??!
7 photos
Suzuki Grand Vitara JB / JT.I

Suzuki Grand Vitara JB / JT.I (2005-2011)

Prestige, JLX, (No Badge), etc...
3.4 from 91 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
25
4 star
29
3 star
9
2 star
10
1 star
18

Shannon

Shannon

  • 4 reviews

I love this car

published

I love this car so much. We have had it 2nd hand for 4 years now and had no problems. We keep it well maintained and it loves us back. Great for off road camping, great around town, still easy to park, and good up the highway. We got a 4cyl 2L and it also tows a trailer very well. The tow bar we had fitted. Not so comfy for really long distance, but most travel is good. I'm short and I find the vision good. No awkward blind spots

Purchased in August 2015 at Private for $9,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Lindsay F

Lindsay FNorthern Region, NSW

Serious engine problems

published

At 150,000km the head cracked. Known fault detailed in a US Technical Bulletin (extended warranty in US - not Australia). Repair parts cost $2500. 4,000km later block cracked behind exhaust manifold.

Purchased in July 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Neil7052

Neil7052AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good little off-roader or city run-about

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Lemon

LemonBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Cracked engine block

published

Owned 2008 Prestige model for 5 years, @ 190 000 km and engine block cracked. Because of GFC in 2008 the alloy used to cast engine block is substandard and becoming well know to crack. Paid $20 000 for Grand Vitara 4-5 years ago, now being offered $500 from wreaker or $8 000 engine replacement.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2008

Ian

IanCarterton NZ

Warranty issue.

published

Power steering started pulsing when steering wheel is turned.Suzuki technician agreed their was a problem. Tried to fix it and couldn't, service manager said nothing they can do. I rang Suzuki NZ and they had another dealer have a look and he said their was a problem. Took it to fix then rang me back that they all do this. I took it to another technician who also confirmed a problem. I have had 2 of this model GV in the past and they didn't have this steering problem. Suzuki NZ don't want to know or help, I think there may be a cover up. Have had a few new Suzuki vehicles over the years but now I will never have another Suzuki.
NZ Suzuki warranty support is very disappointing.

BadgeJLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Drive4WD

Eduardo

EduardoVictoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

No competition

published
BadgeJLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Drive4WD

Suzidad

SuzidadMelbourne

GV problems

published

Engine light on. Replaced two sensors. No change. Suzuki found oil residue over timing chain etc. Replaced chain, vvt unit, tensioner etc. 200km later, bad overheating. Cracked cylinder head. Replaced and now engine light on again. Suzuki blamed our mechanic for the oil sludge! Top quality oil used. Servicing well within suggested limits. Suzuki Aus not interested in covering timing chain costs. Cylinder head cracking appears common for this motor. Recall in the US. Why not on Aus?

Badge12000
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Small B

Small B

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it... Great Family Car

published

Perfect size to drive in the busy roads with the added advantage of good with Fuel.
We drive the car every day to and from work, picking up kids and as our weekend car.
Plenty of space to fit 2 car seats in the back.
2 car seat comfortable fit. Plenty of leg room in the back.
We love the large boots to fit anything...
Low cost maintains and low cost to run...
Great family car

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2011
Digger

DiggerCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 14 likes

Perfect Car For my Needs

published

My Suzuki GV is the prestige model so it has all the fruit, full leather, sunroof, keyless entry and start etc. It's a great looking car, very reliable, easy to get in & out of, easy to park. It's a bit heavy on fuel for a 2.4 litre motor but I love it, so does everyone who drives it. With 140000 klms on the clock, so far it's proved to be super reliable. I use it as a 4x4 and it'll keep up with the big boys....for a lot less. I've towed a small caravan around Australia, easy as. Returned 12.8 l/100 klms overall. It's a great Car.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2009

Keep away from Suzuki and their incompetent dealer network

published
BadgePrestige
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2010

Peterp

PeterpMargate

Engine failure at 130000km

published

At 130000km the JB 24 Engine failed, my grand daughter had brought the grand vitara 2008 model, 11months ago and has done 15000km, when the engine started to make rattle noise, she stopped the car turned off ignition waited then tried to start the car again, would not start. Towed to repairer told the Engine had a mechanical failure, not worth pulling engine appart, ordered a second hand motor at cost of $8700 installed.
The Trader "Charles Jansen Cars" "Jansen 4 x4" Moorabbin Victoria Australia.
The trader would not have anything to do with the failure and hung up, very bad, where to now I dont know except that it going to cost $8700.

