??!
1 photo
The Buzz Fly Catcher

The Buzz Fly Catcher

3.0 from 39 reviews

Reviews

3.0

39 reviews
5
(16)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
diana g.

diana g.South East Queensland, QLD

Jonestown for flies

published

Can’t understand the negative reviews here, we have been changing these weekly they are so effective - I have one on a stake in the garden away from the house and it fills completely in a week - emptying them was problematic at the start, I thought burying was a good option but if you have pets this is a disaster! Our dog sniffed it out dug it up and rolled in it - absolutely foul! Plus the smell stayed in the garden for weeks! Best option is empty into dog poo bags and then into rubbish - the smell is so bad so make sure the bag can’t be pierced by other rubbish - yoghurt tubs with lids is great for holding poo bags.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
adohr08

adohr08

  • 14 reviews

Absolutely Useless Initially but then Worked - Go figure!

published

It has been two weeks now and I haven't caught a single fly. Occasionally a fly will land on it and then just fly away. None have been enticed to enter. A complete waste of money.

A couple of weeks later, one fly entered the trap and died and then more flies became attracted to it. Not sure why it took this amount of time

Purchased in February 2020 at Coles for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
ryan84

ryan84Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

40-50 flys in a week.

published

Left one is 7 days old. The other two are two days old. Only one in the right container. Middle one has 1 also. They seem to keep entering the old one

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$5.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Pest Control Products

Find out how The Buzz Fly Catcher compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dwayne C.

Dwayne C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not amazing

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$13.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom and Kitchen
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
KylieC

KylieCSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Holes too big, flies just crawl back out

published

Flies attracted to it, but holes in lid are too big, therefore escape. Perhaps two styles/models?... That would explain vast differences in feedback. Would try it again, if design fixed.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
mario1

mario1

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic Value!!!

published

Fantastic fly catcher for the price of two cans of fly spray $9.98 @ Bunnings. I bought two, one for inside and outside on the deck. The one inside did not work as well as the one outside though, so they're both on the deck PLUS the smell was getting pungent.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings, Petone for A$9.98.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Wendy

WendySouth East Queensland, QLD

Does EXACTLY as advertised, excellent value.

published

Within 12 hours this product showed very promising signs. Three days later and there's no way it'll last 2-3 weeks, it'll fill up well before then. Important information to note - place it at ground level and keep out out of the sun. The heat inside deters the flies from entering otherwise.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$5.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers

Can’t believe how many flies it caught!!

published

This product is amazing and I honestly can’t believe how many flies it has caught. This photo was only 4 days in!! Only negative is that it’s starting to smell - but that’s probably due to the amount it’s caught.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$6.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers

Best of the bunch

published

I have used 30 fly traps of all brands last spring in a queen european wasp trapping program. Each was using a home made attractant and were filled out of a common bottle. The Buzz fly traps were consistantly catching more than any of the other brands. I put this down to a superior funnel making it easier to get in and harder to get out, and letting more attractant odour out. I used both reusable and single use versions with similar results. Single use version is difficult if you want to reuse.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$4.99.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pest Control Products

Find out how The Buzz Fly Catcher compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phillipa

Phillipa

  • 2 reviews

So far..so good.

published

Easy to use and put outside under pergola. Am very happy so far and going to get another one!!! Stacks of flies in it and only had it four days.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$9.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
PAL

PALSouth East Queensland, QLD

Hasn’t caught a thing. Waste of money.

published

Hasn’t caught a thing. Waste of money. Our house is full of flys however this product failed to deliver.id suggest a cup of water before this rubbish product. Thanks thanks

Purchased in January 2020 for A$9.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
anton

antonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews

It works REALLY WELL.Best we ever used

published

How can someone be negative about this..!!!Have been using Enviro for years and decided to try The BUZZ. Purchased from Bunnings Jan 19th 2019 $13.99 trap with a sachet and $8.99 for extra 3 sachets. Placed both the Enviro and the Buzz 1 metre apart in the usual place and have just emptied both after 2 weeks.The Enviro had very few flies but the Buzz was chock full and my 2 little dogs have had the best pest free time of it.If this isn't working for you your flies have lost their sense of smell..!!

