Our next two holidays are booked, and our SureSave Travel Insurance Policies are already in place!

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi Kim, Awesome to hear that you always take out travel insurance - thanks so much for choosing SureSave for your trips. It really is about having that peace of mind, giving you the freedom to enjoy your trip to the fullest. Hope you had a terrific time on your trip, and it sounds like you've got some great adventures coming up! Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

Wouldn't leave town without travel insurance

The policy I purchased was relatively inexpensive - no doubt price was driven by destination and duration. Over the years I have had a number of Sure Save policies but have never had to claim so cannot comment on the aspect of Sure Save.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi CatherineOz, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate it. Great to hear you found our policy to be competitive for your trip, always terrific to hear from a repeat customer! Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

A very reassurring product

It's great to know that if anything happens it will be taken care of. Policy was easily set up and whilst I didn't need to make a claim on this trip; on my last one I did and it was resolved well.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi Chez, great to hear from a repeat customer! Thanks for the review, glad to hear we were able to assist you on your last trip - even better to hear your recent trip went smoothly. Hope you had a great time! Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

Great Insurance

I liked the content of the policy.
It was easy to set up before my trip.
The train staff were very helpful at all times and nothing was too much trouble.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi Mark, thanks for the feedback - will certainly pass on your kind words to the team. Great to hear you were pleased with our policy - our PDS definitely includes a broad range of cover, presented in a user-friendly way. Hope to hear from you before your next adventure! Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

Easy to set up

Travel insurance was a requirement for our tour but we would have taken it out anyway for peace of mind. SureSave was suggested by our travel agent and the process of setting it up was simple with no assistance required. We thought that the premium was reasonable.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi Alan, thanks for the review, we appreciate it! Great to hear that you found your policy to be competitive and easy to set up. You're right, it's all about that peace of mind while travelling. Hope you had a great time on your tour! Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

I was about to purchase the ultimate cover for a Nepal Trek until I read Louj's review below. I am now seeking alternative quotes. Would you please explain why Sure Save took so long to settle his claim? Are there any hidden clauses that Sure Save uses to deny claims in circumstances described by Louj?
2 answers
Any settlement is probably subject to the way the insurance company interprets the policy. As I stated earlier read the 92 pages of the PDS very carefully and think of all possibilities arising from that situation. If necessary obtain clarification in writing from the insurer. JackHi Avr, Unfortunately this was a case of human error which resulted in the claim being underpaid. The customer alerted us to the error 2 days after the claim was settled, after which the claims officer immediately put in request to have this rectified. The full payment to the customer was processed within 5 working days as it needed to be approved by their supervisor and go through the payment process. We understand that this is not an ideal situation and apologise sincerely to the customer that they had a negative experience. However please rest assured this was human error and not an issue with the coverage included in the customer's plan. We hope you have an amazing time in Nepal! Customer Experience, SureSave

Is the Age requirement, 80 . based on date cover taken out .age during travel. i.e turn 81 during travel
1 answer
There’s no age-limit for our Comprehensive international and Domestic plans. However, if you are 81 or over, we will ask you some questions about your health and lifestyle at the time you buy your policy and then determine whether we will offer you cover and on what terms. You will need to enter the age you are when you buy the policy. It does not matter if you have a birthday before departure or within the trip.

Hi There, I have been recommended to use your company for travel insurance on our overseas hoilday to Vietnam and Cambodia in May 2018. I have question in regard to Events under item 2.5 Someone at home is sick, injured or dies. I am the power of attorney and next of kin to my auntie who has no children of her own, who has recently in November 2017 has been admitted to a nursing home to live after 67 years in her own home. It become to much for her to look after now. Am I and my wife covered under your travel insurance policy for costs to return home unexpectantly if she was to die?
2 answers
Hi This isn’t my company sorry. I just used them last year for my trip to the USA. I found them very hard to deal with.... they made me feel like a criminal when all I wanted to do was claim what I was entitled to, when I became sick. I would not use sure save againHi Stephen, Thanks for submitting your question. The listed events under benefit 2.5 include where you are unable to travel due to certain incidents occurring to a close relative of you or your travelling companion. The policy wording has a special definition of a close relative which can be found on page 81. From the information you've provided, although you are the next of kin to your aunt, it is not apparent that she would fall under the policy definition for this cover to apply. ‘close relative’ means your relative (or a relative of a member of your travelling party) who is residing in Australia or New Zealand. It includes only these relations: spouse, de facto partner; parent, parent-in-law, de facto parent and de facto parent-in-law; child, daughter-in-law, son-in-law; brother, sister, brother-in-law and sister-in-law; grandchild and grandparent; step-parent, step-son and step-daughter; fiancé and fiancée; legal guardian; and niece and nephew. We do not have any exclusions against offering cover for a close relative who is in a nursing home, however there is an ‘Existing Medical Conditions Claim Cap’ which means that, should a claim arise from an existing medical condition, the most we will pay is $2000 for each primary traveller. Hope this helps - it is important to read the policy wording and determine if the cover offered is right for you. Elenor, Customer Experience www.suresave.com.au

Similar listings