BadgeGrand Vitara 2008
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

STAY AWAY FROM THIS VEHICLE - ABSOLUTE RUBBISH

published
BadgeJLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2009

Sharon

Sharon

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2005 Grand Vitara

published

I truly love driving my Grand Vitara.. so easy to drive & park.. windows are great for view.. everyone that gets in it enjoys their ride & are very impressed with it's comfort as well
Can't think of anything I dislike about my Grand Vitara inside or out
I've had my car for 12 years & no trouble with it at all..still looks great & drives very well
I take care of my care with maintenance/services
I feed my Grand Vitara with good fuel & it certainly is very good on fuel
Fantastic car.. would definitely buy another when I can... it was affordable at the time of purchase.. Garry Crick's were great to deal with..

Badge4 cyl 4wd petrol mpfi sv/sq
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2005

Argus

ArgusSouthwest, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

2007 GV Prestige

published

Had vehicle now for just over two years, and can't fault it. It has done over 200,000km's (petrol engine) and although it seems a little down on power for a V6, apparently this is the norm. Original parts are expensive but wreckers in Melbourne have the occasional GV through their workshop.

Use of vehicle is solely for personal use. Depending on the week on how often the vehicle gets used.

Haven't had serviced since I had the rocker cover gaskets replaced. Hasn't clocked up the necessary kilometres.

Purchased in May 2016 at Major Car Sales.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Suzinauz

SuzinauzTasmania

  • 5 reviews

A little ripper

published

We flat tow our Suzuki Grand Vitara behind our Motorhome. She is a 2012 model & looks new. She has a practical easy-to-use transfer case. We have to tow with the reversing camera on as we cant feel her behind. Unhitched, she gets us to some great places. Never had a problem. She is a wiz in 4x4 and is economical. Recently we had a recall on the gear shaft. How thoughtful of Suzuki to think of us all. A company with integrity. Thanks Suzuki.

Purchased in August 2015 at Private .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
j pest

j pestAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

best after service and good 4x4

published

i had oil leak bue to muster seal in transmission case. i have been 4wd alot and have pumbed few times. but got fixed under warranty with good service also recall on car after finishing warranty is nice service from suziki. nice to see they are doing good after service. never had problems last 5 years. now all most 6 yaers and got recall service.

BadgeJLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2010

G Mount

G MountMELBOURNE

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

best little suv i every had.

published

drise well.as a big person 186 140k i was very comfy in it. is ex of road cept up with the big suv if not better. ex in snow slush and mud. interior was ok little bit too plastic but the v6 auto made up for that hands down. not too bad on fuel trips 9l/100k town 12l/100k 2tonne towing is very nice too did it well.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2010

mjpss

mjpssTownsville

  • 5 reviews

cracked engine block at 90 000 not able to be fixed or replaced poor

published

so i owned a prestige from new at 90 000 it overheated due to a faulty radiator cap and i stopped straight away, the engine was stuffed. cracked block. same crack same place as a number of other engines no warranty. no car. never buy one. the car drove ok, not great but it was ok. the engine power was a bit under what it needed to be.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2008

Tania

Tania

  • 8 reviews

Terrible, expensive mistake. Don't buy the diesel!!!!

published
BadgeJBMY09
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2011

Donser

Donser

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Please do not buy!

published

It's comfy, nice to drive and that's where it ends.

I'm one of those suckers that have the J24B engine (2.4L petrol). Nice little unit that's prone to head cracking between moulding ports. It's taken me 4.5 years (and way too many mechanics) to figure out why it's been wanting coolant topped up every month.

Basically I have that fault (Can I attach photo's here, I have one of a nice creamy coffee substance on the inside of my oil cap!).

I'm going to raise hell with this one, even though I have a nice new Unbreakable lined up for pick up in a few days, It's called a dump & run!

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2012

Page 1 of 5

See all Suzuki Grand Vitara reviews

Questions & Answers

Jimbo

Jimboasked

I have just purchased a 2013 grand vitara 4x4 Automatic 114,000 klicks, there is a slight whine noise coming from the gear box as I accelerate , more noticeable at low revs, is this normal?

2 answers
Eduardo
Eduardo

Hard to tell from that description I recommend popping over to auszookers.com and asking

Jimbo
Jimbo

Thanks, will do


Katie H

Katie Hasked

I have a Grand Vitara 2015 model and have noticed the boot doesn't unlock when the drivers door is unlocked. If I want to put something in there I have to make sure doors are closed, lock the car and then unlock it again with a double click. Am I missing something? It has to be easier. Also can you open the boot with the key?

1 answer
Karen K
Karen K

i have the 2013 grand vitara prestige so not sure if it is different but if you want all doors to open you click the button on the handle twice, (or the remote twice) same with the rear door if you click it once it will only open the rear door, if you click it twice it will open all doors :)....no you cant use a key in read door (unless it might be different to your model)


Prester John

Prester Johnasked

How to remove frozen sump plug on Grand Vitara. Hex flats now rounded due to ring spanner slippage in trying to undo. Any logical alternative to drilling it out?

2 answers
con
con

try using vice grips

Ted T.
Ted T.

very lightly tap a socket onto it .5mm under the size should fix ya :)


Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.