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
LisaJ

LisaJGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Excellent product

published

The Buzz catcher is excellent. I have two in my fern/plant veranda and works like a bomb. No more flys bothering my dog either. Make sure you empty and wash container out well, then refill. If you can smell the odor time to around $13 for two.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic results!

published

I’m not sure why people are giving this product bad reviews. Use luke warm water to make it up - maybe others are using water that is too hot or too cold and affecting the bait? Mine caught it’s first fly after just 10 minutes, I’ll post a pic of it after 1 week. Not looking forward to emptying it, but otherwise I’m delighted!

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers

not working

published

i have this in front of me and many flies within a few centimetes. no catch. bait not working. not sure who are tbose few who wrote good reviews ??!
This product does nothing. absolutely nothing.

Purchased in December 2019.

Value for Money
Infested Area Living/Dining Room
Pest Control Products

Find out how The Buzz Fly Catcher compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PeterDoyle51

PeterDoyle51Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very effective fly catcher.

published

I bought this product one month ago and have caught over 200. Today I realised the odour I was smelling was from dead blowies so I emptied them out. The liquid had dried out but the blowies were still being attracted. I have washed out the trap and inserted more bait. I think it is a very good product at a very reasonable price.

Purchased in November 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers

Terrible waste of money

published

Have had it out for a week. 4 flys I n it and as I write this I have a fly on my face and one on my arm.....the trap is 2 foot away. Terrible product

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
JAM

JAM

  • 2 reviews

False Advertising.....

published

Bought 3, could have killed more flies using a fly swat in one minute than the few it managed to trap over a two week period. Sick of companies getting away with selling crap that simply does not work. ACCC shoukd be onto these people for false advertising.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$5.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers

This product does nothing. Literally nothing.

published

I hung this up with optomism only to be bitterly dissapointed to find out that it does nothing. The bait they use does not attract any flies. After a week of hanging it has only caught one fly...which was probably by mistake.

Purchased in December 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Brett

BrettPeel, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Very Effective

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$13.87.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Dorothy

Dorothyasked

Will it attract bees? We have an Australian native stingless hive

1 answer
Dwayne C.
Dwayne C.

I highly doubt it would. These traps smell like poo, so the flies are drawn to them. Bees, on the other hand, I don't think are drawn to smells like that.

meagan s.

meagan s.asked

Why does it say these for outdoor use only ?

3 answers
Dwayne C.
Dwayne C.

I don't think it is because of anything dangerous in the ingredients and they don't emit an odour either. My guess is that they're designed to stop flies coming into your house, instead of luring them in.

meagan s.
meagan s.

Oh ok thank you that makes sense now i just couldn't work out why it said outdoor use only but then on the lable it said no poison and i couldn't find anything that said why it can't be used inside.

mario1
mario1

I put one inside and one outside but the smell got too overpowering so had to put it outside. I think that's what draws the flies to the fly catcher. They work! I'm going to get the one for cockroaches next and imagine they will be successful to.

HGH

HGHasked

What is in the ingredients to make this smell sooooo revolting. Can't continue to use this is it is that bad to empty. What are your answers to this bright idea.
Heather H.
Welllington NZ

5 answers
PeterDoyle51
PeterDoyle51

I am not sure what the ingredients are but I agree that a bad odour does develop when the dead flies pile up in the trap. I think the smell is rotting flies i have decided to move the trap a little further away from our living area.

HGH
HGH

How do you dispose of them Peter. Do you reuse the trap? I drain ours and put it in our rubbish bin but that now smells horrid when lifting lid to put other stuff in. Xxhh

Rachael K.
Rachael K.

I haven’t emptied mine yet as I’ve only had it for a week but my plan is to dig a hole in the garden and empty it into that, so I can put dirt on top and hopefully it won’t stink once it’s properly buried!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.